DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-16 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US20190067668) in view of Byun (US20130143080).
Regarding Claim 1, Jang discloses a secondary battery ([002]):
A case having an opening at one side thereof (case-180 with cap assembly that covers opening, Fig. 1-3, [0031]);
An electrode assembly accommodated in the case ([0032]), the electrode assembly comprising:
A first electrode plate ([0032]) having a first substrate tab on one side of the electrode assembly in the longitudinal direction of the case (first electrode tab-111, [0036]);
A second electrode plate ([0032]) having a second substrate tab on one side of the electrode assembly in the longitudinal direction of the case (second electrode tab-112, [0036]);
A separator between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate ([0035]); and
A cap assembly ([0047]) comprising:
A cap plate coupled to the case at the opening therein (cap plate-151, Fig. 1, [0047]);
A first current collecting unit comprising a first current collector parallel to the upper end of the electrode assembly in the longitudinal direction and electrically connected to the first electrode substrate tab (flange-122a acts as first current collector is electrically connected to the first electrode tab-111, [0047]);
A second current collecting unit comprising a first current collector parallel to the upper end of the electrode assembly in the longitudinal direction and electrically connected to the second electrode substrate tab (flange-122a acts as second current collector is electrically connected to the second electrode tab-112, [0054]);
A first terminal part electrically connected to the first current collecting unit (first terminal assembly-120 connected to first electrode tab-111, [0038]);
A second terminal part electrically connected to the second currenting unit first terminal assembly-130 connected to first electrode tab-112, [0038]); and
A plurality of insulating members coupled to at least one of the cap plates, the first current collector, the second current collector, the first terminal part and the second terminal part (gasket-152 formed of insulating material, [0063]).
Wherein the first current collecting unit further comprises:
A connection plate electrically connected and coupled to the first current collector and having a first end bent in the direction of the first substrate tab (first region-121a acts as connection plate, Fig. 1); and
A sub-plate electrically connected to the connection plate and the first substrate tab (first second region-121d acts as sub-plate, [0042]).
Jang discloses wherein the first current collector has a seating groove in an upper surface thereof facing toward the cap plate and an opening, and wherein a second end of the connection plate is seated in the seating groove of the first current collector (fastening groove- 151c acts as seating groove, [0066]).
Jang does not directly disclose wherein the first current collector has an opening, and the first terminal part extends into the opening the first current collector.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims in view of the specifications, “an opening” can be interpreted to mean a through hole that the terminal extends through or is placed into.
Byun discloses a first current collector has an opening, and a terminal part extends into the opening (first current collector member-50 includes a fuse unit including coupling groove-521, where the first terminal unit-31 extends through, Fig. 3). Byun teaches that this structure provides improved durability of the battery ([0012]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Jang with the teachings of Byun to have wherein the first current collector has an opening, and the first terminal part extends into the opening the first current collector. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved durability of the battery.
Regarding Claim 2, Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses wherein the second current collecting unit further comprises:
A connection plate electrically connected to the second current collector and having one end bent in the direction of the second substrate tab (first region-121a acts as connection plate, Fig. 1); and
A sub-plate electrically connected to the connection plate and the second substrate tab (second region-121d acts as sub-plate, [0055]).
Regarding Claim 3, Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses wherein the sub-plate of the first current collecting unit comprises a first connection part electrically connected to the connection plate and a second connection part electrically connected to the first substrate tab (second region -121c acting as sub-plate has a first connection part that is electrically connected to the first region-121a which acts as the first connection part, and a second connection part that that electrically connects to the first electrode tab-111, [0040], Fig. 3), and
wherein the sub-plate of the second current collecting unit comprises a first connection part electrically connected to the connection plate and a second connection part electrically connected to the second substrate tab (second region-131c acting as sub-plate has a first connection part that is electrically connected to the first region-131a which acts as the first connection part, and a second connection part that that electrically connects to the second electrode tab-112, [0040], Fig. 3, [0040]).
Regarding Claim 4, Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses wherein the first end of the connection plate and the first connection part of the sub-plate are welded to each other (welding is performed along the edge of the rivet-122b, [0053], welding is performed on the sub-tabs to the terminals, [0056], [0083], and therefore it is the examiner’s position that the one of the of the connection plate and the first connecting part of the sub-plate are welded to each other).
