DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
In light of the amendments to the drawings filed November 26, 2025, the objections to the drawings set forth in the non-final office action mailed August 26, 2025 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (KR 10-2197062 B1) in view of Griffin (US 5323867) and Georgeson (US 9221506 B1).
In regards to claim 1: Su teaches a utility vehicle (10) comprising:
a frame (100) carrying a prime mover (212), the frame comprising a front end and a rear end spaced apart along a longitudinal axis of the utility vehicle, the frame further comprising left and right sides spaced apart along a transverse axis (See annotated Figure 1);
ground engaging members (211, 300, and 400) operatively attached to the frame and carrying the frame above a ground surface,
wherein the ground engaging members comprise two omnidirectional wheels (400) and two conventional wheels (300), wherein the two omnidirectional wheels are positioned opposite one another (See annotated Figure 1) relative to the longitudinal axis and relative to the transverse axis (Front right and left rear omnidirectional wheel or Front left and right rear omnidirectional wheel), wherein a first one of the two omnidirectional wheels is positioned opposite a first one of the two conventional wheels relative to the longitudinal axis (See Figure 1 where each omnidirectional wheel 400 has a conventional wheel 300 longitudinally opposite it), wherein the first one of the two omnidirectional wheels and the first one of the two conventional wheels are positioned at the rear end of the frame (See annotated Figure 1 below),
wherein each omnidirectional wheel of the two omnidirectional wheels comprises a body portion (See annotated Figure 1) and a plurality of rollers (See annotated Figure 1), wherein the body portion is adapted to rotate relative to the frame about a wheel axis (Ax2), and wherein each roller of the plurality of rollers is adapted to rotate relative to the body portion about a roller axis (See annotated Figure 1), wherein the roller axis of each roller is separate from one another;
a lift arm assembly (Paragraph 3 under description of embodiments: “ the mobile device 10 may be equipped with a robot that performs simple tasks according to a user's command”) operatively attached to the frame.
Su does not teach wherein at least one of the two omnidirectional wheels or the two conventional wheels is powered by the prime mover to propel the frame over the ground surface. Su also does not explicitly teach a tool assembly carried on a front end of the lift arm assembly.
However, Griffin teaches a utility vehicle with omnidirectional wheels and conventional wheels that are both powered by a prime mover (22, Paragraph 6 of description: “Each omnidirectional wheel 16 is mounted to an axle 44; likewise, the intermediate wheel 20 has its own axle 48. In the preferred embodiment, the axles 44, 48 are cog driven and torque is transferred to each axle 44, 48 by a chain 30 or by toothed drive belts 32. Input torque is supplied by an electric motor 22 to a gear box 24, which is coupled to the main drive cog 74.”) so as to allow for selectively driving any of the wheels to control pivotal movement (Paragraph 14 of description).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to additionally have the omnidirectional wheels or conventional wheels of Su be driven wheels as in Griffin to allow a user greater control of pivoting and driving motions thereby creating a more maneuverable vehicle with greater versatility for the user.
The combination of Su and Griffin still fails to teach a tool assembly carried on the front of the lift arm assembly. However, Georgeson teaches a robotic arm with a probe mounted to the arm (Claim 11) on a moving platform with omnidirectional wheels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally provide the robotic arm of the vehicle of Su with a tool assembly (probe, examiner notes that a probe is a type of tool) as taught by Georgeson so as to allow the vehicle to scan surface data and collect information (claim 14 of Georgeson) thereby increasing the functionality of the vehicle of Su in view of Griffin and making it more versatile and suitable to a user’s needs.
In regards to claim 3: The utility vehicle of claim 1 is taught by Su in view of Griffon and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein the plurality of rollers comprises a first set of rollers (inner set of rollers on the omnidirectional wheels of Su) and a second set of rollers (outer set of rollers on the omnidirectional wheels of Su), wherein the first set of rollers are positioned such that the roller axes of the first set of rollers are within a first plane and the second set of rollers are positioned such that the roller axes of the second set of rollers are within a second plane that is parallel to and spaced away from the first plane (See annotated portion of Figure 4 below).
