Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 30th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3,5-8,10-11,13-16,18-19 and 22-26 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-8, 13-16, 18-19, 23-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghosh et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20150362585 A1), hereinafter Ghosh, in view of Ko et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20170374355 A1), hereinafter Ko.
Regarding claim 14, Ghosh teaches an optical sensor, comprising:
an illumination device comprising ([0003] The present invention relates to a 3-D optical sensing and imaging apparatus using an optical illumination source comprising Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Lasers (VCSEL), and in particular, a lightfield optical source including 2-D planar array of VCSELs.):
a plurality of light sources ([0057] In a preferred embodiment, an optical source having high output optical power necessary for very accurate 3-D sensing, imaging or scanning apparatus is constructed using a plurality of VCSEL devices configured in a 2-D planar form.); and
a control circuit configured ([0076] A programmable current driver 732 generating a drive current 733) to:
control the plurality of light sources to entirely illuminate a field of illumination in a first operation mode ([0080]In one preferred, and the simplest mode of operation, the current driver is programmed to drive all the VCSELs in the array chip simultaneously to generate a uniform illumination over an area of interest.); and
control the plurality of light sources to illuminate at least one subfield of the field of illumination in a second operation mode ([0088] In one mode of operation a programmable current driver 832 provides current pulses (833) to activate one or more VCSEL arrays in the array chip in a pre-determined sequence. A plurality of narrow beams of radiation is generated each to illuminate a different area of the object or a region of interest, one at a time);
Ghosh fails to teach wherein the control circuit is further configured to selectively switch on and off a first subset of the plurality of light sources in the first operation mode to entirely illuminate the field of illumination and to selectively switch on and off a second subset of the plurality of light sources in the second operation mode to illuminate the at least one subfield, and wherein the first subset of the plurality of light sources and the second subset of the plurality of light sources are mutually exclusive.
However, Ko teaches wherein the control circuit is further configured to selectively switch on and off a first subset of the plurality of light sources in the first operation mode to entirely illuminate the field of illumination and to selectively switch on and off a second subset of the plurality of light sources in the second operation mode to illuminate the at least one subfield ([Fig. 2f-2g]; [0048] FIG. 2g shows an approach that uses an oval shaped center approach with a surrounding partition around the center oval. Like the approach of FIG. 2f, the approach of FIG. 2g can also illuminate different sized regions in the center of the field of view. Also like the approach of FIG. 2f, other embodiments may have more than one partition that completely surrounds the center region (partitions of multiple concentric rings). Here, each additional surrounding partition would not only surround the center region but also any smaller inner surrounding regions as well.), and
wherein the first subset of the plurality of light sources and the second subset of the plurality of light sources are mutually exclusive ([0034] As such, over the course of the scanning over the larger region of interest, the power consumption remains approximately that of only a single array. In various other use cases more than one light source array may be simultaneously enabled with the understanding that power consumption will scale with the number of simultaneously enabled arrays. That is, there may be use cases in which the power consumption expense is permissible for a particular application that desires simultaneous illumination of multiple partitions),
wherein light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources are arranged in a plurality of first subarrays, each first subarray of the plurality of first subarrays comprises a mutually exclusive set of light sources arranged in a first matrix configuration, wherein light sources of the second subset of the plurality of light sources are arranged in a second array having a second matrix configuration that defines a plurality of mutually exclusive subareas within the second array ([Fig. 2f-2g]; [0048] FIG. 2g shows an approach that uses an oval shaped center approach with a surrounding partition around the center oval. Like the approach of FIG. 2f, the approach of FIG. 2g can also illuminate different sized regions in the center of the field of view. Also like the approach of FIG. 2f, other embodiments may have more than one partition that completely surrounds the center region (partitions of multiple concentric rings). Here, each additional surrounding partition would not only surround the center region but also any smaller inner surrounding regions as well.), and
wherein the plurality of first subarrays are spatially interleaved within the second array such that each first subarray of the plurality of first subarrays is arranged within a different subarea of the plurality of mutually exclusive subareas of the second array ([Fig. 2f-2g]; [0048] FIG. 2g shows an approach that uses an oval shaped center approach with a surrounding partition around the center oval. Like the approach of FIG. 2f, the approach of FIG. 2g can also illuminate different sized regions in the center of).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ghosh to comprise the mutually exclusive subsets of light sources individually set to illuminate a full and sub field of the targeted region similar to Ko, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of enabling the user to selectively control the output light to fit their power and illumination needs in a compact system for a variety of real-world environments.
