DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 3/02/2026. Claim 7 have been canceled.
Claims 1 and 24-25 have been amended. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10, 12-13, and 15-25 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 3/02/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 3/02/2026 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 10-14), filed on 3/02/2026, with respect to the 103 rejections of
claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 12, for independent claims 1, applicant asserts that Wang's determination of position configuration for multiple devices based on averaging of link quality parameters differs from assigning two nodes to a same node group based on surface elements associated with the two nodes sharing a boundary, to which Wang is totally silent.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Wang et al. (US 2023/0208479 Al) discloses “the base station communicates surface configuration changes on a slot-by-slot basis using signaling on the APD fast-control channel. These allow the base station to configure the APD for multiple UEs, such as in scenarios where different UEs are assigned different time slots or different numerologies and improve data rates, spectral efficiency, data throughput, and reliability for the multiple UEs and the corresponding wireless network, Wang: [0073]), and “the base station determines, using the link quality parameters or a UE report of its position, an estimated UE-location of the UE, and accesses and analyzes historical records that indicate signal measurements and/or link quality parameters reported by the same or other UEs within a pre-determined distance of the estimated UE-location. the base station services multiple UEs and configures the APD for the multiple UEs, Wang: [0096]”.
Applicant’s argument relating to “associated with the two nodes sharing a Boundary” is unclear, and it is not persuasive. Examiner suggests Applicant to further provide detailed clarifications on “associated with the two nodes sharing a Boundary” in order to clearly overcome the current rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claim 24 and Claim 25), the claim recites “sharing a boundary, edge, or outer perimeter;”, which renders the claim indefinite. It is ambiguous as to how to share a boundary, edge, or outer perimeter, which makes the metes and bounds of the claim unclear. It is unclear what the phrase “sharing a boundary” is modifying. As written, it appears that this phrase modifies “overlap criterion” in claim 7, which does not make sense.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10, 12-13, and 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wang et al. (US 2023/0208479 Al, hereinafter “Wang”) in view of Khandekar et al. (US 2010/0265842 A1, hereinafter “Khandekar”) and in further view of ASTROM et al. (US 2023/0246674 Al, hereinafter “Astrom”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses:
A method for wireless communication, the method comprising:
assigning, by a first node, each of a plurality of second nodes to one of a plurality of node groups based on one or more communication parameters between the plurality of second nodes and an intelligent reflecting device and based on a surface element group boundary criterion, wherein the one or more communication parameters comprises surface element group information identifying a plurality of surface element groups to which to assign the plurality of second nodes (base station determines surface configuration information for reconfigurable intelligent surface indicating surface elements based on link quality parameters from UEs. base station analyzes link quality parameters (e.g., downlink quality parameters, uplink quality parameters, historical link quality parameters) to identify channel impairments. the base station communicates surface configuration changes on a slot-by-slot basis using signaling on the APD fast-control channel. These allow the base station to configure the APD for multiple UEs, such as in scenarios where different UEs are assigned different time slots or different numerologies and improve data rates, spectral efficiency, data throughput, and reliability for the multiple UEs and the corresponding wireless network. the base station determines, using the link quality parameters or a UE report of itsposition, an estimated UE-location of the UE, and accesses and analyzes historical records that indicate signal measurements and/or link quality parameters reported by the same or other UEs within a pre-determined distance of the estimated UE-location. the base station services multiple UEs and configures the APD for the multiple UEs, Wang: Fig. 1, [0034], [0059], [0062], [0068], [0073], [0089]- [0090], [0096]), and