Regarding Claim 5, Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang does not directly disclose wherein the welded portion of the connection plate and the sub-plate is closer to the bottom surface of the case than to the top of the electrode assembly.
The examiner notes that the connection plate and sub-plate portion are located at the closer to the bottom of the case-170 (Fig. 5), the top of the electrode assembly (the top of the electrode assembly is interpreted to be the side of the electrode assembly that the electrode tab-312 extends out of, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Jang to have wherein the welded portion of the connection plate and the sub-plate is closer to the bottom surface of the case than to the top of the electrode assembly.
Regarding Claim 10 & 17, Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang does not directly disclose wherein the thickness of the first current collector or the second current collector is greater than the thickness of the connection plate and the subplate.
Jang discloses in Fig. 2, that the flange-122a and flange 132a is much thicker than the current collecting pieces of 121a and 121c.
The examiner notes that the structure of the instant first current collector unit is designed to provide a current collecting structure that prevents a reduction in capacity. Jang teaches that the current collecting unit disclosed ensures a larger capacity ([005]). Therefore, since the structure of Jang forms the same function as the structure of the instant, it is the examiner’s position that the rationale for modifying the thickness of the current collectors and connection plate and subplate can be applied to Jang.
The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992); see also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (setting forth test for implicit teachings); In re Eli Lilly & Co., 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussion of reliance on legal precedent); In re Nilssen, 851 F.2d 1401, 1403, 7 USPQ2d 1500, 1502 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (references do not have to explicitly suggest combining teachings); Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985) (examiner must present convincing line of reasoning supporting rejection); and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (reliance on logic and sound scientific reasoning).
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Jang to have wherein the thickness of the first current collector or the second current collector is greater than the thickness of the connection plate and the subplate.
Regarding Claim 11, Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang does not directly disclose wherein the thickness of the first current collector or the second current collector is four to five times that of the connection plate and the sub-plate.
The examiner notes that the structure of the instant first current collector unit is designed to provide a current collecting structure that prevents a reduction in capacity. Jang teaches that the current collecting unit disclosed ensures a larger capacity ([005]). Therefore, since the structure of Jang forms the same function as the structure of the instant, it is the examiner’s position that the rationale for modifying the thickness of the first current collector or the second current collector is greater than the thickness of the connection plate and the subplate can be applied to Jang.
The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992); see also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (setting forth test for implicit teachings); In re Eli Lilly & Co., 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussion of reliance on legal precedent); In re Nilssen, 851 F.2d 1401, 1403, 7 USPQ2d 1500, 1502 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (references do not have to explicitly suggest combining teachings); Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985) (examiner must present convincing line of reasoning supporting rejection); and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (reliance on logic and sound scientific reasoning).
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Jang to have wherein the thickness of the first current collector or the second current collector is four to five times that of the connection plate and the sub-plate.
Regarding Claim 12, Jang discloses a secondary battery ([002]) comprising:
An electrode assembly (electrode assemblyes-110A, [0032]);
A case accommodating the electrode assembly (case-180, [0044]); and
A cap assembly coupled to the case (cape assembly-150, [0031]), electrically connected to the electrode assembly ([0040]), and having a first current collector and a second current collector parallel to the upper end of the electrode assembly (flange-122a of first and second current collecting terminal act as first current collector and second current collector, [0047]),
Jang further discloses a first terminal part electrically connected to the first current collecting unit (first terminal assembly-120 connected to first electrode tab-111, [0038] and a second terminal part electrically connected to the second currenting unit first terminal assembly-130 connected to first electrode tab-112, [0038]);
A first current collecting unit comprising a sub-plate electrically connected to a first substrate tab on a first electrode plate of the electrode assembly and a connection plate electrically connected to the first current collector and the corresponding sub-plate (second region -121c acting as sub-plate has a first connection part that is electrically connected to the first region-121a which acts as the first connection part, and a second connection part that that electrically connects to the first electrode tab-111, [0040], Fig. 3);
A second current collecting unit comparing a sub-plate electrically connected to a second substrate tab on a second electrode plate of the electrode assembly and a connection plate electrically connected to the second current collector and the corresponding sub-plate (second region-131c acting as sub-plate has a first connection part that is electrically connected to the first region-131a which acts as the first connection part, and a second connection part that that electrically connects to the second electrode tab-112, [0040], Fig. 3, [0040]).
