DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the claims filed November 17, 2025.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 29, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, and 37 are pending
Response to Amendment(s)
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 29, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, and 37 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 29, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, and 37 are rejected to under 35 U.S.C 101 as not being directed to eligible subject matter based on the grounds set out in detail below:
Independent Claims 1, 6, and 13:
Eligibility Step 1 (does the subject matter fall within a statutory category?):
Independent Claims 1 falls within the statutory category of method
Independent Claim 6 falls within the statutory category of article of manufacture
Independent Claim 13 falls within the statutory category of machine
Eligibility Step 2A-1 (does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?): Independent claims 1, 6, and 13 claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim elements which set forth the abstract idea in claim 1 are:
A method, comprising: receiving, encoded information, wherein the encoded information comprises an equipment identification codes specific connection information;
establishing the different respective connection information
receiving respective diagnostic data
transmitting the respective diagnostic information and the different respective identification codes
The claim elements which set forth the abstract idea in claim 6 are:
capture, respective images of respective an optically encoded markers
process the respective images to decode the respective optically encoded markers and extract different respective identification codes and different respective connection information
Receive diagnostic data
transmit the respective diagnostic data and-the different respective identification codes
The claim elements which set forth the abstract idea in claim 13 are:
receive, encoded information wherein the encoded information comprises an equipment identification code of and associated equipment-specific connection information;
establish the associated equipment-specific connection information;
retrieve diagnostic data
capture, an image
identify a manufacturer of the dental equipment based on the equipment identification code;
transmit the image and the equipment identification code and the diagnostic data
receive, search results identifying one or more matching components,
the search results being generated by compare the captured image to components identified by the equipment identification code,
determining , that an appearance of the component in the image is different from an appearance of the component when new and consistent with the component being damaged, and identifying-, based on the determining, a replacement part and a preliminary diagnosis of a condition of the component.
This abstract idea is “managing personal behavior” within certain methods of organizing human activity as the substance of the claim recites managing the personal behavior someone would follow to identify an issue, search for a replacement part and identifying the part(s). See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
Eligibility Step 2A-2 (does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?): For Independent claim 1, 6, and 13 judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Independent claim 1 recites the additional claim elements below:
computer
a wireless communication chip of a mobile computing device
respective wireless signals of respective pieces of dental equipment
wireless connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and the respective pieces of dental equipment
an on-board diagnostic sensors
one or more network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and one or more servers
Examiner takes the applicable considerations stated in MPEP 2106.04 (d) and analyzes them below in light of the instant applications disclosure and claim elements as a whole.
Within the noted above claim, a computer is performing the abstract idea, and merely recited as “apply-it” as a general purpose computer (see instant application para. [0065])
The additional element, a wireless communication chip of a mobile computing device, is merely “apply-it” or equivalent to transmit data.
The additional element, respective wireless signals of respective pieces of dental equipment, is merely “apply-it” or equivalent to transmit data.
The additional element, wireless connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and the respective pieces of dental equipment, is merely “apply-it” or equivalent to transmit data.
The additional element, one or more network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and one or more servers, is merely “apply-it” or equivalent to transmit data.
The additional element, an on-board diagnostic sensor, is merely “apply-it” or equivalent to gather data
Independent claim 6 recites the additional claim elements below not already recited in claim 1:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executed by one or more processors of an apparatus comprising an image capture device and a wireless communication chip
Examiner takes the applicable considerations stated in MPEP 2106.04 (d) and analyzes them below in light of the instant applications disclosure and claim elements as a whole.
Within the noted above additional claim element, A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executed by one or more processors of an apparatus comprising an image capture device and a wireless communication chip, is performing the abstract idea and positively used as a tool to execute the abstract idea i.e. “apply-it” (see instant application para. [0065])
Independent claim 13 recites the additional claim elements below not already cited in claim 1 and 6:
a computing device comprising a wireless communication chip, an image capture device a processor, and a memory storing executable instructions
a database
Examiner takes the applicable considerations stated in MPEP 2106.04 (d) and analyzes them below in light of the instant applications disclosure and claim elements as a whole.
Within the noted above claim the additional element a computing device comprising a wireless communication chip, an image capture device a processor, and a memory storing executable instructions is performing the abstract idea and is recited in the manner of merely invoking the element as a tool to “apply-it” or an equivalent (see instant application para. [0065])
The additional element a database is recited in the manner of merely invoking the element as a tool to “apply-it” or an equivalent to review information
Accordingly, independent claims 1, 6, and 13 as a whole do not integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.04(d)(1).
Eligibility Step 2B (Does the claim amount to significantly more?): The independent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements as analyzed above in step 2A prong 2, are merely generally linking and/or applying the abstract idea therefore, do not amount to significantly more. The claims are patent ineligible.