wherein the surface element group boundary criterion comprises assigning, to a same node group, two second nodes from among the plurality of second nodes based on common surface elements of the surface element groups to which the two second nodes are assigned sharing a boundary, edge, or outer perimeter (the base station communicates surface configuration changes on a slot-by-slot basis using signaling on the APD fast-control channel. These allow the base station to configure the APD for multiple UEs, such as in scenarios where different UEs are assigned different time slots or different numerologies and improve data rates, spectral efficiency, data throughput, and reliability for the multiple UEs and the corresponding wireless network. base station inputs link quality data obtained from multiple UEs as further described with reference to FIG. 13, and the deep neural network (DNN) performs a statistical analysis of the link quality parameters to identify a position configuration (for a single APD or multiple APDs) that mitigates channel conditions for the single UE or the multiple UEs, such as by averaging link quality parameters. the base station explicitly directs the APD to update the position, either by setting a field or flag in the same message used to send the positional configuration. the base station analyzes feedback from each UE based on various positions and/or various surface configurations for the APDs (which can include interference reflected from other APDs) and selects surface configurations and/or APD positions to improve communications for the multiple UEs. the base station selects a common phase sweeping pattern for each APD. base station analyzes the link quality parameters to determine whether the link quality parameters all fall below an acceptable performance threshold. In some aspects, the base station determines whether to move one or more of the APDs, Wang: [0073], [0123]-[0126], [0138], [0147], [0153], [0157]);
determining, by the first node, a plurality of signals to transmit to the plurality of second nodes, and base station (first node) communicates surface configuration changes on a slot-by-slot basis using signaling on the reconfigurable intelligent surface. these allow the base station to configure the reconfigurable intelligent surface for multiple second nodes (UEs), such as in scenarios where different UEs are assigned different time slots or different numerologies for the multiple UEs and the corresponding wireless network, Wang: [0073]),
transmitting, by the first node, the plurality of signals to the intelligent reflecting device according to the timing schedule (base station indicates the surface configuration on a slot-by-slot basis and/or timing information on the slot-by-slot basis, such as by indicating to apply a first surface configuration during a first time slot. APD sometimes applies the surface configuration based on timing information, Wang: [0096]-[0097]),
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the timing schedule: identifies a plurality of time slots, indicates to transmit signals for receipt by two or more second nodes of a same node group in a same time slot, and
indicates to transmit signals for receipt by second nodes of different node groups in different time slots; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Khandekar teaches:
wherein the timing schedule: identifies a plurality of time slots, indicates to transmit signals for receipt by two or more second nodes of a same node group in a same time slot (wireless communication interface to wirelessly send a resource assignment directly to a set of UEs, wherein the resource assignment schedules a transmission for each of the set of UEs on a common wireless resource. Particularly, the common wireless resource can specify one or more frequency bands, one or more tones, one or more codes, etc., within a single transmission time slot or set of transmission time slots (e.g., a single subframe), Khandekar: [0082]), and
indicates to transmit signals for receipt by second nodes of different node groups in different time slots (The resource schedule includes an assignment that allocates a single set of wireless resources (e.g., a common frequency band during a single transmission time slot or set of transmission time slots), provided by multiple wireless nodes associated with base station, to a plurality of data streams involving the set of UEs, Khandekar: [0061]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Khandekar in order to further modify the timing schedule identifies a plurality of time slots and indicates to transmit signals for receipt by two or more second nodes of a same node group in a same time slot from the teachings of Khandekar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved wireless communications (Khandekar: [0051]).
