DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Applicants’ response filed on 12/3/2025 has been fully considered. Claims 3 and 11 are cancelled and claims 1-2, 4-10 and 12-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo et al (WO 2014/155410 A1).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Kubo et al (WO 2014/155410 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kubo discloses a battery module (storage battery container comprising a plurality of storage batteries; Fig. 7; pg. 2 of Kubo translation) comprising:
first and second module terminals configured to be connected to an external device (storage battery groups each comprises a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal; Fig. 7 #232; pg. 4 of Kubo translation);
a battery cell stack including a plurality of battery cells (plurality of storage batteries are provided in storage battery groups; Fig. #236a and #236b; pg. 4 of Kubo translation);
a first connection member coupled to anode terminals of the plurality of battery cells (negative electrode bus bar connected to negative electrode terminals of the storage battery group; Fig. 7 #228; pg. 4 of Kubo translation); and
a second connection member coupled to cathode terminals of the plurality of battery cells (positive electrode bus bar connected to positive electrode terminals of the storage battery group; Fig. 7 #226; pg. 4 of translation), wherein:
the plurality of battery cells includes a first battery cell at a first outermost side of the battery cell stack (storage battery group comprises a battery at one end; pg. 4 of Kubo translation), and a second battery cell at an opposite outermost side of the battery cell stack (a battery at another end; pg. 4 of Kubo translation),
the first connection member includes a first common node to which the first module terminal is coupled (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation),
the second connection member includes a second common node to which the second module terminal is coupled (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation),
the first common node is located in the first connection member at a position between a center of the battery cell stack and the first battery cell (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation), and
the second common node is located in the second connection member between the second battery cell and the center of the battery cell stack (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
The first and second module terminals configured to be connected to an external device is functional language that would be inherently met by each positive electrode terminal and each negative electrode terminal of the storage battery groups.
Kubo does not disclose the battery module comprising the first common node located closest to a third battery cell located at an n/4th position in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells and the second common node is located closest to a fourth battery cell located at an n/4th position in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells where n is a total number of battery cells in the battery cell stack.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the installation position for the negative electrode terminal to be located closest to a third battery cell located at an n/4th position in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells and to adjust the installation position for the positive electrode terminal to be located closest to a fourth battery cell located at an n/4th position in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells because doing so allows for the length of the path passing through the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar to be leveled (pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 2, Kubo disclose the battery module of claim 1 as noted above and Kubo discloses the battery module comprising a first common node and the second common node located symmetric to each other based on the center of the battery cell stack (installation position of the negative electrode terminal where the power supply line is located on one end and the installation position of the positive electrode terminal where another power supply line is located on another end; pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 4, Kubo discloses a battery module (storage battery container comprising a plurality of storage batteries; Fig. 7; pg. 2 of Kubo translation) comprising:
first and second module terminals configured to be connected to an external device (storage battery groups each comprises a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal; Fig. 7 #232; pg. 4 of Kubo translation);
a battery cell stack including a plurality of battery cells (plurality of storage batteries are provided in storage battery groups; Fig. #236a and #236b; pg. 4 of Kubo translation);
a first connection member coupled to anode terminals of the plurality of battery cells (negative electrode bus bar connected to negative electrode terminals of the storage battery group; Fig. 7 #228; pg. 4 of Kubo translation); and
a second connection member coupled to cathode terminals of the plurality of battery cells (positive electrode bus bar connected to positive electrode terminals of the storage battery group; Fig. 7 #226; pg. 4 of translation), wherein:
the plurality of battery cells includes a first battery cell at a first outermost side of the battery cell stack (storage battery group comprises a battery at one end; pg. 4 of Kubo translation), and a second battery cell at an opposite outermost side of the battery cell stack (a battery at another end; pg. 4 of Kubo translation),
the first connection member includes a first common node to which the first module terminal is coupled (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation),
the second connection member includes a second common node to which the second module terminal is coupled (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation),
the first common node is located in the first connection member at a position between a center of the battery cell stack and the first battery cell (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation), and
the second common node is located in the second connection member between the second battery cell and the center of the battery cell stack (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Kubo does not disclose the battery module comprising the first common node is located closest to a third battery cell located at an a-th position in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells and the second common node is located closest to a fourth battery cell located at a b-th position in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the installation position for the negative electrode terminal to be located at an a-th position in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells and to adjust the installation position for the positive electrode terminal to be located at a b-th position in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells because doing so allows for the length of the path passing through the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar to be leveled (pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 5, Kubo disclose the battery module of claim 1 as noted above and Kubo discloses the battery module comprising a first common node (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation), a second common node (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation) and a total number of battery cells in the battery cell stack (plurality of storage batteries are provided in storage battery groups; Fig. #236a and #236b; pg. 4 of translation).