Dependent Claims 3, 5, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 29, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, and 37:
Eligibility Step 1 (does the subject matter fall within a statutory category?):
The dependent claims 3, 5, 21, 22, 25, 28, 29, 33, 34, 35, 36, and 37 fall within the statutory category of method
The dependent claims 9-11 fall within the statutory category of article of manufacture
The dependent claim 14, 16, 19, 26, and 32 fall within the statutory category of system
Eligibility Step 2A-1 (does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?): Dependent claims 3, 5, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 29, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, and 37 claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims continue to limit the independent claims 1, 6, and 13 abstract idea by (1) further limiting the identification of matching replacement component(s) and (2) issue with the component(s). Therefore, the dependent claims inherit the same abstract idea which is “managing personal behavior” within certain methods of organizing human activity. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2).
Eligibility Step 2A-2 (does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?): For claims 3, 5, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 19, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 29, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, and 37 this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The dependent claims recite the below additional claim elements not already recited in the independent claims:
An application program interface (API)
User interface controls
A radio beacon of the piece of dental equipment
NFC tag or Bluetooth beacon
an adjustable chair, a dental light, a sterilizer, a dental implement, a vacuum pump, a compressor or an air purifier
first and second wireless communication chips
a machine learning algorithm
Examiner takes the applicable considerations stated in MPEP 2106.04 (d) and analyzes them below in light of the instant applications disclosure and claim elements as a whole.
The additional element, An application program interface (API), is merely generally linking the abstract idea to the technological environment of implementation by computers
The additional element, user interface controls, is merely used as a tool to execute the abstract idea and thus “apply-it” to gather data
The additional element, A radio beacon of the piece of dental equipment , is merely used as a tool to execute the abstract idea and thus “apply-it” to transmit data
The additional element, NFC tag or Bluetooth beacon, is merely used as a tool to execute the abstract idea and thus “apply-it”
The additional element, an adjustable chair, a dental light, a sterilizer, a dental implement, a vacuum pump, a compressor or an air purifier., is generally linking the abstract idea to the technological environment of dentistry
The additional element, first and second wireless communication chips , is merely used as a tool to execute the abstract idea and thus “apply-it”
The additional element, machine learning algorithm, is merely used as a tool to execute the abstract idea and thus “apply-it”
Accordingly, the dependent claims as a whole do not integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(f) and 2106.04(d)(1).
Eligibility Step 2B (Does the claim amount to significantly more?): The dependent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the computer elements as analyzed above in step 2A prong 2, are merely apply it and/or generally linking with general computer elements and therefore, do not amount to significantly more. The claims are patent ineligible
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 11, 21, 28, 29, and 36 are rejected to under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McQuown et. al (hereinafter McQuown) (US20050144183A1) in view of Moore (US11619524B2)
As per claim 1, McQuown teaches:
A computer implemented method, comprising: receiving, via a wireless communication chip of a mobile computing device, respective wireless signals …[…]… wherein the respective wireless signals comprise different respective ,identification codes and different respective connection information ([0053] discloses, “In those embodiments and/or situations where it is necessary for the technician to extract information from the locomotive 12, the technician connects the portable unit 14 to a locomotive interface (e.g., an Ethernet connection) to communicate with the locomotive on-board monitoring System. The portable unit user interface guides the collection of information from the locomotive 12 and also provides memory for temporary data Storage. Later, the data can be transferred to the railroad service shop 16 and/or to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20. In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 includes a bar code Scanner for reading the locomotive identification number, part numbers, and Serial numbers. Use of a Scanner for parts identification ensures accurate information feedback to both the parts ordering module 58 and the ordered parts tracking module 60. In another embodiment the portable unit 14 includes a camera for providing visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20.” And see [0054] discloses, “In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 functions as a Standalone device, performing the transactions discussed above without physical connection to a data portal. As shown in FIG. 3, the portable unit can comprise various Styles and configurations, designated by reference character 70. The portable units 70 communicate via an RF wireless link, with one or more acceSS points 72. The access points 72 is connected to an Ethernet hub 74, which then provides connectivity to a host server 76, via an Ethernet based media 78, employing, for example, the TCP/IP protocol. The access points 72 serve as both receivers and transmitters (i.e., transceivers) to both receive information from and transmit information to the portable units 70, including the information discussed above in conjunction with FIG. 2. In one embodiment, one access point 72 can Support up to 400 portable units. Various data Security measures, including encryption can be employed on the communication link.”)