Yet, Wang in view of Khandekar does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the plurality of signals are transmitted based on one or more surface element regions of the intelligent reflecting device reflecting the plurality of signals toward the plurality of second nodes, and
wherein the one or more surface element regions are determined according to the timing schedule on a node group-by-node group basis.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Astrom teaches:
wherein the plurality of signals are transmitted based on one or more surface element regions of the intelligent reflecting device reflecting the plurality of signals toward the plurality of second nodes (several reflection coefficients can be configured simultaneously at the reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (rIS), via signals from the controller to impedances of the reconfigurable reflective surface, these signals being generated by the controller, for certain different sub-spaces of the surfaces. That is, a given rIS installation may be partitioned into sub-spaces. determining a number of beams that can be separately reflected at different angles by the reconfigurable reflective surface. the method further includes determining a number of reflection angles that can be resolved by the reconfigurable reflective surface. the processing circuitry is further configured to control a plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces oriented in layers. Astrom: [0032]-[0033], [0037]-[0039], [0120]-[0122]), and
wherein the one or more surface element regions are determined according to the timing schedule on a node group-by-node group basis (the network node determines a time instant (T1) for the communication, and, prior to the time instant T1 (T1-x) sends configuration information (S1) and time information (T1) to the reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (rIS). network node may send configuration information and time information to the rIS. network node may determine a response received at time rTi to be associated with a corresponding rIS setting Si for that WD. the rIS may be set with different settings simultaneously to reflect at multiple angles simultaneously. At each time Tn, different reflection angles known to the network node are available from a group of settings S (configuration set) of the rIS. different reflection angles known to the network node are available from a group of settings of the rIS. different settings may be for different areas of the rIS, strom: [0066]-[0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang and Khandekar in view of Astrom in order to further modify the signals that are transmitted based on one or more surface element regions of the intelligent reflecting device reflecting the plurality of signals toward the plurality of nodes and the surface element regions that are determined according to the timing schedule on a node group-by-node group basis from the teachings of Astrom.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the use of reconfigurable reflective surfaces, resulting in improved network capability, increased power efficiency and a better user experience, (Astrom: [0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more communication parameters comprises received signal powers of incident signals received by the intelligent reflecting device (base station can obtain any type or combination link quality parameter(s), such as downlink/uplink RSSI, power information, SINR information, timing measurement, Wang: [0090]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the first node, the plurality of surface element groups for the plurality of second nodes based on received signal powers of incident signals received by the intelligent reflecting device, wherein each surface element group comprises at least one surface element of a surf ace of the intelligent reflecting device, and wherein each surface element group is associated with a respective one of the plurality of second nodes (base station identifies a phase vector in a surface-configuration codebook based on the link quality parameters. base station identifies a surface configuration such as one or more phase characteristics, one or more amplitude characteristics, Wang: [0106]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim 4, wherein determining the plurality of surface element groups for the plurality of second nodes comprises:
determining, by the first node, an associated surface element group for one of the plurality of second nodes by: adding a given surface element to the associated surface element group based on a received signal power associated with the given surface element exceeding a power threshold (base station receives downlink quality parameters from the UE and/or generates uplink quality parameters that indicate various signal, such as downlink/uplink RSSI, power information, SINR information, QoS. The base station identifies that a signal quality of the wireless signal does not meet an acceptable performance threshold and/or that the signal quality has degraded below or is trending downward toward the acceptable performance threshold, Wang: [0076]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the first node, received signal powers based on channel state information (base station analyzes link quality parameters to determine a received signal strength and a path loss between the base station and the UE based on the current position of the reconfigurable intelligent surface state information, Wang: [0124]).
Regarding claim 12, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim 10, further comprising:
performing, with the first node and the intelligent reflecting device, beam sweeping or beam training to determine the channel state information (base station selects a beam direction or a narrow beam directly towards the reconfigurable intelligent surface. base station determines a new transmission direction for the wireless signal such that a majority of signal rays in the wireless signal propagate directly towards the reconfigurable intelligent surface. base station selects a phase-sweeping pattern to use for the phase-sweeping operation and communicates the phase-sweeping pattern, Wang: [0061], [0174]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang further discloses:
performing, with the first node and the intelligent reflecting device, beam sweeping or beam training to determine the channel state information (surface-configuration parameter includes configuration information that specifies a surface configuration such as phase delay, reflection angle/direction, polarization, amplitude, Wang: [0067], [0094]).
Regarding claim 15, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more communication parameters comprises an orthogonality between channels, and wherein assigning each of the plurality of second nodes to one of the plurality of node groups comprises (base station configures the positions of the surface configurations based on contemporaneous (orthogonal) communications with the multiple UEs, Wang: [0145]):
assigning two nodes of the plurality of second nodes to a same node group in response to an orthogonality between two channels for the two nodes exceeding an orthogonality threshold (base station maintains contemporaneous (orthogonal) communication with the UEs. the signal ray propagates towards the UE as part of the communications with the base station. the base station analyzes feedback from each UE based on various positions and/or various surface configurations and selects surface configurations and/or RIS positions to improve communications for the multiple UEs, Wang: [0147]).
