DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the communication received on 08/11/2025. The claims 1- 17 are pending, of which the claim(s) 1 is/are in independent form.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (See Remarks filed 07-23-2025 in page 8) with respect to amended limitation of the claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, newly discovered US 20210143678 A1 to Georgakopoulos is relied on to cite the amended and argued features of the claim 1.
Georgakopoulos teaches:
[0003] Traditional wireless technologies, for powering or charging mobile or other electronic or electric devices, generally use a wireless power transmitter and wireless power receiver in combination, to provide a means for transfer of power across a distance. Even though wireless power transfer (WPT) technology allows wireless power transfer to a receiver, such as one including a sensor, there is a lack of investigations on apparatuses and methods to simultaneously transfer both power and data through a wirelessly coupled transmitter-receiver system.
[0055] In an embodiment, the TX device 200 and the RX device 300 can be synchronized to simultaneously transfer the power (from the TX device 200 to the RX device 300) and the data (from the RX device 300 to the TX device 200) with each other.
[0056] In another embodiment, the TX device 200 and the RX device 300 can be controlled to transfer the power (from the TX device 200 to the RX device 300) and data (from the RX device 300 to the TX device 200) with each other at different time points.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20190082240 A1, reference of record) in view of Georgakopoulos (US 20210143678 A1, hereinafter Georga).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a motor [“system 600 includes at least one electric motor 602, similar to electric motor 10 (shown in FIG. 1)”. Thus, the motor 10/602 with rotor 18 and a control system and can “be implemented in any application…drive mechanical components” is interpreted as claimed a motor] drivable with driving power supplied from a first driver in a servo system, the motor comprising: ([019, 041], Figs. 5, 6A);
[a] a first communicator [portion of the “wireless communication module 508 for communicating” (of fig. 5) to communicate with one of the external device like sensors 618] configured to at least transmit or receive a predetermined signal [e.g., data of the sensors 618] through wireless communication between a first device [e.g., sensors 618] and the motor included in the servo system (Fig. 6A, [036, 1044, 052-053]); and
[b] a second communicator [portion of the “wireless communication module 508 for communicating” (of fig. 5) to communicate with one of the external device like database server 614 or repeater 620] configured to perform predetermined communication of the predetermined signal between a second device [database server 614 or repeater 620] and the motor (Fig. 6A, [036, 047, 054]);
wherein the first communicator and the second communicator relay the predetermined signal between the first device and the second device ([046-047, 052, 054] Fig. 6A: Here, for example, in fig. 6A the data captured by the sensors 618 is clearly being exchanged/transferred from sensor 618 to the server 618 or the repeater 620 via the motor 602 using wireless channels).
Accordingly, Li clearly teaches a motor 602 with two or more communicators, one to capture the predetermined data from a data source 618 and others to forward the captured data to other devices 604.
Li teaches:
[046], As described in detail herein, electric motor 602 is communicatively coupled to one or more external devices 604 and other electric motors 602 such that electric motor 602 is capable of bi-directional wireless communication with one or more external devices 604 and/or other electric motors 602
[0043] Electric motor 602 includes a processor 606 that controls operation of electric motor 602 and facilitates wireless communication between electric motor 602, external devices 604, and other electric motors 602, as described in detail below. In the exemplary embodiment, processor 606 is communicatively coupled to …
Similarly, external devices 604 each include a motor management device610 for transmitting and receiving input signals to and from electric motor602
[053], one or more measurements taken by sensors 618 are wirelessly transmitted to electric motor 602 via input signals.
However, Li fails to teach how its first device (sensors 618) can receive its operating power to allow its sensors to be able to transmit data to the motor 602. That is, Li does not teach its first communicator supplies a portion of the driving power to the first device by contactless transfer using the wireless communication.
