Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/7/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claims 11-20, Applicant argues no weaves or cascaded windings are disclosed within Neet, stating that the present application is distinct over the references due to the weaves switching of paths at an end loop. The Examiner disagrees for at least the following. With respect to the cascading of the windings, paragraph 83 states “It is additionally noted, that while the depicted electric machine includes end loops that all have a cascaded arrangement” with this feature being reflecting in the arrangement of the windings in at least figures 4-5. Further, with respect to the assertion that Neet fails to disclose weaves switching at the end loop in a parallel path. In at least figure 4 and paragraph 48 Neet discloses “at pole 15 in layer 3, wire X is in slot AA, wire Y is in slot BB and wire Z is in slot CC as a result of the 10-pitch phase shift end loops, wire X is in slot BB, wire Y is slot CC and wire Z is in slot DD at pole 16 in layer 4. In the illustrated example, these phase shift end loops occur at the point where the windings transition from layer 3 to layer 4” each depicting an end loop switching the its position in the slot at the end loop. In figure 5 specifically, under numeral 9, the wire c and wire b each change position at their end loop, this the Examiner is interpreting this switching at the end loop as a weave changing layers. For at least these reasons, the rejection of claims 11-20 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Neet et al (US 20180034334 A1).
With respect to claim 11, Neet discloses a stator for an electric machine comprising: : a stator core (fig. 3, stator core 28) having a plurality of slots formed therein (fig. 3, slots 32); and a multi-phase winding arrangement positioned on the stator core (fig. 6, windings 30) and defining a plurality of poles (fig. 3 poles number p1-p16), the winding arrangement including a plurality of cascaded conductors arranged in layers of the slots (paragraph 83 “It is additionally noted, that while the depicted electric machine includes end loops that all have a cascaded arrangement”), the layers defining a plurality of layer pairs (paragraph 33 “windings 30 include axially extending segments 34 that are disposed within slots 32 and end turns 36 with each end turn 36 connecting a pair of slot segments 34”), including a first layer pair (fig. 4, and throughout wire X) and a second layer pair (fig. 4, and throughout wire Y); wherein the cascaded conductors form a plurality of parallel paths per phase in each of the layer pairs (paragraph 34 “Additionally, each phase includes three windings arranged in parallel”); wherein a first plurality of weaves are formed between the parallel paths in the first layer pair (figs 1-3 and paragraph 51 “At this location, the end loop wire X has a pitch of 11 slots while the end loops for wires Y and Z each have a pitch of 8 slots. As a result, wire X moves from slot AA at pole 8 to slot CC at pole 9, wire Y moves from slot BB at pole 8 to slot AA at pole 9 and wire Z moves from slot CC at pole 8 to slot BB at pole 9.” Examiner is interpreting wire X’s path as being the first layer pair with a first weave of AA-CC), said first plurality of weaves associated with multiple poles of the plurality of poles including a first pole and a second pole (Table 2, wire X is associated with poles 1-16); and wherein a second plurality of weaves are formed between said plurality of parallel paths in the second layer pair (paragraph 51 above, Examiner is interpreting wire Y’s path as being the second layer pair with a second weave of BB-AA), said second plurality of weaves also associated with the first pole and the second pole (Table 2, wire Y is associated with poles 1-16).
With respect to claim 12, Neet discloses the first pole and the second pole are 180° opposite one another on the stator core (see Table 2, first and second poles are 180° opposite as poles within the same phase are 180° opposite from one another).
With respect to claim 13, Neet discloses the first plurality of weaves are associated with the first pole via end loops extending between the first pole and another pole adjacent to the first pole (figs 1-3, and 7 and paragraph 51 “At this location, the end loop wire X has a pitch of 11 slots while the end loops for wires Y and Z each have a pitch of 8 slots. As a result, wire X moves from slot AA at pole 8 to slot CC at pole 9, wire Y moves from slot BB at pole 8 to slot AA at pole 9 and wire Z moves from slot CC at pole 8 to slot BB at pole 9.” Examiner is interpreting wire X’s path as being the first layer pair with a first weave of AA-CC), and wherein the first and second plurality of weaves are associated with the second pole via end loops extending between the second pole and another pole adjacent to the first pole (fig. 7 and paragraph 51 above, wire X has pole’s 8-9 and wire Y has pole 8-9).
