DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on 06/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0230788 (Lee hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a clothes dryer that discloses a cabinet including a front panel having an inlet to accommodate an object (Figure 1, cabinet 1010 with inlet 1011); a drum rotatably arranged in the cabinet and having a front opening and a rear opening (Drum 103 with front opening at 1040 and rear opening at 1050 as shown in Figure 2), the drum configured to have air flow along an interior of the drum from the rear opening to the front opening (Airflow path in Figure 2); a front cover formed to link the inlet of the cabinet and the front opening of the drum (Evident from cover 1040), the front cover including a slope portion formed to have a diameter decreasing toward the inlet of the cabinet from the front opening of the drum (Figure 47, sloped portion 1043 per ¶ 461-462); a rear cover formed to connect to the rear opening of the drum and having an air inlet formed at the rear cover to guide air including moisture to flow toward the rear opening of the drum from an exterior of the drum (Rear cover 1050 as seen in Figure 2 with 1200); and a device arranged on the slope portion for sensing humidity in air including moisture discharged from the front opening of the drum (Sensor mounted at 1046 per ¶ 468), wherein the front cover is arranged in front of the drum in the cabinet and forms a flow path connected to an interior of the drum (Figures 2 and 47 show the front cover 1040 and drum 1030 with the flow path along the inner surfaces of the front cover/drum), and wherein the sensing device includes a sensor facing the flow path (Sensor within mounting 1046 on front cover 1040 per ¶ 486 and Figure 47), and the sensor is oriented along a direction of airflow (At the mount 1046 where at least a portion of the airflow directed is in line with the sensor) from the rear opening toward the inlet and aligned with the inlet along a front-back direction of the cabinet, and positioned to a same side as the inlet along a lateral direction of the cabinet (Figures 2 and 47 show the airflow directions and the alignment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0230788 (Lee) in view of US 10669667 (Prajescu hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Lee would further disclose a fan configured to move the air into the drum (Fan 1710 of Lee); a heat exchanger arranged in the cabinet to cool the air discharged from the front opening of the drum (1100 of Lee per ¶ 216); and an air outlet formed in a lower portion of the front cover so that the air discharged from the front opening of the drum flows to the heat exchanger (Figure 2 of Lee).
Lee is silent with respect that the sensing device is arranged in an upper portion of the front cover.
However, Prajescu teaches a clothes dryer that discloses a sensing device (Sensor 102 in Figures 3-5) and the sensing device arranged on the slope portion for sensing humidity in air discharged from the front opening of the drum (Evident from Figure 3of Prajescu as modifying the location of 1046 of Lee).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the location of the sensor of Lee with the teachings of Prajescu since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 3, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 2 where the combination of Lee and Prajescu would further disclose that the drum is rotated counterclockwise while the drum is viewed from front to back of the drum (¶ 140 of Lee), and wherein the sensing device is arranged to lean to a right side when the drum is viewed from front to back of the drum (Figure 3 of Prajescu).
Regarding claim 4, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 3 where the combination of Lee and Prajescu would further disclose a lighting device adjacent to the sensing device (Light 124 within 112 of Prajescu Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Lee’s teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the sensing device includes a sensor including a sensing surface facing inside of the slope portion; and a cover coupled to an inner wall of the slope portion to cover the sensor.
However, Prajescu teaches a clothes dryer that discloses a sensing device (Sensor 102 in Figures 3-5) and the sensing device includes a sensor including a sensing surface facing inside of the slope portion (Sensor 102 as seen in Figure 4); and a cover coupled to an inner wall of the slope portion to cover the sensor (Covering made by the face of the sloped portion with the holes as seen in Figures 3 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of Lee with the sensor disclosed by Prajescu to allow for the sensor to be protected from the clothing within the dryer.
Regarding claim 7, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 6 where the combination of Lee, and Prajescu would further disclose that the cover includes a cover surface arranged on the inner wall of the slope portion (Figures 4 and 5 of Prajescu); and a through hole penetrating the cover surface for the sensing surface to be exposed to the inside of the slope portion (Holes seen in Figures 3-5 of Prajescu).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0230788 (Lee) in view of US 10669667 (Prajescu) and further in view of US 8701309 (Park hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 4 but are silent with respect to an electrode sensor coupled to a lower portion of the slope portion to sense humidity of the object in the interior of the drum; and a controller configured to determine an operation time for the clothes dryer based on one of humidity sensed by the electrode sensor or humidity sensed by the sensing device.
However, Park teaches a clothes dryer that discloses an electrode sensor coupled to a lower portion of the slope portion to sense humidity of the objects in the interior of the drum (Figure 3, sensor 212); and a controller configured to determine an operation time for the clothes dryer based on one of humidity sensed by the electrode sensor or humidity sensed by the sensing device (Figure 7 of Park).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of Lee with the sensor of Park to ensure that the dryer is operated with respect to the relative humidity and minimize operation time.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0230788 (Lee) in view of US 10669667 (Prajescu) and further in view of US 2020/0407903 (Han hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 7 but are silent with respect that the sensing device further includes a filter arranged between the cover surface and the sensor to protect the sensor from foreign materials.