Kubo does not disclose the battery module comprising the first common node is located between third and fourth battery cells located at c-th and d-th positions in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells and the second common node is located between fifth and sixth battery cells located at e-th and f-th positions in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the installation position for the negative electrode terminal to be located between third and fourth battery cells located at c-th and d-th positions in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells and to adjust the installation position for the positive electrode terminal to be located at a between fifth and sixth battery cells located at e-th and f-th positions in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells because doing so allows for the length of the path passing through the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar to be leveled (pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 6, Kubo disclose the battery module of claim 1 as noted above and Kubo discloses the battery module comprising a first common node (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation), a second common node (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation) and a total number of battery cells in the battery cell stack (plurality of storage batteries are provided in storage battery groups; Fig. #236a and #236b; pg. 4 of translation).
Kubo does not disclose the battery module comprising at least one battery cell located between the first battery cell and the first common node and the at least one battery cell located between the second battery cell and the second common node.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the installation position for the negative electrode terminal such that at least one battery cell is located between the first battery cell and the first common node and to adjust the installation position for the positive electrode terminal such that at least one battery cell is located between the second battery cell and the second common node because doing so allows for the length of the path passing through the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar to be leveled (pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 7, Kubo disclose the battery module of claim 6 as noted above and Kubo discloses the battery module comprising a first common node (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation), a second common node (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation) and a total number of battery cells in the battery cell stack (plurality of storage batteries are provided in storage battery groups; Fig. #236a and #236b; pg. 4 of translation).
Kubo does not disclose the battery module comprising a total number of battery cells located between the first battery cell and the first common node and a total number of battery cells located between the second battery cell and the second common node are the same as each other.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the installation position for the negative electrode terminal and to adjust the installation position for the positive electrode terminal such that a total number of battery cells located between the first battery cell and the first common node and a total number of battery cells located between the second battery cell and the second common node are the same as each other because doing so allows for the length of the path passing through the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar to be leveled (pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 8, Kubo disclose the battery module of claim 1 as noted above and Kubo discloses the battery module comprising a first common terminal for coupling the first connection member to the first module terminal (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation) and a second common terminal for coupling the second connection member to the second module terminal (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 9, Kubo discloses a battery module (storage battery container comprising a plurality of storage batteries; Fig. 7; pg. 2 of Kubo translation) comprising:
first and second module terminals configured to be connected to an external device (storage battery groups each comprises a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal; Fig. 7 #232; pg. 4 of Kubo translation);
a plurality of battery sub-modules (plurality of storage batteries are provided in storage battery groups; Fig. #236a and #236b; pg. 4 of Kubo translation), wherein:
each of the plurality of battery sub-modules includes:
a battery cell stack including a plurality of battery cells (plurality of storage batteries are provided in storage battery groups; Fig. #236a and #236b; pg. 4 of Kubo translation);
a first connection member coupled to anode terminals of the plurality of battery cells (negative electrode bus bar connected to negative electrode terminals of the storage battery group; Fig. 7 #228; pg. 4 of Kubo translation); and
a second connection member coupled to cathode terminals of the plurality of battery cells (positive electrode bus bar connected to positive electrode terminals of the storage battery group; Fig. 7 #226; pg. 4 of translation), wherein:
the plurality of battery cells includes a first battery cell at a first outermost side of the battery cell stack (storage battery group comprises a battery at one end; pg. 4 of Kubo translation), and a second battery cell at an opposite outermost side of the battery cell stack (a battery at another end; pg. 4 of Kubo translation),
the first connection member of a first battery sub-module having a highest potential among the plurality of battery sub-modules includes a first common node to which the first module terminal is coupled (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation),
the second connection member of a second battery sub-module having a lowest potential among the plurality of battery sub-modules includes a second common node to which the second module terminal is coupled (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation),
the first common node is located in the first connection member of the first battery sub-module at a position between a first battery cell, among two battery cells respectively located at outermost sides of the first battery sub-module, and
a center of the battery module (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation), and
the second common node is located in the second connection member of the second battery sub-module at a position between a second battery cell, located in an opposite direction to the first battery cell, among two battery cells respectively located at outermost sides of the second battery sub-module, and the center of the battery module (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Kubo does not disclose the battery module comprising the first common node located closest to a third battery cell located at an n/4th position in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells of the first battery sub-module and the second common node is located closest to a fourth battery cell located at an n/4th position in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells of the second battery sub-module.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the installation position for the negative electrode terminal to be located closest to a third battery cell located at an n/4th position in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells of the first battery sub-module and to adjust the installation position for the positive electrode terminal to be located closest to a fourth battery cell located closest to a fourth battery cell located at an n/4th position in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells of the second battery sub-module because doing so allows for the length of the path passing through the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar to be leveled (pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 10, Kubo discloses the battery module of claim 9 and Kubo discloses the battery module comprising the first common node and the second common node located symmetric to each other based on the center of the battery cell stack (an installation position of the negative electrode terminal where the power supply line is located on one end and the installation position of the positive electrode terminal where another power supply line is located on another end; pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 12, Kubo discloses the battery module of claim 9 and Kubo discloses the battery module comprising a first common node (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation), a second common node (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation) and a total number of battery cells in the battery cell stack (plurality of storage batteries are provided in storage battery groups; Fig. #236a and #236b; pg. 4 of translation).
