DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed February 13, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1 and 20 have been amended; support for the amendments can be found in at least paragraph [0066] in the Instant Specification, Figures 3-7, and the previous claim 21. Claim 21 has been cancelled. Claims 1-11 and 13-20 remain pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed February 13, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues that Kawaguchi does not teach the rotors have “a different electric potential with respect to each other.”
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but are considered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below in view of Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims 1 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2019/0198853 A1), hereinafter referred to as Nishio, in view of Nobuaki (JP 02020684, cited in Applicant’s IDS) and Kawaguchi et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2012/0313650 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kawaguchi, and further in view of Tanaka (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20200295353 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nishio teaches a secondary-battery electrode manufacturing apparatus that allows a secondary-battery electrode including a neat linear cut portion to be stably manufactured at a high speed is provided (“a cutting device for cutting an electrode foil for a secondary battery cell”) (see e.g., Abstract). Nishio teaches an electrode precursor 20 is cut by a laser beam α output from the laser system 30 (“a cutter configured for cutting an electrode foil”) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]).
Nishio does not explicitly teach a vacuum configured to intake gas, an electrostatic field generator comprising a voltage source, a first electrode configured for electrically connecting an electrode foil, and a second electrode arranged at a distance from the electrode foil at an inlet opening of the vacuum when the electrode foil is in a position to be cut by the cutter.
However, Nobuaki teaches a laser scriber (see e.g., Abstract). Nobuaki teaches a suction mechanism 5 configured for inhaling gas (“a vacuum configured to intake gas”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1). Nobuaki teaches an electrode applying a high voltage to the workpiece 9 (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1). Nobuaki teaches a high voltage source (“an electrostatic field generator comprising a voltage source”) and a wiring for applying a high voltage between the suction chamber tip 7 and the electrode 10 (“a second electrode arranged at a distance from the electrode foil at an inlet opening of the vacuum when the electrode foil is in position to be cut by the cutter”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1). Nobuaki teaches the trapping rate of the scattered material 24 from the target workpiece 9 (“electrode foil”) when cutting increases as the tip 6 of the suction chamber is charged by the high voltage source 12 via the electrode 10 (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the secondary-battery electrode manufacturing apparatus comprising cutting an electrode precursor with a laser beam of Nishio include a suction mechanism, a high voltage source, and electrode placed at a distance from the target workpiece near an inlet of suction mechanism, as taught by Nobuaki, in order to increase the trapping rate of scattered material produced by cutting the target workpiece as the tip of the suction chamber becomes charged by the high voltage source 12 via the electrode 10 (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1).
Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, does not explicitly teach a first electrode configured for electrically connecting an electrode foil and wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are offset from each other in a direction in which the electrode foil is configured to move.
However, Kawaguchi teaches an inspection device to detect defects (such as scratches and cracks) and foreign bodies of a battery sheet to be inspected (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Kawaguchi teaches a roller 1, which moves and transfers the battery sheet 4 (see e.g., paragraph [0151]). Kawaguchi teaches the roller 1 and the battery sheet 4 are in contact with each other so that they are at the same potential, and they and the electrodes 5 (“a first electrode configured for electrically connecting an electrode foil” and a second electrode) provided at certain intervals on a plurality of rotors 50a, 50b rotating in a direction opposite to the moving direction of the battery sheet 4, which are disposed parallel to and away by certain distances from the battery sheet 4, together form parallel plate capacitors (see e.g., paragraph [0151]). Kawaguchi teaches the electrodes 5 (“wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are both arranged above a same surface of the electrode foil and are offset from each other in a direction in which the electrode foil is configured to move”) are equipped with a plurality of electrode control units 51a, 51b which adjust spacings between the electrodes and control the rotation speeds of the plurality of the rotors (see e.g., Figure 15 and paragraph [0152]). Kawaguchi teaches the placement of the electrodes allows for the detection of defects with high sensitivity without destroying the inspection object while application of high voltage is avoided (see e.g., paragraph [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the cutting an electrode precursor with a laser beam with a suction mechanism, a high voltage source, and an electrode of Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, to include another electrode electrically connected to the battery sheet and offset from the other electrode in which the battery sheet is configured to move, as taught by Kawaguchi, in order to allow for the detection of defects with high sensitivity without destroying the inspection object while application of high voltage is avoided (see e.g., paragraph [0156]).