Regarding claim 16, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more communication parameters comprises location information of the second nodes, and wherein assigning each of the plurality of second nodes to one of the plurality of node groups comprises (base station receives downlink quality parameters from the UE and/or generates uplink quality parameters that indicate location characteristics about the UE, such as downlink/uplink RSSI, power information, Wang: [0076]):
assigning two nodes of the plurality of second nodes to a same node group in response to the location information comprising a distance difference between the two nodes exceeding a location difference threshold (base station determines to utilize reconfigurable intelligent surface in the communication path with the UE based on an estimated UE-location of the UE. base station compares each reconfigurable intelligent surface location to a distance threshold to identify a reconfigurable intelligent surface a certain minimum distance from the estimated location of UE, Wang: [0079]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more communication parameters comprise a device type, and wherein assigning each of the plurality of second nodes to one of the plurality of node groups comprises (base station communicates surface configuration changes on a slot-by-slot basis using signaling and configures the reconfigurable intelligent surface for multiple UEs, such as in scenarios where different device type of UEs are assigned different time slots, Wang: [0073]):
assigning two nodes of the plurality of second nodes to a same node group in response to the two nodes comprising a same node type (base station configures the reconfigurable intelligent surface for different UEs assigned different time slots or different numerologies and the corresponding wireless network, Wang: [0073]).
Regarding claim 18, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more communication parameters comprises one or more quality of service parameters, and wherein assigning each of the plurality of second nodes to one of the plurality of second node groups comprises (base station can obtain any type or combination link quality parameter(s), such as downlink/uplink RSSI, power information, QoS, timing measurements, Wang: [0090]):
assigning two nodes of the plurality of second nodes to a same node group in response to the two nodes comprising a same quality of service objective corresponding to the one or more quality of service parameters (base station determines the position configuration based on the link quality parameters. base station obtains the position configuration and/or accesses historical records to identify past position configurations used for similar link quality parameters, Wang: [0143]).
Regarding claim 19, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: moving, by the first node, at least one of the second nodes to a different node group based on an even distribution criteria (base station analyzes feedback from each UE based on various positions and/or various surface configurations for the IRSs (which can include interference reflected from other IRSs) and selects surface configurations and/or IRS positions to improve communications for the multiple UEs, Wang: [0147]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
broadcasting, by the first node, information notifying the plurality of second nodes of the plurality of node groups (base station broadcasts a request for IRS capabilities, and IRSs that receive the broadcast message return their capabilities. base station sends a request to multiple APDs using a downlink slow-control channel (e.g., a number of configurable surface elements, a configuration bit-resolution for the configurable surface elements, supported codebooks) using control messages, Wang: [0078], [0085]).
Regarding claim 21, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang in view of Astrom does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of second nodes comprises a subset of a group of second nodes, the intelligent reflecting device comprising a target intelligent reflecting device of a plurality of intelligent reflecting devices, the method further comprising:
determining, by an intelligent reflecting device selection node, the target intelligent reflecting device, from among the plurality of target intelligent reflecting devices, for the subset,
wherein assigning each of the plurality of second nodes to one of a plurality of node groups comprises assigning each of the plurality of second nodes of the subset of the group of second nodes to one of a plurality of node groups.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Khandekar teaches:
wherein the plurality of second nodes comprises a subset of a group of second nodes, the intelligent reflecting device comprising a target intelligent reflecting device of a plurality of intelligent reflecting devices, the method further comprising (communication interface for receiving UE assignment to provide wireless service to a subset of the set of UEs, Khandekar: [0078]):
determining, by an intelligent reflecting device selection node, the target intelligent reflecting device, from among the plurality of target intelligent reflecting devices, for the subset (UE assignment is based on a plurality of independent measurements of the set of UL signals performed by respective relay (IRS) nodes associated with the base station. the UE assignment can further be based on which of a subset of the relay (IRS) nodes provided preferred service for the one or more of the subset of the set of UEs, Khandekar: [0078]),
wherein assigning each of the plurality of second nodes to one of a plurality of node groups comprises assigning each of the plurality of plurality of second nodes of the subset of the group of second nodes to one of a plurality of node groups (assignment comprises an instruction for a plurality of relay (IRS) nodes to serve the one or more of the subset of the set of UEs utilizing an incremental redundancy policy, Khandekar: [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang and Astrom in view of Khandekar in order to further modify assigning subset of the group of second nodes from the teachings of Khandekar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved wireless communications (Khandekar: [0051]).
