DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 23 February 2026 and 11 June 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS’s are being considered by the Examiner in this Office Action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-9, 11-19, & 21-29 were previously pending in this application. The amendment filed 22 May 2026 has been entered and the following has occurred: Claims 1, 6, 11, 16, 21 & 26 have been amended. No claims have been added or cancelled.
Claims 1-9, 11-19, & 21-29 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-19, & 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,024,304), hereinafter “Smith”, in view of Gallopyn et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0243186), hereinafter “Gallopyn”, in view of Judy et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0005783), hereinafter “Judy”, further in view of Zeng et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0053119), hereinafter “Zeng”.
Claim 1 –
Regarding Claim 1, Smith discloses the computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device, comprising:
interfacing a generic virtual assistant with a medical management system (See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-65 which discloses the use of a virtual assistant which interprets natural language input in spoken and/or textual form to deduce user intent and perform actions/tasks based on the deduced user intent; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input); and
monitoring the diction of a medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input);
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system (See Smith Col. 5, ll. 62 – Col. 6, ll. 6 which discloses the use of natural language processing that recognizes one or more of the predetermined speech inputs that a virtual assistant companion can speak; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input), wherein
at least a portion of the diction to identify the at least one task is based upon, at least in part, the detection of a task-indicative word from a list of pre-defined task-indicative trigger words (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input), wherein
in response to detecting at least one task, effectuating the at least one task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a local virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input), wherein
effectuating the at least one task on the medical management system includes commandeering a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface to effectuate the at least one task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a local virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input), wherein
commandeering the local user interface of the medical management system includes processing the at least one task on the local user interface and rendering remote manipulation of the local user interface by the virtual assistant during the effectuating of the task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a local virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks, i.e. performing processing at least one task in response to a command received by speech or other input).
While Smith discloses the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist, Smith does not seem to explicitly mention allowing the user to commandeer a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface.
However, Gallopyn discloses commandeering a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface (See Gallopyn Par [0023]-[0026] which discloses a configuration including one or more network accessible computers that are accessed using telephony, wherein the one or more network computers hosts the virtual medical assistant, i.e. tasks effectuated, and the functionality of the assistant is accessed via a separate interface device, such that a medical professional may call into a system capable of accessing one or more host devices using any suitable telephony device and conduct interactions with the virtual medical assistant using speech, such that the interface device (e.g., the telephony component used by the medical professional) interacts with, but does not itself necessarily host, the virtual medical assistant, effectively constituting commandeering a local user interface through remote manipulation of the local user interface; See Gallopyn Par [0033] which discloses by implementing at least some functionality of the virtual medical assistant on a virtual medical assistant server, i.e. that is remote from the local medical system, the computer footprint of the virtual medical assistant may be reduced to some extent) commandeering the local user interface of the medical management system includes processing the at least one task on the local user interface and rendering remote manipulation of the local user interface by the virtual assistant during the effectuating of the task on the medical management system (See Gallopyn Par [0033] which discloses by implementing at least some functionality of the virtual medical assistant on a virtual medical assistant server, i.e. that is remote from the local medical system, the computer footprint of the virtual medical assistant may be reduced to some extent; See Gallopyn Par [0023]-[0026] which discloses a configuration including one or more network accessible computers that are accessed using telephony, wherein the one or more network computers hosts the virtual medical assistant, i.e. tasks effectuated, and the functionality of the assistant is accessed via a separate interface device, such that a medical professional may call into a system capable of accessing one or more host devices using any suitable telephony device and conduct interactions with the virtual medical assistant using speech, such that the interface device (e.g., the telephony component used by the medical professional) interacts with, but does not itself necessarily host, the virtual medical assistant, effectively constituting commandeering a local user interface by processing at least one task on the local user interface and rendering remote manipulation of the local user interface). The disclosure of Gallopyn is directly applicable to the disclosure of smith because both disclosures share limitations and capabilities, such as being directed towards virtual medical assistants and operation thereof for interaction by a medical professional.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Smith, which already discloses the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist to further include commandeering a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface, as disclosed by Gallopyn, because this allows the system to be implemented using a mobile device and/or server implementation for reduction of the computer footprint of the virtual medical assistant in the local computing environment (See Gallopyn Par [0033]).
While Smith and Gallopyn generally disclose the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist, Smith and Gallopyn are generally silent on the tasks including commands for controlling a hospital bed the following limitations:
the at least one task includes a command for controlling a hospital bed, wherein
effectuating the command for controlling the hospital bed includes effectuating a voice-based control operation to physically adjust one or more portions of the hospital bed.