However, Han teaches a clothes dryer that discloses a sensing device and that the sensing device further includes a filter arranged between the cover surface and the sensor to protect the sensor from foreign materials (Filter 210b for the sensor 211).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of Lee and Prajescu with the intermediate filter of Han to prevent debris from getting to the sensor
Regarding claim 9, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 8 where there combination of Lee, Park, Prajescu, and Han would further disclose that the cover is a first cover (Cover of Prajescu), and wherein the sensing device is couplable to the inner wall of the slope portion (Combination of Lee with Figures 4 and 5 of Prajescu) and includes a second cover receiving the sensor and the filter between the first cover and the second cover (Second cover formed by Han’s structure surrounding the sensor in Figure 6 as mounted to the sloped surface of Lee as shown in Prajescu).
Regarding claim 10, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 9 where there combination of Lee, Park, Prajescu, and Han would further disclose that the sensing device includes a printed circuit board (PCB) (PCB of 211a of Han and chip 126 of Prajescu), wherein the sensor is mounted on the printed circuit board (PCB) (Figure 4 of Prajescu), wherein the PCB is placed on the second cover to be received between the first cover and the second cover (Figure 6 of Han as mounted to the sloped surface of Lee as shown in Prajescu).
Regarding claim 11, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 9 where there combination of Lee, Park, Prajescu, and Han would further disclose that the first cover includes a first guide passing through the slope portion (Broadest reasonable interpretation of back opening of the mounts 132 of Prajescu) and formed to extend to outside of the slope portion from the cover surface to guide a wire electrically connected to the PCB (Broadest reasonable interpretation that the wires would extend from the chip of Prajescu on the backside of the sloped portion and therefore outside of the sloped portion).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0230788 (Lee) in view of US 10669667 (Prajescu) in view of US 2020/0407903 (Han) and further in view of US 2019/0330792 (Del hereinafter).
Regarding claim 12, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 9 but are silent with respect that the second cover includes a second guide couplable to the first guide and passing through the slope portion and formed to extend to outside of the slope portion to guide the wire between the first guide and the second guide.
However, Del teaches a dryer and humidity sensor that discloses a first cover (Equivalent cover of 345 in Figure 7), a second cover (Figure 8, material 805 forming the back cover), and the second cover includes a second guide couplable to the first guide and passing through the slope portion and formed to extend to outside of the slope portion to guide the wire between the first guide and the second guide (Figure 8 shows that the potting material forming the equivalent second cover will feature a guide for the wires 505 to pass through).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mounting of Lee with the teachings of Del to ensure that the humidity sensor is securely mounted and protected.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0230788 (Lee) in view of US 8701309 (Park).
Regarding claim 13, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where Lee would further disclose that the front cover is arranged in front of the drum in the cabinet and forms the flow path connected to an interior of the drum (Front cover 1040 as seen in Figure 2).
Lee is silent with respect that the sensing device includes a sensor facing the flow path, and is arranged to match the air inlet along the front-back direction.
However, Park teaches a dryer that discloses a sensing device that includes a sensor facing the flow path, and is arranged to match the air inlet along a front-back direction (Figure 3, sensors 210 and 212 on the equivalent front cover 204).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of Lee with the sensor of Park to ensure that the dryer is operated with respect to the relative humidity and minimize operation time.
Regarding claim 14, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 13 where Lee and Park would further disclose that the front cover includes a cover part couplable to the sensing device and formed to slopingly extend from back to front of the front cover to form the flow path (Figure 3 of Park shows that sensor 212 is covered by a body that is being interpreted as the cover part and does form a portion of the flow path).
Regarding claim 15, Lee’s modified teachings are described above in claim 14 where Lee and Park would further disclose an electrode sensor coupled to a lower portion of the cover part to sense humidity of the object in the interior of the drum (Sensor 212 of Park per Column 3 Lines 58-63), and a controller configured to determine an operation time for the clothes dryer based on one of humidity sensed by the electrode sensor or humidity sensed by the sensing device (Park Figure 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 and the failure of Lee (US 2021/0230768) to teach the new claim language has been reviewed but is not found to be persuasive. Claim 1 has been amended to recite “the sensor is oriented along a direction of airflow from the rear opening toward the inlet and aligned with the inlet along a front-back direction of the cabinet, and positioned to a same side as the inlet along a lateral direction of the cabinet.” The Examiner is viewing the sensor at 1046 of Lee in Figures 2 and 47 as having a direction that is in the airflow direction shown in Figure 2 which shows the air flowing from rear to the front. Lee also shows that the sensor is at the inlet side by being located on the body 1040. Applicant’s argument to claim 1 is not found persuasive under the new interpretation of the Lee reference.
Applicant’s argument regarding claims 5 and 6 have been reviewed but are not found to be persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of Lee and Prajescu (US 10669667) fails to disclose a sensor including a sensing surface facing an inside of the slope portion; and a cover coupled to an inner wall of the slope portion to cover the sensor. However, the Examiner has cited that Prajescu to teach the aforementioned limitation as “a sensing device (Sensor 102 in Figures 3-5) and the sensing device arranged on the slope portion for sensing humidity in air discharged from the front opening of the drum (Evident from Figure 3 of Prajescu as modifying the location of 1046 of Lee).” Prajescu shows the sensor 102 with a surface facing towards the sloped side of Prajescu at 130 which is equivalent to the sloped wall at 1047 of 1040 of Lee. The Prajescu reference shows the sensor connected to the sloped surface and therefore is seen as being arranged on the sloped surface. Applicant is welcomed to further clarify their structure relative to Lee and Prajescu to overcome this interpretation however at this moment, Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 5 and 6 are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762