Regarding claim 22, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 21 above.
Wang in view of Astrom does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 21, wherein determining the target intelligent reflecting device from among the plurality of target intelligent reflecting devices for the subset is based on arrival signal power at the intelligent reflecting device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Khandekar teaches:
wherein determining the target intelligent reflecting device from among the plurality of target intelligent reflecting devices for the subset is based on arrival signal power at the intelligent reflecting device (UE signal measurements provided by a subset of the wireless node access points. signal measurement characteristic comprises a signal strength, signal quality or a signal noise, Khandekar: [0055], [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang and Astrom in view of Khandekar in order to further modify determining the subset based on arrival signal power from the teachings of Khandekar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved wireless communications (Khandekar: [0051]).
Regarding claim 23, Wang-Khandekar-Astrom teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the intelligent reflecting device comprises a last intelligent reflecting device of a chain of multiple intelligent reflecting devices via which the first node communicates with the plurality of second nodes (base station configures a first position for a first APD and a second position for a second APD based on the contemporaneous communications with the UE. base station determining multiple position configurations for multiple APDs, Wang: [0147], [0173]).
Regarding claim 24, Wang discloses:
An apparatus comprising
a memory storing a plurality of instructions (general context of executable instructions stored on computer-readable storage memory that is local and/or remote to a computer processing system, Wang: [0101]); and
a processor configured to execute the plurality of instructions, and upon execution of the plurality of instructions, is configured to (computer-readable storage media comprising instructions that, responsive to execution by a processor, Wang: [0223]):
assign each of a plurality of nodes to one of a plurality of node groups based on one or more communication parameters between the plurality of nodes and an intelligent reflecting device and based on a surface element group boundary criterion, wherein the one or more communication parameters comprises surface element group information identifying a plurality of surface element groups to which to assign the plurality of nodes (base station determines surface configuration information for reconfigurable intelligent surface indicating surface elements based on link quality parameters from UEs. base station analyzes link quality parameters (e.g., downlink quality parameters, uplink quality parameters, historical link quality parameters) to identify channel impairments. the base station communicates surface configuration changes on a slot-by-slot basis using signaling on the APD fast-control channel. These allow the base station to configure the APD for multiple UEs, such as in scenarios where different UEs are assigned different time slots or different numerologies and improve data rates, spectral efficiency, data throughput, and reliability for the multiple UEs and the corresponding wireless network. the base station determines, using the link quality parameters or a UE report of itsposition, an estimated UE-location of the UE, and accesses and analyzes historical records that indicate signal measurements and/or link quality parameters reported by the same or other UEs within a pre-determined distance of the estimated UE-location. the base station services multiple UEs and configures the APD for the multiple UEs, Wang: Fig. 1, [0034], [0059], [0062], [0068], [0073], [0089]- [0090], [0096]), and
