Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 16 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a superfluous period at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, 10, 15, 17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The provisos in Claims 1 and 17 appear to be arbitrary. There is no discussion in the specification i) the concepts of two polycyclic fused ring systems in the macrocycle and “at most one nitrogen atom”, ii) a tricyclic fused ring system excluding carbazole, or iii) two benzimidazoles or benzothiazoles. Applicant cites as support the specification as filed [0083, 0093, 0106] which are just long lists of structural formulae, and while there may be species within that fall within the claimed genera, that does not support the entirety of the genera.
Regarding claim 21, Examiner does not find support for condition c) in either claim 7 or 10, cited by Applicant as support. Claim 10 is a long list of structures that do not meet condition c), and there is no discussion in claim 7 of the fused ring systems formed by the substituents.
All other claims depend from one of the above claims.
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, 10 17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The proviso ii) states “at least one W is a tricyclic or more fused ring system” but if W is a tricyclic or more fused ring system then it cannot be the cyclic structure of four or more aromatic moieties. Examiner assumes that applicant intended “W comprises at least one tricyclic or more fused ring system”. Clarification of the claim language is required.
All other claims depend from one of the above claims and do not remedy the deficiency.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The structure on p17 of 63 of the claims of 2/2/2026 below does not have four or more aromatic ring moieties, as required by claim 1, but rather three:
. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to Edelbach et al (J. Am. Chem. Soc., Vol. 120, No. 12, 1998) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 10/01/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to Zeng et al (US 20180155381 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 10/01/2025 has been withdrawn.
The compound of Zeng cited has includes a carbazole group, excluded by claim 1 and 17, and does not read on Ligand La of claim 20.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to Chen et al (US 20220162246 A1 and US 20220115607 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 10/01/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Intermediate 1 of Ji has only three aromatic moieties and does not read on the claims. This argument is not convincing. The rejection does not rely on Intermediate 1, but just cites it to show that the intermediate compounds of the interlocked compounds are not interlocked, So the compound cited:
[col 101]
will have a non-interlocked intermediate compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ji et al (US 10862046 B2) discloses interlocked compounds with pendant W groups:
[col 101].
While the above compound is interlocked, there is an intermediate compound that is not interlocked [see Example col 227 Intermediate 1] and reads on the claims that require only a compound.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 15 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would also be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 112d above by deleting the above cited compound.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art does not disclose a pendant cyclic group like W that is not a part of an interlocked compound. Ji et al (US 10862046 B2) discloses interlocked compounds with pendant W groups:
.
Given that the purpose of the cyclic structure is to form an interlocked compound [abstract, claim 1, col 229 lines 53-67], it would not have been obvious to the skilled artisan to prepare the non-interlocked compound. While one could say that the intermediate compound of the Ir complex discloses the non-interlocked compound of the claims, the W group would contain 10 aromatic moieties, more than the maximum 7 of claim 4.
Zeng et al (US 20180155381 A1) and Chen et al (US 20220162246 A1 and US 20220115607 A1) do not disclose the pendant W group of the claim 4, but rather the bidentate W group of other claims.
Other pendant cyclic groups like those in Macinnis et al (US 20220109120 A1) contain central atoms like Boron as well as linking heteroatoms, and therefore are not a group like W that is consisting of aromatic moieties joined to each other by direct bonds.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL M. DOLLINGER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1766
/MICHAEL M DOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766