DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) received 3/30/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 3/25/2026:
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7 are pending in the current application. Claim 1 has been amended, Claims 2 and 5-6 are canceled, and Claim 7 is newly added.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments are based on the claims as amended. The amended claims have been addressed in the new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiki et al. US-20190097216-A1 (hereinafter “Aiki”) in view of Oguro US-20140154563-A1 (hereinafter “Oguro”), Uchiyama US-20170077489-A1 (hereinafter “Uchiyama”), and Liu et al. US-20170214039-A1 (hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding Claims 1 and 3, Aiki discloses a method for producing a coated active material (see abstract and paragraphs [0018], [0027]-[0037], [0053], and [0112]), the method comprising:
mixing an electrode active material and a coating solution containing Li and an element M (the active material is coated with a solution containing lithium and niobium complex and/or titanium complex via a publicly-known method such as a method for spraying a solution on an active material, a method for immersing an active material in a solution to dry it, and a method for dispersing an active material in an organic solvent and adding the solution thereinto, all of which would mix the active material particles with the coating solution) (see abstract and paragraphs [0018], [0033], [0038], [0053], and [0094]-[0097]); and
drying the slurry in the air (dried in the air at 100° C for 6 hours) and thereby causing a Li-containing oxide to adhere to at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material, to obtain a coated active material (lithium niobate (LiNbO3), which a skilled artisan would recognize is a Li-containing oxide, formed on the surface of the positive electrode active material) (see abstract and paragraphs [0018], [0096], and [0111]-[0112]), and
where the element M is Nb (see abstract and paragraphs [0018], [0095], [0106]-[0107], and [0109]) (also meeting Claim 3).
Aiki further discloses mixing a coating solution containing hydrogen peroxide water, pure water, niobic acid, ammonia, and lithium hydroxide monohydrate in various amounts (see paragraphs [0106] and [0109] and Table 1). Aiki discloses an appropriate molar ratio between Li and Nb in the coating solution is preferably 0.8 to 2 moles of lithium to 1 mole of niobium or titanium (see paragraphs [0063]-[0066]). Aiki also discloses when the amount of lithium is a lower limit value or more with respect to the amount of niobium and/or titanium, lithium conductivity of lithium niobate and/or lithium titanate obtained from the metal complex can be maintained at an appropriate value and when the amount of lithium is an upper limit value or less with respect to the amount of niobium and/or titanium, this is appropriate because it is unnecessary to have excessive lithium not involved in lithium conductivity (see paragraphs [0063]-[0066]). As such, the molar ratio of Li to Nb is a result effective variable and the discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Optimizing the molar ratio of Li to Nb would necessarily also result in optimizing the mass% of the Li and Nb in the coating solution.
Aiki also discloses it is necessary to charge 2 moles or more of ammonia with respect to 1 mole of niobium atoms in order to obtain a stable complex in the course of its formation but excessive ammonia in the solution causes chemical damage to the active material, which causes deterioration of battery characteristics as a result and suggests including ammonia in an amount of 1 mass% or less in the coating solution (see paragraphs [0019]-[0021] and [0027]). As such, the ratio between the moles of ammonia and moles of Nb is a result effective variable and the discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Optimizing the molar ratio of ammonia to Nb would necessarily also result in optimizing the mass% of the ammonia and Nb in the coating solution.
Aiki further discloses it is necessary to add 10 moles or more of hydrogen peroxide to 1 mole of niobium atoms in order to stably obtain the complex in the course of its formation but large amounts of hydrogen peroxide cause handling and corrosion problems and suggests including hydrogen peroxide in amounts of 1 mass% or less in the coating solution (see paragraphs [0022]-[0024], [0032], [0060], [0074], and [0081]-[0084]). As such, the ratio between the moles of hydrogen peroxide and moles of Nb is a result effective variable and the discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Optimizing the molar ratio of hydrogen peroxide to Nb would necessarily also result in optimizing the mass% of the hydrogen peroxide and Nb in the coating solution.
Aiki also discloses the hydrogen peroxide decomposition may be promoted by too much ammonia, but ammonia is necessary to obtain a stable complex with the niobium (see paragraphs [0019]-[0021], [0059], and [0074]). As such, the ratio between the moles of hydrogen peroxide, ammonia, and Nb is a result effective variable and the discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Optimizing the molar ratio of hydrogen peroxide to ammonia to Nb would necessarily also result in optimizing the mass% of the hydrogen peroxide, ammonia, and Nb in the coating solution.
Additionally, Aiki discloses the appropriate amount of water is necessary to properly dissolve and mix all the components of the coating solution and it is important for the components to be soluble (see paragraphs [0055]-[0056], [0059], and [0089]).
