DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are currently pending. Claim 1 is currently amended. No new subject matter is added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11, 13-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa (JP 2006263306 A, as mapped in translated copy attached) in view of Inoue et al. (US 20180289562 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Inoue” and in further view of Morimoto et al. (US 20180221219 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Morimoto”.
Regarding claim 1, Nakazawa teaches an absorbent article having a longitudinal direction and a transverse direction (pants-type disposable diaper 1, see Figure 1) comprising a front elastic belt (belt defined belt like sheets 12 arranged at the waist circumference positions of 4, see Figure 2), a back elastic belt (belt defined belt like sheets 12 arranged at the back body 5, see Figure 2), a crotch region (see Figure 2), a waist opening (7), and a pair of leg openings (8); the crotch region extending longitudinally between the front elastic belt and the back elastic belt (see Figures 1-2); the absorbent article comprising an absorbent main body (2) extending the entire longitudinal dimension of the crotch region (see Figure 2) and further extending partly into each of the front elastic belt and the back elastic belt (absorbent main body extends into the elastic members 11, see Figure 2-3), the absorbent main body comprising a liquid pervious topsheet (a liquid-permeable top sheet 21, see pg. 4 Paragraph 2), a liquid impervious backsheet (a liquid-impermeable back sheet 22, see pg. 2 Paragraph 2), and an absorbent material region sandwiched therebetween (an absorbent body 23 disposed between the two sheet, see pg. 2 Paragraph 7; Figure 3);
the entirety of the length of the transverse edges of the front elastic belt is seamed with a certain length of the transverse edges of the back elastic belt to define a pair of side seams (see Figure 1), wherein the side seams have a seam length LS (inherent: the side seams have a length); the back elastic belt divided into multiple zones spanning in the transverse direction (sheet 12 having different elastic zones via the elastic members 9, 11, 14, see below) and defined by its location from the distal edge to the proximal edge relative to the percentage of the seam length LS wherein the distal edge is considered 0% and the proximal edge is considered 100% (see below), the waist guard portion extending towards the crotch region from a closed base line towards an open edge (waist guard extending towards the proximal edge nearest the crotch region, see below), wherein the waist guard portion is partially bonded to the remainder of the back elastic belt to define a pocket (see Figure 2 and 9), wherein the area of the pocket substantially superposes the backsheet (cuff 15 superposes backsheet 22, see Figure 3);
the waist guard portion comprising a waist guard elastic portion (14) having a longitudinal dimension of no greater than about 50mm (inherent: it would be likely that the elastic portion 14 not exceed 50 mm, see Figure 2), wherein the remainder of the back elastic belt superposing the waist guard elastic portion is defined a correlated portion (see annotated Figured 2-3 and 9), wherein the correlated portion is elasticized (comprising leg elastic member 10 are disposed at the positions of the waist opening and the leg opening, see annotated Figure 2 below), wherein the tensile stress of the waist guard elastic portion is higher than that of the correlated portion (correlated portion has less elastic members, i.e. does not include the superposed elastic region 14, compared to the waist guard elastic portion 14, see below;
therefore the waist guard elastic portion 14 would have a higher tensile stress).
However, Nakazawa does not explicitly disclose wherein a waist guard portion is disposed such that the complete waist guard portion is provided within a location of from about 5% to about 60% of the LS.
Inoue teaches a disposable absorbent article (disposable diaper 10, see Figure 2) comprising a length of the transverse edges of the front elastic belt is seamed with a certain length of the transverse edges of the back elastic belt to define a pair of side seams (he respective both lateral side edges 14c of the back waist region 14 are joined to each other by more than one discrete spaced bonding sites 19 at both lateral side seam, see Figure 2; Paragraph [0034]), wherein the side seams have a seam length LS (length of side seam 19, see Figure 2), and wherein a waist guard portion (back waist space R, see Figure 2; Paragraph [0052]) is disposed such that the complete waist guard portion is provided within a location of from about 5% to about 60% of the LS (back waist space R is within a location of from about 5% to about 60% of the side seam length, see Figure 2).
Nakazawa and Inoue are analogous art because both deal with a disposable absorbent article.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the position of the waist guard member of Nakazawa and further include wherein the complete waist guard portion is provided within a location of from about 5% to about 60% of transverse edges, as taught by Inoue. Inoue teaches the waist guard portion R is beneficial to collect and contain body exudates having flowed to the back waist region 14 between the non-joining area of the pocket base sheet 70 and the back end 12B of the absorbent chassis 12 (see Paragraph [0052]).
