DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species of 3a-3d and claims 1,7,8,11 in the reply filed on 02/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant added new claims and amended new claim sets, regarding new claims 1,7,8, and 11 after close review they substantially read on species 3a. applicant did not amend the claims properly by underlining the amended language and striking through deleted texts which adds more strain to the examiner to review the claims and is undue burden on the examiner.
Furthermore, applicant added new claims 2-6, and 10 which are method claims. Those were not part of the original election, therefore are going to be withdrawn, furthermore, they may exhibit new matter and examiner did not take time to review since they are different than the apparatus claims. Therefore claims 2-6, and 10 are withdrawn.
Furthermore, claim 9 is new matter and is also withdrawn from consideration. It is further rejected below as new matter.
Claim 12 is also withdrawn as it is not in the elected species of fig3a-3d and needs further clarification issue.
Claim 13 is also new matter, and is not being considered and is withdrawn from election.
Examiner is considered without traverse, since the applicants’ arguments did not elect with or without traverse. Applicant added all new claims and examiner reviewed the claims that read on elected species or are generic and provided examination as best understood.
This election/restriction is considered FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show [details of claims, drawings do not show outline and are dark colored structure with no defined outline or very hard outline to show] as described in the specification for many different limitations. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Also same drawings submitted same day, not knowing which one is which, confusing. Recheck all drawings and specifications along with claim to be aligned.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “FLAT DC ELECTRIC MOTOR WITH ELECTRICAL CONDUCTORS ON ROTOR DISC AND MAGNETS/ELECTROMAGNETS ON STATOR”
The amendment filed 02/11/2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: P[0026], P[0029],[0034]. Also examiner recommends against deleting the content from the specification if it is not being replaced or clarified such as paragraphs in 21 and other whole paragraphs or description to drawings need to stay in the specification along other drawings.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-6,10,9,13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-6, and 10 are new method claims, and have not been examined for further new matter, they are also restricted/withdrawn.
Claim 9 is new matter.
Claim 13 specially the last sentence makes it new matter that is not disclosed in the applicant’s disclosure. “option; frictionless braking system wherein said stator uses an electromagnet to slow down said EV by reducing or reversing the axial magnetic flux by controlling current through said electromagnet.”
Claim 1 7-9,11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1,7-9,11-12 rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. The claim(s) must be in one sentence form only. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “A ROTOR”, and the claim also recites “SPECIALLY CONVINIENT FOR A STACKED MULTI-ROTOR” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims, IT IS CONFUSING IF IT IS MULTI-ROTOR OR A ROTOR DESIGN MACHINE, NEED TO CLARIFY WHICH ONE IS IT, IS IT MULTI-ROTOR MACHINE OR NO.
Claims 7-9,11-12 are rejected based on dependency from rejected base claim 1, either they are elected or withdrawn, this provided for clarification.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,7,11 As best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US Patent 6181048 hereinafte4r “Smith”) in view of Bojiuc (US PG Pub 20060038456 hereinafter “Bojiuc”).
Re-claim 1, Smith disclose an electric machine (Title) comprising: radial electrical conductors (112,122) carrying currents flowing in the same directions (see fig.17, arrows 145 show direction of flow for wire, radially inward, then outward), (radially inward or outward) on either or both sides of an annular rotor disc (12,see Col.2, Line 65-67 and Col.3 Line 1-7, the term stator, could mean rotating device, which in this case stator 12 is fixed to the tire, and thereby rotates relative to the rotor, and therefore, the vehicle body propels the vehicle, therefore 12 is considered a rotor, rotating at this instance) which may be made of ferromagnetic or non- ferromagnetic material (104 is made of dielectric material, low electrical induction, metal plates that minimize eddy currents, copper wire, or circuit board material, electronic metal material, they need to be conductive material) and electrically insulated (dielectric material, see description of the stator, molded of dielectric material, providing insulation, dielectrically coated wires 110, 112, etc., see col.9, L.1-17) from the radial conductors (110,112, all conductors);said radial conductors may be implemented as spokes of electrically conductive ferromagnetic or non-ferromagnetic wheel (see Col.10, L.16-40, specially 36-37, stating wires could be wheel like structure or spoke like manner), which would be especially convenient for a stacked multi-rotor electrical machine (this is a multirotor machine, more than one rotor/stator structure); a stator (14, when 14 is stationary to vehicle, based on col.2, L.65-67, and col3, L.1-7, 14 is fixed to vehicle body, 12 is rotating in this case), in close proximity to said rotor that would provide axial flux (axial flux exists between axially aligned poles, see Col.6, L.5-20);a power source (power lead connected at 44, from power source) connected to the two bared ends of said radial conductors (ends of 42, connected by pins 40 to 46 plug, therefore is connected at stator conductors, see fig.3 and 14 showing connection points) of said rotor (14) requiring no commutation (there is no commutator);a ball bearing (28), located in the center (between 10 and shaft), facilitating rotation of said rotor (12) about a shaft (16) passing through it; an outermost annular ring (18) that may be used for mounting a tire or facilitating fastening of the motor into a wheel structure (166, 164 is connected to 166, see fig.26).
Smith fails to explicitly teach that the rotor disc is made of ferromagnetic material.
However, Bojiuc teaches rotor disc made of ferromagnetic material (Col.3, L.4-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the rotor disc of Smith made of ferromagnetic material as suggested by Bojiuc as a material for a rotor disc allowing for windings provide magnetic field (Bojiuc, Col.5, L.7-9).
Re-claim 7, Smith as modified discloses the electric machine of claim 1 wherein said stator (14) comprises a permanent magnetic annular disc (54, see fig.4) situated parallel to said rotor (12), providing axial magnetic flux (flux from permanent magnet).
Re-claim 11, Smith as modified discloses the electric machine of claim 1 operated in role-reversal mode wherein we keep the rotor stationary (14) and allow the stator (12) to rotate (12,see Col.2, Line 65-67 and Col.3 Line 1-7, the term stator, could mean rotating device, which in this case stator 12 is fixed to the tire, and thereby rotates relative to the rotor, and therefore, the vehicle body propels the vehicle, therefore 12 is considered a rotor, rotating at this instance, and 14 is being connected to the vehicle, therefore is stationary compared to the rotating device 12) .
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Bojiuc , in further view of Blevins et al. (US Patent 10797573 hereinafter “Blevins”).
Re-claim 8, Smith as modified discloses the electric machine of claim 1.
However, Smith as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein said stator (12) comprises an annular electromagnet providing axial magnetic flux.
However, Blevins teaches a stator (Fig.6a) comprising annular electromagnet (81) providing axial magnetic flux (as part of coil assembly, copper wire, which make magnetic flux to rotor, or from rotor, see Col.7, L.40-55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the stator of Smith wherein said stator comprises an annular electromagnet providing axial magnetic flux as suggested by Blevin as a material for coil windings for magnetic structure providing magnetic field with desired magnetic permeability of structure with individual coil or double coil as needed for manufacturing and design purposes (Belvin, Col.7, L.15-55).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examine recommends Pro Se applicant to seek help of a register patent attorney or agent.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834