Jang discloses wherein the first current collector has a seating groove in an upper surface thereof facing toward the cap plate and an opening, and wherein a second end of the connection plate is seated in the seating groove of the first current collector (fastening groove- 151c acts as seating groove, [0066]).
Jang does not directly disclose wherein the first current collector has an opening, and the first terminal part extends into the opening the first current collector.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims in view of the specifications, “an opening” can be interpreted to mean a through hole that the terminal extends through or is placed into.
Byun discloses a first current collector has an opening, and a terminal part extends into the opening (first current collector member-50 includes a fuse unit including coupling groove-521, where the first terminal unit-31 extends through, Fig. 3). Byun teaches that this structure provides improved durability of the battery ([0012]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Jang with the teachings of Byun to have wherein the first current collector has an opening, and the first terminal part extends into the opening the first current collector. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved durability of the battery.
Jang does not directly disclose wherein the first current collector has an opening, and the first terminal part extends into the opening the first current collector.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims in view of the specifications, “an opening” can be interpreted to mean a through hole that the terminal extends through or is placed into.
Byun discloses a first current collector has an opening, and a terminal part extends into the opening (first current collector member-50 includes a fuse unit including coupling groove-521, where the first terminal unit-31 extends through, Fig. 3). Byun teaches that this structure provides improved durability of the battery ([0012]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Jang with the teachings of Byun to have wherein the first current collector has an opening, and the first terminal part extends into the opening the first current collector. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved durability of the battery.
Regarding Claim 13, Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. A cap assembly ([0047]) comprising:
A cap plate coupled to the case at the opening therein (cap plate-151, Fig. 1, [0047]);
A first current collecting unit comprising a first current collector parallel to the upper end of the electrode assembly in the longitudinal direction and electrically connected to the first electrode substrate tab (flange-122a acts as first current collector is electrically connected to the first electrode tab-111, [0047]);
A second current collecting unit comprising a first current collector parallel to the upper end of the electrode assembly in the longitudinal direction and electrically connected to the second electrode substrate tab (flange-122a acts as second current collector is electrically connected to the second electrode tab-112, [0054]);
A first terminal part electrically connected to the first current collecting unit (first terminal assembly-120 connected to first electrode tab-111, [0038]);
A second terminal part electrically connected to the second currenting unit first terminal assembly-130 connected to first electrode tab-112, [0038]); and
An insulating member comprising insulting material and arranged between the cap plate and the first current collector, between the first current collector and the electrode assembly, between the second current collector and the electrode assembly and between the first terminal pin and the second terminal pin and the cap plate (gasket-152 formed of insulating material, [0063], side insulation members-160, [0031], and insulation tape-170, [0031]).
Regarding Claim 14, Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses wherein the connection plate has one end disposed parallel to the first current collector and another end toward the electrode assembly (first region-121a has two portions where the horizontal portion is disposed parallel to the first current collector and the other portion is bent toward the electrode assembly, Fig. 3), and wherein the sub-plate is welded to an end of the bent portion (welding is performed along the edge of the rivet-122b, [0053], welding is performed on the sub-tabs to the terminals, [0056], [0083], and therefore it is the examiner’s position that the sub-plate is welded to an end of the bent portion).
Regarding Claim 15, Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses wherein the sub-plate of the first current collecting unit comprises a first connection part electrically connected to the connection plate and a second connection part electrically connected to the first substrate tab (second region -121c acting as sub-plate has a first connection part that is electrically connected to the first region-121a which acts as the first connection part, and a second connection part that that electrically connects to the first electrode tab-111, [0040], Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 16, Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses wherein the second connection part is on the same plane as the connection plate or closer to the electrode assembly than to the connection plate (Fig. 3/Fig. 4 shows first region-121a acting as connection part is on same plane as where second region-121c forms the connection plate, Fig. 3/4 shows second connection part is closer to electrode assembly-113, that plate surface of first region-121a).