With respect to claim 14, Neet discloses the layers further defining a third layer pair and a fourth layer pair, wherein a third plurality of weaves are formed between the parallel paths in the third layer pair, said third plurality of weaves also associated with the first pole and the second pole (paragraph 52 “Wires X, Y, Z are subject to another position change at the interval between pole 8 and 9 when the wires are in layer 3. See FIGS. 1 and 5. This position change involves wire X having a position change end loop with a pitch of 7 slots, wire Y having a position change end loop with a pitch of 10 slots”), and wherein a fourth plurality of weaves are formed between the parallel paths in the fourth layer pair, said fourth plurality of weaves also associated with the first pole and the second pole (paragraph 55 “Thus, wire A moves from slot DD at pole 7 to slot BB at pole 8”).
With respect to claim 18, Neet disclosesa stator for an electric machine comprising: a stator core (fig. 3, stator core 28) having a plurality of slots formed therein(fig. 3, slots 32); and a multi-phase winding arrangement positioned on the stator core (fig. 6, windings 30) and defining a plurality of poles (fig. 3 poles number p1-p16), the winding arrangement including: a plurality of cascaded conductors arranged in layers of the slots (paragraph 83 “It is additionally noted, that while the depicted electric machine includes end loops that all have a cascaded arrangement”), the layers defining multiple layer pairs (paragraph 33 “windings 30 include axially extending segments 34 that are disposed within slots 32 and end turns 36 with each end turn 36 connecting a pair of slot segments 34”), wherein the plurality of cascaded conductors form a plurality of parallel paths per phase (paragraph 34 “Additionally, each phase includes three windings arranged in parallel”), each of the parallel paths making multiple revolutions of the core with each revolution occurring within a layer pair (paragraph 34 “additionally, each phase includes three windings arranged in parallel. In other words, each winding extends about the full circumference of the stator core six times”), and wherein, for each layer pair, a first weave and a second weave are formed between a first parallel path and a second parallel path in said layer pair (fig. 1-2 and 4-5, Wire X), wherein the first weave is associated with a first pole of the plurality of poles (paragraph 51 At this location, the end loop wire X has a pitch of 11 slots while the end loops for wires Y and Z each have a pitch of 8 slots. As a result, wire X moves from slot AA at pole 8 to slot CC at pole 9, wire Y moves from slot BB at pole 8 to slot AA at pole 9 and wire Z moves from slot CC at pole 8 to slot BB at pole 9.” wire X has pole’s 8-9), and wherein the second weave is associated with a second pole of the plurality of poles (wire Y has pole 8-9), wherein the first pole and the second pole are 1800 opposite one another on the stator core (see Table 2, first and second poles are 180° opposite as poles within the same phase are 180° opposite from one another).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neet in view of Ahmed et al (US 20200395804 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Neet teaches a stator for an electric machine comprising: a stator core (fig. 3, stator core 28) having a plurality of slots formed therein (fig. 3, slots 32); and a multi-phase winding arrangement positioned on the stator core (fig. 6, windings 30), the winding arrangement including: a plurality of cascaded conductors arranged in layers of the slots (paragraph 83 “It is additionally noted, that while the depicted electric machine includes end loops that all have a cascaded arrangement”), the layers defining multiple layer pairs (paragraph 33 “windings 30 include axially extending segments 34 that are disposed within slots 32 and end turns 36 with each end turn 36 connecting a pair of slot segments 34”), wherein the plurality of cascaded conductors form a plurality of parallel paths per phase (paragraph 34 “Additionally, each phase includes three windings arranged in parallel”), each of the parallel paths making multiple revolutions of the core (paragraph 34 “additionally, each phase includes three windings arranged in parallel. In other words, each winding extends about the full circumference of the stator core six times”).
Neet does not teach “for each layer pair, a number of weaves (N) are formed between a first parallel path and a second parallel path in said layer pair, wherein N is greater than or equal to two, wherein each weave is defined by an end loop configuration wherein the first parallel path switches layers with the second parallel path.”
Ahmed teaches for each layer pair, a number of weaves (N) are formed between a first parallel path and a second parallel path in said layer pair, wherein N is greater than or equal to two (paragraph 46 “Each slot may include only two different paths of a same phase. For example, Slot 1 only includes path 44 and path 47 of the U phase and Slot 2 only includes path 46 and path 49. These paths alternate every other pin position along their respective slots as best shown in FIG. 5.”), wherein each weave is defined by an end loop configuration wherein the first parallel path switches layers with the second parallel path (paragraph 62 “The paths 56 and 58 weave around the stator core alternating between even and odd numbered slots so that for each radial layer each of the paths is in equal number of even and odd slots similar to the U phase”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the stator and winding of Neet with even number of weaves defined by the end loops of Ahmed in order to optimize the flux distribution such that the performance of the stator is improve thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor.