establishing respective wireless connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and …[…]…based on the different respective connection ([0028] discloses, “In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the com ponent, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0035] discloses, “An interface unit 40 is shown generally for conditioning data transferred between the various information Sources of FIG. 2 and the portable unit 14. The interface unit 40 provides data conditioning, modulation or demodulation of a carrier Signal to transmit or recover an information Signal and Signal conditioning for baseband transmission, as dependent on the nature of the communications channel. The interface unit 40 supports both wired and wireless transmissions and their related protocols. Both the portable unit 14 and the MDSC 20 communicate bi-directionally with the various databases and modules of FIG. 2 for the purpose of entering data from the databases and modules.” And see [0054])
receiving respective diagnostic data from respective on-board diagnostic sensor …[…]…over the respective wireless connections; ([0027] discloses, “The portable unit 14 can also interrogate an on-board monitoring and diagnostic System (not specifically shown in FIG. 1) of the locomotive 12. The on-board monitoring and diagnostic System is described in detail in the patent application entitled “On-Board Monitor for a Railroad Locomotive', application number 09/696, 368, filed on Oct. 25, 2000, (Attorney docket number 624226.133/20-LC-1978), which is assigned to the owner of the present invention. The on-board monitor monitors certain operational parameters on the locomotive 12 and reports faults and anomalous conditions directly to the MDSC 20 via an independent communications System, as described in the aforementioned patent application.” And see [0032] discloses, “Although not illustrated in FIG. 1, it is well known in the art that the locomotive 12 may have an on-board monitoring System for monitoring and recording data related to various operational aspects. The on-board monitoring System identifies faulty components and provides fault codes for use by the repair technician in diagnosing the problem. Also, the on-board monitoring System records the number of miles traveled, the amount of fuel consumed, the number of Service hours, etc. In Some locomotives, there may be more than one on-board monitoring System, each associated with different locomotive Subsystems. In any case, the technician, using his portable unit 14, can acceSS data Stored in the on-board monitoring System and transmit it to any of the recipient sites shown in FIG. 1. This operational information may be desirable in the diagnostic and repair process. In Some cases, depending upon the nature of the fault or anomalous condition, the on-board monitor automatically transmits this information back to the MDSC 20, where a repair recommendation is formulated and then made available to the portable unit 14, in a manner to be discussed further below.” / examiner notes that someone of ordinary skill in the art under BRI would understand that an onboard diagnostics system as disclosed includes sensors.)
establishing one or more network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and one or more servers; (see e.g. [0066] and see Fig. 1) and transmitting the respective diagnostic information and the different respective identification codes to the one or more servers over the one or more network connections. ([0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14. Still or video images can be provided by Such a camera. The Video information may also be accompanied by live audio information (as spoken by the technician), thereby allowing the technician to communicate with personnel at the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 to confer about a particular problem or repair action. In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the com ponent, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” see [0058] discloses, “Information sent from the portable unit 14 to the MDSC 20 includes problems with a locomotive, the current Status of locomotive Systems, repair requests, diagnostic information and Video clips and Still photographs.”)
However, McQuown does not explicitly teach the underlined portions:
A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving, via at least one a-wireless communication chip of a mobile computing devices respective wireless signals of respective pieces of dental equipment, wherein the respective wireless signals comprise different respective ,identification codes and different respective connection information of the respective pieces of dental equipment;
establishing respective a-wireless connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and the respective pieces of dental equipment based on the different respective connection information
receiving respective diagnostic data from respective on-board diagnostic sensors of the respective pieces of dental equipment over the respective wireless connections;
However, Moore does teach the underlined portions:
A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving, via at least one a-wireless communication chip of a mobile computing devices respective wireless signals of respective pieces of dental equipment, wherein the respective wireless signals comprise different respective ,identification codes and different respective connection information of the respective pieces of dental equipment;
establishing respective a-wireless connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and the respective pieces of dental equipment based on the different respective connection information
receiving respective diagnostic data from respective on-board diagnostic sensors of the respective pieces of dental equipment over the respective wireless connections;
(Col. 3 lines 44-48 discloses, a dental apparatus that is monitored in case of replacement or repair is needed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown with teachings of Moore since the combination of the references is merely simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result (KSR rationale B). Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself—that is, in the substitution the dental equipment of Moore for the equipment (see McQuown e.g. abstract) means of the primary and secondary reference. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