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US20190067668) in view of Byun (US20130143080) further in view of Lee (US20110287309).
Regarding Claim 6, Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang discloses wherein the subplate can have bending grooves (second region can have bending grooves, [0097]). Jang does not directly disclose wherein the second connection part of the sub-plate is bent toward the electrode assembly from the first connection part, and wherein the bent portion is closer to the bottom surface of the case than to the top end of the electrode assembly.
Lee discloses a current collecting unit for a battery that includes a connection plate and a sub-plate (current collector piece-130 acts as subplate, first plate/second plate-141/142 act as connection plate, [0059], Fig. 1). Lee further discloses wherein the subplate has a bent section that is bent toward the electrode assembly, wherein the bent portion is closer to the bottom surface of the case than to the top of the electrode assembly (current collector piece has bent inward section, Fig. 1, [0049]). Lee teaches that this structure provides improved welding efficiency and reliability ([006]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Jang with the teachings of Lee to have wherein the second connection part of the sub-plate is bent toward the electrode assembly from the first connection part, and wherein the bent portion is closer to the bottom surface of the case than to the top end of the electrode assembly. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved welding efficiency and reliability.
Regarding Claim 7, Jang in view of Byun further in view of Lee discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses wherein the connection part facing the electrode assembly is on the same plane as a plate surface of the connection plate facing the electrode assembly (Fig. 3/Fig. 4 shows first region-121a acting as connection part is on same plane as where second region-121c forms the connection plate).
Regarding Claim 8, Jang in view of Byun further in view of Lee discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses wherein a plate surface of the second connection part facing the electrode assembly is closer to the electrode assembly than to a plate surface of the connection plate facing the electrode assembly (Fig. 3/4 shows second connection part is closer to electrode assembly-113, that plate surface of first region-121a).
Regarding Claim 9, Jang in view of Byun further in view of Lee discloses the limitations as set forth above. Jang does not directly disclose wherein the second connection part has a welding groove concavely formed on the plate surface facing the case.
Lee discloses wherein the current collector pieces can be welded via a groove ([0013]). Lee further discloses wherein the current collector pieces are welded to the electrode assembly on a side surface of the uncoated portions on a surface parallel to the major surface of the case in the xy-plane ([0048], [0049]), thereby forming a weld groove on the plate surface facing the case.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jang with the teachings of Lee to have wherein the second connection part has a welding groove concavely formed on the plate surface facing the case. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved welding efficiency and reliability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 5th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Jang in view of Byun is not proper because there is no reason why one skilled in the art would make such a modification. Jang does not directly disclose wherein the first current collector has an opening, and the first terminal part extends into the opening the first current collector.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims in view of the specifications, “an opening” can be interpreted to mean a through hole that the terminal extends through or is placed into. Byun discloses a first current collector has an opening, and a terminal part extends into the opening (first current collector member-50 includes a fuse unit including coupling groove-521, where the first terminal unit-31 extends through, Fig. 3). Byun teaches that this structure provides improved durability of the battery ([0012]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Jang with the teachings of Byun to have wherein the first current collector has an opening, and the first terminal part extends into the opening the first current collector. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved durability of the battery.
The examiner notes that the modification of Byun leads to the expected benefit of improved durabilty of the battery which is a benefit that can be enjoyed by Jang's battery structure.
Therefore Jang in view of Byun discloses the limitations as set forth above. Furthermore, Applicant amends claim 1 and 12 to claim "the first terminal part and the second terminal part, wherein the first current collector has a seatinq groove in an upper surface thereof facinq toward the cap plate and an opening, and wherein a second end of the connection plate is seated in the seatinq groove of the first current collector." Jang discloses wherein the first current collector has a seatinq groove in an upper surface thereof facinq toward the cap plate and an opening, and wherein a second end of the connection plate is seated in the seatinq groove of the first current collector (fastening groove- 151c acts as seating groove, [0066]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jang with the teachings of Byun to meet the claim 1 & 12 limitations.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728