However, Judy discloses the at least one task includes a command for controlling a hospital bed (See Judy Par [0035]-[0036] which discloses a patient room equipped with a patient support apparatus, including a stretcher, a chair, a wheelchair, a bench, a hospital bed, etc.; See Judy Par [0039] which discloses the voice command server controlling various functions within the patient’s room, including bed controls; See Judy Par [0052]-[0055] which discloses voice recognition software determining which controllable device is related to the voice command and converting the voice command into a control signal, such as for a hospital bed when the patient or caregiver may voice a command to the electronic controller, e.g. “raise bed”), wherein effectuating the command for controlling the hospital bed includes effectuating a voice-based control operation to physically adjust one or more portions of the hospital bed (See Judy Par [0035]-[0036] which discloses a patient room equipped with a patient support apparatus, including a stretcher, a chair, a wheelchair, a bench, a hospital bed, etc.; See Judy Par [0039] which discloses the voice command server controlling various functions within the patient’s room, including bed controls; See Judy Par [0052]-[0055] which discloses voice recognition software determining which controllable device is related to the voice command and converting the voice command into a control signal, such as for a hospital bed when the patient or caregiver may voice a command to the electronic controller, e.g. “raise bed”). The disclosure of Judy is directly applicable to the combined disclosure of Smith and Gallopyn because the disclosures share limitations and capabilities, such as being directed towards systems and programs for providing assistance in a medical setting by interacting with a medical professional.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined disclosure of Smith and Gallopyn which already discloses the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist to further include the dictated task including a command for controlling a hospital bed via a voice-based control operation to physically adjust one or more portions of the hospital bed, as disclosed by Judy, because this allows for medical providers in a predetermined distance to remotely control a controllable device, such as a patient support apparatus, without physical interaction with a hospital bed interface (See Judy Par [0052]-[0055]).
While Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy generally disclose the use of wake words for hands-free controlling of one or more hospital devices/interfaces thereof, such as a hospital bed/hospital bed interface, Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy do not seem to disclose the use of artificial intelligence to generate new task-indicative trigger words based on seed data comprising a list of already-existing task-indicative trigger words:
the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words is generated using an artificial intelligence (Al) process that expands seed data associated with a subset of task-indicative trigger words into a plurality of task-indicative trigger words for populating the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words (See Zeng Par [0094]-[0095] which discloses semi-supervised training seeds generator receiving input which includes task-based conversations, such that providing a set of training seeds makes the learning process more efficient, and further specifically mentions the semi-supervised training seeds generator comprising a task-based seed generator that receives labeled task-based conversations as input and generates task based training seeds; See Zeng Par [0086] which discloses the task structure learning engine being designed to learn based on the task-based training seeds, such that a data structure associated with a task may refer to the structure of different types of information/sub-tasks needed to carry out the task, i.e. task-indicative trigger word as in Zeng Par [0155]; See Zeng Par [0157] which discloses the plurality of bot design graphical programming objects represent a module corresponding to an action or a sub-task to be performed by the virtual agent and based on the learned task-based training seeds learned by the bot/virtual agent).
The disclosure of Zeng is directly applicable to the combined disclosure of Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy because the disclosures share limitations and capabilities, such as being directed towards providing one or more assistive tools for performing tasks at a user interface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy regarding the use of wake words for hands-free controlling of one or more hospital devices/interfaces thereof, to further include the use of artificial intelligence to generate new task-indicative trigger words based on seed data comprising a list of already-existing task-indicative trigger words, as disclosed by Zeng, because the use of seed data/training seeds allows for the learning process to be more efficient by not requiring the labor intensive labor to label all training data and reducing the required effort/costs to generate labeled training data for learning models, i.e. to learning new tasks/structures of different types of information/sub-tasks needed to carry out the task (See Zeng Par [0086] & [0095]).
Claim 2 –
Regarding Claim 2, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a method, wherein:
interfacing a generic virtual assistant with a medical management system includes:
enabling functionality on the generic virtual assistant to effectuate cloud-based communication between the generic virtual assistant and the medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 3 –
Regarding Claim 3, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng y disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a method, wherein:
monitoring the diction of the medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant includes:
monitoring the diction of the medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant to listen for the utterance of a wake-up word (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 4 –
Regarding Claim 4, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a method, wherein:
monitoring the diction of a medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant includes one or more of (according to the “one or more of” language found above the BRI of the claim only requires one of the enumerated limitations below to be met):
monitoring the diction of a claim processing specialist using the generic virtual assistant (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation);
monitoring the diction of a billing specialist using the generic virtual assistant (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation);
monitoring the diction of a data processing specialist using the generic virtual assistant (the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “data processing specialist” includes a health care provider that collects and processes health data, therefore see Smith Col 16, ll. 42-60 which discloses the use of the system in the health care setting and collection of health data, i.e. by a health care provider that collects and processes health data); and
monitoring the diction of an ordering specialist using the generic virtual assistant (the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “ordering specialist” includes a health care provider that orders medical tests, therefore see Smith Col 16, ll. 42-60 which discloses health data being collected at a command of a health care provider that orders a certain type of test).