Regarding claim 3, Ghosh teaches the optical sensor of claim 14, further comprising:
an optical device comprising at least one focusing optical device and at least one diffusing optical device ([0106] The imaging lens focuses diverging beams 1263 and 1266; [0106] a microlens array 1273);
wherein the at least one diffusing optical device is configured to diffuse light emitted by at least one of the plurality of light sources in the first operation mode (Fig. 12; [0106] a microlens array 1273, such that each VCSEL array source aligns and registers with a corresponding microlens 1262. Each set of beams (1261, 1265 etc.) pass through a respective microlens to an imaging lens 1264; [0080] The basic apparatus described above may be used in many different modes for proximity sensing and distance measurement.), and
wherein the at least one focusing optical device is configured to focus light emitted by at least one of the plurality of light sources in the second operation mode (Fig. 12; [0106] The imaging lens focuses diverging beams 1263 and 1266 (solid lines) from the microlens element into a collimated set of beams 1268 and 1269.; [0080] The basic apparatus described above may be used in many different modes for proximity sensing and distance measurement.).
Regarding claim 6, Ghosh, as modified, teaches The optical sensor of claim 3,
wherein at least one of the at least one focusing optical device faces at least on light source of the second subset of the plurality of light sources, and wherein at least one of the at least one diffusing optical device faces at least one light source of the first subset of the plurality of light sources ([Fig. 12]; [0106] The imaging lens focuses diverging beams 1263 and 1266; [0106] a microlens array 1273).
Regarding claim 7, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the optical sensor of claim 6, wherein the at least one of the at least one focusing optical device protrudes from the optical device towards the at least one light source of the second subset of the plurality of light sources (Fig. 12; [0106] a microlens array 1273, such that each VCSEL array source aligns and registers with a corresponding microlens 1262. Each set of beams (1261, 1265 etc.) pass through a respective microlens to an imaging lens 1264; [0080] The basic apparatus described above may be used in many different modes for proximity sensing and distance measurement.).
Regarding claim 8, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the optical sensor of claim 6, wherein the at least one of the at least one diffusing optical device protrudes from the optical device towards the at least one of the light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources (Fig. 12; [0106] The imaging lens focuses diverging beams 1263 and 1266 (solid lines) from the microlens element into a collimated set of beams 1268 and 1269.; [0080] The basic apparatus described above may be used in many different modes for proximity sensing and distance measurement.).
Regarding claim 13, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the optical sensor of claim 3, wherein the optical device is arranged in parallel with the plurality of light sources (Fig. 13; [0109] using a plurality of VCSEL arrays 1330...An array of microlens 1362 is placed in front of the VCSEL array chip, such that each microlens in the array is registered with a corresponding VCSEL array source; [0110] An imaging lens 1364 is placed at a distance from the array of microlens such that an image of the microlens array or its focal plane 1375 may be imaged at a distance away from the imaging lens.).
Regarding claim 18, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the illumination device of claim 14,
Ghosh fails to teach the device wherein each first subarray of the plurality of first subarrays is delimited by a different set of light sources of the second subset of the plurality of light sources.
However, Ko teaches the device wherein each first subarray of the plurality of first subarrays is delimited by a different set of light sources of the second subset of the plurality of light sources ([Fig. 2f-2g]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ghosh to comprise the first array delimited by the second array similar to Ko, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of enabling the device to focus in on specific details of the larger field of view as needed to scan a specific area of an environment.