With respect to claim 2, Neet in view of Ahmed teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Neet further teaches the plurality of parallel paths per phase include four parallel paths per phase (paragraph 8 “each phase includes at least three windings connected in parallel”).
With respect to claim 3, Neet in view of Ahmed teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Neet further teaches the plurality of paths per phase make multiple revolutions around the core with each revolution occurring within a layer pair (paragraph 34 “each phase includes three windings arranged in parallel. In other words, each winding extends about the full circumference of the stator core six times and there are three such windings for each phase.”).
With respect to claim 4, Neet in view of Ahmed teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Neet further teaches the plurality of parallel paths per phase include a first set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths and a second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths (paragraph 37 “Providing an electrically balanced stator can be particularly difficult if phase shifting is employed and each phase is formed by an odd number of windings arranged in parallel.”).
With respect to claim 5, Neet in view of Ahmed teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Neet further teaches the first set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths complementary cascaded parallel paths with the second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths such that at poles of the winding arrangement the first set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths are arranged in different layers of each layer pair than the second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths (paragraph 73 “It is noted that, for the exemplary embodiment, the 7 and 10 pitch end loops depicted in FIGS. 8A-8C are employed with wires X, Y, Z in the middle of layer 3 (FIG. 1) and with wires A, B, C in the middle of layer 4 (FIG. 2). These sets of end loops are also present in FIG. 5, between poles 7 and 8, layer 4 for wires A, B, C and between poles 8 and 9, layer 3 for wires X, Y. Z.” The Examiner is interpreting the layout as describing the poles being in those layers).
With respect to claim 7, Neet in view of Ahmed teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Neet further teaches the cascaded parallel paths define a plurality of poles of the winding arrangement (paragraph 83 “it is additionally noted, that while the depicted electric machine includes end loops that all have a cascaded arrangement, it would also be possible to employ interlaced/interleaved end loops (either continuous or hairpin) between poles which require only standard pitches for each of the wires and employ end loops as depicted in FIGS. 8A-8C, 9A-9C and/or 10A, 10B where appropriate.”), and wherein, in a first layer pair, a first weave is associated with a first pole (figs 1-3 and paragraph 51 “At this location, the end loop wire X has a pitch of 11 slots while the end loops for wires Y and Z each have a pitch of 8 slots. As a result, wire X moves from slot AA at pole 8 to slot CC at pole 9, wire Y moves from slot BB at pole 8 to slot AA at pole 9 and wire Z moves from slot CC at pole 8 to slot BB at pole 9.” Examiner is interpreting wire X’s path as being the first layer pair with a first weave of AA-CC) and a second weave is associated with a second pole, and in a second layer pair (paragraph 51 above, Examiner is interpreting wire Y’s path as being the second layer pair with a second weave of BB-AA), a first weave is associated with the first pole and a second weave is associated with the second pole (paragraph 51 above, wire X has pole’s 8-9 and wire Y has pole 8-9).
With respect to claim 8, Neet in view of Ahmed teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Neet further teaches in a third layer pair (paragraph 52 “Wires X, Y, Z are subject to another position change at the interval between pole 8 and 9 when the wires are in layer 3. See FIGS. 1 and 5. This position change involves wire X having a position change end loop with a pitch of 7 slots, wire Y having a position change end loop with a pitch of 10 slots”), a first weave is associated with the first pole (paragraph 52 “As a result, in layer 3, wire X moves from slot CC at pole 8 to slot AA at pole 9”) and a second weave is associated with the second pole (paragraph 52 “wire Y moves from slot AA at pole 8 to slot BB at pole 9”), and in a fourth layer pair, a first weave is associated with the first pole and a second weave is associated with the second pole (paragraph 53 “Wires X, Y, Z are subject to a third position change at the interval between poles 16 and 1 as the wires shift from layer 4 to layer 5…. Thus, wire X moves from slot BB at pole 16 to slot DD at pole 1).
With respect to claim 9, Neet in view of Ahmed teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Neet further teaches the weaves of one layer pair are associated with a same set of poles as the weaves of all other layer pairs of the multiple layer pairs (see at least tables 1 and 2, wires are associated with the same set of poles as the other layer pairs).
Claims 6 and 10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neet in view of Ahmed in further view of Neet (US 20180241267 A1; hereinafter “Neet267”).