Claim 5 –
Regarding Claim 5, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a method, further comprising:
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input); and
if at least one task is detected, effectuating the at least one task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input; See Smith Col 13, ll. 49 – Col. 14, ll. 8 which discloses the command causes the device or machine to perform a specified task or tasks).
Claim 6 –
Regarding Claim 6, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a method, wherein:
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system includes one or more of (according to the “one or more of” language found above the BRI of the claim only requires one of the enumerated limitations below to be met):
processing at least a portion of the diction using natural language processing (See Smith Col. 5, ll. 62 – Col. 6, ll. 6 which discloses the use of natural language processing that recognizes one or more of the predetermined speech inputs that a virtual assistant companion can speak; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input);
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify one or more task-indicative conversational structures (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 7 –
Regarding Claim 7, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a method, wherein:
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system includes one or more of:
processing at least a portion of the diction on a cloud-based computing resource to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 8 –
Regarding Claim 8, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a method, wherein:
the medical management system includes one or more of (according to the “one or more of” language found above the BRI of the claim only requires one of the enumerated limitations below to be met):
a medical office management system (“medical office management” under broadest reasonable interpretation can include a system for obtaining medical data in a medical office/institution unless otherwise specified; See Smith Col. 10, ll. 44 – Col. 12, ll. 28 which discloses receiving and management of healthcare/medical data; See Smith Col. 16, ll. 42-47 which discloses the implementation of the system within a healthcare institution);
a medical office billing system (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation); and
a pharmacy management system (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation).
Claim 9 –
Regarding Claim 9, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a method, wherein:
effectuating the at least one task on the medical management system includes:
parsing the at least one task into a plurality of subtasks (While not “subtask” per se, See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like, and the task flow has a plurality of “steps” and/or “parameters to accomplish the deduced user intent); and
effectuating the plurality of subtasks on the medical management system (While not “subtask” per se, See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like, and the task flow has a plurality of “steps” and/or “parameters to accomplish the deduced user intent).
Claim 11 –
Regarding Claim 11, Smith discloses a computer program product on a non-transitory computer readable medium having a plurality of instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (See Smith Col. 15, ll. 27-49 which discloses a computer readable medium, computer, processor, and performing the operations) comprising:
interfacing a generic virtual assistant with a medical management system (See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-65 which discloses the use of a virtual assistant which interprets natural language input in spoken and/or textual form to deduce user intent and perform actions/tasks based on the deduced user intent; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input); and
monitoring the diction of a medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input);
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system (See Smith Col. 5, ll. 62 – Col. 6, ll. 6 which discloses the use of natural language processing that recognizes one or more of the predetermined speech inputs that a virtual assistant companion can speak; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input); wherein
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system (See Smith Col. 5, ll. 62 – Col. 6, ll. 6 which discloses the use of natural language processing that recognizes one or more of the predetermined speech inputs that a virtual assistant companion can speak; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input), wherein
at least a portion of the diction to identify the at least one task is based upon, at least in part, the detection of a task-indicative word from a list of pre-defined task-indicative trigger words (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input), wherein
in response to detecting at least one task, effectuating the at least one task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a local virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input), wherein
effectuating the at least one task on the medical management system includes commandeering a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface to effectuate the at least one task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a local virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input), wherein
commandeering the local user interface of the medical management system includes processing the at least one task on the local user interface and rendering remote manipulation of the local user interface by the virtual assistant during the effectuating of the task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a local virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks, i.e. performing processing at least one task in response to a command received by speech or other input).
While Smith discloses the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist, Smith does not seem to explicitly mention allowing the user to commandeer a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface.