Regarding claim 19, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the illumination device of claim 14,
Ghosh fails to teach the device wherein each first subarray of the plurality of first subarrays has a higher concentration of light sources per unit area than a concentration of light sources of the second array
However, Ko teaches the device wherein each first subarray of the plurality of first subarrays has a higher concentration of light sources per unit area than a concentration of light sources of the second array
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ghosh to comprise the difference in light concentration of lights in an array similar to Ko, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of enabling the device to provide a rougher estimate, with less power, in one array than with the other, that would then use a higher power level.
Regarding claim 23, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the optical sensor of claim 14,
Ghosh fails to teach the sensor wherein each first subarray of the plurality of first subarrays is smaller in area than the second array.
However, Ko teaches the sensor wherein each first subarray of the plurality of first subarrays is smaller in area than the second array ([Fig. 2f-2g]; [0047] Here, each additional surrounding partition would not only surround the center region but also any smaller inner surrounding regions as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ghosh to comprise the array design similar to Ko, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of enabling a design with more compact spacing for an overall smaller packaging.
Regarding claim 24, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the optical sensor of claim 14,
Ghosh fails to teach the sensor wherein each subarea of the plurality of mutually exclusive subareas is surrounded by a different set of light sources of the second subset of the plurality of light sources.
However, Ko teaches the sensor wherein each subarea of the plurality of mutually exclusive subareas is surrounded by a different set of light sources of the second subset of the plurality of light sources ([Fig. 2f-2g]; [0047] Here, each additional surrounding partition would not only surround the center region but also any smaller inner surrounding regions as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ghosh to comprise the array design similar to Ko, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of enabling a design with more compact spacing for an overall smaller packaging.
Regarding claim 26, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the optical sensor of claim 14, further comprising: a photo-sensitive circuit configured to generate measurement data based on reflected light from the field of illumination ([0077] A receiver 734 is placed at a pre-determined angle with the optical source to detect the reflected radiation. The receiver may be in the form of an analog or a digital camera, a charge couple device (CCD), array of photodetectors, or any other receiver that may be operated in the wavelength of incident radiation including visible and infra-red wavelengths).
Regarding claim 15, Ghosh teaches a method for controlling an illumination device, comprising:
controlling a plurality of light sources of the illumination device to entirely illuminate a field of illumination in a first operation mode ([0080]In one preferred, and the simplest mode of operation, the current driver is programmed to drive all the VCSELs in the array chip simultaneously to generate a uniform illumination over an area of interest.); and
controlling the plurality of light sources to illuminate at least one subfield of the field of illumination in a second operation mode ([0088] In one mode of operation a programmable current driver 832 provides current pulses (833) to activate one or more VCSEL arrays in the array chip in a pre-determined sequence. A plurality of narrow beams of radiation is generated each to illuminate a different area of the object or a region of interest, one at a time).
Ghosh fails to teach the method including selectively switching on and off a first subset of the plurality of light sources in the first operation mode to entirely illuminate the field of illumination; and including selectively switching on and off a second subset of the plurality of light sources in the second operation mode to illuminate the at least one subfield of the field of illumination, wherein the first subset of the plurality of light sources and the second subset of the plurality of light sources are mutually exclusive.
