DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claim 1-14, in the reply filed on 15 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukagawa et al. (US 2022/0140008 A1)(Fukagawa).
US 2022/014008 A1 qualifies as prior art under 102(a)(2) based upon the filing date of its foreign priority document, JP 2020-181332, for subject matter disclosed in the foreign priority document. See MPEP 2151. JP 2020-181332 was filed on 29 October 2020 which is before the earliest priority date claimed in the instant application.
Foreign application number JP 2020-181332 was published as JP 2022072089 A. In the rejection below, the translation of JP 2022072089 A (which is therefore the translation of JP 2020-181332) that accompanies this action will be cited below.
Fukagawa discloses an optical element comprising multiple coatings. See the abstract and Figure 3. The optical element includes a substrate (10) formed of resin. See Figure 3 and paragraph [0027]. The optical elements include the layer structure 4. Id. Layer structure 4 includes a fifth inorganic insulating film (45) formed by chemical vapor deposition (CVD) and a second insulating film (42) formed above the fifth layer is formed by atomic layer deposition (ALD). See Figure 11 and paragraphs [0046] and [0057]. The fifth film 45 corresponds to the claimed first film and the second film corresponds to the claimed second film.
Fukagawa does not described the second film (corresponding to the claimed second film) as having fewer defects than the fifth inorganic film (corresponding to the first film). However, the instant specification discloses forming the first layer by CVD and the second layer by ALD. See page 9, lines 8-9 and page 12, lines 19-20. The instant specification further disclose that a layer formed by ALD results in fewer defects than a layer formed by CVD. See page 9, lines 4-9 of the as-filed, instant specification. For these reasons, the claimed defect limitation is presumed to be inherent to the article of Fukagawa.
Figure 3 is annotated with the corresponding claim elements below:
As to claim 5, Fukagawa discloses the second film (42)(corresponding to the claimed second film) may be silicon oxide (SiO2), silicon nitride (SiN) or aluminum oxide (Al2O3). See paragraph [0056].
As to claim 7, Fukagawa discloses the second layer may be aluminum oxide. See paragraph [0056]. The aluminum oxide is formed by ALD, which is the same as the instant invention. See paragraph [0057]. Accordingly, the claimed index of refraction is presumed to be inherent to the aluminum oxide of Fukagawa.
The properties recited in claim 8 are presumed to be inherent to the second film of Fukagawa because the layer is formed by the same method as the instant invention, i.e., ALD.
As to claim 9, the second layer of Fukagawa is formed by ALD. See paragraph [0057].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukagawa et al. (US 2022/0140008 A1)(Fukagawa) in view of Kato (US 2019/0393285 A1)(Kato).
As above, the translation of JP 2022072089 A that accompanies this action will be cited below.
This rejection interprets Fukagawa in a manner differently than the interpretation employed above.
Fukagawa discloses an optical element comprising multiple coatings. See the abstract and Figure 3. The optical element includes a light transmissive substrate (7) formed of glass or quartz. See Figure 3, paragraph [0016].
The optical elements include the layer structure 4. Layer structure 4 includes a first inorganic insulating film (41) formed by chemical vapor deposition (CVD), and a second insulating film (44) is formed by ALD above the first layer. See Figure 11 and paragraphs [0061] and [0091]. The first film 41 corresponds to the claimed first film, and the fourth film 44 corresponds to the claimed second film.
Fukagawa does not described the fourth film (corresponding to the claimed second film) as having fewer defects than the first inorganic film (corresponding to the first film). However, the instant specification discloses that forming the first layer by CVD and the second layer by ALD. See page 9, lines 8-9 and page 12, lines 19-20. The instant specification further disclose that a layer formed by ALD results in fewer defects than a layer formed by CVD. See page 9, lines 4-9 of the as-filed, instant specification. For these reasons, the claimed defect limitation is presumed to be inherent to the article of Fukagawa.
Figure 3 is annotated with the corresponding claim elements below:
Fukagawa differs from claim 1 by failing to teach that the transmissive substrate 7 is a resin.
Kato teaches a display device having a second light transmissive (upper) substrate which is formed of the same material as a first substrate of the display. See paragraph [0076]. The first (and therefore the second) substrate may be formed of glass or various organic polymers. See paragraph [0064].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted the glass substrate (7) of Fukagawa with the second substrate of Kato formed of an organic polymer substrate as suggested by Kato. The rationale for doing so is that it has been held to have been obvious to have selected a known material (such as a transparent cover formed of resin) based upon its suitability for its intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
The features of claims 2 and 3 can be seen in Figures 3 and 11 of Fukagawa.
As to claim 4, Fukagawa teaches layers 42 and 43 in between layers the first layer 41 and the fourth layer 44 (corresponding to the claimed second film). Layer 42 is preferably aluminum oxide. See paragraph [0077]. The third layer 43 is preferably silicon nitride. See paragraph [0082]. In other words, Fukagawa teaches alternating layers of materials having different indices of refraction. Such a structure inherently produces an antireflective effect.
As to claim 5, Fukagawa teaches the fourth film 44 (corresponding to the claimed second film) may be aluminum oxide. See paragraph [0082].
As to claim 6, Fukagawa teaches the fourth film (corresponding to the claimed second film) may have a thickness of 20 to 100 nm. See paragraph [0052]. This range overlaps the claimed range, and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 7, Fukagawa teaches the fourth film 44 (corresponding to the claimed second film) may be aluminum oxide, and the film is formed by ALD. See paragraphs [0082] and [0091]. Accordingly, the claimed index of refraction is presumed to be inherent to the aluminum oxide of Fukagawa.
The properties recited in claim 8 are presumed to be inherent to the fourth film of Fukagawa because the layer is formed by the same method as the instant invention, i.e., ALD. See paragraph [0051].
As to claim 9, the fourth film 44 of Fukagawa is formed by ALD. See paragraph [0051].
As to claim 10, the structure shown in Figure 3 is present over the viewable surface of the article (see the abstract), and therefore, would be present on the effective area.
As to claims 11 and 13, the series of layers 4, and the upper transmissive substrate 7 receive light from the light emitting element 20. See paragraph [0019]. Further as to claim 13, the article may be a laptop computer (Figure 22) which is mobile.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukagawa et al. (US 2022/0140008 A1)(Fukagawa) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cronin et al. (US 2022/0244392 A1)(Cronin).
Fukagawa anticipates claim 1 for the reasons recited above. Fukagawa teaches the invention is employed as an electro optic device such as mobile phone or smart phone. See paragraph [0127].
Fukagawa fails to teach a distance measuring device as recited in claims 12 and 14.
Cronin teaches a Lidar scanning device that is employed in a smart phone. See paragraphs [0006] and [0024]-[0025].
The system includes a laser emitter for emitting laser light, and a detection unit in the phone portion containing a display. See paragraphs [0019] and [0024]. The system measures the distance to an object. Id.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have employed the lidar system disclosed by Cronin in a phone as disclosed by Fukagawa. Incorporation of the lidar system into the phone allows the phone to generate 3D models of objects. See paragraph [0002].
The combined teachings of Fukagawa and Cronin results in the light emitting and receiving units as part of the phone, and the phone unit comprises the display and electrooptic device of Fukagawa.
As to claim 14, the system described by the combination of Cronin and Fukagawa is mobile because it is a smartphone.
Conclusion
/David Sample/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784