As per claim 5, McQuown further teaches:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising; receiving, from the one or more servers, via one or more network connections, respective preliminary diagnosis…[…]…, wherein the respective preliminary diagnoses are generated from the respective diagnostic information ([0026] discloses, “Repair, maintenance, and diagnostic information is exchanged between the portable unit 14 and the MSDC 20 via the railroad service shop 16. Parts information is eXchanged between the portable unit 14 and a parts requiSition center 22. Further, contractual information, Such as warranty information, is exchanged with a customer center 24. Generally, the parts requisition center 22, the customer center 24, and the MDSC 20 are located remote from the service shop 16 and the service yard 13. The requisition center 22, the customer center 24, the MDSC 20, and the Service shop 16 may be linked via a global information network, Such as the Internet and the World Wide Web, via an intranet or by point-to-point communications System, examples of which are discussed above. Because the Internet provides the ability to communicate data and information in a multimedia format, it is especially useful for communicating and displaying the large amount of data associated with the repair, maintenance and diagnosis of the locomotive 12. 0.027 Note that in another embodiment, the portable unit 14 can communicate directly (via a wired or wireless System using any of the communications techniques discussed above) with the parts requisition center 22, the customer center 24 and the MDSC 20, rather than communicating through the service shop 16. The portable unit 14 can also interrogate an on-board monitoring and diagnostic System (not specifically shown in FIG. 1) of the locomotive 12.” And see [0028] discloses, “The portable unit 14 downloads repair recommendations generated by analysis Software and/or locomotive repair experts at the MDSC 20. From the por table unit 14, the technician also has access to repair resources, Such as repair manuals, field modification instructions, Schematics, block diagrams, etc. Special Software tools related to the repair task are also available at the portable unit 14, as transmitted from the diagnostic Service center 20. The portable unit 14 allows easy and seamless integration of the repair recommendation with the railroad's work order System as managed and controlled at the Service shop 16. The System provides parts ordering and parts tracking g via communications with the parts requisition center 22.” And see [0029] discloses, “It will be appreciated that the present invention provides the technician with essentially all the information he needs to effectively conduct the diagnosis and repair procedures, relying on information that is transmitted from Sources distant from the repair Site.”)
However, McQuown does not teach the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the one or more servers, via the one or more network connections, respective preliminary diagnoses of the respective pieces of dental equipment, wherein the respective preliminary diagnoses are generated from the respective diagnostic information.
However, Moore does teach the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the one or more servers, via the one or more network connections, respective preliminary diagnoses of the respective pieces of dental equipment, wherein the respective preliminary diagnoses are generated from the respective diagnostic information. (Col. 3 lines 44-48 discloses, a dental apparatus that is monitored in case of replacement or repair is needed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine McQuown and Moore for the same reasons given above for claim 1.
As per claim 6, McQuown teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus comprising an image capture device and atleast one wireless communication chip, cause the apparatus to: capture, via the image capture device, respective images of respective an optically encoded markers …[…]…; ([0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14. Still or video images can be provided by Such a camera. The Video information may also be accompanied by live audio information (as spoken by the technician), thereby allowing the technician to communicate with perSonnel at the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 to confer about a particular problem or repair action. In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the component, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0053] discloses, “In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 includes a bar code Scanner for reading the locomotive identification number, part numbers, and Serial numbers.” And see [0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14. Still or video images can be provided by Such a camera. The Video information may also be accompanied by live audio information (as spoken by the technician), thereby allowing the technician to communicate with perSonnel at the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 to confer about a particular problem or repair action. In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the component, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0053] discloses, “In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 includes a bar code Scanner for reading the locomotive identification number, part numbers, and Serial numbers.”)
process the respective images to decode the respective optically encoded markers and extract different respective identification codes and different respective connection information of …[…]… ([0028] discloses, “In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the component, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0053] discloses, “In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 includes a bar code Scanner for reading the locomotive identification number, part numbers, and Serial numbers.”)