Nishio, as modified by Nobauki and Kawaguchi, does not explicitly teach the first electrode and the second electrode has a different electric potential with respect to each other.
However, Tanaka teaches an electrode sheet manufacturing method (see e.g., Abstract). Tanaka teaches the method includes a backup roll rotating and in contact with a surface of a current collector foil and a supply roll arranged with a gap between the formation surface of the foil and the supply roll (see e.g., paragraph [0008]). Tanaka teaches there is a potential difference is produced between the backup roll and the supply roll (see e.g., paragraph [0008]) in order to generate an electrostatic force to move the material to the preferred location (see e.g., paragraph [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the electrodes provided on a plurality of rotors of Nishio, as modified by Nobauki and Kawaguchi, to have a potential difference between the two, as taught by Tanaka, in order to generate an electrostatic force between the two electrodes to move the material to a preferred location (see e.g., paragraph [0046]), such as the inlet of the vacuum instead of the surface of the foil.
Regarding claim 2, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, does explicitly teach wherein the second electrode is a grid.
However, Kawaguchi teaches an embodiment wherein the entire surface of the battery sheet 4 is inspected by a plurality of electrodes 5a-5f with respect to a direction in a plane parallel to the surface of the battery sheet 4 and perpendicular to the moving direction of the battery sheet 4 may be arranged (see e.g., paragraph [0091]). Kawaguchi teaches the plurality of electrodes 5a-5f arranged in a lattice pattern (“wherein the second electrode is a grid”) (see e.g., Figure 5c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify electrode B of Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, to be a plurality of electrodes arranged in a lattice pattern, as taught by Kawaguchi, in order to inspect the entire surface of the battery sheet (see e.g., paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 3, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 2, as previously described.
The plurality of electrode 5a-5f of Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, are arranged in a lattice pattern (“wherein the second electrode is a planar grid”) (see e.g., Kawaguchi Figure 5c).
Regarding claim 4, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 1, Nobauki teaches a high voltage source and a wiring for applying a high voltage between the suction chamber tip 7 and the electrode 10, wherein the electrode 10 is placed between the suction chamber tip 7 and the target workpiece (“wherein the second electrode is between the inlet opening of the vacuum and the electrode foil when the electrode foil is in the position to be cut”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 1, Nobauki teaches a high voltage source and a wiring for applying a high voltage between the suction chamber tip 7 and the electrode 10, wherein the electrode 10 is placed between the suction chamber tip 7 at the opening of the suction mechanism and the target workpiece (“wherein the second electrode is in the inlet opening of the vacuum”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 1, Nobauki teaches a high voltage source and a wiring for applying a high voltage between the suction chamber tip 7 and the electrode 10, wherein the electrode 10 is placed between the suction chamber tip 7 and the target workpiece (“wherein the second electrode is within the vacuum at a distance from the inlet opening of the vacuum”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Nishio teaches an electrode precursor 20 is cut by a laser beam α output from the laser system 30 (“wherein the cutter is a laser configured to generate a laser beam for cutting the electrode foil”) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 9, as previously described.
Nishio teaches a range of oscillation wavelength for the laser beam is 900 nm to 1200 nm (“wherein the laser is an infrared laser”) (see e.g., paragraph [0029]). Nishio teaches an output of the continuous wave laser is 500 W to 5000 W (“wherein the infrared laser has an output capacity in a range of 80 W to 1.5 W”) (see e.g., paragraph [0037]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the output of the laser of 500 W to 5000 W overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 11, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 10, as previously described.