Overall, all the components of the coating solution interact with each other in ways that affect the stability and efficacy of the coating solution. So, a skilled artisan would therefore be motivated to optimize the ratios between all the components of the coating solution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to and as such is capable of arriving at the optimal mass% of all the components in the coating solution with the coating solution containing Li in an amount of 0.48 mass% or more and 5.0 mass% or less, the element M in an amount of 5 mass% or more and 35 mass% or less, water in an amount of 60 mass% or more and 98.4 mass% or less in order to optimize the stability and efficacy of the coating solution.
Aiki is silent on feeding the slurry containing the electrode active material to a spray dryer.
However, in the same field of endeavor of coated active materials (see abstract and paragraphs [0014]-[0015]), Oguro discloses obtaining a coated active material via spray granulation, which is a method including preparing a slurry composition that includes a positive electrode active material, a coating material, and an aqueous medium, and then spraying and drying this slurry composition so as to granulate a coated positive electrode active material (see paragraphs [0078]-[0082] and [0232]-[0238]). Oguro also discloses the slurry composition may be heated to a higher temperature than room temperature and the temperature of the hot air during spray drying may be 100°C to 200°C (see paragraph [0082]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate method to achieve a coated active material, and Aiki discloses any appropriate coating/drying method known in the art can be used (see paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method for producing a coated active material as disclosed by Aiki by feeding the slurry containing the electrode active material to a spray dryer, as disclosed by Oguro, as an appropriate method known in art to achieve a coated active material.
Aiki and Oguro are silent on disintegrating the slurry while drying the slurry in an air flow.
However, in the same field of endeavor of coatings an active materials (see abstract) Uchiyama discloses a method for producing a coated active material (see paragraphs [0024]-[0026]), the method comprising: mixing an electrode active material and a coating solution containing Li and an element M (spraying a solution of lithium and peroxo complex of niobium over active material in tumbling fluidized coating machine, thereby mixing it) (see abstract and paragraphs [0008] and [0058]). Uchiyama further discloses drying the slurry in an air flow and thereby causing a Li-containing oxide to adhere to at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material (the result is lithium niobate (LiNbO3) attached to at least part of the active material and a skilled artisan would recognize lithium niobate is a Li-containing oxide (see paragraph [0001])), to obtain a coated active material (see abstract and paragraphs [0001], [0008], [0024]-[0026], and [0058]), where the element M is Nb (see abstract and paragraphs [0001] and [0057]). This method is comparable to a tumbling fluidized bed coating method, which the instant application discloses has a disintegrating force (see paragraph [0006] of instant application). As such, the method of Uchiyama would include disintegrating the slurry while drying the slurry in an air flow.
A skilled artisan would recognize drying the slurry in an air flow as disclosed by Uchiyama is an appropriate method to achieve a coated active material, and Aiki discloses any appropriate coating/drying method known in the art can be used (see paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Aiki and Oguro where the slurry is dried in an air flow, as disclosed by Uchiyama, as an appropriate method known in art to achieve a coated active material. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Aiki, Oguro, and Uchiyama are silent on the method having a surface energy of 72 mN/m or less in advance to prepare a slurry when mixing the electrode active material and coating solution containing Li and an element M.
However, in the same field of endeavor of coatings on electrode active materials (see abstract and paragraphs [0011]-[0015]), Liu discloses maintaining a lower surface energy when mixing in advance of drying allows for better dispersibility and uniformity in Fig. 1 (see paragraphs [0026]-[0029]).
Liu is not specific on the surface energy being 72 mN/m or less. However, this is seen as a result effective variable as Liu discloses this directly affects the dispersibility and uniformity when mixing and that the value should be low (see paragraph [0026]). As such, it is within ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art to discover the optimum value. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (see MPEP 2144.05, II).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method for producing a coated active material as disclosed by Aiki, Oguro, and Uchiyama by ensuring the surface energy is 72 mN/m or less in advance when preparing a slurry when mixing the electrode active material and coating solution containing Li and an element M, as disclosed by Liu as a matter of routine optimization to achieve better dispersibility and uniformity.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiki in view of Oguro, Uchiyama, and Liu, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. US-20190074512-A1 (hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Aiki discloses method for producing a coated active material according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Aiki, Oguro, Uchiyama, and Liu are silent on the element M being P.
However, in the same field of endeavor of coated active materials (see abstract), Choi discloses coating a lithium transition metal oxide active material with a lithium phosphorus oxide (see paragraphs [0014], [0021], [0055], [0064]-[0065], and [0082]-[0084]).