establish, based on the different respective information, respective wireless connections between the atleast one wireless communication chip …[…]…([0028] discloses, “In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the com ponent, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0035] discloses, “An interface unit 40 is shown generally for conditioning data transferred between the various information Sources of FIG. 2 and the portable unit 14. The interface unit 40 provides data conditioning, modulation or demodulation of a carrier Signal to transmit or recover an information Signal and Signal conditioning for baseband transmission, as dependent on the nature of the communications channel. The interface unit 40 supports both wired and wireless transmissions and their related protocols. Both the portable unit 14 and the MDSC 20 communicate bi-directionally with the various databases and modules of FIG. 2 for the purpose of entering data from the databases and modules.” And see [0054])
receive, over the respective wireless connections respective diagnostic data from respective circuits …[…]…([0027] discloses, “The portable unit 14 can also interrogate an on-board monitoring and diagnostic System (not specifically shown in FIG. 1) of the locomotive 12. The on-board monitoring and diagnostic System is described in detail in the patent application entitled “On-Board Monitor for a Railroad Locomotive', application number 09/696, 368, filed on Oct. 25, 2000, (Attorney docket number 624226.133/20-LC-1978), which is assigned to the owner of the present invention. The on-board monitor monitors certain operational parameters on the locomotive 12 and reports faults and anomalous conditions directly to the MDSC 20 via an independent communications System, as described in the aforementioned patent application.” And see [0032] discloses, “Although not illustrated in FIG. 1, it is well known in the art that the locomotive 12 may have an on-board monitoring System for monitoring and recording data related to various operational aspects. The on-board monitoring System identifies faulty components and provides fault codes for use by the repair technician in diagnosing the problem. Also, the on-board monitoring System records the number of miles traveled, the amount of fuel consumed, the number of Service hours, etc. In Some locomotives, there may be more than one on-board monitoring System, each associated with different locomotive Subsystems. In any case, the technician, using his portable unit 14, can acceSS data Stored in the on-board monitoring System and transmit it to any of the recipient sites shown in FIG. 1. This operational information may be desirable in the diagnostic and repair process. In Some cases, depending upon the nature of the fault or anomalous condition, the on-board monitor automatically transmits this information back to the MDSC 20, where a repair recommendation is formulated and then made available to the portable unit 14, in a manner to be discussed further below.” / examiner notes that someone of ordinary skill in the art under BRI would understand that an onboard diagnostics system as disclosed includes sensors.)
establish one or more network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and transmit the respective diagnostic data and-the different respective identification codes to the one or more servers over the one or more network connections ([0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14.” …[…]…In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the com ponent, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see see [0058] discloses, “Information sent from the portable unit 14 to the MDSC 20 includes problems with a locomotive, the current Status of locomotive Systems, repair requests, diagnostic information and Video clips and Still photographs. Locomotive problems may be observed directly by the technician or downloaded from the locomotive on-board monitoring System as previously discussed.”)
However, McQuown does not teach the underlined portions :
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus comprising an image capture device and at least one a-wireless communication chip, cause the apparatus to: capture, via the image capture device, respective images of respective an optically encoded markers of respective pieces of dental equipment; process the respective images to decode the respective optically encoded markers and extract different respective identification codes and different respective connection information of the respective pieces of dental equipment; establish, the respective pieces of dental equipment; receive, over the respective wireless connectionsof the respective pieces of dental equipment; establish one or more network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and transmit the
However, Moore teaches the underlined portions:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus comprising an image capture device and at least one a-wireless communication chip, cause the apparatus to: capture, via the image capture device, respective images of respective an optically encoded markers of respective pieces of dental equipment; process the respective images to decode the respective optically encoded markers and extract different respective identification codes and different respective connection information of the respective pieces of dental equipment; establish, different respective information, respective wireless connections the respective pieces of dental equipment; receive, over the respective wireless connectionsof the respective pieces of dental equipment; establish one or more network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and transmit the (Col. 3 lines 44-48 discloses, a dental apparatus that is monitored in case of replacement or repair is needed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine McQuown with those of Moore for the same reasons given above for claim 1.
As per claim 9, McQuown teaches:
The computer-readable medium of claim 6, wherein the instructions are to further cause the apparatus to: capture, via the image capture device, a respective image of at least a portion of a respective component of each respective piece of dental equipment; transmit the respective captured images to the one or more servers over the one or more network connections; receive, one or more network connections, from the one or more servers, one or more respective component identifiers corresponding to the at least the portion of the respective components depicted in the respective captured image and one or more links to respective documentation associated with the one or more respective component identifiers. (([0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14. Still or video images can be provided by Such a camera. The Video information may also be accompanied by live audio information (as spoken by the technician), thereby allowing the technician to communicate with perSonnel at the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 to confer about a particular problem or repair action. In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the component, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0053] discloses, “In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 includes a bar code Scanner for reading the locomotive identification number, part numbers, and Serial numbers.” And see [0058] discloses, “Information sent from the portable unit 14 to the MDSC 20 includes problems with a locomotive, the current Status of locomotive Systems, repair requests, diagnostic information and Video clips and Still photographs. Locomotive problems may be observed directly by the technician or downloaded from the locomotive on-board monitoring System as previously discussed.” And see [0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14.” …[…]…In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the com ponent, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0029] discloses, “It will be appreciated that the present invention provides the technician with essentially all the information he needs to effectively conduct the diagnosis and repair procedures, relying on information that is transmitted from Sources distant from the repair Site.” And see [0066] discloses, “In one embodiment of the present invention, the portable unit 14 can communicate directly with the diagnosis and repair System 140, thus rendering the portable unit Server 141 unnecessary. In Such an embodiment, the tasks performed by the portable unit server 141 are performed by the diagnosis and repair system 140 and/or by the portable unit 14.” And see [0067] discloses, “The portable unit 14 displays the repair instructions to the repair technician and creates a record of the Service event. Among the functions of the portable unit 14 are: providing a log in and log out interface, displaying repair instructions and all Supporting technical documentation (including multimedia information), accepting repair feedback information and updating the repair feedback file when a repair action is finished and communicating with the locomotive 12 to extract information from the on-board monitoring system 194 and the other locomotive subsystems 196.” And see [0058] discloses, “Information sent from the portable unit 14 to the MDSC 20 includes problems with a locomotive, the current Status of locomotive Systems, repair requests, diagnostic information and Video clips and Still photographs. Locomotive problems may be observed directly by the technician or downloaded from the locomotive on-board monitoring System as previously discussed.”)