Nakazawa and Inoue teaches all of the limitations as discussed above, However, Nakazawa and Inoue do not explicitly disclose the seam length LS is at least 110 mm.
Morimoto teaches a wearable article (20) comprising a main body (38) and a ring-like elastic belt (40) comprising a front belt (26), a back belt (28), and seams (32), wherein the seam length LS is at least 110 mm (seam length of 130 mm, see Paragraph [0076]).
Nakazawa, Inoue, and Morimoto are analogous art because both teach an absorbent article comprising elastic waist members.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the seam length of Nakazawa and further include the seam length being at least 110 mm, as taught by Morimoto. Morimoto teaches a seam length of at least 110mm would allow the article to be used at a Japanese Size 4 (L-size) for wearers of age 0-36 months, (see Paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Morimoto further teaches wherein the seam length LS is from 110 mm to 180 mm (seam length of 130mm, see Paragraph [0076]).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Nakazawa further teaches wherein the tensile stress of the waist guard elastic portion is at least about 25% higher than the tensile stress of the correlated portion (correlated portion does not have any elastic members compared to the waist guard elastic portion 14, as described above; therefore the waist guard elastic portion would have a higher tensile stress greater than 25%).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Nakazawa further teaches wherein the back elastic belt is divided into 3 zones wherein; 0% to the distal edge of the waist guard portion is a back waist zone (see below), the distal edge to the proximal edge of the waist guard portion is a protective zone (see below), and the proximal edge of the waist guard portion to 100% is a buttock zone (see below), wherein the tensile stress of the protective zone is higher than the tensile stress of either the back waist zone, or the buttock zone (the buttock zone does not have any elastic members, see below; therefore the tensile stress of the protective zone is higher than the tensile stress of the buttock zone).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 4 and Nakazawa further teaches wherein the absorbent main body (23) comprises a pair of leg cuffs (elastic members 10 of leg opening 8) disposed along both transverse edges extending in the longitudinal direction (see Figure 2), wherein the leg cuffs are in active elasticity at the open edge (elastic member elastic members (not shown) are arranged along each opening, see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Nakazawa further teaches wherein the waist guard elastic portion is elasticized by disposing a plurality of elastic strands (14), wherein one elastic strand is disposed from no less than 2mm to 5 mm away from the open edge (inherent, the elastic members 14 are around the open edge at distance that appears to be no less than 2mm, see Figure 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 6 and Nakazawa further teaches wherein the plurality of elastic strands of the waist guard elastic portion are disposed at a pitch of no more than about 12mm (inherent: elastic members 14 are arranged very tightly, see Figure 2 and 3; therefore it is likely that the pitch is less 12mm).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Nakazawa further teaches wherein the pocket (15) has a transverse dimension defined as the longest distance of the pocket extending parallel to the transverse centerline of the article (inner area of cuff 15 extends parallel to the transverse direction having the longest distant comparted to the longitudinal length, see Figure 2) from the first left side edge of the pocket to the second right side edge of the pocket (see Figure 2).
However, Nakazawa and Morimoto do not explicitly disclose wherein the transverse dimension of the pocket is from 40% to 96% of the transverse dimension of the transversely extending edge of the backsheet provided in the back waist region.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of modified Nakazawa to have a transverse dimension of the pocket is from 40% to 96% of between 40% and 95% since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Nakazawa would not operate differently with the claimed transverse dimension of the pocket and since the transverse dimensions of the pocket is intended to reside within the back elastic belt of a absorbent article the device would function appropriately having the claimed range. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the transverse dimension “may” be within the claimed ranges (specification Col. 13 ln 4-5)
Regarding claim 13, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Nakazawa further teaches wherein any portion of the back elastic belt is made of less than 6 layers of substrates (there are portions of the back belt that only comprise 4 layers, see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Nakazawa further teaches wherein the front elastic belt region is divided into 4 zones spanning in the transverse direction and defined by its location from the distal edge to the proximal edge relative to the percentage of the seam length LS wherein the distal edge is considered 0% and the proximal edge is considered 100% (see below)wherein; 0-25% is a front waist zone (see below), 25-50% is a distal tummy zone (see below), 50-85% is a proximal tummy zone (see below), and 85-100% is a leg zone (see below).
However, Nakazawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the front proximal tummy zone has the highest tensile stress compared to other zones in the front elastic belt.