Choi additionally discloses including the lithium phosphorus oxide coating results in inhibiting the oxidative decomposition caused by the reaction with the electrolyte at high voltage and increases the diffusion of Li ions in the positive active material, thereby improving the movement of Li ions and contributing to improvement of battery characteristics (see paragraphs [0055]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Aiki, Oguro, Uchiyama, and Liu wherein the element M is P, as disclosed by Choi, in order to achieve improved battery characteristics.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiki in view of Oguro, Hampden-Smith et al. US-20050232858-A1 (hereinafter “Hampden-Smith”), Uchiyama, and Liu.
Regarding Claim 7, Aiki discloses a method for producing a coated active material (see abstract and paragraphs [0018], [0027]-[0037], [0053], and [0112]), the method comprising:
mixing an electrode active material and a coating solution containing Li and an element M (the active material is coated with a solution containing lithium and niobium complex and/or titanium complex via a publicly-known method such as a method for spraying a solution on an active material, a method for immersing an active material in a solution to dry it, and a method for dispersing an active material in an organic solvent and adding the solution thereinto, all of which would mix the active material particles with the coating solution) (see abstract and paragraphs [0018], [0033], [0038], [0053], and [0094]-[0097]); and
drying the slurry in the air (dried in the air at 100° C for 6 hours) and thereby causing a Li-containing oxide to adhere to at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material, to obtain a coated active material (lithium niobate (LiNbO3), which a skilled artisan would recognize is a Li-containing oxide, formed on the surface of the positive electrode active material) (see abstract and paragraphs [0018], [0096], and [0111]-[0112]), and
where the element M is Nb (see abstract and paragraphs [0018], [0095], [0106]-[0107], and [0109]).
Aiki further discloses mixing a coating solution containing hydrogen peroxide water, pure water, niobic acid, ammonia, and lithium hydroxide monohydrate in various amounts (see paragraphs [0106] and [0109] and Table 1). Aiki discloses an appropriate molar ratio between Li and Nb in the coating solution is preferably 0.8 to 2 moles of lithium to 1 mole of niobium or titanium (see paragraphs [0063]-[0066]). Aiki also discloses when the amount of lithium is a lower limit value or more with respect to the amount of niobium and/or titanium, lithium conductivity of lithium niobate and/or lithium titanate obtained from the metal complex can be maintained at an appropriate value and when the amount of lithium is an upper limit value or less with respect to the amount of niobium and/or titanium, this is appropriate because it is unnecessary to have excessive lithium not involved in lithium conductivity (see paragraphs [0063]-[0066]). As such, the molar ratio of Li to Nb is a result effective variable and the discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Optimizing the molar ratio of Li to Nb would necessarily also result in optimizing the mass% of the Li and Nb in the coating solution.
Aiki also discloses it is necessary to charge 2 moles or more of ammonia with respect to 1 mole of niobium atoms in order to obtain a stable complex in the course of its formation but excessive ammonia in the solution causes chemical damage to the active material, which causes deterioration of battery characteristics as a result and suggests including ammonia in an amount of 1 mass% or less in the coating solution (see paragraphs [0019]-[0021] and [0027]). As such, the ratio between the moles of ammonia and moles of Nb is a result effective variable and the discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Optimizing the molar ratio of ammonia to Nb would necessarily also result in optimizing the mass% of the ammonia and Nb in the coating solution.
Aiki further discloses it is necessary to add 10 moles or more of hydrogen peroxide to 1 mole of niobium atoms in order to stably obtain the complex in the course of its formation but large amounts of hydrogen peroxide cause handling and corrosion problems and suggests including hydrogen peroxide in amounts of 1 mass% or less in the coating solution (see paragraphs [0022]-[0024], [0032], [0060], [0074], and [0081]-[0084]). As such, the ratio between the moles of hydrogen peroxide and moles of Nb is a result effective variable and the discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Optimizing the molar ratio of hydrogen peroxide to Nb would necessarily also result in optimizing the mass% of the hydrogen peroxide and Nb in the coating solution.
Aiki also discloses the hydrogen peroxide decomposition may be promoted by too much ammonia, but ammonia is necessary to obtain a stable complex with the niobium (see paragraphs [0019]-[0021], [0059], and [0074]). As such, the ratio between the moles of hydrogen peroxide, ammonia, and Nb is a result effective variable and the discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Optimizing the molar ratio of hydrogen peroxide to ammonia to Nb would necessarily also result in optimizing the mass% of the hydrogen peroxide, ammonia, and Nb in the coating solution.
Additionally, Aiki discloses the appropriate amount of water is necessary to properly dissolve and mix all the components of the coating solution and it is important for the components to be soluble (see paragraphs [0055]-[0056], [0059], and [0089]).