Georga teaches a technique of wirelessly transmitting power from a transmitter device [transmitter 200, analogous to Li’s “electric motor 602” since both of them have transceiver] that receives power from a power source to a receiver device [transmitter 300 with at least one “one sensor element 330”, analogous to Li’s sensor 618] that provides sensor data [“wireless data” from item 310 to the item 220] to a transmitter device (Abstract, fig. 1, [003, 050]). More specifically, Georga teaches a computing device comprising:
a first communicator [“the transmitter element 220 and supply the power to the power converter 320”] configured to at least transmit or receive a predetermined signal [“transmitter element 220 of the TX device 200 receives the wirelessly transferred modulated data/signal from the receiver element 310”] through wireless communication between a first device and the motor and the first communicator supplies a portion of the driving power to the first device by contactless power transfer [“the TX device 200 and the RX device 300 can be synchronized to simultaneously transfer the power (from the TX device 200 to the RX device 300) and the data (from the RX device 300 to the TX device 200) with each other”] using the wireless communication ([003, 049, 054- 058]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Georga and Li because they both related to a communicator receiving a predetermined signal from a sensor device and (2) modify the first communicator of Li’s motor 602 to cause a portion of the driving power to the first device (sensor 618 fig.6A of Li) by contactless power transfer using the wireless communication. Doing so would allow the sensors 618 to provide battery-free sensing in situation when battery replacing will be very difficult and allow simultaneous transfer of both power and data (Georga, [003, 0058]). Furthermore, Georga teaches an exemplary technique (by transmitting power from the sensor data receiving device) via which its sensors can be powered to allow the sensors to transmit data to the motor.
Claim(s) 1 & 6- 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harakawa et al. (US 20230213949 A1, Filing Date: 2020-11-12) in view of Li et al. (US 20190082240 A1), and further in view of Georga (US 20210143678 A1). Harakawa and Li are references of the record. The combination of Harakawa, Li, and Georga is referred as HLG hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Harakawa teaches a motor [an assembly of “the servomotor 20” + “encoder 40” as shown in fig. 1/9] drivable with driving power supplied from a first driver [servo driver 22] in a servo system, the motor comprising: ([026], fig. 1);
a first communicator [a means of “state detection means” like the encoder 40 that “detects the state of the servomotor 20 every second”. The means of the encoder 40 that detects the state is mapped as claimed “first communicator”] configured to at least transmit or receive a predetermined signal [“The encoder 40 detects the state of the servomotor 20…movement amount of the machine 10 per unit of rotation”, “information corresponding to the movement of the machine 10, such as the rotation speed or the counts of the servomotor 20”]
a second communicator [a means of the encoder 40 that “outputs the detected state to the controller together with the date and time of the detection”, The means of the encoder that outputs the state is mapped as second communicator] configured to perform predetermined communication of the predetermined signal between a second device [controller 60+ servo driver 22] and the motor (Fig. 1, [024]).
Harakawa is directed to control operating an electric motor 20 by detecting the state of the motor and transmitting the detected state into a second device [controller 60] using an encoder or other sensors ([007, 066]). Harakawa further teaches “various changes are possible without departing from the gist” of the embodiments ([062]).
However, Harakawa fails to elaborate on more such mentioned changes. That is, Harakawa does not teach using a first device and a first communicator to wirelessly communicate each other to detect the state of the servomotor or its surrounding. Therefore, Harakawa fails to teach its first communicator to
(1) “transmit or receive a predetermined signal through wireless communication between a first device and the motor included in the servo system”; “the first communicator and the second communicator relay the predetermined signal between the first device and the second device”;
(2) “the first communicator supplies a portion of the driving power to the first device by contactless power transfer using the wireless communication”.
Harakawa’s 1st deficiency is cured by Li’s motor comprising a first communicator and a second communicator and 2nd deficiency is cured by Georga.
More specifically, Li teaches a motor [“at least one electric motor 602, similar to electric motor 10 (shown in FIG. 1)”] comprising ([041]);
a first communicator [communication means/link from the sensors 618 to the motor 602] configured to at least transmit or receive a predetermined signal [data from sensor to the motor] through wireless communication between a first device [“Sensors 618”] and the motor included in the servo system ([052-053]);
a second communicator [communication means/link from motor 602 to the server 614 or the repeater 620] configured to perform predetermined communication of the predetermined signal between a second device and the motor ([047, 054]);
the first communicator and the second communicator relay the predetermined signal between the first device and the second device ([046-047, 052, 054] Fig. 6A: Here, for example, in fig. 6A the data captured by the sensors 618 is clearly being exchanged/transferred from sensor 618 to the server 618 or the repeater 620 via the motor 602 using wireless channels).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Li and Harakawa because they both related to measuring “operating parameters” surrounding an electric motor to adjust operating thereof and (2) modify the system of Harakawa to include missing limitations from Li. Doing so would allow collecting additional operating parameters (e.g., vibration, pressure, temperature) surrounding the servomotor 20 to control operation of the motor 20 by the controller (claimed “second device”) of Harakawa in easier and cost effective manner thereby increasing capabilities of its motor (Harakawa (Li [0035, 071]). Furthermore, Li’s using of allowing the motors to communicate multiple devices to receive and transmit data can be understood by PHOSITA as an example of “various changes are possible” already envisioned by Harakawa in para. 062.