As per claim 11, McQuown further teaches:
The computer-readable medium of claim 6, wherein: the apparatus is a mobile computing device; the instructions comprise an application to be executed on the mobile device; and the application is to provide a user interface comprising a control configured to initiate the capture of the respective images of the respective optically encoded markers ([0054] discloses, “Information is conveniently displayed on the portable unit 14 at the click of a mouse, the touch of a Screen, a voice command, etc. dependent upon the Specific operational features of the various portable units 70 illustrated in FIG. 3. In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 comprises a handheld ViA computer, loaded with the appropriate Software applications, available from ViA, Inc., of Burnsville, Minn.” And see [0056] discloses, “The portable unit 14 includes a graphical user interface. An exemplary screen is shown in FIG. 4. The information is presented in a clear and concise Style So that users with all ranges of experience can adequately use and understand the displayed information.” And see [0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14…[…]… In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the com ponent, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.”)
As per claim 21, McQuown does not teach:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the different respective identification codes identify the respective pieces of dental equipment as atleast one of an adjustable chair, a dental light, a sterilizer, a dental implement, a vacuum pump, a compressor or an air purifier.
However, Moore does teach the underlined portion:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the different respective identification codes identify the respective pieces of dental equipment as atleast one of an adjustable chair, a dental light, a sterilizer, a dental implement, a vacuum pump, a compressor or an air purifier. (Col. 19 lines 15-67, e.g. compressor)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted features of McQuown with teachings of Moore for the same reasons given for claim 1.
As per claim 28, McQuown further teaches the underlined portion:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the respective wireless signals comprise a radio signal from a radio beacon of at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment ([0054] discloses, “The portable units 70 communicate via an RF wireless link, with one or more acceSS points 72.”)
However, McQuown does not teach the underlined portion:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the respective wireless signals comprise a radio signal from a radio beacon of at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment
However, Moore does teach the underlined portions:
The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the respective wireless signals comprise a radio signal from a radio beacon of at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment(Col. 3 lines 44-48 discloses, a dental apparatus that is monitored in case of replacement or repair is needed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown with teachings of Moore for the same reasons given in claim 1.
As per claim 29, McQuown further teaches the underlined portions:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the respective wireless signals comprise a unidirectional radio signal from at least one of the respective pieces ([0054] discloses, “The portable units 70 communicate via an RF wireless link, with one or more access points 72.” / examiner notes RFID uses unidirectional radio signal)
However, McQuown does not teach the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the respective wireless signals comprise a unidirectional radio signal from at least one of the respective pieces
However, Moore does teach the underlined portions:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the respective wireless signals comprise a unidirectional radio signal from at least one of the respective pieces equipment.(Col. 3 lines 44-48 discloses, a dental apparatus that is monitored in case of replacement or repair is needed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown with teachings of Moore for the same reasons given in claim 1.
As per claim 36, McQuown does teach the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the at least one wireless communication chip comprises first and second wireless communication chips; the first wireless communication chip has a smaller range than the second wireless communication chip; the first wireless communication chip receives the wireless signals of the respective pieces of dental equipment and establishes the respective wireless connections; and the second wireless communication chip establishes the one or more network connections. ([0028] discloses, “In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the com ponent, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0035] discloses, “An interface unit 40 is shown generally for conditioning data transferred between the various information Sources of FIG. 2 and the portable unit 14. The interface unit 40 provides data conditioning, modulation or demodulation of a carrier Signal to transmit or recover an information Signal and Signal conditioning for baseband transmission, as dependent on the nature of the communications channel. The interface unit 40 supports both wired and wireless transmissions and their related protocols. Both the portable unit 14 and the MDSC 20 communicate bi-directionally with the various databases and modules of FIG. 2 for the purpose of entering data from the databases and modules.” And see [0054] / examiner interprets the communication chips as wireless communication within for e.g. the portable unit and the MDSC to communicate bi-directionally)
However, McQuown does not teach the underlined portion below:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the at least one wireless communication chip comprises first and second wireless communication chips; the first wireless communication chip has a smaller range than the second wireless communication chip; the first wireless communication chip receives the wireless signals of the respective pieces of dental equipment and establishes the respective wireless connections; and the second wireless communication chip establishes the one or more network connections.
