DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 10/25/2022, 05/02/2023, 10/31/2023, 02/09/2024, 05/07/2024, 12/11/2024, 01/02/2025, 03/10/2025, and 05/19/2025, have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
[Claims 1, 11, and 20] The claims recite the limitation of “receiving insulin therapy data describing insulin delivered to the host by an insulin pump.” The examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claims, as the wording is ambiguous as to whether the “insulin therapy data” must be received from the “insulin pump” itself, or if the data is permitted to be received from any source. For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that the “insulin therapy data” can be received from any source.
[Claims 2-10 and 12-19] The claims are rejected based upon their dependence from independent claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Ginsberg (PGPub 2005/0192494).
[Claims 1, 10, 11, and 20] Ginsberg teaches a system and method (figure 2, item 50), comprising at least a memory (figure 2, item 54) and a processor (figure 2, item 52) (paragraphs [0032], [0033]) to perform operations comprising:
receiving glucose data (“blood glucose readings”) of a host from a glucose monitor/continuous glucose monitor (figure 2, items 60/62/64) worn by a host (paragraphs [0013], [0034], [0037]-[0042]);
receiving insulin therapy data (“amount of insulin administered”) describing insulin delivered to the host by an insulin pump (figure 2, items 62/64) (see 112, 2nd paragraph, interpretation above) (paragraphs [0013], [0034], [0037]-[0042]);
determining an insulin sensitivity (“insulin sensitivity factor”/”ISF”) of the host by analyzing the glucose data and the insulin therapy data (paragraphs [0011], [0013], [0030], [0048], [0049]); and
adjusting an insulin dose (“insulin dosage recommendation”) for the host based at least in part on the insulin sensitivity of the host (paragraphs [0013], [0030], [0032], [0052], [0055]).
[Claims 2 and 12] Ginsberg teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11, upon which claims 2 and 12 depend. In addition, Ginsberg discloses wherein the determining the insulin sensitivity (“insulin sensitivity factor”/”ISF”) further comprises monitoring the glucose data to determine a metabolic response of the host to the insulin delivered to the host (Although Ginsberg discloses the ISF’s can be determined values which differ temporally, the examiner notes the term “monitoring” could be applied to the collection of a mere plurality of data points) (paragraph [0053]).
[Claims 3 and 13] Ginsberg teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11, upon which claims 3 and 13 depend. Ginsberg also discloses predicting glucose values (“target glucose values”) of the host based on the determined insulin sensitivity of the host, the glucose data, and the insulin therapy data (paragraphs [0007], [0009], [0030], [0064]).
[Claims 4-6 and 14-16] Ginsberg teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11, upon which claims 4-6 and 14-16 depend. Ginsberg also teaches
receiving meal information from the host, wherein the insulin dose for the host is adjusted based at least in part on the meal information (paragraphs [0013], [0039], [0042]);
wherein the meal information comprises an amount of carbohydrates consumed by the host (paragraphs [0039], [0042]); and
wherein the meal information is received via user input to a user interface displayed by a computing device (paragraph [0042]).
[Claims 7 and 17] Ginsberg teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11, upon which claims 7 and 17 depend. In addition, Ginsburg discloses causing the insulin pump to deliver the adjusted insulin dose to the host (“The insulin administration data can be provided automatically (e.g., the device 62 with sensor 64 is an insulin pump or medication delivery pen with automated output feature)”) (paragraphs [0030], [0034], [0042], [0055]).
[Claims 8, 9, 18, and 19] Ginsberg teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11, upon which claims 8, 9, 18, and 19, depend. Ginsburg also teaches wherein the adjusting comprises adjusting a bolus or basal insulin dose for the host based on the insulin sensitivity of the host (Ginsburg teaches the calculated insulin sensitivity values, and thus the determined adjusted insulin doses, can be determined for various temporal periods; as such, said adjustments could be termed as meeting a temporary (bolus) or continuous (basal) insulin requirement) (figure 3; paragraphs [0043], [0053]).
Conclusion
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 01/21/2026