Nishio teaches an output of the continuous wave laser is 500 W to 5000 W (“wherein the infrared laser has an output capacity in a range of 300 W to 1.0 W”) (see e.g., paragraph [0037]).
It has been held in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” and because the output of the laser of 500 W to 5000 W overlaps with the recited range, a “prima facie” case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05(l)).
Regarding claim 13, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 1, Nobauki teaches a high voltage source (“wherein the voltage source is a high voltage generator”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 13, as previously described.
Nobauki teaches the high voltage source with its terminals in Figure 1 and the wiring for applying a high voltage between the suction chamber tip 7 and the electrode 10 (“wherein the voltage source comprises a first terminal and a second terminal and wherein an electric polarity of the first and second terminals is reversible”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Nishio teaches the electrode precursor is brought through the laser beam through rollers (“holder holding at least an area of the electrode foil”) (see e.g., Figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Nobauki teaches the suction mechanism also comprises gas is pressurized by a pressurizing source and is blown (“wherein the vacuum comprises a fan or a pump”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Nobauki teaches the suction mechanism comprises a pressurized gas generator 21 that enters into the suction chamber (“wherein the vacuum comprises a connection port configured for establishing a connection with gas transporter”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Kawaguchi teaches the battery sheet produced are utilized in secondary batteries (see e.g., paragraph [0008]) and can be applied to electric cars (“wherein the secondary battery cell is configured to be used in a battery for an electric vehicle or a hybrid vehicle”) (see e.g., paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 19, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi and Tanaka, the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Kawaguchi teaches the battery sheet produced are utilized in secondary batteries (see e.g., paragraph [0008]) (“wherein the secondary battery cell is configured to be used in a mobile device”) (see e.g., paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 20, Nishio teaches a secondary-battery electrode manufacturing method that allows a secondary-battery electrode including a neat linear cut portion to be stably manufactured at a high speed is provided (“a method for cutting an electrode foil for a secondary battery cell”) (see e.g., Abstract). Nishio teaches the electrode precursor is brought through the laser beam through rollers (“holding an electrode foil in a position”) (see e.g., Figure 2). Nishio teaches an electrode precursor 20 is cut by a laser beam α output from the laser system 30 (“cutting the electrode foil at the intended cutting site”) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]).
Nishio does not explicitly teach a vacuum configured to intake gas, an electrostatic field generator comprising a voltage source, a first electrode configured for electrically connecting an electrode foil, and a second electrode arranged at a distance from the electrode foil at an inlet opening of the vacuum when the electrode foil is in a position to be cut by the cutter.
However, Nobuaki teaches a laser scriber (see e.g., Abstract). Nobuaki teaches a suction mechanism 5 configured for inhaling gas (“applying, by a vacuum, an under pressure at one side of the electrode foil around an intended cutting site on the electrode foil”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1). Nobuaki teaches an electrode applying a high voltage to the workpiece 9 (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1). Nobuaki teaches a high voltage source and a wiring for applying a high voltage (“an electrostatic field generator”) between the suction chamber tip 7 and the electrode 10 (“generating, by the electrode field generator, an electrostatic field between the electrode foil and a second electrode of the electrostatic field generator”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1). Nobuaki teaches the trapping rate of the scattered material 24 from the target workpiece 9 (“electrode foil”) when cutting increases as the tip 6 of the suction chamber is charged by the high voltage source 12 via the electrode 10 (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the secondary-battery electrode manufacturing apparatus comprising cutting an electrode precursor with a laser beam of Nishio include a suction mechanism, a high voltage source, and electrode placed at a distance from the target workpiece near an inlet of suction mechanism, as taught by Nobuaki, in order to increase the trapping rate of scattered material produced by cutting the target workpiece as the tip of the suction chamber becomes charged by the high voltage source 12 via the electrode 10 (see e.g., paragraph [0001] and Figure 1).
Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, does not explicitly teach a first electrode configured for electrically connecting an electrode foil and wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are offset from each other in a direction in which the electrode foil is configured to move.