Kubo does not disclose the battery module comprising the first common node is located closest to a third battery cell located at an a-th position in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells of the first battery sub-module and the second common node is located closest to a fourth battery cell located at a b-th position in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells of the second battery sub-module.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the installation position for the negative electrode terminal to be located at an a-th position in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells of the first battery sub-module and to adjust the installation position for the positive electrode terminal to be located closest to a fourth battery cell located at a b-th position in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells of the second battery sub-module because doing so allows for the length of the path passing through the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar to be leveled (pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 13, Kubo discloses the battery module of claim 9 and Kubo discloses the battery module comprising a first common node (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation), a second common node (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation) and a total number of battery cells in the battery cell stack (plurality of storage batteries are provided in storage battery groups; Fig. #236a and #236b; pg. 4 of translation).
Kubo does not disclose the battery module comprising the first common node is located between third and fourth battery cells located at c-th and d-th positions in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells of the first battery sub-module and the second common node is located between fifth and sixth battery cells located at e-th and f-th positions in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells of the second battery sub-module.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the installation position for the negative electrode terminal to be located between third and fourth battery cells located at c-th and d-th positions in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells of the first battery sub-module and to adjust the installation position for the positive electrode terminal to be located at a between fifth and sixth battery cells located at e-th and f-th positions in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells of the second battery sub-module because doing so allows for the length of the path passing through the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar to be leveled (pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 14, Kubo discloses the battery module of claim 9 and Kubo discloses the battery module comprising a first common node (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation), a second common node (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation) and a total number of battery cells in the battery cell stack (plurality of storage batteries are provided in storage battery groups; Fig. #236a and #236b; pg. 4 of translation).
Kubo does not disclose the battery module comprising at least one battery cell located between the first battery cell and the first common node and the at least one battery cell located between the second battery cell and the second common node.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the installation position for the negative electrode terminal such that at least one battery cell is located between the first battery cell and the first common node and to adjust the installation position for the positive electrode terminal such that at least one battery cell is located between the second battery cell and the second common node because doing so allows for the length of the path passing through the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar to be leveled (pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 15, Kubo discloses the battery module of claim 9 and Kubo discloses the battery module comprising a first common node (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation), a second common node (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of translation) and a total number of battery cells in the battery cell stack (plurality of storage batteries are provided in storage battery groups; Fig. #236a and #236b; pg. 4 of translation).
Kubo does not disclose the battery module comprising a total number of battery cells located between the first battery cell and the first common node and a total number of battery cells located between the second battery cell and the second common node are the same as each other.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the installation position for the negative electrode terminal and to adjust the installation position for the positive electrode terminal such that a total number of battery cells located between the first battery cell and the first common node and a total number of battery cells located between the second battery cell and the second common node are the same as each other because doing so allows for the length of the path passing through the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar to be leveled (pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Regarding claim 16, Kubo discloses the battery module of claim 9 and Kubo discloses the battery module comprising a first common terminal for coupling the first connection member of the first battery-sub module to the first module terminal (installation positions for the negative electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation) and a second common terminal for coupling the second connection member of the second battery-sub module to the second module terminal (installations position for the positive electrode terminal; pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants argue that Kubo does not disclose the positive and negative terminals positioned closest to the n/4-th battery cell in either direction.
This argument is moot as this limitation is not anticipated by Kubo and therefore the 102 rejection has been withdrawn. However, this limitation would be rendered obvious by Kubo as noted above.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Kubo does not disclose the positive and negative terminals positioned closest to the n/4-th battery cell in either direction.
This argument is not persuasive as it would have been adjust the installation position for the negative electrode terminal to be located closest to a third battery cell located at an n/4th position in an array order of a first direction among the plurality of battery cells and to adjust the installation position for the positive electrode terminal to be located closest to a fourth battery cell located at an n/4th position in the array order of a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction, among the plurality of battery cells because doing so allows for the length of the path passing through the positive electrode bus bar and the negative electrode bus bar to be leveled (pg. 6 of Kubo translation).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785