wherein the surface element group boundary criterion comprises assigning, to a same node group, two nodes from among the plurality of nodes based on common surface elements of the surface element groups to which the two nodes are assigned sharing a boundary, edge, or outer perimeter (the base station communicates surface configuration changes on a slot-by-slot basis using signaling on the APD fast-control channel. These allow the base station to configure the APD for multiple UEs, such as in scenarios where different UEs are assigned different time slots or different numerologies and improve data rates, spectral efficiency, data throughput, and reliability for the multiple UEs and the corresponding wireless network. base station inputs link quality data obtained from multiple UEs as further described with reference to FIG. 13, and the deep neural network (DNN) performs a statistical analysis of the link quality parameters to identify a position configuration (for a single APD or multiple APDs) that mitigates channel conditions for the single UE or the multiple UEs, such as by averaging link quality parameters. the base station explicitly directs the APD to update the position, either by setting a field or flag in the same message used to send the positional configuration. the base station analyzes feedback from each UE based on various positions and/or various surface configurations for the APDs (which can include interference reflected from other APDs) and selects surface configurations and/or APD positions to improve communications for the multiple UEs. the base station selects a common phase sweeping pattern for each APD. base station analyzes the link quality parameters to determine whether the link quality parameters all fall below an acceptable performance threshold. In some aspects, the base station determines whether to move one or more of the APDs, Wang: [0073], [0123]-[0126], [0138], [0147], [0153], [0157]);
determine a plurality of signals to transmit to the plurality of nodes, and base station (first node) communicates surface configuration changes on a slot-by-slot basis using signaling on the reconfigurable intelligent surface. these allow the base station to configure the reconfigurable intelligent surface for multiple second nodes (UEs), such as in scenarios where different UEs are assigned different time slots or different numerologies for the multiple UEs and the corresponding wireless network, Wang: [0073]),
transmit the plurality of signals to the plurality of nodes via the intelligent reflecting device according to the timing schedule (base station indicates the surface configuration on a slot-by-slot basis and/or timing information on the slot-by-slot basis, such as by indicating to apply a first surface configuration during a first time slot. APD sometimes applies the surface configuration based on timing information, Wang: [0096]-[0097]),
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the timing schedule: identifies a plurality of time slots, indicates to transmit signals for receipt by two or more nodes of a same node group in a same time slot, and
indicates to transmit signals for receipt by nodes of different node groups in different time slots; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Khandekar teaches:
wherein the timing schedule: identifies a plurality of time slots, indicates to transmit signals for receipt by two or more nodes of a same node group in a same time slot (wireless communication interface to wirelessly send a resource assignment directly to a set of UEs, wherein the resource assignment schedules a transmission for each of the set of UEs on a common wireless resource. Particularly, the common wireless resource can specify one or more frequency bands, one or more tones, one or more codes, etc., within a single transmission time slot or set of transmission time slots (e.g., a single subframe), Khandekar: [0082]), and
indicates to transmit signals for receipt by nodes of different node groups in different time slots (The resource schedule includes an assignment that allocates a single set of wireless resources (e.g., a common frequency band during a single transmission time slot or set of transmission time slots), provided by multiple wireless nodes associated with base station, to a plurality of data streams involving the set of UEs, Khandekar: [0061]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Khandekar in order to further modify the timing schedule identifies a plurality of time slots and indicates to transmit signals for receipt by two or more nodes of a same node group in a same time slot from the teachings of Khandekar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved wireless communications (Khandekar: [0051]).
