CTFR 17/872,646 CTFR 94608 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendments In response to the amendments received 03/17//2026: Claims 1-13 are pending in the current application. Claims 1 and 6 have been amended. The previous objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been overcome in light of amendments. The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection has been overcome in light of the amendments. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation Claim 1 recites “…wherein a space provided between the connectors and the case communicates with a space formed between adjacent ones of a plurality of segments included in the cartridge”. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation “a space” can be either filled with a component (i.e., a pad, adhesive, etc.) and “communicates with” is interpreted as electrically, thermally, or physically. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-36 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. 07-36-01 AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 10 recites “…wherein a space is provided between the connectors and the case” whereas claim 1 recites “…a space provided between the connectors and the case…”, thus already defining a space between the connectors and case . Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20190379094) in view of Lee et al. (US 20200343604) and Lee’16 et al. (US 20160233465) . Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a vehicle battery module comprising: battery cells (P6); a plurality of cooling tubes 200 , each provided to correspond to one of the battery cells, or electrode assembly inside pouch 600 and disposed either above or below, or both above and below the corresponding one of the battery cells (P6-8.25; Fig. 2-3); connectors, or frame 100 including battery cell 600 (inside of frame 100/130 ; Fig. 5) each provided to connect a respective one of the battery cell 600 to a corresponding one of the plurality of cooling tubes 200 so as to cool the respective battery cell through the corresponding cooling tube (Fig. 5-6); a cartridge, or frame 100/140 (outside portions i.e., surrounding internal mounting structure of 100/130/600 and pipe 300 and connecting frames together; Fig. 3.7) and is configured to fix positions of the plurality of cooling tubes 200 relative to one another (P28-30; Fig. 2-3), as shown in annotated Fig. 5, below wherein the connector is highlighted and the cartridge is surrounded by dashed line; a cooling pipe 300 connected to the plurality of cooling tubes 200 so as to supply a cooling medium to each of the plurality of cooling tubes 200 (P25-28; Fig. 3-6); wherein the cooling tube 200 is disposed directly on a pouch terrace portion of the battery cell 600 and is positioned in a region of the terrace portion that does not overlap with a terminal of the battery cell (Fig. 3-6), wherein each connector, or internal frame 100/130 and cell 600 , seals the respective battery cell and is connected to the corresponding cooling tube in a configuration that surrounds the cooling tube so as to allow the respective battery cell to be cooled through the corresponding cooling tube (P25; Fig. 5), and wherein adjacent connectors are thermally connected to each other at a position between the cooling tube and the battery cell via TIM 700 placed on side of frame below cell and above tube 200 and injected once frames are laminated, thus formed a thermal interface material between assemblies (P31-32; Fig. 6). PNG media_image1.png 241 749 media_image1.png Greyscale Kim is silent in teaching a case coupled to outer sides of the battery cells in a state in which the battery cells, the connectors, and the cartridge are assembled; however, Lee, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a case 30 coupled to outer sides of the battery cells to protect the battery cells from external environment (P71; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include the case of Lee, coupled to outer sides of the battery cells in a state in which the battery cells, the connectors, and the cartridge of Kim are assembled, to protect the cells from the environment and vibration. The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. MPEP 2143 C Modified Kim in view of Lee is silent in teaching wherein a space provided between the connectors and the case communicates with a space formed between adjacent ones of a plurality of segments included in the cartridge; however, Lee’16, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a battery module with pouch cells within cartridges (P15). Lee’16 teaches a space provided between the connectors and the cartridges (and thus an additional case) communicates with a space formed between adjacent ones of a plurality of segments included in the cartridge to insert an adhesive to better improve fixing of the cell position and cartridges together and improving thermal dissipation (P109-114.116-117.128-131.139-141; Fig. 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a space between the connectors and the case that communicated with a space formed between adjacent ones of a plurality of segments included in the cartridge of the module of modified Kim in view of Lee, to insert an adhesive, improving stability and thermal conduction, as taught by Lee’16. Regarding claim 2 , modified Kim teaches the battery cells are pressed against each other in a surface-to-surface direction, and wherein each of the plurality of cooling tubes 200 is disposed to be spaced apart either upwards or downwards from a corresponding one of the battery cells 600 , corresponding to the central part of the structure, so as to form a space between the cooling tube and the corresponding battery cell (P32; Fig. 3-6). Regarding claim 3 , modified Kim teaches each connector is a pouch surrounding one of the battery cells, wherein the connector includes frame and cell pouch mounted thereto, as shown in annotated Fig. 5, above (P25; Fig. 2-6). