DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 10 and 11, the limitation “a secondary vision zone” is unclear if it is referring to the secondary bottom vision zone or the secondary top vision zone recited in line 4.
In claim 8, lines 12 and 13, the limitation “a secondary vision zone” is unclear if it is referring to the secondary bottom vision zone or the secondary top vision zone recited in line 6.
In claim 15, line 11 and 12, the limitation “a secondary vision zone” is unclear if it is referring to the secondary bottom vision zone or the secondary top vision zone recited in line 5.
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are rejected because of their dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SCHALL (EP 2146548).
Regarding claim 1, SCHALL teaches a heating system (system within window shown in Fig. 1) for a window (Fig. 1), comprising a conductive coating (2) disposed between a first pane (1.1; para. 0060) and a second pane (1.2; para. 0060) of the window (as shown in Fig. 3; para. 0076-0077), the conductive coating extending through a primary vision zone (middle zone were coating 2 is located) of the window from a secondary bottom vision zone (5G) of the window to a secondary top vision zone (4G) of the window; a first busbar (5) along a lower edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1); and a first electrical wire (12 at conductive structure 5G) for flowing a current into the conductive coating to generate heat within the primary vision zone (para. 0058; para. 0066; para. 0079), the first electrical wire connected to the first busbar at the lower edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1), extending through the secondary vision zone and connected to the conductive coating at a top edge of the secondary vision zone (as shown in Fig. 1; structures 4G and 5G, which contain electrical wires 12, extend from the bus bars 4 and 5 respectively, and there is an electrical connection between the bus bars (4, 5), the coating (2) and the conductive structures (4G, %G); para. 0058; 0066).
Regarding claim 2, SCHALL teaches the heating system as set forth above, further comprising a polyvinyl butyral layer (PVB layer) (1.3) that bonds the first pane to the second pane (para. 0076), wherein the conductive coating and the first electrical wire are one of: (i) between the PVB layer and the first pane; and (ii) between the PVB layer and the second pane (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, SCHALL teaches the heating system as set forth above, further comprising a second electrical wire (12 at conductive structure 4G) connecting to the conductive coating within the secondary top vision zone (para. 0058; para. 0066; para. 0079).
Regarding claim 4, SCHALL teaches the heating system as set forth above, wherein the first electrical wire is connected to a first terminal of a power supply via a first bus bar (5) along a lower edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1 and 3; para. 0064; para. 0077) and the second electrical wire is connected to a second terminal of the power supply via a second bus bar (4) along an upper edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1; para. 0064; para. 0077).
Regarding claim 5, SCHALL teaches the heating system as set forth above, wherein the first electrical wire has a diameter of between about 15 microns and about 50 microns (para. 0029).
Regarding claim 6, SCHALL teaches the heating system as set forth above, wherein the first electrical wire makes at least one of: (i) an oscillatory waveform defined within a plane; and (11) a straight line (as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, SCHALL teaches the heating system as set forth above, wherein the first electrical wire has a first resistivity and the conductive coating has second resistivity (para. 0053; para. 0069).
Regarding claim 8, SCHALL teaches a window (Fig. 1) of a vehicle (para. 0043), comprising a first pane (1.1); a second pane (1.2); a conductive coating (2) disposed between the first pane and the second pane (as shown in Fig. 3; para. 0076-0077), the conductive coating extending through a primary vision zone (middle zone were coating 2 is located) of the window from a secondary bottom vision zone (5G) of the window to a secondary top vision zone (4G) of the window; a first busbar (5) along a lower edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1); and a first electrical wire (12 at conductive structure 5G) for flowing a current into the conductive coating to generate heat within the primary vision zone (para. 0058; para. 0066; para. 0079), the first electrical wire connected to the first busbar at the lower edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1), extending through the secondary vision zone and connected to the conductive coating at a top edge of the secondary vision zone (as shown in Fig. 1; structures 4G and 5G, which contain electrical wires 12, extend from the bus bars 4 and 5 respectively, and there is an electrical connection between the bus bars (4, 5), the coating (2) and the conductive structures (4G, %G); para. 0058; 0066).
Regarding claim 9, SCHALL teaches the window as set forth above, further comprising a polyvinyl butyral layer (PVB layer) (1.3) that bonds the first pane to the second pane (para. 0076), wherein the conductive coating and the first electrical wire are one of: (i) between the PVB layer and the first pane; and (ii) between the PVB layer and the second pane (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, SCHALL teaches the window as set forth above, further comprising a second electrical wire (12 at conductive structure 4G) connecting to the conductive coating within the secondary top vision zone (para. 0058; para. 0066; para. 0079).
