RESPONSE TO APPLICANT’S AMENDMENT
2 Claim 13 is pending.
Claims 13 read on a composition comprising NK cells isolated from peripheral blood and expanded I vitro are under consideration in the instant application.
4. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application 20180015123 , US Patent 11066643 and newly cited Prakash et al ( Blood, 2004, 104, 11, Abstract).
Applicant arguments filed on 08/08/25 have been fully considered but have not been found convincing.
Applicant asserts that : (i) US Patent Application’123 disclosed NK phenotype lacking expression of CD16 ( Fig.2c of USPatent Application ‘123); (ii) US Patent’643 used a method of obtaining NK that is different from the instantly claimed.
With regards to Applicatin statement that US Patent Application’123 disclosed NK phenotype lacking expression of CD16 ( Fig.2c of US Patent Application ‘123).
The Examiner disagrees with Applicant interpretation of the whole teaching of US Patent Application’123.
In particular, US Patent Application’123 explicitly stated that expression of CD13 is a characteristic phenotype of NK cells that is used for identification of said cells ( emphases added, see paragraph 0004 in particular). The data on Fig. 2c compare the phenotypes of fresh and cryopreserved NK cells. US Patent Application’123 explicitly stated the phenotypes and characteristics of these two types of NK cells are essentially the same ( emphases added, see paragraph 0217).
With regards to Applicants statement that US Patent’643 used a method of obtaining NK that is different from the instantly claimed.
It is noted that the instant claims are drawn to the product, i.e. NK cells, and the patentability of the product does not depend on its method of production. In re Thrope,227 USPQ 964,966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113.
Applicant provided no evidence that the instantly claimed and recited NK cells are structurally/functionally different.
Newly cited Prakash et al., teaches NK cells that were isolated from peripheral blood, expanded in vitro , cryopreserved and thawing. Prakash et al., teach teaches that said NK cells are CD16+ NK cells that can be used for various purposes including intravenously infusion ( see entire document).
As has been stated previously, US Patent Application ‘123 teaches NK cells that were isolated from peripheral blood, expanded in vitro , cryopreserved and thawing. US Patent Application ‘123 teaches that said NK cells are CD3-CD56+ NK cells that can be used for various purposes including intravenously infusion ( see entire document, Abstract and 0007, 0015, , 0090, 0108 , 0109 paragraphs).
US Patent ‘643 teaches NK cells that were isolated from peripheral blood, expanded in vitro , cryopreserved and thawing. US Patent ‘643 teaches that said NK cells can be used for various purposes including intravenously infusion ( see entire document, Abstract and claims in particular).
US Patent Application 20180015123 , US Patent’ 643 and Prakash et al., do not explicitly teach reducing blood plasma level of inflammatory cytokines, said functional properties would be an inherent properties of referenced NK cells, because the prior art references and the instant Application recited the same NK cells. It does not appear that the claim language or limitations result in a manipulative difference in the method steps when compared to the prior art disclosure. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Company v. Ben Venue Laboratories 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CAFC 2001). “{i}t is a general rule that merely discovering and claiming a new benefit of an old process cannot render the process again patentable”. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The mechanism of action does not have a bearing on the patentability of the invention if the invention was already known or obvious.
Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). Granting a patent on the discovery of an unknown but inherent function would remove from the public that which is in the public domain by virtue of its inclusion in, or obviousness from, the prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 21 USPQ2d 1281 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See M.P.E.P. 2145.
The reference teaching anticipates the claimed invention.
6. Claim 13 stand rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,066643. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11066643 recited an isolated population of NK cells that was thawed following cryopreservation and expanded in vitro.
It is noted that Applicant requested to hold that provisional double patenting rejection in abeyance until allowable subject matter is identified.
7. No claim is allowed.
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michail Belyavskyi whose telephone number is 571/272-0840. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. A message may be left on the examiner's voice mail service. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Daniel Kolker can be reached on 571/ 272-3181
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644