However, Ko teaches the method including selectively switching on and off a first subset of the plurality of light sources in the first operation mode to entirely illuminate the field of illumination ([Fig. 2f-2g]; [0048] FIG. 2g shows an approach that uses an oval shaped center approach with a surrounding partition around the center oval. Like the approach of FIG. 2f, the approach of FIG. 2g can also illuminate different sized regions in the center of the field of view. Also like the approach of FIG. 2f, other embodiments may have more than one partition that completely surrounds the center region (partitions of multiple concentric rings). Here, each additional surrounding partition would not only surround the center region but also any smaller inner surrounding regions as well.); and
including selectively switching on and off a second subset of the plurality of light sources in the second operation mode to illuminate the at least one subfield of the field of illumination ([Fig. 2f-2g]; [0048] FIG. 2g shows an approach that uses an oval shaped center approach with a surrounding partition around the center oval. Like the approach of FIG. 2f, the approach of FIG. 2g can also illuminate different sized regions in the center of the field of view. Also like the approach of FIG. 2f, other embodiments may have more than one partition that completely surrounds the center region (partitions of multiple concentric rings). Here, each additional surrounding partition would not only surround the center region but also any smaller inner surrounding regions as well.),
wherein the first subset of the plurality of light sources and the second subset of the plurality of light sources are mutually exclusive ([0034] As such, over the course of the scanning over the larger region of interest, the power consumption remains approximately that of only a single array. In various other use cases more than one light source array may be simultaneously enabled with the understanding that power consumption will scale with the number of simultaneously enabled arrays. That is, there may be use cases in which the power consumption expense is permissible for a particular application that desires simultaneous illumination of multiple partitions),
wherein light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources are arranged in a plurality of first subarrays, each first subarray of the plurality of first subarrays comprises a mutually exclusive set of light sources arranged in a first matrix configuration, wherein light sources of the second subset of the plurality of light sources are arranged in a second array having a second matrix configuration that defines a plurality of mutually exclusive subareas within the second array ([Fig. 2f-2g]; [0048] FIG. 2g shows an approach that uses an oval shaped center approach with a surrounding partition around the center oval. Like the approach of FIG. 2f, the approach of FIG. 2g can also illuminate different sized regions in the center of the field of view. Also like the approach of FIG. 2f, other embodiments may have more than one partition that completely surrounds the center region (partitions of multiple concentric rings). Here, each additional surrounding partition would not only surround the center region but also any smaller inner surrounding regions as well.), and
wherein the plurality of first subarrays are spatially interleaved within the second array such that each first subarray of the plurality of first subarrays is arranged within a different subarea of the plurality of mutually exclusive subareas of the second array ([Fig. 2f-2g]; [0048] FIG. 2g shows an approach that uses an oval shaped center approach with a surrounding partition around the center oval. Like the approach of FIG. 2f, the approach of FIG. 2g can also illuminate different sized regions in the center of).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ghosh to comprise the mutually exclusive subsets of light sources individually set to illuminate a full and sub field of the targeted region similar to Ko, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of enabling the user to selectively control the output light to fit their power and illumination needs in a compact system for a variety of real-world environments.
Regarding claim 16, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the method of claim 15, wherein controlling the plurality of light sources in the second operation mode includes controlling the plurality of light sources to illuminate a portion of the field of illumination less than an entirety of the field of illumination ([0088] In one mode of operation a programmable current driver 832 provides current pulses (833) to activate one or more VCSEL arrays in the array chip in a pre-determined sequence. A plurality of narrow beams of radiation is generated each to illuminate a different area of the object or a region of interest, one at a time).
Claims 1-2, 5, 10-11, 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghosh in view of Ko, further in view of Ando et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20230083178 A1), with priority benefit of (WO 2021256165 A1), hereinafter Ando.