In regards to claim 4: The utility vehicle of claim 1 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein an outer surface of each roller of the plurality of rollers defines a circular profile having a center at the wheel axis (Shown in Figure 3 of Su).
In regards to claim 5: The utility vehicle of claim 1 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein each roller of the plurality of rollers defines substantially similar dimensions (See rollers on omni directional wheels in all Figures of Su which all appear to be substantially the same size and shape).
In regards to claim 6: The utility vehicle of claim 1 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein the roller axis for each roller of the plurality of rollers is perpendicular to the wheel axis (See annotated portion of Figure 4 of Su above where the planes containing the roller axes are perpendicular to the wheel axis Ax2 (not labeled in that figure).
In regards to claim 7: Su teaches a utility vehicle (10) comprising:
a frame (100) carrying a prime mover (212), the frame comprising a front end and a rear end spaced apart along a longitudinal axis of the utility vehicle, the frame further comprising left and right sides spaced apart along a transverse axis (See annotated Figure 1);
ground engaging members (211, 300, and 400) operatively attached to the frame and carrying the frame above a ground surface,
wherein the ground engaging members comprise an omnidirectional wheel (either rear omnidirectional wheel 400) and a conventional wheel (either rear conventional wheel 300), both nearest the rear end of the frame on opposite sides of the frame relative to the longitudinal axis (See newly annotated Figure 1 below, examiner notes both rear omnidirectional wheels 400 have a conventional wheel 300 on the opposite side of the frame), wherein the omnidirectional wheel comprises a body portion (See annotated Figure 1) and a plurality of rollers (See newly annotated Figure 1 below), wherein the body portion is adapted to rotate relative to the frame about a wheel axis (Ax2), and wherein each roller of the plurality of rollers is adapted to rotate relative to the body portion about a roller axis (See newly annotated Figure 1 below), wherein the roller axis of each roller is separate from one another;
a lift arm assembly (Paragraph 3 under description of embodiments: “ the mobile device 10 may be equipped with a robot that performs simple tasks according to a user's command”) operatively attached to the frame.
Su does not teach wherein the omnidirectional wheel and the conventional wheel are powered by the prime mover to propel the frame over the ground surface or a tool assembly carried on a front end of the lift arm assembly.
However, Griffin teaches a utility vehicle with omnidirectional wheels and conventional wheels that are both powered by a prime mover (22, Paragraph 6 of description: “Each omnidirectional wheel 16 is mounted to an axle 44; likewise, the intermediate wheel 20 has its own axle 48. In the preferred embodiment, the axles 44, 48 are cog driven and torque is transferred to each axle 44, 48 by a chain 30 or by toothed drive belts 32. Input torque is supplied by an electric motor 22 to a gear box 24, which is coupled to the main drive cog 74.”) so as to allow for selectively driving any of the wheels to control pivotal movement (Paragraph 14 of description).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to additionally have the omnidirectional wheels or conventional wheels of Su be driven wheels as in Griffin to allow a user greater control of pivoting and driving motions thereby creating a more maneuverable vehicle with greater versatility for the user.
The combination of Su and Griffin still fails to teach a tool assembly carried on the front of the lift arm assembly. However, Georgeson teaches a robotic arm with a probe mounted to the arm (Claim 11) on a moving platform with omnidirectional wheels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally provide the robotic arm of the vehicle of Su with a tool assembly (probe, examiner notes that a probe is a type of tool) as taught by Georgeson so as to allow the vehicle to scan surface data and collect information (claim 14 of Georgeson) thereby increasing the functionality of the vehicle of Su and making it more versatile and suitable to a user’s needs.
In regards to claim 8: The utility vehicle of claim 7 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein the omnidirectional wheel is on the left side of the frame (see annotated Figure 1 directly above of Su where one rear omnidirectional wheel is on the left with a conventional wheel on the rear right).
In regards to claim 9: The utility vehicle of claim 7 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein the omnidirectional wheel is on the right side of the frame (see annotated Figure 1 directly above of Su where one rear omnidirectional wheel is on the right with a conventional wheel on the rear left).