However, Kawaguchi teaches an inspection device to detect defects (such as scratches and cracks) and foreign bodies of a battery sheet to be inspected (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Kawaguchi teaches a roller 1, which moves and transfers the battery sheet 4 (see e.g., paragraph [0151]). Kawaguchi teaches the roller 1 and the battery sheet 4 are in contact with each other so that they are at the same potential, and they and the electrodes 5 (“a first electrode configured for electrically connecting an electrode foil” and a second electrode) provided at certain intervals on a plurality of rotors 50a, 50b rotating in a direction opposite to the moving direction of the battery sheet 4, which are disposed parallel to and away by certain distances from the battery sheet 4, together form parallel plate capacitors (see e.g., paragraph [0151]). Kawaguchi teaches the electrodes 5 (“wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are both being arranged above a same surface of the electrode foil and offset from each other in a direction in which the electrode foil is configured to move”) are equipped with a plurality of electrode control units 51a, 51b which adjust spacings between the electrodes and control the rotation speeds of the plurality of the rotors (see e.g., Figure 15 and paragraph [0152]). Kawaguchi teaches the placement of the electrodes allows for the detection of defects with high sensitivity without destroying the inspection object while application of high voltage is avoided (see e.g., paragraph [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the cutting an electrode precursor with a laser beam with a suction mechanism, a high voltage source, and an electrode of Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, to include another electrode electrically connected to the battery sheet and offset from the other electrode in which the battery sheet is configured to move, as taught by Kawaguchi, in order to allow for the detection of defects with high sensitivity without destroying the inspection object while application of high voltage is avoided (see e.g., paragraph [0156]).
Nishio, as modified by Nobauki and Kawaguchi, does not explicitly teach the first electrode and the second electrode has a different electric potential with respect to each other.
However, Tanaka teaches an electrode sheet manufacturing method (see e.g., Abstract). Tanaka teaches the method includes a backup roll rotating and in contact with a surface of a current collector foil and a supply roll arranged with a gap between the formation surface of the foil and the supply roll (see e.g., paragraph [0008]). Tanaka teaches there is a potential difference is produced between the backup roll and the supply roll (see e.g., paragraph [0008]) in order to generate an electrostatic force to move the material to the preferred location (see e.g., paragraph [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the electrodes provided on a plurality of rotors of Nishio, as modified by Nobauki and Kawaguchi, to have a potential difference between the two, as taught by Tanaka, in order to generate an electrostatic force between the two electrodes to move the material to a preferred location (see e.g., paragraph [0046]), such as the inlet of the vacuum instead of the surface of the foil.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2019/0198853 A1) in view of Nobuaki (JP 02020684, cited in Applicant’s IDS), Kawaguchi et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2012/0313650 A1), and Tanaka (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20200295353 A1), and further in view of Tasaki et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2009/0246626 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi, and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi, and Tanaka, does not explicitly teach the cutter is a mechanical cutter.
However, Tasaki teaches a lithium metal foil for batteries or capacitors and a lithium ion capacitor or a lithium ion battery using the same (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Tasaki teaches the lithium metal foil is cut by a blade with a support member (“wherein the cutter is a mechanical cutter”) (see e.g., paragraph [0033]). Tasaki teaches the blade can cut the lithium metal foil in a predetermined shape in a precise and smooth manner, thereby enabling improvement in the quality of the battery or capacitor and improvement in the productivity (see e.g., paragraph [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would replace the cutting with a laser beam of Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi, and Tanaka, to be a blade, as taught by Tasaki, in order to cut the lithium metal foil in a predetermined shape in a precise and smooth manner, thereby enabling improvement in the quality of the battery or capacitor and improvement in the productivity (see e.g., paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 8, Nishio, as modified by Nobauki, Kawaguchi, and Tanaka, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 7, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 7, Tasaki teaches the lithium metal foil is cut by a blade with a support member (“wherein the cutter is a blade”) (see e.g., paragraph [0033]).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728