However, Gallopyn discloses commandeering a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface (See Gallopyn Par [0023]-[0026] which discloses a configuration including one or more network accessible computers that are accessed using telephony, wherein the one or more network computers hosts the virtual medical assistant, i.e. tasks effectuated, and the functionality of the assistant is accessed via a separate interface device, such that a medical professional may call into a system capable of accessing one or more host devices using any suitable telephony device and conduct interactions with the virtual medical assistant using speech, such that the interface device (e.g., the telephony component used by the medical professional) interacts with, but does not itself necessarily host, the virtual medical assistant, effectively constituting commandeering a local user interface through remote manipulation of the local user interface; See Gallopyn Par [0033] which discloses by implementing at least some functionality of the virtual medical assistant on a virtual medical assistant server, i.e. that is remote from the local medical system, the computer footprint of the virtual medical assistant may be reduced to some extent) commandeering the local user interface of the medical management system includes processing the at least one task on the local user interface and rendering remote manipulation of the local user interface by the virtual assistant during the effectuating of the task on the medical management system (See Gallopyn Par [0033] which discloses by implementing at least some functionality of the virtual medical assistant on a virtual medical assistant server, i.e. that is remote from the local medical system, the computer footprint of the virtual medical assistant may be reduced to some extent; See Gallopyn Par [0023]-[0026] which discloses a configuration including one or more network accessible computers that are accessed using telephony, wherein the one or more network computers hosts the virtual medical assistant, i.e. tasks effectuated, and the functionality of the assistant is accessed via a separate interface device, such that a medical professional may call into a system capable of accessing one or more host devices using any suitable telephony device and conduct interactions with the virtual medical assistant using speech, such that the interface device (e.g., the telephony component used by the medical professional) interacts with, but does not itself necessarily host, the virtual medical assistant, effectively constituting commandeering a local user interface by processing at least one task on the local user interface and rendering remote manipulation of the local user interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Smith, which already discloses the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist to further include commandeering a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface, as disclosed by Gallopyn, because this allows the system to be implemented using a mobile device and/or server implementation for reduction of the computer footprint of the virtual medical assistant in the local computing environment (See Gallopyn Par [0033]).
While Smith and Gallopyn generally disclose the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist, Smith and Gallopyn are generally silent on the tasks including commands for controlling a hospital bed the following limitations:
the at least one task includes a command for controlling a hospital bed, wherein
effectuating the command for controlling the hospital bed includes effectuating a voice-based control operation to physically adjust one or more portions of the hospital bed.
However, Judy discloses the at least one task includes a command for controlling a hospital bed (See Judy Par [0035]-[0036] which discloses a patient room equipped with a patient support apparatus, including a stretcher, a chair, a wheelchair, a bench, a hospital bed, etc.; See Judy Par [0039] which discloses the voice command server controlling various functions within the patient’s room, including bed controls; See Judy Par [0052]-[0055] which discloses voice recognition software determining which controllable device is related to the voice command and converting the voice command into a control signal, such as for a hospital bed when the patient or caregiver may voice a command to the electronic controller, e.g. “raise bed”), wherein effectuating the command for controlling the hospital bed includes effectuating a voice-based control operation to physically adjust one or more portions of the hospital bed (See Judy Par [0035]-[0036] which discloses a patient room equipped with a patient support apparatus, including a stretcher, a chair, a wheelchair, a bench, a hospital bed, etc.; See Judy Par [0039] which discloses the voice command server controlling various functions within the patient’s room, including bed controls; See Judy Par [0052]-[0055] which discloses voice recognition software determining which controllable device is related to the voice command and converting the voice command into a control signal, such as for a hospital bed when the patient or caregiver may voice a command to the electronic controller, e.g. “raise bed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined disclosure of Smith and Gallopyn which already discloses the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist to further include the dictated task including a command for controlling a hospital bed via a voice-based control operation to physically adjust one or more portions of the hospital bed, as disclosed by Judy, because this allows for medical providers in a predetermined distance to remotely control a controllable device, such as a patient support apparatus, without physical interaction with a hospital bed interface (See Judy Par [0052]-[0055]).
While Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy generally disclose the use of wake words for hands-free controlling of one or more hospital devices/interfaces thereof, such as a hospital bed/hospital bed interface, Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy do not seem to disclose the use of artificial intelligence to generate new task-indicative trigger words based on seed data comprising a list of already-existing task-indicative trigger words:
the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words is generated using an artificial intelligence (Al) process that expands seed data associated with a subset of task-indicative trigger words into a plurality of task-indicative trigger words for populating the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words (See Zeng Par [0094]-[0095] which discloses semi-supervised training seeds generator receiving input which includes task-based conversations, such that providing a set of training seeds makes the learning process more efficient, and further specifically mentions the semi-supervised training seeds generator comprising a task-based seed generator that receives labeled task-based conversations as input and generates task based training seeds; See Zeng Par [0086] which discloses the task structure learning engine being designed to learn based on the task-based training seeds, such that a data structure associated with a task may refer to the structure of different types of information/sub-tasks needed to carry out the task, i.e. task-indicative trigger word as in Zeng Par [0155]; See Zeng Par [0157] which discloses the plurality of bot design graphical programming objects represent a module corresponding to an action or a sub-task to be performed by the virtual agent and based on the learned task-based training seeds learned by the bot/virtual agent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy regarding the use of wake words for hands-free controlling of one or more hospital devices/interfaces thereof, to further include the use of artificial intelligence to generate new task-indicative trigger words based on seed data comprising a list of already-existing task-indicative trigger words, as disclosed by Zeng, because the use of seed data/training seeds allows for the learning process to be more efficient by not requiring the labor intensive labor to label all training data and reducing the required effort/costs to generate labeled training data for learning models, i.e. to learning new tasks/structures of different types of information/sub-tasks needed to carry out the task (See Zeng Par [0086] & [0095]).
Claim 12 –
Regarding Claim 12, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer program product of claim 11 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a computer program product, wherein:
interfacing a generic virtual assistant with a medical management system includes:
enabling functionality on the generic virtual assistant to effectuate cloud- based communication between the generic virtual assistant and the medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 13 –
Regarding Claim 13, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer program product of claim 11 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a computer program product, wherein:
monitoring the diction of the medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant includes:
monitoring the diction of the medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant to listen for the utterance of a wake-up word (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 14 –
Regarding Claim 14, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer program product of claim 11 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a computer program product, wherein:
monitoring the diction of a medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant includes one or more of (according to the “one or more of” language found above the BRI of the claim only requires one of the enumerated limitations below to be met):
monitoring the diction of a claim processing specialist using the generic virtual assistant (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation);
monitoring the diction of a billing specialist using the generic virtual assistant (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation);
monitoring the diction of a data processing specialist using the generic virtual assistant (the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “data processing specialist” includes a health care provider that collects and processes health data, therefore see Smith Col 16, ll. 42-60 which discloses the use of the system in the health care setting and collection of health data, i.e. by a health care provider that collects and processes health data); and
monitoring the diction of an ordering specialist using the generic virtual assistant (the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “ordering specialist” includes a health care provider that orders medical tests, therefore see Smith Col 16, ll. 42-60 which discloses health data being collected at a command of a health care provider that orders a certain type of test).
Claim 15 –
Regarding Claim 15, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer program product of claim 11 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a computer program product, further comprising:
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input); and
if at least one task is detected, effectuating the at least one task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input; See Smith Col 13, ll. 49 – Col. 14, ll. 8 which discloses the command causes the device or machine to perform a specified task or tasks).
Claim 16 –
Regarding Claim 16, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer program product of claim 11 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a computer program product, wherein:
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system includes one or more of (according to the “one or more of” language found above the BRI of the claim only requires one of the enumerated limitations below to be met):
processing at least a portion of the diction using natural language processing (See Smith Col. 5, ll. 62 – Col. 6, ll. 6 which discloses the use of natural language processing that recognizes one or more of the predetermined speech inputs that a virtual assistant companion can speak See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input);
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify one or more task-indicative conversational structures (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 17 –
Regarding Claim 17, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer program product of claim 11 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a computer program product, wherein:
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system includes one or more of:
processing at least a portion of the diction on a cloud-based computing resource to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 18 –
Regarding Claim 18, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer program product of claim 11 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a computer program product, wherein:
the medical management system includes one or more of (according to the “one or more of” language found above the BRI of the claim only requires one of the enumerated limitations below to be met):
a medical office management system (“medical office management” under broadest reasonable interpretation can include a system for obtaining medical data in a medical office/institution unless otherwise specified; See Smith Col. 10, ll. 44 – Col. 12, ll. 28 which discloses receiving and management of healthcare/medical data; See Smith Col. 16, ll. 42-47 which discloses the implementation of the system within a healthcare institution);
a medical office billing system (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation); and
a pharmacy management system (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation).
Claim 19 –
Regarding Claim 19, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computer program product of claim 11 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a computer program product, wherein:
effectuating the at least one task on the medical management system includes:
parsing the at least one task into a plurality of subtasks (While not “subtask” per se, See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like, and the task flow has a plurality of “steps” and/or “parameters to accomplish the deduced user intent); and
effectuating the plurality of subtasks on the medical management system (While not “subtask” per se, See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like, and the task flow has a plurality of “steps” and/or “parameters to accomplish the deduced user intent).