Morimoto teaches an absorbent article (see Abstract; Figures 1-3) wherein the front elastic belt region is divided into 4 zones spanning in the transverse direction and defined by its location from the distal edge to the proximal edge relative to the percentage of the seam length LS wherein the distal edge (88) is considered 0% and the proximal edge (90) is considered 100% (see Paragraph [0045) wherein; 0-25% is a front waist zone (102), 25-50% is a distal tummy zone (104), 50-85% is a proximal tummy zone (106), and 85-100% is a leg zone (108), wherein the front proximal tummy zone has the highest tensile stress compared to other zones in the front elastic belt (see Paragraph [0046]).
Nakazawa, Inoue, and Morimoto are analogous art because both teach an absorbent article comprising elastic waist members.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the proximal tummy zone of modified Nakazawa and further include wherein the front proximal tummy zone has the highest tensile stress compared to other zones, as taught by Morimoto. Morimoto teaches such profiling of the tensile stress per zone is believed to provide the article of the present invention with a shaped elastic belt 40 that conforms well to a human body, particularly to a lower torso of a child of less than 36 months of age, and therefore provide good fit and comfort to the wearer, without compromise of sagging prevention or leakage prevention (see Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 16, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1. However, Nakazawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the Waist Circumference Force according to the Whole Article Force Measurement herein is no more than about 9N.
Morimoto teaches an absorbent article (see Abstract; Figures 1-3) wherein the Waist Circumference Force according to the Whole Article Force Measurement herein is no more than about 9N (the article of the present invention may have a Waist Circumference Force provided by the elastic bodies 96 disposed on the waist belt 40 of no more than 10N, or no more than 8N, according to the Whole Article Force Measurement as described herein below, see Paragraph [0055]).
Nakazawa, Inoue, and Morimoto are analogous art because both teach an absorbent article comprising elastic waist members.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the absorbent article of modified Nakazawa and further include wherein the Waist Circumference Force according to the Whole Article Force Measurement herein is no more than about 9N, as taught by Morimoto. Morimoto teaches the force expected to be perceived by the user for expanding the article may be controlled, such that the user may experience a satisfying expansion of the belt 40 without excess effort (see last line of Paragraph [0055])
Regarding claim 17, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Nakazawa further teaches wherein the back elastic belt comprises an inner sheet (32), an outer sheet (31), a first outer sheet fold (see below), a second outer sheet fold (see below), and a plurality of elastic members provided between the inner and outer sheet (see Figure 3), the elastic members extending in the transverse direction of the absorbent article (elastic members 9 and 11, see Figures 2 and 3), wherein the first outer sheet fold has at least the same longitudinal dimension as of the pocket (first outer sheet fold extends along the entire longitudinal side of the back elastic belt similar to the cuff 15, see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 1 and Nakazawa further teaches wherein the waist guard portion is partially bonded to the remainder of the back elastic belt to define a pocket such that the bonded portion of the waist guard portion superposes the backsheet by at least 5 mm along each of left and right side edges of the pocket (see Figure 2 and 3), thereby defining the left and right side edges of the pocket (see Figure 2); and the bonded portion of the waist guard portion superposes the backsheet by at least 5 mm along the closed base line of the pocket, thereby defining the closed base line of the pocket (see Figure 2).
However, Modified Nakazawa does not explicitly disclose the waist guard portion superposing the back sheet by 5mm along the left, right and top sides.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of modified Nakazawa to have a waist guard portion superposing the backsheet by at least 5mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Nakazawa would not operate differently with the claimed superposed length and since the waist guard band is configured to establish the edges of the pocket the device would function appropriately having the claimed superposed length. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the waist guard “may” superpose the backsheet by at least 5 mm, or by at least 10 mm be within the claimed ranges (specification Col. 12 ln 2-8).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modified Nakazawa, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Langdon et al. (US 20100318054 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Langdon”.
Regarding claim 8, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations of claim 6. However, Modified Nakazawa does not explicitly disclose wherein at least 2 of the elastic strands of the waist guard elastic portion have a color which is visible from the member facing side of the article.
Langdon teaches stretched laminates (320) with prestrained elastic elements (340) for use with disposable wearable absorbent articles (see Paragraph [0002], see Figure 3A), wherein at least 2 of the elastic strands of the waist guard elastic portion have a color which is visible from the member facing side of the article (one or more of the elongate elastic elements 340 can be white or can include a colored tinting, of any color, see Paragraph [0053]).
