DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Receipt is acknowledged of a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) and a submission, filed on 01/23/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) Rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. 20220285533.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 11 of Lee discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a substrate 304;
a plurality of channel layers 310 vertically stacked over the substrate and extending along a first lateral direction (across the page – X direction) parallel to a surface of the substrate;
an isolation layer (as labeled by examiner above) on the substrate, wherein a top surface of the isolation layer is not higher than a top surface of any of the plurality of channel layers;
gate structures 1104 over the isolation layer, wherein the gate structures surrounds a portion of a length of each channel layer of the plurality of channel layers;
an inner spacer (combination of 502 and 602) formed between adjacent two channel layers 310 of the plurality of channel layers, the inner spacer comprising an opening 902 for enveloping an end of one of the gate structures formed between the adjacent two channel layers, wherein
the opening of the inner spacer is formed by a first corner layer (as labeled by examiner above) of the inner spacer and a second corner layer (as labeled by examiner above) of the inner spacer, both extending along the first lateral direction (across the page – X direction), and a middle layer 602 of the inner space extending along a second lateral direction (into the page – Y direction) between the first corner layer and the second corner layer, the second lateral direction parallel to the surface of the substrate and perpendicular to the first lateral direction, and
a middle portion of the end of the one of the gate structures protrudes along the first lateral direction into the opening of the inner spacer.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 10A of Lee discloses wherein: a size (X-dimension) of the first corner layer and a size of the second corner layer along the first lateral direction is larger than a size of the middle layer along the first lateral direction.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 10A/11A of Lee discloses further comprising: outer spacers (328 and 320 combination as labeled in fig. 4) extending vertically along sidewalls of all of the gate structures and the channel layers, wherein sidewalls of the outer spacers are recessed to accommodate end surfaces of the plurality of channel layers along a second the first lateral direction.
Regarding claim 5, par [0033] of Lee discloses wherein the inner spacer is made of a material including silicon nitride.
Regarding claim 17, fig. 11A of Lee discloses further comprising: source/drain doped layers 802 at two sides of each gate structure along the first lateral direction, wherein surfaces of the source/drain doped layers, surfaces of inner spacers, and end surfaces of the plurality of channel layers are vertically coplanar with each other (the plane in between).
Regarding claim 18, fig. 11A of Lee discloses wherein: a top surface (upper surface is top as oppose to lower surface being bottom surface) of the isolation layer is coplanar with a bottom surface of the source/drain doped layers (as the two are in direct contact).
Regarding claim 19, fig. 11A of Lee discloses further comprising: a dielectric layer 328 over the isolation layer, wherein the dielectric layer covers a portion of the plurality of channel layers and the gate structures, and exposes top surfaces of the gate structures.
Regarding claim 20, fig. 11A of Lee discloses wherein: the plurality of channel layers includes a bottom channel layer between adjacent isolation layers (left and right side) along the first lateral direction, the bottom channel layer has a top surface higher than the top surface of the isolation layers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses claim 3, but does not disclose of wherein the sidewalls of the outer spacers are recessed with respect to the end surfaces of the plurality of channel layers by about 1 nm to about 5 nm.
However, although Lee is silent about the claimed range, it should be noted that a range does inherently exist in the fig. 21 of Lee reference, but it is not stated.
Therefore, the prior art of Lee provides foundation for experimental optimization and suggests a progress of changes in size/proportion in order to optimize the distance between the plurality of channels.
Therefore, while the structure of Lee does not quantitatively state a range, the courts have held that when the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is a size/proportion, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art form a device of Lee wherein said range is about 1 nm to about 5 nm in order to optimize the distance between the plurality of channels.
Conclusion
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893