DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young et al. 20210202697.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 1 and 26 of Young discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a substrate 50;
a plurality of channel layers 54A/B/C vertically stacked over the substrate and extending along a first lateral direction (into the page in fig. 26B) parallel to a surface of the substrate;
an isolation layer 58 on the substrate, wherein a top surface of the isolation layer is not higher than a top surface of any of the plurality of channel layers;
gate structures 102 over the isolation layer, wherein the gate structures surrounds a portion of a length of each channel layer of the plurality of channel layers;
outer spacers 91B extending vertically along sidewalls of the gate structures and the plurality of channel layers along the first lateral direction, wherein sidewalls of the outer spacers along a second lateral direction (across the page in fig. 26B) are recessed along the first lateral direction with respect to end surfaces of the plurality of channel layers, and the second lateral direction is parallel to the surface of the substrate and perpendicular to the first lateral direction;
an inner spacer (left 91A,100,right 91A) formed between adjacent two channel layers of the plurality of channel layers, the inner spacer comprising an opening (region occupied by 102) for enveloping an end of one of the gate structures formed between the adjacent two channel layers, wherein
the opening of the inner spacer is formed by a first corner layer (left) of the inner spacer and a second corner layer (right) of the inner spacer, both extending along the first lateral direction, and a middle layer 100 of the inner space extending along the second lateral direction between the first corner layer and the second corner layer, and
a middle portion (as labeled by examiner above) of the end of the one of the gate structures (the gate can be divided into upper, middle and lower portion all of which) protrudes (into the page of fig. 26B to form the gate structure, the gate structure has to protrudes through the opening) along the first lateral direction into the opening of the inner spacer (in order to form the gate as shown in fig. 26B).
Regarding claim 2, fig. 26B of Young discloses wherein: a size (outer dimension of 91A/B to 91A/B) of the first corner layer and a size of the second corner layer along the first lateral direction is larger than a size of the middle layer along the first lateral direction.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 26B of Young discloses wherein: a vertical sidewall of the first corner layer completely contacts the end of the one of the gate structures, and a vertical sidewall of the second corner layer completely contacts the end of the one of the gate structures.
Regarding claim 5, par [0066] of Young discloses wherein the inner spacer is made of a material including silicon nitride.
Regarding claim 17, fig. 26 of Young does discloses further comprising: source/drain doped layers 92 at two sides of each gate structure along the first lateral direction and wherein surfaces of the source/drain doped layers, surfaces of inner spacers, and end surfaces of the plurality of channel layers are vertically coplanar with each other (see 92 and 54s are coplanar and 91A is coplanar with 92 and 91B is coplanar with 91A and 91B is the coplanar between the two, the combination of which are considered as vertically coplanar with each other in some way).
Regarding claim 18, figs. 26A-B discloses wherein: a top surface of the isolation layer is coplanar with a bottom surface of the source/drain doped layers.
Regarding claim 19, fig. 26A of Young discloses further comprising: a dielectric layer 100 over the isolation layer, wherein the dielectric layer covers a portion of the plurality of channel layers and the gate structures, and exposes top surfaces of the gate structures.
Regarding claim 20, fig. 26A of Young discloses wherein: the plurality of channel layers includes a bottom channel layer between adjacent isolation layers along the first lateral direction, the bottom channel layer has a top surface higher than the top surface of the isolation layers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young.
Regarding claim 4, Young discloses claim 3, but does not disclose of wherein the sidewalls of the outer spacers are recessed with respect to the end surfaces of the plurality of channel layers by about 1 nm to about 5 nm.
However, although Lee is silent about the claimed range, it should be noted that a range does inherently exist in the fig. 21 of Lee reference, but it is not stated.
Therefore, the prior art of Lee provides foundation for experimental optimization and suggests a progress of changes in size/proportion in order to optimize the distance between the plurality of channels.
Therefore, while the structure of Lee does not quantitatively state a range, the courts have held that when the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is a size/proportion, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art form a device of Young wherein said range is about 1 nm to about 5 nm in order to optimize the distance between the plurality of channels.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893