DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-5 and 7-10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the multimode fiber”. This limitation lacks antecedent basis. This should read “a multimode fiber.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayramian (US 20200198060 A1).
Claim 1. Bayramian discloses an additive manufacturing system (additive manufacturing system 199A, Fig. 1A), comprising:
at least one laser source (pulsed laser source 401, Fig. 4);
a speckle reduction system that receives light from the at least one laser source (beam deflectors, e.g. acousto-optic reflectors 404, can be used to reduce speckling, par. 66 and 71, Fig. 4; where it is understood that the acousto-optic reflectors in 404 are capable of performing the function of speckle reduction disclosed in par. 71);
an optical homogenizer that increases uniformity of laser light received from the speckle reduction system (laser beams can be combined using a beam homogenizer, par. 28); and
an area patterning system that receives laser light directed through the optical homogenizer (combined beam from the homogenizer can be directed to an energy patterning unit, par. 28).
Bayramian does not explicitly disclose that the optical homogenizer receives the laser light from the speckle reduction system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try to place the optical homogenizer downstream of the speckle reduction system because doing so would have protected the downstream optics from high peak intensities which could cause laser damage (par. 72, Bayramian).
Claim 11. Bayramian discloses the additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the additive manufacturing system further comprises a spatial light valve (pixel addressable light valve includes both a liquid crystal module having a polarizing element and a light projection unit providing a two-dimensional input pattern, par. 28).
Claim 12. Bayramian discloses the additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the additive manufacturing further comprises a plurality of beam relays for directing lasers against multiple targets (The two-dimensional image focused by the image relay can be sequentially directed toward multiple locations on a powder bed to build a 3D structure, par. 28).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayramian as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yacoubian (US 20210356408 A1).
Claim 6. Bayramian does not disclose the additive manufacturing system of claim 1, wherein the speckle reduction system includes an actuator to cause displacement of the multimode fiber.
Yacoubian discloses an additive manufacturing device wherein a speckle reduction system moves the multi-mode fiber to remove speckle noise (par. 64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bayramian to incorporate the teachings of Yacoubian and actuate the multi-mode fiber. Although the multi-mode fiber is not used for a laser irradiating and melting a powder surface, Yacoubian demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art would know that moving the multi-mode fiber can remove speckle noise (par. 64, Yacoubian).
Conclusion
/SIMPSON A CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761