Harakawa in view of Li still fails to teach “the first communicator supplies a portion of the driving power to the first device by contactless power transfer using the wireless communication”.
Georga teaches a transmitter device comprising: a first communicator that supplies a portion of the driving power to a first device by contactless [“the transmitter element 220 of the TX device 200 receives the wirelessly transferred modulated data/signal from the receiver element 310, the data/signal”] power transfer using the wireless communication ([003, 005], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Georga and Harakawa in view of Li because they both related to a communicator receiving a predetermined signal from a sensor device and (2) modify the first communicator of Harakawa in view of Li motor to cause a portion of the driving power to the first device (sensor 618 fig.6A of Li) by contactless power transfer using the wireless communication to allow its sensors to operate. Doing so would allow the sensors of Harakawa in view of Li to provide battery-free sensing in situation when battery replacing will be very difficult and allow simultaneous transfer of both power and data (Georga, [003, 0058]).
Regarding claim 6, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 1, wherein the second communicator performs the predetermined communication through wireless communication between the second device and the motor (Li in Fig. 6 shows wireless communication can be performed from the motor 602 to the server 614 or the repeater 620 to transmit sensors’ data).
Regarding claim 7, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 1, wherein the first device includes a first sensor [e.g., sensor 618 or other sensors around the motor 602] configured to detect a predetermined parameter in the servo system, the first communicator receives a detection signal from the first sensor, and the second communicator transmits [forwarding the sensor data to the server/ Repeater 620 or any other external devices] the detection signal received by the first communicator to the first driver being the second device (Fig. 6, [052] of Li).
Regarding claim 8, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 7, wherein the first sensor detects the predetermined parameter about a displacement of a first driving target drivable by an output shaft [item 30 of Harakawa] of the motor, the first communicator is located to receive the detection signal from the first sensor, and before a sensor identification process is complete, 2a first predetermined operation is performed to displace the first driving target by driving the output shaft of the motor, and in response to the first communicator receiving the detection signal from the first sensor in the first predetermined operation, the second communicator transmits [the data captured by the sensors 618 are transferred to the server from the motor 602] the detection signal received by the first communicator from the first sensor to the first driver to link the first driver and the first sensor (Harakawa, Fig. 1 & Li fig. 6 & associated texts).
Regarding claim 9, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 8, wherein the servo system includes a second driver connected to the first driver to allow communication, a second motor drivable with driving power supplied from the second driver, and a second sensor configured to detect a parameter about a displacement of a second driving target drivable by an output shaft of the second motor, the first communicator is located to receive [data exchange with another motor 602 which captures data from its own sensors as shown in Li’s fig. 6] a detection signal from the second sensor (Harakawa, fig. 1 meets the requirement of the claim limitation. Please note that the claimed subject matter is a motor but not the servo system—see preamble of the claim 1. Hence, the feature of the servo-system is not positively recited and hence not required- see MPEP 2115), and
before the sensor identification process is complete, a second predetermined operation is performed to displace the second driving target by driving the output shaft of the second motor3, and in response to the first communicator receiving the detection signal from the second sensor in the second predetermined operation, the second communicator transmits the detection signal received by the first communicator from the second sensor to the second driver through the first driver to link the second driver and the second sensor (Harakawa’s fig. 1 & Li’s fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 7, wherein the first sensor detects the predetermined parameter about a displacement of a first driving target drivable by an output shaft of the motor (Harakawa [026]),
the servo system includes a second driver connected to the first driver to allow communication and a second motor drivable with driving power supplied from the second driver, the second motor receives the predetermined signal from the first sensor through wireless communication, and performs the predetermined communication with the first driver, and the motor or the second motor is selected to receive the detection signal from the first sensor based on a result of comparison between an intensity of a signal between the first communicator and the first sensor and an intensity of a signal between the first sensor and the second motor (Harakawa in view of Li’s in their figs. 1 & 6 respective meets these limitations as well since they are part of the not positively recited subject matter—see MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 11, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 10, wherein in a case where the motor is selected to receive the detection signal from the first sensor, the first communicator receives the detection signal from the first sensor, and the second communicator transmits the detection signal received by the first communicator to the first driver, and in a case where second motor4 is selected to receive detection signal from the first sensor, the first communicator receives the detection signal from the second motor, and the second communicator transmits the detection signal received by the first communicator to the first driver (Fig. 1 of Harakawa and Fig. 6 of Li & associated texts).