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the battery cell, or electrode assembly, is inside the pouch, or cell 600 of modified Kim. Regarding claim 4 , modified Kim teaches each connector, or frame + cell 100/600 has a shape in which lower end portion thereof, or aperture 130 connects to corresponding cooling tube (P25-26; annotated Fig. 5). Regarding claim 5 , modified Kim teaches each of the plurality of cooling tubes 200 is supported by a cartridge adjacent thereto 100/110 (Fig. 3-6). Regarding claim 6 , modified Kim teaches the cartridge 100 comprises a plurality of segments comprising outer segments 140 and inner segments 100 , wherein the outer segments cover outermost battery cells (P28), and wherein the inner segments cover inner battery cells excluding the outermost battery cells (P28; Fig. 3). Regarding claim 8 , modified Kim teaches the outer segments 140 and the inner segments 100 form a rim so that the battery cells 600 are disposed inside the cartridge (Fig. 2-3). Regarding claim 9 , modified Kim teaches a space is provided between the outer segment 140 and the inner segment 100 , wherein Fig. 3 shows outer and inner segments of different sizes with at least terminals interposed between thus amounting to a space or gap (Fig. 3). Regarding claim 10 , modified Kim teaches a space is provided between the connectors 110 (Fig. 3) and the case (in view of Lee providing the case). Regarding claim 11 , modified Kim in view of Lee teaches the case covers all of the plurality of cooling tubes, the battery cells, the connectors, and the cartridge, wherein the case covers the entire module (Fig. 1). Regarding claim 12 , modified Kim teaches cooling holes, or apertures 130 are respectively formed above and below a corresponding one of the battery cells 600 , and each of the plurality of cooling tubes is inserted through a corresponding one of the cooling holes (P25-26; Fig. 3-5). Alternatively, claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Kim in view of Lee and Lee’16 as applied to at least claim 1 above, and further in view of Dudley et al. (US 2016/0351977). Regarding claim 3 , modified Kim teaches the connector is a frame with a battery cell shown as a pouch (P25) but is silent in explicitly teaching each connector is a pouch surrounding one of the battery cells; however, Dudley, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a cooling system for a pouch cell (P22). Pouches 252 form the connectors to connect a respective battery cell to a corresponding one of the plurality of cooling tubes 232/234 so as to cool the respective battery cell through the corresponding cooling tube to regulate temperature, reduce parts, and minimize leakage (P35-36; Fig. 1.9.11-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the pouch exterior as the connector of modified Kim, to require less components and control potential leakage, as taught by Dudley. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C Regarding claim 4 , modified Kim is silent in teaching each connector seals the respective battery cell and has a shape in which either an upper end portion or a lower end portion thereof, or both the upper end portion and the lower end portion thereof are connected to the corresponding cooling tube and surround the corresponding cooling tube so as to allow the respective battery cell to be cooled through the corresponding cooling tube; however, Dudley, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a cooling system for a pouch cell (P22). Pouches 252 form the connectors to connect a respective battery cell to a corresponding one of the plurality of cooling tubes 232/234 so as to cool the respective battery cell through the corresponding cooling tube. Each connector 252 seals the respective battery cell and has a shape in which either an upper end portion or a lower end portion thereof, or both the upper end portion and the lower end portion thereof are connected to the corresponding cooling tube 232/234 and surround the corresponding cooling tube so as to allow the respective battery cell to be cooled through the corresponding cooling tube to regulate temperature, reduce parts, and minimize leakage (P35-36.44-46; Fig. 1.9.11-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the pouch exterior as the connector of modified Kim, sealing the cell and tubes within to require less components and control potential leakage, as taught by Dudley. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Kim in view of Lee and Lee’16 as applied to at least claim 6 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0067656) . Regarding claim 7 , modified Kim is silent in teaching absorption pads configured to absorb swelling of the battery cells are respectively disposed between an outermost battery cell and an inner battery cell adjacent thereto and between an adjacent pair of inner battery cells; however, Zhang, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches absorption pads, or elastic buffering pads 141 configured to absorb swelling, or limit the position of the battery cells are respectively disposed between an outermost battery cell and an inner battery cell adjacent thereto and between an adjacent pair of inner battery cells to provide stability from external impact and vibration (P78.81; Fig. 6.10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have absorption pads configured to absorb swelling of the battery cells of modified Kim respectively disposed between an outermost battery cell and an inner battery cell adjacent thereto and between an adjacent pair of inner battery cells, to maintain stability as taught by Zhang . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Kim in view of Lee and Lee’16 as applied to at least claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee’18 (US 20180138561) . Regarding claim 13 , modified Kim is silent in teaching an end of the plurality of cooling tubes and the cooling pipe are connected by a rubber tube; however, Lee’18, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches using a rubber tube, or rubber O-ring 400 to prevent leakage of coolant and securing a coupling force between coolant pipes 354/240 (P81-83; Fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have an end of the plurality of cooling tubes of modified Kim and the cooling pipe connected by a rubber tube to prevent leakage of coolant and securing a coupling force, as taught by Lee’18. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143 C Response to Arguments Applicant argues the new claim limitations overcome the previous showing of obviousness. The amendments overcome the previous rejections. Examiner notes that as recited, the spaces are broadly recited, and thus the cartridges can be interpreted as a space between the connectors and the case, or a space along a different wall of the case (i.e. along terminal edge). Furthermore, “communicates” can be interpreted as via indirect or direct thermal, electrical, or physical contact. New and amended grounds of rejection are above set forth. New and amended grounds of rejection are necessitated by the claim amendments. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. /Amanda Rosenbaum/Examiner, Art Unit 1752 /Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752 Application/Control Number: 17/872,646 Page 2 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 17/872,646 Page 3 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 17/872,646 Page 4 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 17/872,646 Page 5 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 17/872,646 Page 6 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 17/872,646 Page 7 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 17/872,646 Page 8 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 17/872,646 Page 9 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 17/872,646 Page 10 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 17/872,646 Page 11 Art Unit: 1752