However, Moore does teach the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the at least one wireless communication chip comprises first and second wireless communication chips; the first wireless communication chip has a smaller range than the second wireless communication chip; the first wireless communication chip receives the wireless signals of the respective pieces of dental equipment and establishes the respective wireless connections; and the second wireless communication chip establishes the one or more network connections. (Col. 3 lines 44-48 discloses, a dental apparatus that is monitored in case of replacement or repair is needed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine McQuown and Moore for the same reasons given above for claim 1.
Claims 3, 10, and 37 are rejected to under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McQuown et. al (hereinafter McQuown) (US20050144183A1) in view of Moore (US11619524B2) and in further view of Cruz (US20140244439A1)
As per claim 3, McQuown and Moore do not teach:
The method of claim 37, further comprising receiving, from the one or more servers, via the one or more network connections, a list of replacement parts for the one or more matching components, the list of replacement parts being generated from the one or more matching components.
However, Cruz does teach:
The method of claim 37, further comprising receiving, from the one or more servers, via the one or more network connections, a list of replacement parts for the one or more matching components, the list of replacement parts being generated from the one or more matching components. (see [0002] discloses, “The present description relates generally to procurement of replacement and/or maintenance parts, and more particularly to methods and systems for the nonintrusive identification and ordering of component parts.” And see [0032] discloses, “An example user interface 500 displaying relevant information regarding the components associated with a match of the object 302a with the components in the data repository 69A is displayed in FIG. 5. In the illustrated example, the list 500 includes a manufacturer 502 and model number 504 of the matched object as well as a description 506 and a listing 508 of the individual component parts associated with the matched object.” And [0019] discloses, “Similarly, the RAM 30, hard drive 38, and/or peripheral memory devices may be used to store computer executable instructions comprising an operating system 46, one or more applications programs 48 (such as a Web browser, mobile application, etc.), other program modules 50, and/or program data 52.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown, Moore, and Cruz for the as they both teach the need to find replacement parts via a computer based system and Cruz would only improve this by giving a list via one replacement part and utilize less resources.
As per claim 10, McQuown does not explicitly teach:
The computer-readable medium of claim 6, wherein the instructions are to further cause the apparatus to: communicate, via the one or more network connections, a list of possible replacement parts for the respective pieces of dental equipment to an application programming interface (API) hosted by the one or more servers; and the API is accessible by at least one of an equipment manufacturer, a sales and service dealer, or a parts provider.
However Moore does teach the underlined portion:
The computer-readable medium of claim 6, wherein the instructions are to further cause the apparatus to: communicate, via the one or more network connections, a list of possible replacement parts for the respective pieces of dental equipment to an application programming interface (API) hosted by the one or more servers; and the API is accessible by at least one of an equipment manufacturer, a sales and service dealer, or a parts provider.
However Moore does not teach the underlined portion:
The computer-readable medium of claim 6, wherein the instructions are to further cause the apparatus to: communicate, via the one or more network connections, a list of possible replacement parts for the respective pieces of dental equipment to an application programming interface (API) hosted by the one or more servers; and the API is accessible by at least one of an equipment manufacturer, a sales and service dealer, or a parts provider.