Regarding claim 12, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 7, wherein the first communicator transmits, to the first sensor with a contactless power transmission scheme, the predetermined signal indicating power for driving the first sensor (Georga, Fig. 1, [055-058]).
Regarding claim 13, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 12, wherein the first communicator transmits, with the contactless power transmission scheme, the predetermined signal based on information transmitted from the first sensor indicating an amount of power for driving the first sensor (Georga, Fig. 1, [055- 058]).
Regarding claim 14, HLG further teaches teaches/suggests the motor according to claim 12, wherein the 5servo system includes a second driver connected to the first driver to allow communication and a second motor drivable with driving power supplied from the second driver, the second motor receives the predetermined signal from the first sensor through wireless communication, and performs the predetermined communication with the first driver, and the motor or the second motor is selected to transmit the predetermined signal based on a result of comparison between an intensity of a signal between the first communicator and the first sensor and an intensity of a signal between the first sensor and the second motor (Fig. 1 of Harakawa & Fig. 6 of Li meet the requirements of the claim).
Regarding claim 15, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 1, wherein the motor includes an integral motor [item 602 is an integral motor] including a motor body and the first driver integral with each other, and the integral motor drives a first driving target, and the second communicator performs the predetermined communication with the second device through a predetermined section in the integral motor corresponding to the first driver or with the predetermined section being bypassed (Harakawa, Fig. 1; Li Fig. 1 & 6).
Regarding claim 16, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 15,
6wherein the first device includes a controller configured to generate a command signal for controlling a plurality of control targets including the first driving target in the servo system, the second device includes a second driver connected to the predetermined section to allow communication and configured to supply a driving current to a second motor to drive a second driving target,
the first communicator receives a command signal for controlling the second motor from the controller, and the second communicator transmits [the first and second communicator of the motor can transmit any control data as needed. The manner how the control signal is sent does not provide patentable distinction] the command signal received by the first communicator to the second driver (Harakawa, Fig. 1; Li Fig. 1 & 6; see MPEP 2144 (II)).
Regarding claim 17, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 1, wherein the motor includes an integral motor [fig. 6 of Li shows an integral motor] including a motor body and the first driver integral with each other, and the integral motor drives a first driving target, the first device7 includes a controller configured to generate a command signal for controlling the first driving target in the servo system, the second device includes a predetermined section in the integral motor corresponding to the first driver, the first communicator receives the command signal from the controller, and the second communicator transmits [Harakawa as modified by Li clearly shows that its motor receive any data including any command signal and can forward the data to any other devices] the command signal received by the first communicator to the predetermined section (Harakawa, Fig. 1; Li Fig. 1 & 6).
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HLG (as in claim 1), and further in view of Yamada et al. (US 20070282458 A1, reference of the record). The combination of Harakawa, Li, and Yamada are referred as HLY hereinafter.
Regarding claim 2, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 1, wherein the second communicator performs the predetermined communication between the second device (Fig. 1 of Harakawa). HLG further teaches using a power line connecting the motor and the first driver (fig. 1 of Harakawa).
However, HLG fails to teach the sending of the data from the encoder 40 over the controller 60+ driver 22 is via using the power line from the driver 22 to the servomotor 20 because it shows a separate data communication line from the encoder 40 to the controller 60.
Thus, HLG fails to teach the second communicator using “at least partially using a power line connecting the motor and the first driver”.
Yamada teaches a controller 203 collecting data from pluralities of the measurement/field devices 208- 210 over power line communication ([063], Fig. 4). Thus, Yamada teaches a motor drivable with driving power comprising a second communicator that performs the predetermined communication between the second device [control device 203] and the motor [“electric valve 208”] at least partially using a power line [“the power line 207”, analogous to Harakawa’s connection path from controller 60 to the driver 22 and to the servomotor 20] ([063-066]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Yamada and HLG because they both related to communicating measured data about motor to a second device and (2) modify the system of HLG to utilize well-known power line communication from the motor to the first driver to implement transmit of the data of the encoder 40 to the controller 60 as in Yamada. Doing so would further reduce the cost to transmit data from the encoder 40 to the controller 60 in the system of HLG by utilizing already available infrastructure of Harakawa and minimizing the number of required communication wires or wireless communication protocols as can be clear to PHOSITA. Accordingly, HLGY teaches/renders invention of this claim obvious to PHOSITA.