Regarding claim 1, Ghosh teaches an illumination device for an optical sensor ([0003] The present invention relates to a 3-D optical sensing and imaging apparatus using an optical illumination source comprising Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Lasers (VCSEL), and in particular, a lightfield optical source including 2-D planar array of VCSELs.), comprising:
a plurality of light sources ([0063] It is noted that the individual VCSEL may be positioned in a regular array pattern (FIG. 4a)); and
a control circuit ([0076] A programmable current driver 732 generating a drive current 733) configured to:
control the plurality of light sources to entirely illuminate a field of illumination in a first operation mode ([0080]In one preferred, and the simplest mode of operation, the current driver is programmed to drive all the VCSELs in the array chip simultaneously to generate a uniform illumination over an area of interest.); and
control the plurality of light sources to illuminate at least one subfield of the field of illumination in a second operation mode ([0088] In one mode of operation a programmable current driver 832 provides current pulses (833) to activate one or more VCSEL arrays in the array chip in a pre-determined sequence. A plurality of narrow beams of radiation is generated each to illuminate a different area of the object or a region of interest, one at a time), and
an optical device comprising a plurality of focusing optical devices and a plurality of diffusing optical devices (Fig. 12; [0106] a microlens array 1273, such that each VCSEL array source aligns and registers with a corresponding microlens 1262. Each set of beams (1261, 1265 etc.) pass through a respective microlens to an imaging lens 1264;),
wherein each focusing optical device of the plurality of focusing optical devices is arranged relative to a respective light source of the second subset of the plurality of light sources for focusing light emitted in the second operation mode by the respective light source of the second subset of the plurality of light sources (Fig. 12; [0106] a microlens array 1273, such that each VCSEL array source aligns and registers with a corresponding microlens 1262. Each set of beams (1261, 1265 etc.) pass through a respective microlens to an imaging lens 1264;),
Ghosh fails to teach wherein the control circuit is further configured to selectively switch on and off a first subset of the plurality of light sources in the first operation mode to entirely illuminate the field of illumination and to selectively switch on and off a second subset of the plurality of light sources in the second operation to illuminate the at least one subfield of the field of illumination, and wherein the first subset of the plurality of light sources and the second subset of the plurality of light sources are mutually exclusive.
However, Ko teaches wherein the control circuit is further configured to selectively switch on and off a first subset of the plurality of light sources in the first operation mode to entirely illuminate the field of illumination and to selectively switch on and off a second subset of the plurality of light sources in the second operation to illuminate the at least one subfield of the field of illumination ([Fig. 2f-2g]; [0048] FIG. 2g shows an approach that uses an oval shaped center approach with a surrounding partition around the center oval. Like the approach of FIG. 2f, the approach of FIG. 2g can also illuminate different sized regions in the center of the field of view. Also like the approach of FIG. 2f, other embodiments may have more than one partition that completely surrounds the center region (partitions of multiple concentric rings). Here, each additional surrounding partition would not only surround the center region but also any smaller inner surrounding regions as well.), and
wherein the first subset of the plurality of light sources and the second subset of the plurality of light sources are mutually exclusive ([0034] As such, over the course of the scanning over the larger region of interest, the power consumption remains approximately that of only a single array. In various other use cases more than one light source array may be simultaneously enabled with the understanding that power consumption will scale with the number of simultaneously enabled arrays. That is, there may be use cases in which the power consumption expense is permissible for a particular application that desires simultaneous illumination of multiple partitions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ghosh to comprise the mutually exclusive subsets of light sources individually set to illuminate a full and sub field of the targeted region similar to Ko, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of enabling the user to selectively control the output light to fit their power and illumination needs in a compact system for a variety of real-world environments.
Ghosh, modified by Ko, fails to teach the device wherein each diffusing optical device of the plurality of diffusing optical devices is arranged relative to a respective set of light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources for diffusing light emitted in the first operation mode by the respective set of light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources, wherein the plurality of diffusing optical devices are arranged exclusively to the first subset of the plurality of light sources, and wherein the plurality of focusing optical devices are arranged exclusively to the second subset of the plurality of light sources.