Yet, Wang in view of Khandekar does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the plurality of signals are transmitted based on one or more surface element regions of the intelligent reflecting device reflecting the plurality of signals toward the plurality of second nodes, and
wherein the one or more surface element regions are determined according to the timing schedule on a node group-by-node group basis.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Astrom teaches:
wherein the plurality of signals are transmitted based on one or more surface element regions of the intelligent reflecting device reflecting the plurality of signals toward the plurality of second nodes (several reflection coefficients can be configured simultaneously at the reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (rIS), via signals from the controller to impedances of the reconfigurable reflective surface, these signals being generated by the controller, for certain different sub-spaces of the surfaces. That is, a given rIS installation may be partitioned into sub-spaces. determining a number of beams that can be separately reflected at different angles by the reconfigurable reflective surface. the method further includes determining a number of reflection angles that can be resolved by the reconfigurable reflective surface. the processing circuitry is further configured to control a plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces oriented in layers. Astrom: [0032]-[0033], [0037]-[0039], [0120]-[0122]), and
wherein the one or more surface element regions are determined according to the timing schedule on a node group-by-node group basis (the network node determines a time instant (T1) for the communication, and, prior to the time instant T1 (T1-x) sends configuration information (S1) and time information (T1) to the reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (rIS). network node may send configuration information and time information to the rIS. network node may determine a response received at time rTi to be associated with a corresponding rIS setting Si for that WD. the rIS may be set with different settings simultaneously to reflect at multiple angles simultaneously. At each time Tn, different reflection angles known to the network node are available from a group of settings S (configuration set) of the rIS. different reflection angles known to the network node are available from a group of settings of the rIS. different settings may be for different areas of the rIS, strom: [0066]-[0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang and Khandekar in view of Astrom in order to further modify the signals that are transmitted based on one or more surface element regions of the intelligent reflecting device reflecting the plurality of signals toward the plurality of nodes and the surface element regions that are determined according to the timing schedule on a node group-by-node group basis from from the teachings of Astrom.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the use of reconfigurable reflective surfaces, resulting in improved network capability, increased power efficiency and a better user experience, (Astrom: [0059]).
Regarding claim 25, Wang discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a plurality of instructions executable by a processor, wherein the plurality of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (computer-readable storage media comprising instructions, responsive to execution by the processor, Wang: [0221]):
assign each of a plurality of nodes to one of a plurality of node groups based on one or more communication parameters between the plurality of nodes and an intelligent reflecting device and based on a surface element group boundary criterion, wherein the one or more communication parameters comprises surface element group information identifying a plurality of surface element groups to which to assign the plurality of nodes (base station determines surface configuration information for reconfigurable intelligent surface indicating surface elements based on link quality parameters from UEs. base station analyzes link quality parameters (e.g., downlink quality parameters, uplink quality parameters, historical link quality parameters) to identify channel impairments. base station requests and/or queries for APD capabilities after determining to utilize an APD in a communication path with a UE and/or identifying particular APD(s) to utilize in the communication path, Wang: Fig. 1, [0034], [0059], [0062], [0068], [0089]- [0090]), and
wherein the surface element group boundary criterion comprises assigning, to a same node group, two nodes from among the plurality of nodes based on common surface elements of the surface element groups to which the two second are assigned sharing a boundary, edge, or outer perimeter (the base station communicates surface configuration changes on a slot-by-slot basis using signaling on the APD fast-control channel. These allow the base station to configure the APD for multiple UEs, such as in scenarios where different UEs are assigned different time slots or different numerologies and improve data rates, spectral efficiency, data throughput, and reliability for the multiple UEs and the corresponding wireless network. base station inputs link quality data obtained from multiple UEs as further described with reference to FIG. 13, and the deep neural network (DNN) performs a statistical analysis of the link quality parameters to identify a position configuration (for a single APD or multiple APDs) that mitigates channel conditions for the single UE or the multiple UEs, such as by averaging link quality parameters. the base station explicitly directs the APD to update the position, either by setting a field or flag in the same message used to send the positional configuration. the base station analyzes feedback from each UE based on various positions and/or various surface configurations for the APDs (which can include interference reflected from other APDs) and selects surface configurations and/or APD positions to improve communications for the multiple UEs. the base station selects a common phase sweeping pattern for each APD. base station analyzes the link quality parameters to determine whether the link quality parameters all fall below an acceptable performance threshold. In some aspects, the base station determines whether to move one or more of the APDs, Wang: [0073], [0123]-[0126], [0138], [0147], [0153], [0157]);
determine a plurality of signals to transmit to the plurality of nodes, and base station (first node) communicates surface configuration changes on a slot-by-slot basis using signaling on the reconfigurable intelligent surface. these allow the base station to configure the reconfigurable intelligent surface for multiple second nodes (UEs), such as in scenarios where different UEs are assigned different time slots or different numerologies for the multiple UEs and the corresponding wireless network, Wang: [0073]); and
transmit the plurality of signals to the plurality of nodes via the intelligent reflecting device according to the timing schedule (base station indicates the surface configuration on a slot-by-slot basis and/or timing information on the slot-by-slot basis, such as by indicating to apply a first surface configuration during a first time slot. APD sometimes applies the surface configuration based on timing information, Wang: [0096]-[0097]).