Claim 21 –
Regarding Claim 21, Smith discloses a computing system including a processor and memory configured to perform operations (See Smith Col. 15, ll. 27-49 which discloses a computer readable medium, computer, processor, and performing the operations) comprising:
interfacing a generic virtual assistant with a medical management system (See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-65 which discloses the use of a virtual assistant which interprets natural language input in spoken and/or textual form to deduce user intent and perform actions/tasks based on the deduced user intent; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input); and
monitoring the diction of a medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input);
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system (See Smith Col. 5, ll. 62 – Col. 6, ll. 6 which discloses the use of natural language processing that recognizes one or more of the predetermined speech inputs that a virtual assistant companion can speak; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input); wherein
at least a portion of the diction to identify the at least one task is based upon, at least in part, the detection of a task-indicative word from a list of pre-defined task-indicative trigger words (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input), wherein
in response to detecting at least one task, effectuating the at least one task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a local virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input), wherein
effectuating the at least one task on the medical management system includes commandeering a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface to effectuate the at least one task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a local virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input), wherein
commandeering the local user interface of the medical management system includes processing the at least task on the local user interface and rendering remote manipulation of the local user interface by the virtual assistant during the effectuating of the task on the medical management system (commandeering the local user interface of the medical management system includes processing the at least one task on the local user interface and rendering remote manipulation of the local user interface by the virtual assistant during the effectuating of the task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like; See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a local virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks, i.e. performing processing at least one task in response to a command received by speech or other input).
While Smith discloses the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist, Smith does not seem to explicitly mention allowing the user to commandeer a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface.
However, Gallopyn discloses commandeering a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface (See Gallopyn Par [0023]-[0026] which discloses a configuration including one or more network accessible computers that are accessed using telephony, wherein the one or more network computers hosts the virtual medical assistant, i.e. tasks effectuated, and the functionality of the assistant is accessed via a separate interface device, such that a medical professional may call into a system capable of accessing one or more host devices using any suitable telephony device and conduct interactions with the virtual medical assistant using speech, such that the interface device (e.g., the telephony component used by the medical professional) interacts with, but does not itself necessarily host, the virtual medical assistant, effectively constituting commandeering a local user interface through remote manipulation of the local user interface; See Gallopyn Par [0033] which discloses by implementing at least some functionality of the virtual medical assistant on a virtual medical assistant server, i.e. that is remote from the local medical system, the computer footprint of the virtual medical assistant may be reduced to some extent) commandeering the local user interface of the medical management system includes processing the at least one task on the local user interface and rendering remote manipulation of the local user interface by the virtual assistant during the effectuating of the task on the medical management system (See Gallopyn Par [0033] which discloses by implementing at least some functionality of the virtual medical assistant on a virtual medical assistant server, i.e. that is remote from the local medical system, the computer footprint of the virtual medical assistant may be reduced to some extent; See Gallopyn Par [0023]-[0026] which discloses a configuration including one or more network accessible computers that are accessed using telephony, wherein the one or more network computers hosts the virtual medical assistant, i.e. tasks effectuated, and the functionality of the assistant is accessed via a separate interface device, such that a medical professional may call into a system capable of accessing one or more host devices using any suitable telephony device and conduct interactions with the virtual medical assistant using speech, such that the interface device (e.g., the telephony component used by the medical professional) interacts with, but does not itself necessarily host, the virtual medical assistant, effectively constituting commandeering a local user interface by processing at least one task on the local user interface and rendering remote manipulation of the local user interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Smith, which already discloses the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist to further include commandeering a local user interface, normally used by the medical specialist, of the medical management system through remote manipulation of the local user interface, as disclosed by Gallopyn, because this allows the system to be implemented using a mobile device and/or server implementation for reduction of the computer footprint of the virtual medical assistant in the local computing environment (See Gallopyn Par [0033]).
While Smith and Gallopyn generally disclose the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist, Smith and Gallopyn are generally silent on the tasks including commands for controlling a hospital bed the following limitations:
the at least one task includes a command for controlling a hospital bed, wherein
effectuating the command for controlling the hospital bed includes effectuating a voice-based control operation to physically adjust one or more portions of the hospital bed.