However, Ando teaches the device wherein each diffusing optical device of the plurality of diffusing optical devices is arranged relative to a respective set of light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources for diffusing light emitted in the first operation mode by the respective set of light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources ([0112] The collimator lenses 25 are disposed in one-to-one correspondence to the light sources 20. Each collimator lens 25 collimates light emitted from the corresponding first light source 20 a or the corresponding second light source 20 b. The mirrors 80 are each disposed in the optical path between the corresponding first light sources 20 a or the corresponding second light source 20 b and the diffuser 70),
wherein the plurality of diffusing optical devices are arranged exclusively to the first subset of the plurality of light sources, and wherein the plurality of focusing optical devices are arranged exclusively to the second subset of the plurality of light sources ([0112] The collimator lenses 25 are disposed in one-to-one correspondence to the light sources 20. Each collimator lens 25 collimates light emitted from the corresponding first light source 20 a or the corresponding second light source 20 b. The mirrors 80 are each disposed in the optical path between the corresponding first light sources 20 a or the corresponding second light source 20 b and the diffuser 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ghosh, as modified by Ko, to comprise the individualized collimating and diffusing lenses similar to Ando, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring a fine and rough imaging mode designated for the separate arrays of light sources, further specifying their individual use case.
Regarding claim 2, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the illumination device of claim 1, wherein the control circuit is further configured to control the plurality of light sources to not entirely illuminate the field of illumination in the second operation mode ([0088] In one mode of operation a programmable current driver 832 provides current pulses (833) to activate one or more VCSEL arrays in the array chip in a pre-determined sequence. A plurality of narrow beams of radiation is generated each to illuminate a different area of the object or a region of interest, one at a time).
Regarding claim 5, Ghosh, as modified teaches the illumination device of claim 1, wherein the control circuit comprises:
a first driver circuit connected to the first subset of the plurality of light sources and configured to switch on the first subset of the plurality of light sources in the first operation mode ([0076] A programmable current driver 732 generating a drive current 733 activates the illumination source in one or more preferred mode of operation for example, that include driving the entire array chip collectively, in a programmable mode, or as individually addressable VCSEL arrays where the array chip comprises a plurality of VCSEL arrays (similar to the one shown in FIG. 3b, for example).; [0080]In one preferred, and the simplest mode of operation, the current driver is programmed to drive all the VCSELs in the array chip simultaneously to generate a uniform illumination over an area of interest); and
a second driver circuit connected to the second subset of the plurality of light sources and configured to switch on the second subset of the plurality of light sources in the second operation mode ([0076] A programmable current driver 732 generating a drive current 733 activates the illumination source in one or more preferred mode of operation for example, that include driving the entire array chip collectively, in a programmable mode, or as individually addressable VCSEL arrays where the array chip comprises a plurality of VCSEL arrays (similar to the one shown in FIG. 3b, for example).; [0088] In one mode of operation a programmable current driver 832 provides current pulses (833) to activate one or more VCSEL arrays in the array chip in a pre-determined sequence. A plurality of narrow beams of radiation is generated each to illuminate a different area of the object or a region of interest, one at a time).
Regarding claim 10, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the illumination device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of light sources are arranged in an array ([0063] It is noted that the individual VCSEL may be positioned in a regular array pattern (FIG. 4a)), and
wherein the light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources and the light sources of the second subset of the plurality of light sources are distributed irregularly over the array ([0063] It is noted that the individual VCSEL may be positioned in a regular array pattern (FIG. 4a) or randomly (FIG. 4b).).
Regarding claim 11, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the illumination device of claim 10, wherein a concentration of the light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources in a center area of the array is higher than in a boundary area of the array ([0063] It is noted that the individual VCSEL may be positioned in a regular array pattern (FIG. 4a) or randomly (FIG. 4b). Furthermore, each VCSEL may be operated in a regular sequence or in a random sequence. These and other variations that may be apparent to those skilled in the art, fall within the broad framework of the VCSEL arrays constructed according to this invention.).
Regarding claim 22, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the illumination device of claim 1,
Ghosh fails to teach the device wherein the plurality of diffusing optical devices are used exclusively during the first operation mode to entirely illuminate the field of illumination, and wherein the plurality of focusing optical devices are used exclusively during the second operation mode to illuminate the at least one subfield of the field of illumination.