With respect to claim 6, Neet in view of Ahmed teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the first set and second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths form a 4-8-4 pole pattern within the slots.”
Neet267 teaches the first set and second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths form a 4-8-4 pole pattern within the slots (paragraph 51 “two outer slots that are only half filled with windings from a particular phase (four windings in the illustrated embodiment) to thereby form a 4-8-4 winding pattern”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the stator and winding of Neet with the end loops of Ahmed with the 4-8-4 pole pattern of Neet267 in order to optimize the flux distribution such that the performance of the stator is improve thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor.
With respect to claim 10, Neet in view of Ahmed teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the layers include eight layers forming four layer pairs and wherein one hundred and forty four slots are formed in the stator core.”
Neet267 teaches the layers include eight layers forming four layer pairs (paragraph 50 “Eight wires fit within each axially extending stator slot 32”), and wherein one hundred and forty four slots are formed in the stator core (fig. 7, there are 144 slots).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the stator and winding of Neet with the end loops of Ahmed with the four layer and 144 slot stator of Neet267 in order to optimize the flux distribution such that the performance of the stator is improve thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor.
Claims 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neet in view of Neet (US 20180241267 A1; hereinafter “Neet267”).
With respect to claim 15, Neet teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “wherein the plurality of parallel paths includes four parallel paths per phase in each of the layer pairs”
Neet267 teaches the plurality of parallel paths includes four parallel paths per phase in each of the layer pairs (fig. 8, 4 separate wires in the 8 layer slot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the stator and winding of Neet with the four layer slot of Neet267 in order to optimize the flux distribution such that the performance of the stator is improve thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor.
With respect to claim 16, Neet teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the four parallel paths are arranged to form a first set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths and a second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths, wherein the first set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths are complementary cascaded parallel paths to the second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths.”
Neet267 teaches the four parallel paths are arranged to form a first set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths (paragraph 43 “The first, second, third and fourth windings are then connected in parallel to form one phase of electric machine 20 (FIG. 6”, First windings) and a second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths (paragraph 43 “The first, second, third and fourth windings are then connected in parallel to form one phase of electric machine 20 (FIG. 6”, second windings), wherein the first set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths are complementary cascaded parallel paths to the second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths (see at least figure 5 and throughout, the Examiner interpreting the functional stator with the first and second windings working as complementary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the stator and winding of Neet with four parallel and complementary paths of Neet267 in order to optimize the flux distribution such that the performance of the stator is improve thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor.
With respect to claim 17, Neet teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the plurality of parallel paths form a 4-8-4 pole pattern within the slots.”
Neet267 teaches the plurality of parallel paths form a 4-8-4 pole pattern within the slots (paragraph 51 “two outer slots that are only half filled with windings from a particular phase (four windings in the illustrated embodiment) to thereby form a 4-8-4 winding pattern”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the stator and winding of Neet with the 4-8-4 pole pattern of Neet267 in order to optimize the flux distribution such that the performance of the stator is improve thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor.
With respect to claim 19, Neet teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the plurality of parallel paths includes four parallel paths per phase, wherein the four parallel paths are arranged to form a first set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths and a second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths, and wherein the first set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths are complementary cascaded parallel paths to the second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths.”
Neet267 teaches the plurality of parallel paths includes four parallel paths per phase (paragraph 43 “The first, second, third and fourth windings are then connected in parallel to form one phase of electric machine 20 (FIG. 6”)), wherein the four parallel paths are arranged to form a first set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths and a second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths (fig. 6, first and second windings), and wherein the first set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths are complementary cascaded parallel paths to the second set of adjacent cascaded parallel paths (see at least figure 5 and throughout, the Examiner interpreting the functional stator with the first and second windings working as complementary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the stator and winding of Neet with four parallel and complementary paths of Neet267 in order to optimize the flux distribution such that the performance of the stator is improve thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor.
With respect to claim 20, Neet teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the plurality of parallel paths form a 4-8-4 pole pattern within the slots.”
Neet267 teaches the plurality of parallel paths form a 4-8-4 pole pattern within the slots (paragraph 51 “two outer slots that are only half filled with windings from a particular phase (four windings in the illustrated embodiment) to thereby form a 4-8-4 winding pattern”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the stator and winding of Neet with the 4-8-4 pole pattern of Neet267 in order to optimize the flux distribution such that the performance of the stator is improve thereby increasing the efficiency of the motor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.O.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834