In regards to claim 10: The utility vehicle of claim 7 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein the ground engaging members further comprise an additional omnidirectional wheel (either right or left front omnidirectional wheel shown in Figure 1 of Su) positioned near the front end of the frame and on an opposite side of the frame from the omnidirectional wheel (right front wheel if the rear wheel is on the left and left front wheel if the rear wheel is on the right).
In regards to claim 11: The utility vehicle of claim 7 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein the plurality of rollers comprises a first set of rollers (inner set of rollers on the omnidirectional wheels of Su) and a second set of rollers (outer set of rollers on the omnidirectional wheels of Su), wherein the first set of rollers are positioned such that the roller axes of the first set of rollers are within a first plane and the second set of rollers are positioned such that the roller axes of the second set of rollers are within a second plane that is parallel to and spaced away from the first plane (See annotated portion of Figure 4 above in regards to claim 3).
In regards to claim 12: The utility vehicle of claim 7 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein an outer surface of each roller of the plurality of rollers defines a circular profile having a center at the wheel axis (Shown in Figure 3 of Su).
In regards to claim 13: The utility vehicle of claim 7 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein each roller of the plurality of rollers defines substantially similar dimensions (See rollers on omni directional wheels in all Figures of Su which all appear to be substantially the same size and shape).
In regards to claim 14: The utility vehicle of claim 7 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein the roller axis for each roller of the plurality of rollers is perpendicular to the wheel axis (See annotated portion of Figure 4 of Su above where the planes containing the roller axes are perpendicular to the wheel axis Ax2 (not labeled in that figure).
In regards to claim 15: Su teaches a utility vehicle (10) comprising:
a frame (100) carrying a prime mover (212), the frame comprising a front end and a rear end spaced apart along a longitudinal axis of the utility vehicle, the frame further comprising left and right sides spaced apart along a transverse axis (See annotated Figure 1);
ground engaging members (211, 300, and 400) operatively attached to the frame and carrying the frame above a ground surface,
wherein the ground engaging members comprise an omnidirectional wheel (either front omnidirectional wheel 400) and a conventional wheel (either front conventional wheel 300), both nearest the front end of the frame on opposite sides of the frame relative to the longitudinal axis (See newly annotated Figure 1 below, examiner notes both front omnidirectional wheels 400 have a conventional wheel 300 on the opposite side of the frame), wherein the omnidirectional wheel comprises a body portion (See annotated Figure 1) and a plurality of rollers (See newly annotated Figure 1 below), wherein the body portion is adapted to rotate relative to the frame about a wheel axis (Ax2), and wherein each roller of the plurality of rollers is adapted to rotate relative to the body portion about a roller axis (See newly annotated Figure 1 below), wherein the roller axis of each roller is separate from one another;
a lift arm assembly (Paragraph 3 under description of embodiments: “ the mobile device 10 may be equipped with a robot that performs simple tasks according to a user's command”) operatively attached to the frame.
Su does not teach wherein the omnidirectional wheel and the conventional wheel are powered by the prime mover to propel the frame over the ground surface or a tool assembly carried on a front end of the lift arm assembly.
However, Griffin teaches a utility vehicle with omnidirectional wheels and conventional wheels that are both powered by a prime mover (22, Paragraph 6 of description: “Each omnidirectional wheel 16 is mounted to an axle 44; likewise, the intermediate wheel 20 has its own axle 48. In the preferred embodiment, the axles 44, 48 are cog driven and torque is transferred to each axle 44, 48 by a chain 30 or by toothed drive belts 32. Input torque is supplied by an electric motor 22 to a gear box 24, which is coupled to the main drive cog 74.”) so as to allow for selectively driving any of the wheels to control pivotal movement (Paragraph 14 of description).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to additionally have the omnidirectional wheels or conventional wheels of Su be driven wheels as in Griffin to allow a user greater control of pivoting and driving motions thereby creating a more maneuverable vehicle with greater versatility for the user.