However, Judy discloses the at least one task includes a command for controlling a hospital bed (See Judy Par [0035]-[0036] which discloses a patient room equipped with a patient support apparatus, including a stretcher, a chair, a wheelchair, a bench, a hospital bed, etc.; See Judy Par [0039] which discloses the voice command server controlling various functions within the patient’s room, including bed controls; See Judy Par [0052]-[0055] which discloses voice recognition software determining which controllable device is related to the voice command and converting the voice command into a control signal, such as for a hospital bed when the patient or caregiver may voice a command to the electronic controller, e.g. “raise bed”), wherein effectuating the command for controlling the hospital bed includes effectuating a voice-based control operation to physically adjust one or more portions of the hospital bed (See Judy Par [0035]-[0036] which discloses a patient room equipped with a patient support apparatus, including a stretcher, a chair, a wheelchair, a bench, a hospital bed, etc.; See Judy Par [0039] which discloses the voice command server controlling various functions within the patient’s room, including bed controls; See Judy Par [0052]-[0055] which discloses voice recognition software determining which controllable device is related to the voice command and converting the voice command into a control signal, such as for a hospital bed when the patient or caregiver may voice a command to the electronic controller, e.g. “raise bed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined disclosure of Smith and Gallopyn which already discloses the use of a generic virtual assistant that effectuates at least one task on a medical management system in response to identified tasks given to the system via diction from a medical specialist to further include the dictated task including a command for controlling a hospital bed via a voice-based control operation to physically adjust one or more portions of the hospital bed, as disclosed by Judy, because this allows for medical providers in a predetermined distance to remotely control a controllable device, such as a patient support apparatus, without physical interaction with a hospital bed interface (See Judy Par [0052]-[0055]).
While Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy generally disclose the use of wake words for hands-free controlling of one or more hospital devices/interfaces thereof, such as a hospital bed/hospital bed interface, Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy do not seem to disclose the use of artificial intelligence to generate new task-indicative trigger words based on seed data comprising a list of already-existing task-indicative trigger words:
the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words is generated using an artificial intelligence (Al) process that expands seed data associated with a subset of task-indicative trigger words into a plurality of task-indicative trigger words for populating the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words (See Zeng Par [0094]-[0095] which discloses semi-supervised training seeds generator receiving input which includes task-based conversations, such that providing a set of training seeds makes the learning process more efficient, and further specifically mentions the semi-supervised training seeds generator comprising a task-based seed generator that receives labeled task-based conversations as input and generates task based training seeds; See Zeng Par [0086] which discloses the task structure learning engine being designed to learn based on the task-based training seeds, such that a data structure associated with a task may refer to the structure of different types of information/sub-tasks needed to carry out the task, i.e. task-indicative trigger word as in Zeng Par [0155]; See Zeng Par [0157] which discloses the plurality of bot design graphical programming objects represent a module corresponding to an action or a sub-task to be performed by the virtual agent and based on the learned task-based training seeds learned by the bot/virtual agent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy regarding the use of wake words for hands-free controlling of one or more hospital devices/interfaces thereof, to further include the use of artificial intelligence to generate new task-indicative trigger words based on seed data comprising a list of already-existing task-indicative trigger words, as disclosed by Zeng, because the use of seed data/training seeds allows for the learning process to be more efficient by not requiring the labor intensive labor to label all training data and reducing the required effort/costs to generate labeled training data for learning models, i.e. to learning new tasks/structures of different types of information/sub-tasks needed to carry out the task (See Zeng Par [0086] & [0095]).
Claim 22 –
Regarding Claim 22, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computing system of claim 21 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a system, wherein:
interfacing a generic virtual assistant with a medical management system includes:
enabling functionality on the generic virtual assistant to effectuate cloud-based communication between the generic virtual assistant and the medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 23 –
Regarding Claim 23, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computing system of claim 21 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a system, wherein:
monitoring the diction of the medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant includes:
monitoring the diction of the medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant to listen for the utterance of a wake-up word (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 24 –
Regarding Claim 24, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computing system of claim 21 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a system, wherein:
monitoring the diction of a medical specialist using the generic virtual assistant includes one or more of (according to the “one or more of” language found above the BRI of the claim only requires one of the enumerated limitations below to be met):
monitoring the diction of a claim processing specialist using the generic virtual assistant (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation);
monitoring the diction of a billing specialist using the generic virtual assistant (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation);
monitoring the diction of a data processing specialist using the generic virtual assistant (the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “data processing specialist” includes a health care provider that collects and processes health data, therefore see Smith Col 16, ll. 42-60 which discloses the use of the system in the health care setting and collection of health data, i.e. by a health care provider that collects and processes health data); and
monitoring the diction of an ordering specialist using the generic virtual assistant (the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “ordering specialist” includes a health care provider that orders medical tests, therefore see Smith Col 16, ll. 42-60 which discloses health data being collected at a command of a health care provider that orders a certain type of test).