Modified Nakazawa and Langdon are analogous art because all teaches absorbent articles with elastic elements.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the elastic elements of Nakazawa and further include at least 2 elastic strands of the waist guard to have color, as taught by Langdon. Langdon teaches such contrasting colors may be desirable, in order to simulate the appearance of a line of stitching in a cloth material (see Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 8, and Langdon further teaches wherein the front waist zone or the back waist zone is disposed of elastic strands of the same or similar color as the colored elastic strands of the waist guard elastic portion (one or more of the elongate elastic elements 340 can be white or can include a colored tinting, of any color. In some embodiments, the inelastic layers 330-1 and 330-2 and the elongate elastic elements 340 can have matching colors, see Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Nakazawa teaches all of the limitations as discussed above in claim 8. However, Modified Nakazawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the longitudinal dimension of the pocket defined as the longest distance between the closed base line to the open edge is from about 10mm to about 60mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Modified Nakazawa to have a longitudinal dimension of the pocket from about 10mm to about 60mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Nakazawa would not operate differently with the claimed longitudinal dimension and since the longitudinal dimension of the pocket is intended to cover the ends of the absorbent main body with an approximate largest longitudinal dimension of 60mm the device would function appropriately having the claimed longitudinal dimension. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the longitudinal dimension “may be not more than...” be within the claimed ranges (specification pg. 13 ln 1-2).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modified Nakazawa, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McDowall et al. (US 20070123834 A1), hereinafter referred to as “McDowall”.
Regarding claim 12, Modified Nakazawa teaches all the limitations as discussed above in claim 1. However, Modified Nakazawa do not explicitly disclose wherein the combined thickness of the waist guard elastic portion, the correlated portion, and the portion of the absorbent main body sandwiched therebetween; is no more than 5mm.
McDowall teaches an absorbent article (see Abstract) wherein the combined thickness of the waist guard elastic portion, the correlated portion, and the portion of the absorbent main body sandwiched therebetween; is no more than 5mm (the absorbent article has a total product thickness of less than 4 mm, see Paragraph [0005]).
Modified Nakazawa and McDowall are all analogous art because all teach an absorbent article.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the combined thickness of the absorbent article of Modified Nakazawa and further include wherein the combine thickness is not more than 5 mm, as taught by McDowall. McDowall teaches most, if not all, absorbent article components influence the softness and flexibility of the article as it relates to material stiffness. For example, the outer cover, the absorbent core, the liner, the fastener system and/or the diaper construction may influence the overall product softness and flexibility. The softness and flexibility of the present invention is provided though material selection, article design and article construction (see Paragraph [0011]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modified Nakazawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zink et al. (US 20130310797 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Zink”.
Regarding claim 15, Modified Nakazawa teaches all the limitations as discussed above in claim 1. However, Modified Nakazawa does not explicitly disclose having a disposal tape attached to the garment facing surface of the back elastic belt.
Zink teaches an absorbent article (100T) comprises a belt portion extending from the chassis (see Figure 1), wherein the absorbent article has a disposal tape attached to the garment facing surface of the back elastic belt (the distal end regions 176 of the belt ears 112 and 114 may be permanently bonded, releasably connected, and/or refastenably connected with the opposing waist region of the chassis 102, with for example, adhesives, cohesive, thermal bonding, ultrasonic bonding, mechanical bonding and mechanical fastening (e.g., hook and loop type fasteners, see Paragraph [0081]).
Modified Nakazawa and Zink are analogous art because all teach an absorbent article with an elastic waist member.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the back elastic belt of Modified Nakazawa and further include disposable tape attached to the garment facing surface, as taught by Zink. Zink teaches the ability to refasten an initially pre-fastened pant diaper may offer convenience to the caregiver. In some instances, it may be more convenient to apply the absorbent article like a traditional tape style diaper when away from home or when it is inconvenient to remove the clothing and/or shoes. Because it is difficult to predict when a change will be necessary and therefore when a particular mode of application will be needed, it is beneficial to have a disposable pant diaper that is adaptable to being applied either as a traditional tape style diaper or as a disposable pant diaper, pull-on (see Paragraph [0082]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues in claim 1 that the amended limitation “wherein the correlated portion is elasticized” would overcome the prior art of Nakazawa. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant because as discussed above, the correlated portion of Nakazawa can be interpreted as the remainder of the back elastic belt that includes leg elastic portion 10 (see below).
Therefore, Nakazawa would read on the limitation “wherein the correlated portion is elasticized”. Claims 1, 8-10, 12, and 15 would remain rejected in view of Nakazawa for the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC RASSAVONG/ (4/16/2026)Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781