Overall, all the components of the coating solution interact with each other in ways that affect the stability and efficacy of the coating solution. So, a skilled artisan would therefore be motivated to optimize the ratios between all the components of the coating solution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to and as such is capable of arriving at the optimal mass% of all the components in the coating solution with the coating solution containing Li in an amount of 0.48 mass% or more and 5.0 mass% or less, the element M in an amount of 5 mass% or more and 35 mass% or less, water in an amount of 60 mass% or more and 98.4 mass% or less in order to optimize the stability and efficacy of the coating solution.
Aiki is silent on feeding the slurry containing the electrode active material to a spray dryer.
However, in the same field of endeavor of coated active materials (see abstract and paragraphs [0014]-[0015]), Oguro discloses obtaining a coated active material via spray granulation, which is a method including preparing a slurry composition that includes a positive electrode active material, a coating material, and an aqueous medium, and then spraying and drying this slurry composition so as to granulate a coated positive electrode active material (see paragraphs [0078]-[0082] and [0232]-[0238]). Oguro also discloses the slurry composition may be heated to a higher temperature than room temperature and the temperature of the hot air during spray drying may be 100°C to 200°C (see paragraph [0082]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate method to achieve a coated active material, and Aiki discloses any appropriate coating/drying method known in the art can be used (see paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method for producing a coated active material as disclosed by Aiki by feeding the slurry containing the electrode active material to a spray dryer, as disclosed by Oguro, as an appropriate method known in art to achieve a coated active material.
Aiki and Oguro are silent on conveying the powder to a cyclone apparatus provided downstream the spray dryer.
However, in the same field of endeavor of methods of forming active materials (see paragraph [0003]), Hampden-Smith discloses that spray processing methods may include a type of heating and a cyclone apparatus as a powder collection system for collecting powders produced on a spray dryer (see paragraphs [0170], [0186]-[0196], and [0313]). A skilled artisan would recognize this as an appropriate method to collect the active material powder of Aiki. Further, as disclosed in the instant application (see paragraph [0017] of instantly filed application), disintegration proceeds to some extent in the cyclone apparatus as well. So using the cyclone apparatus disclosed by Hampden-Smith would further disintegrate the powder.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Aiki and Oguro by conveying the powder to a cyclone apparatus provided downstream the spray dryer, as disclosed by Hampden-Smith, as it is a known and appropriate method to collect the active material powder.
Aiki, Oguro, and Hampden-Smith are silent on drying the slurry in an air flow.
However, in the same field of endeavor of coatings an active materials (see abstract) Uchiyama discloses a method for producing a coated active material (see paragraphs [0024]-[0026]), the method comprising: mixing an electrode active material and a coating solution containing Li and an element M (spraying a solution of lithium and peroxo complex of niobium over active material in tumbling fluidized coating machine, thereby mixing it) (see abstract and paragraphs [0008] and [0058]). Uchiyama further discloses drying the slurry in an air flow and thereby causing a Li-containing oxide to adhere to at least a portion of a surface of the electrode active material (the result is lithium niobate (LiNbO3) attached to at least part of the active material and a skilled artisan would recognize lithium niobate is a Li-containing oxide (see paragraph [0001])), to obtain a coated active material (see abstract and paragraphs [0001], [0008], [0024]-[0026], and [0058]), where the element M is Nb (see abstract and paragraphs [0001] and [0057]).
A skilled artisan would recognize drying the slurry in an air flow as disclosed by Uchiyama is an appropriate method to achieve a coated active material, and Aiki discloses any appropriate coating/drying method known in the art can be used (see paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method disclosed by Aiki, Oguro, and Hampden-Smith where the slurry is dried in an air flow, as disclosed by Uchiyama, as an appropriate method known in art to achieve a coated active material. Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Aiki, Oguro, Hampden-Smith, and Uchiyama are silent on the method having a surface energy of 72 mN/m or less in advance to prepare a slurry when mixing the electrode active material and coating solution containing Li and an element M.
However, in the same field of endeavor of coatings on electrode active materials (see abstract and paragraphs [0011]-[0015]), Liu discloses maintaining a lower surface energy when mixing in advance of drying allows for better dispersibility and uniformity in Fig. 1 (see paragraphs [0026]-[0029]).
Liu is not specific on the surface energy being 72 mN/m or less. However, this is seen as a result effective variable as Liu discloses this directly affects the dispersibility and uniformity when mixing and that the value should be low (see paragraph [0026]). As such, it is within ambit of a person having ordinary skill in the art to discover the optimum value. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation” (see MPEP 2144.05, II).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method for producing a coated active material as disclosed by Aiki, Oguro, Hampden-Smith, and Uchiyama by ensuring the surface energy is 72 mN/m or less in advance when preparing a slurry when mixing the electrode active material and coating solution containing Li and an element M, as disclosed by Liu as a matter of routine optimization to achieve better dispersibility and uniformity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729