The combination of Su and Griffin still fails to teach a tool assembly carried on the front of the lift arm assembly. However, Georgeson teaches a robotic arm with a probe mounted to the arm (Claim 11) on a moving platform with omnidirectional wheels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally provide the robotic arm of the vehicle of Su with a tool assembly (probe, examiner notes that a probe is a type of tool) as taught by Georgeson so as to allow the vehicle to scan surface data and collect information (claim 14 of Georgeson) thereby increasing the functionality of the vehicle of Su and making it more versatile and suitable to a user’s needs.
In regards to claim 16: The utility vehicle of claim 15 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein the ground engaging members further comprise an additional omnidirectional wheel (either right or left rear omnidirectional wheels of Su) positioned nearest the rear end of the frame and on an opposite side of the frame from the omnidirectional wheel (Su: right rear omnidirectional wheel if the front omnidirectional wheel relied upon is the left one and the left rear omnidirectional wheel if the front omnidirectional wheel relied upon is the right one).
In regards to claim 17: The utility vehicle of claim 15 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein the plurality of rollers comprises a first set of rollers (inner set of rollers on the omnidirectional wheels of Su) and a second set of rollers (outer set of rollers on the omnidirectional wheels of Su), wherein the first set of rollers are positioned such that the roller axes of the first set of rollers are within a first plane and the second set of rollers are positioned such that the roller axes of the second set of rollers are within a second plane that is parallel to and spaced away from the first plane (See annotated portion of Figure 4 above in regards to claim 3).
In regards to claim 18: The utility vehicle of claim 15 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein an outer surface of each roller of the plurality of rollers defines a circular profile having a center at the wheel axis (Shown in Figure 3 of Su).
In regards to claim 19: The utility vehicle of claim 15 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein each roller of the plurality of rollers defines substantially similar dimensions (See rollers on omni directional wheels in all Figures of Su which all appear to be substantially the same size and shape).
In regards to claim 20: The utility vehicle of claim 15 is taught by Su in view of Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein the roller axis for each roller of the plurality of rollers is perpendicular to the wheel axis (See annotated portion of Figure 4 of Su above where the planes containing the roller axes are perpendicular to the wheel axis Ax2 (not labeled in that figure).
In regards to claim 21: The utility vehicle of claim 1 is taught by Su in view of Griffin and Georgeson. The combination further teaches wherein each of the two omnidirectional wheels is powered by the prime mover to propel the frame over the ground surface (Paragraph 6 of description of Griffin: “Each omnidirectional wheel 16 is mounted to an axle 44; likewise, the intermediate wheel 20 has its own axle 48. In the preferred embodiment, the axles 44, 48 are cog driven and torque is transferred to each axle 44, 48 by a chain 30 or by toothed drive belts 32. Input torque is supplied by an electric motor 22 to a gear box 24, which is coupled to the main drive cog 74.”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 6, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 14 Paragraph one of applicant’s remarks states “Thus, the Su Translation fails to teach or suggest a first one of two omnidirectional wheels positioned opposite a first one of two conventional wheels relative to a longitudinal axis, as set forth in claim 1”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in first annotated Figure 1 of Su, the first omnidirectional wheel is on the opposite side of the longitudinal axis as the first conventional wheel. Merriam-Webster dictionary defines opposite as “set over against something that is at the other end or side of an intervening line or space”. In this case, the first omnidirectional wheel and first conventional wheel are on the other side from each other of the longitudinal axis (see newly annotated Figure 1 above in regards to claim 1).
On pages 15 (claim 1), 16 (claim 7), and 17 (claim 15) of the remarks, applicant argues that the combination of Su in view of Georgeson fails to teach wherein at least one of the two omnidirectional wheels or the two conventional wheels or both an omnidirectional wheel and conventional wheel is powered by the prime mover to propel the frame over the ground surface as recited in newly amended claim 1 as well as independent claims 7 and 15. Examiner agrees that the previously relied upon combination of Su in view of Georgeson fails to teach this limitation in the claims. However, examiner points to the new rejection above of Su in view of Georgeson and Griffin, necessitated by the amendments to the claims, wherein Griffin is relied upon for the teaching of the prime mover powering the omnidirectional and conventional wheels.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611