Wang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the timing schedule: identifies a plurality of time slots, indicates to transmit signals for receipt by two or more nodes of a same node group in a same time slot, and
indicates to transmit signals for receipt by nodes of different node groups in different time slots; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Khandekar teaches:
wherein the timing schedule: identifies a plurality of time slots, indicates to transmit signals for receipt by two or more nodes of a same node group in a same time slot (wireless communication interface to wirelessly send a resource assignment directly to a set of UEs, wherein the resource assignment schedules a transmission for each of the set of UEs on a common wireless resource. Particularly, the common wireless resource can specify one or more frequency bands, one or more tones, one or more codes, etc., within a single transmission time slot or set of transmission time slots (e.g., a single subframe), Khandekar: [0082]), and
indicates to transmit signals for receipt by nodes of different node groups in different time slots (The resource schedule includes an assignment that allocates a single set of wireless resources (e.g., a common frequency band during a single transmission time slot or set of transmission time slots), provided by multiple wireless nodes associated with base station, to a plurality of data streams involving the set of UEs, Khandekar: [0061]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang in view of Khandekar in order to further modify the timing schedule identifies a plurality of time slots and indicates to transmit signals for receipt by two or more nodes of a same node group in a same time slot from the teachings of Khandekar.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved wireless communications (Khandekar: [0051]).
Yet, Wang in view of Khandekar does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the plurality of signals are transmitted based on one or more surface element regions of the intelligent reflecting device reflecting the plurality of signals toward the plurality of nodes, and
wherein the one or more surface element regions are determined according to the timing schedule on a node group-by-node group basis.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Astrom teaches:
wherein the plurality of signals are transmitted based on one or more surface element regions of the intelligent reflecting device reflecting the plurality of signals toward the plurality of nodes (several reflection coefficients can be configured simultaneously at the reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (rIS), via signals from the controller to impedances of the reconfigurable reflective surface, these signals being generated by the controller, for certain different sub-spaces of the surfaces. That is, a given rIS installation may be partitioned into sub-spaces. determining a number of beams that can be separately reflected at different angles by the reconfigurable reflective surface. the method further includes determining a number of reflection angles that can be resolved by the reconfigurable reflective surface. the processing circuitry is further configured to control a plurality of reconfigurable reflective surfaces oriented in layers. Astrom: [0032]-[0033], [0037]-[0039], [0120]-[0122]), and
wherein the one or more surface element regions are determined according to the timing schedule on a node group-by-node group basis (the network node determines a time instant (T1) for the communication, and, prior to the time instant T1 (T1-x) sends configuration information (S1) and time information (T1) to the reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (rIS). network node may send configuration information and time information to the rIS. network node may determine a response received at time rTi to be associated with a corresponding rIS setting Si for that WD. the rIS may be set with different settings simultaneously to reflect at multiple angles simultaneously. At each time Tn, different reflection angles known to the network node are available from a group of settings S (configuration set) of the rIS. different reflection angles known to the network node are available from a group of settings of the rIS. different settings may be for different areas of the rIS, strom: [0066]-[0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang and Khandekar in view of Astrom in order to further modify the signals that are transmitted based on one or more surface element regions of the intelligent reflecting device reflecting the plurality of signals toward the plurality of nodes and the surface element regions that are determined according to the timing schedule on a node group-by-node group basis from the teachings of Astrom.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the use of reconfigurable reflective surfaces, resulting in improved network capability, increased power efficiency and a better user experience, (Astrom: [0059]).
Conclusion
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 April 17, 2026