Regarding claim 11, SCHALL teaches the window as set forth above, wherein the first electrical wire is connected to a first terminal of a power supply via a first bus bar (5) along a lower edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1 and 3; para. 0064; para. 0077) and the second electrical wire is connected to a second terminal of the power supply via a second bus bar (4) along an upper edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1; para. 0064; para. 0077).
Regarding claim 12, SCHALL teaches the window as set forth above, wherein the first electrical wire has a diameter of between about 15 microns and about 50 microns (para. 0029).
Regarding claim 13, SCHALL teaches the window as set forth above, wherein the first electrical wire makes at least one of: (i) an oscillatory waveform defined within a plane; and (11) a straight line (as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, SCHALL teaches the window as set forth above, wherein the first electrical wire has a first resistivity and the conductive coating has second resistivity (para. 0053; para. 0069).
Regarding claim 15, SCHALL teaches a vehicle (para. 0043), comprising: a window (Fig. 1) having a first pane (1.1) and a second pane (1.2); a conductive coating (2) disposed between the first pane and the second pane (as shown in Fig. 3; para. 0076-0077), the conductive coating extending through a primary vision zone (middle zone were coating 2 is located) of the window from a secondary bottom vision zone (5G) of the window to a secondary top vision zone (4G) of the window; a first busbar (5) along a lower edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1); and a first electrical wire (12 at conductive structure 5G) for flowing a current into the conductive coating to generate heat within the primary vision zone (para. 0058; para. 0066; para. 0079), the first electrical wire connected to the first busbar at the lower edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1), extending through the secondary vision zone and connected to the conductive coating at a top edge of the secondary vision zone (as shown in Fig. 1; structures 4G and 5G, which contain electrical wires 12, extend from the bus bars 4 and 5 respectively, and there is an electrical connection between the bus bars (4, 5), the coating (2) and the conductive structures (4G, %G); para. 0058; 0066).
Regarding claim 16, SCHALL teaches the vehicle as set forth above, further comprising a polyvinyl butyral layer (PVB layer) (1.3) that bonds the first pane to the second pane (para. 0076), wherein the conductive coating and the first electrical wire are one of: (i) between the PVB layer and the first pane; and (ii) between the PVB layer and the second pane (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, SCHALL teaches the vehicle as set forth above, further comprising a second electrical wire (12 at conductive structure 4G) connecting to the conductive coating within the secondary top vision zone (para. 0058; para. 0066; para. 0079).
Regarding claim 18, SCHALL teaches the vehicle as set forth above, wherein the first electrical wire is connected to a first terminal of a power supply via a first bus bar (5) along a lower edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1 and 3; para. 0064; para. 0077) and the second electrical wire is connected to a second terminal of the power supply via a second bus bar (4) along an upper edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1; para. 0064; para. 0077).
Regarding claim 19, SCHALL teaches the vehicle as set forth above, wherein the first electrical wire has a diameter of between about 15 microns and about 50 microns (para. 0029).
Regarding claim 20, SCHALL teaches the vehicle as set forth above, wherein the first electrical wire makes at least one of: (i) an oscillatory waveform defined within a plane; and (11) a straight line (as shown in Fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that “However, Schall does not show or disclose an electrical wire that connects to the busbar at one end and then extends away from the busbar before connecting to the conductive coating. Therefore, Applicant submits that Schall does not show or disclose at least the features of a first busbar along a lower edge of the window; and a first electrical wire for flowing a current into the conductive coating to generate heat within the primary vision zone, the first electrical wire connected to the first busbar at the lower edge of the window, extending through the secondary vision zone and connected to the conductive coating at a top edge of the secondary vision zone, as specified in amended claim 1.” on remarks page 7, lines 4-12. In response to Applicant’s arguments, Schall teaches a first busbar (5) along a lower edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1); and a first electrical wire (12 at conductive structure 5G) for flowing a current into the conductive coating (2) to generate heat within the primary vision zone (middle zone were coating 2 is located) (para. 0058; para. 0066; para. 0079), the first electrical wire connected to the first busbar (5) at the lower edge of the window (as shown in Fig. 1), extending through the secondary vision zone and connected to the conductive coating at a top edge of the secondary vision zone (as shown in Fig. 1; structures 4G and 5G, which contain electrical wires 12, extend from the bus bars 4 and 5 respectively, and there is an electrical connection between the bus bars (4, 5), the coating (2) and the conductive structures (4G, %G); para. 0058; 0066).
For these reasons, the arguments are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 2-20, Applicant relies on the same arguments, therefore, the same response applies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALBA T ROSARIO-APONTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/24/2025
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761