However, Ko teaches the device wherein the plurality of diffusing optical devices are used exclusively during the first operation mode to entirely illuminate the field of illumination, and wherein the plurality of focusing optical devices are used exclusively during the second operation mode to illuminate the at least one subfield of the field of illumination ([Fig. 2f-2g]; [0048] FIG. 2g shows an approach that uses an oval shaped center approach with a surrounding partition around the center oval. Like the approach of FIG. 2f, the approach of FIG. 2g can also illuminate different sized regions in the center of the field of view. Also like the approach of FIG. 2f, other embodiments may have more than one partition that completely surrounds the center region (partitions of multiple concentric rings). Here, each additional surrounding partition would not only surround the center region but also any smaller inner surrounding regions as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ghosh to comprise the light array subsets with individual controls similar to Ko, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring a fine and rough imaging mode is achievable from the same device during a singular operation.
Regarding Claim 25, Ghosh, as modified, teaches the optical sensor of claim 14, further comprising:
an optical device comprising a plurality of focusing optical devices and a plurality of diffusing optical devices (Fig. 12; [0106] a microlens array 1273, such that each VCSEL array source aligns and registers with a corresponding microlens 1262. Each set of beams (1261, 1265 etc.) pass through a respective microlens to an imaging lens 1264;),
wherein each focusing optical device of the plurality of focusing optical devices is arranged relative to a respective light source of the second subset of the plurality of light sources for focusing light emitted in the second operation mode by the respective light source of the second subset of the plurality of light sources (Fig. 12; [0106] a microlens array 1273, such that each VCSEL array source aligns and registers with a corresponding microlens 1262. Each set of beams (1261, 1265 etc.) pass through a respective microlens to an imaging lens 1264;)
Ghosh fails to teach the sensor wherein each diffusing optical device of the plurality of diffusing optical devices is arranged relative to a respective set of light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources for diffusing light emitted in the first operation mode by the respective set of light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources, wherein the plurality of diffusing optical devices are arranged exclusively to the first subset of the plurality of light sources, and wherein the plurality of focusing optical devices are arranged exclusively to the second subset of the plurality of light sources.
However, Ando teaches the sensor wherein each diffusing optical device of the plurality of diffusing optical devices is arranged relative to a respective set of light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources for diffusing light emitted in the first operation mode by the respective set of light sources of the first subset of the plurality of light sources ([0112] The collimator lenses 25 are disposed in one-to-one correspondence to the light sources 20. Each collimator lens 25 collimates light emitted from the corresponding first light source 20 a or the corresponding second light source 20 b. The mirrors 80 are each disposed in the optical path between the corresponding first light sources 20 a or the corresponding second light source 20 b and the diffuser 70),
wherein the plurality of diffusing optical devices are arranged exclusively to the first subset of the plurality of light sources, and wherein the plurality of focusing optical devices are arranged exclusively to the second subset of the plurality of light sources ([0112] The collimator lenses 25 are disposed in one-to-one correspondence to the light sources 20. Each collimator lens 25 collimates light emitted from the corresponding first light source 20 a or the corresponding second light source 20 b. The mirrors 80 are each disposed in the optical path between the corresponding first light sources 20 a or the corresponding second light source 20 b and the diffuser 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Ghosh, as modified by Ko, to comprise the individualized collimating and diffusing lenses similar to Ando, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring a fine and rough imaging mode designated for the separate arrays of light sources, further specifying their individual use case.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 30th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments that the amendments made have place the immediate application in the state of allowance, the examiner notes that while the amendments have overcome the previously stated rejection, they fail to be allowable under the newly arranged rejection under the prior art of Ghosh, Ko, and now Ando. The prior art of Ando teaches the newly amended claims not taught by Ghosh and Ko, and it is reasonable to expect one of ordinary skill in the art to find the combination obvious for the reasons stated above.
Further, regarding the newly added claims, the examiner notes the above cited rejection regarding the claimed subject matter. The prior art of record appears to still teach these newly added claim limitations and as such the rejection is maintained in the Non-Final Office Action..
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645