Claim 25 –
Regarding Claim 25, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computing system of claim 21 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a system, further comprising:
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input); and
if at least one task is detected, effectuating the at least one task on the medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input; See Smith Col 13, ll. 49 – Col. 14, ll. 8 which discloses the command causes the device or machine to perform a specified task or tasks).
Claim 26 –
Regarding Claim 26, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computing system of claim 21 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a system, wherein:
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system includes one or more of (according to the “one or more of” language found above the BRI of the claim only requires one of the enumerated limitations below to be met):
processing at least a portion of the diction using natural language processing (See Smith Col. 5, ll. 62 – Col. 6, ll. 6 which discloses the use of natural language processing that recognizes one or more of the predetermined speech inputs that a virtual assistant companion can speak See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input);
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify one or more task-indicative conversational structures (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 27 –
Regarding Claim 27, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computing system of claim 21 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a system, wherein:
processing at least a portion of the diction to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system includes one or more of:
processing at least a portion of the diction on a cloud-based computing resource to identify at least one task to be performed within a medical management system (See Smith Col. 9, ll. 35- Col. 10, ll. 42 which discloses upon recognition of a wake word, subsequent words are streamed to the cloud and analyzed by the virtual assistant and a virtual assistant can perform a variety of tasks in response to a command received by speech or other input).
Claim 28 –
Regarding Claim 28, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computing system of claim 21 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a system, wherein:
the medical management system includes one or more of according to the “one or more of” language found above the BRI of the claim only requires one of the enumerated limitations below to be met):
a medical office management system (“medical office management” under broadest reasonable interpretation can include a system for obtaining medical data in a medical office/institution unless otherwise specified; See Smith Col. 10, ll. 44 – Col. 12, ll. 28 which discloses receiving and management of healthcare/medical data; See Smith Col. 16, ll. 42-47 which discloses the implementation of the system within a healthcare institution);
a medical office billing system (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation); and
a pharmacy management system (in view of the above “one or more of” language, under BRI, Smith does not have to read on this limitation).
Claim 29 –
Regarding Claim 29, Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng disclose the computing system of claim 21 in its entirety. Smith further discloses a system, wherein:
parsing the at least one task into a plurality of subtasks (While not “subtask” per se, See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like, and the task flow has a plurality of “steps” and/or “parameters to accomplish the deduced user intent); and
effectuating the plurality of subtasks on the medical management system (While not “subtask” per se, See Smith Col. 3, ll. 35-52 which discloses identifying a task flow and executing a task flow by invoking programs (software applications), methods, services, APIs (i.e. application program interface), or the like, and the task flow has a plurality of “steps” and/or “parameters to accomplish the deduced user intent).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-30, Applicant argues on p. 10-15 of Arguments/Remarks that Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy do not disclose the newly amended limitations found in independent claims 1, 11, & 21 regarding “the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words is generated using an artificial intelligence (Al) process that expands seed data associated with a subset of task-indicative trigger words into a plurality of task-indicative trigger words for populating the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words”. Applicant further argues that the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections for the independent claims 1, 11, & 21 and claims dependent therefrom should be withdrawn. Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. In particular, Examiner agrees that Smith, Gallopyn, and Judy are relatively silent on “the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words is generated using an artificial intelligence (Al) process that expands seed data associated with a subset of task-indicative trigger words into a plurality of task-indicative trigger words for populating the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words”. Therefore, the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection has been made under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Smith, Gallopyn, Judy, and Zeng. This new ground of rejection relies on newly cited Zeng to read on the newly amended limitation “the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words is generated using an artificial intelligence (AI) process that expands seed data associated with a subset of task-indicative trigger words into a plurality of task-indicative trigger words for populating the list of predefined task-indicative trigger words”. As such, pending claims independent claims 1, 11, & 21 and claims dependent from claims 1, 11, & 21 (i.e. claims 2-9, 12-19, & 22-29) remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Smith in view of Gallopyn, further in view of Judy, further in view of Zeng.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Sethi et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0374605) discloses a system for implementing wake-word detection techniques to allow users to conveniently activate the assistant system using one or more wake-words associated with assistant system and an NLU model for developing said detection techniques;
Lefkofsky et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0335187) discloses a system for a collaboration device ,such that the device may be programmed to listen for an activation phrase and once received, activate to capture a next voice signal utterance that operates as seed data for generating the text file;
Warner et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0104317) discloses a system for controlling medical equipment using a digital assistant, such that which can leverage one or more deep learning constructs to form one or more digital twins to model the medical equipment.
/H.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3684
/Shahid Merchant/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3684