Regarding claim 3, HLGY teaches the motor according to claim 2, wherein the motor allows transmission or reception of a signal between an encoder [encoder 40] to detect motion of an output shaft [item 30] of the motor drivable by the first driver and a winding of the motor, and the first communicator and the second communicator are included in the encoder (Fig. 1 of Harakawa & Li’s fig. 6A). By implementing both communicators into a single encoder 40 (like in module 508 of Li) allows minimizing the elements required to implement communication functionalities in the system of Harakawa.
Regarding claim 4, HLG further teaches the motor according to claim 1, further comprising:
an encoder [item 40] configured to detect motion of an output shaft [item 30] of the motor drivable by the first driver, wherein the first communicator and the second communicator are included in th encoder (Harakawa, fig. 1, Fig. 6 of Li). By implementing both drivers into the encoder 40 allows minimizing of the hardware footprint in the system of Harakawa.
HLG further teaches the second communicator performs the predetermined communication and also using a communication cable [path from controller 60 to the driver 22, amplifier 21 and the servomotor 20] connecting the first driver and the encoder (Harakawa fig. 1).
HLG does not teach the second communicator performs the predetermined communication by using a communication cable connecting the first driver and the encoder.
Yamada teaches implementing a communication from a control/second device [control device 203] to an encoder device/measurement device [one of the items 208 -210] using a communication line [“the power line 207”] that transmits both the power and data ([067-069], fig. 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Yamada and HLG because they both related to communicating measured data about motor to a second device and (2) modify the system of HLG to including missing limitations (i.e., utilize well-known power line communication from the motor to the first driver to implement transmit of the data of the encoder 40 to the controller 60) from Yamada. Doing so would further reduce the cost to transmit data from the encoder 40 to the controller 60 in the system of Harakawa in HLG by utilizing already available infrastructure of Harakawa and minimizing the number of required communication wires or wireless communication protocols as can be clear to PHOSITA. Accordingly, HLGY teaches/renders invention of this claim obvious to PHOSITA.
Regarding claim 5, HLG teaches the motor according to claim 1, further comprising:
a power line connecting the motor and the first driver (Harakawa’s fig. 1 shows a power line from controller 60+ driver 22 to the motor 20); and
a signal processor [encoder 40 of Harakawa or microcontroller 502 of Li]
HLG fails to teach the limitation shown with strikethrough emphasis.
Yamada teaches a signal processor configured to superimpose [“control instruction and process data superimposed on the power line 207 from the control device 203”] the predetermined signal on a driving current flowing through the power line or configured to extract the predetermined signal from the driving current flowing through the power line ( paras. 067- 069 and fig. 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to (1) combine Yamada and HLG because they both related to communicating measured data about motor to a second device and (2) modify the system of Harakawa in view of Li to including missing limitations from Yamada. Doing so would further reduce the cost to transmit data from the encoder 40 to the controller 60 in the system of HLG by utilizing already available infrastructure of Harakawa and minimizing the number of required communication wires or wireless communication protocols as can be clear to PHOSITA. Accordingly, HLGY teaches/renders invention of this claim obvious to PHOSITA.
Conclusion
/SANTOSH R POUDEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 “electric motor 602 communicates with external devices 604 and other electric motors 602 via Wi-Fi™, Z-Wave®, Bluetooth®, and/or BLE® signals…using any communication medium and/or network” (emphasis added). Thus, both the Wi-Fi and BLE or “any communication” medium/protocols can be utilized and one of the them can be to communicate with a first device or first communicator and another can be to communicate with the second device or a second communicator.
2 Please note that the limitation of “first predetermined operation is performed to displace the first driving target by driving the output shaft of the motor” does not receive a patentable weight per MPEP 2114 (II). This is so because the manner of operating the device/apparatus does not differentiate apparatus from the apparatus of the prior art. In this instance, how the motor is operated does not change the feature of the motor itself. For example, a car does not automatically become a different car with different feature whether it is driven in a city or elsewhere and similar logic applies here.
3 “before the sensor identification process is complete, a second predetermined operation is performed to displace the second driving target by driving the output shaft of the second motor” does not receive patentable weight per MPEP 2144 (II).
4 The claimed subject matter does not cover “second motor” even though it may interact with actually claimed “a motor”-see claim 1 preamble.
5 The italic portion directed to features not positively claimed. The claimed subject matter is to a motor but not to the servo system. The second driver is part of the servo system but not the part of the “motor drivable” of the claim 1.
6 This limitation is not positively recited and hence is not part of the claimed “motor”-see MPEP 2115.
7 The features of the first device are not part of the claimed “a motor” even though it may interact with the claimed “a motor” and hence the first device includes a controller does not receive patentable weight.