However Cruz does teach:
The computer-readable medium of claim 6, wherein the instructions are to further cause the apparatus to communicate, via the second data link, a list of possible replacement parts for the respective pieces of dental equipment to an application programming interface (API) hosted by the one or more servers; and the API is accessible by at least one of an equipment manufacturer, a sales and service dealer, or a parts provider. ([0032] discloses, “An example user interface 500 displaying relevant information regarding the components associated with a match of the object 302a with the components in the data repository 69A is displayed in FIG. 5. In the illustrated example, the list 500 includes a manufacturer 502 and model number 504 of the matched object as well as a description 506 and a listing 508 of the individual component parts associated with the matched object.” And [0019] discloses, “Similarly, the RAM 30, hard drive 38, and/or peripheral memory devices may be used to store computer executable instructions comprising an operating system 46, one or more applications programs 48 (such as a Web browser, mobile application, etc.), other program modules 50, and/or program data 52.” And see [0035] discloses, “In addition to or alternative to selecting and ordering the matched part from an ordering process, the desired part may be self-manufactured through a fabrication or additive manufacturing process Such as a three-dimension (3D) printing process. It will be appreciated by one of ordinary skill in the art that the term 3D printing process, 3D printer, etc. in this context may be broadly construed to mean any additive manufacturing process or additive manufacturing device, including, for example, fused deposition modeling (FDM), direct metallaser sintering (DMLS), etc. In at least one example, the desired part may be rendered as a computer-readable manufacturing file. Such as a CAD file, and sent to a remote and/or local 3D printer for rendering of the desired part. In this manner, the user can confirm the part is the correct part, can utilize the part as a permanent and/or temporary replacement part, and/or may utilize the printed part in any other Suitable manner as desired.” And see [0017] discloses, “With reference to the figures, and more particularly, with reference to FIG. 1, the following discloses an example system 10 as well as other example systems and methods for providing nonintrusive identification and ordering of parts on a networked and/or standalone computer, Such as a personal computer or mobile device. To this end, a processing device 20", illustrated in the exemplary form of a mobile communication device, a processing device 20', illustrated in the exemplary form of a computer system, and a processing device 20 illustrated in schematic form, are provided with executable instructions to, for example, provide a means for a customer, e.g., a user, client, corporate shopper, buyer, consumer, Service technician, etc., to access a host system server 68 and, among other things, be connected to a hosted vendor purchasing system, e.g., a website, mobile application, etc.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine McQuown, Moore, and Cruz’s teachings for the same reasons given above for claim 1 and 3.
As per claim 37, McQuown further teaches:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: capturing, using an image capture device integrated with or connected to, the mobile computing device, an image of at least a portion of a component of at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment; transmitting the image and the respective identification code of the at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment to the one or more servers over the one or more network connections; and receiving, from the one or more servers, via the one or more network connections, search results identifying one or more matching components, ([0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14. Still or video images can be provided by Such a camera. The Video information may also be accompanied by live audio information (as spoken by the technician), thereby allowing the technician to communicate with perSonnel at the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 to confer about a particular problem or repair action. In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the component, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0053] discloses, “In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 includes a bar code Scanner for reading the locomotive identification number, part numbers, and Serial numbers.” And see [0058] discloses, “Information sent from the portable unit 14 to the MDSC 20 includes problems with a locomotive, the current Status of locomotive Systems, repair requests, diagnostic information and Video clips and Still photographs. Locomotive problems may be observed directly by the technician or downloaded from the locomotive on-board monitoring System as previously discussed.” And see [0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14.” …[…]…In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the com ponent, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0029] discloses, “It will be appreciated that the present invention provides the technician with essentially all the information he needs to effectively conduct the diagnosis and repair procedures, relying on information that is transmitted from Sources distant from the repair Site.” And see [0066] discloses, “In one embodiment of the present invention, the portable unit 14 can communicate directly with the diagnosis and repair System 140, thus rendering the portable unit Server 141 unnecessary. In Such an embodiment, the tasks performed by the portable unit server 141 are performed by the diagnosis and repair system 140 and/or by the portable unit 14.” And see [0067] discloses, “The portable unit 14 displays the repair instructions to the repair technician and creates a record of the Service event. Among the functions of the portable unit 14 are: providing a log in and log out interface, displaying repair instructions and all Supporting technical documentation (including multimedia information), accepting repair feedback information and updating the repair feedback file when a repair action is finished and communicating with the locomotive 12 to extract information from the on-board monitoring system 194 and the other locomotive subsystems 196.” And see [0058] discloses, “Information sent from the portable unit 14 to the MDSC 20 includes problems with a locomotive, the current Status of locomotive Systems, repair requests, diagnostic information and Video clips and Still photographs. Locomotive problems may be observed directly by the technician or downloaded from the locomotive on-board monitoring System as previously discussed.”)
However, McQuown does not teach the underlined portions:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: capturing, using an image capture device integrated with or connected to, the mobile computing device, an image of at least a portion of a component of at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment; transmitting the image and the respective identification code of the at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment to the one or more servers over the one or more network connections; and receiving, from the one or more servers, via the one or more network connections, search results identifying one or more matching components,
the search results being generated by applying a machine learning algorithm to compare the captured image against a database of components identified by the respective identification code of the at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment.
However, Moore does teach the underlined portions:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: capturing, using an image capture device integrated with or connected to, the mobile computing device, an image of at least a portion of a component of at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment; transmitting the image and the respective identification code of the at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment to the one or more servers over the one or more network connections; and receiving, from the one or more servers, via the one or more network connections, search results identifying one or more matching components,
the search results being generated by applying a machine learning algorithm to compare the captured image against a database of components identified by the respective identification code of the at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment.(Col. 3 lines 44-48 discloses, a dental apparatus that is monitored in case of replacement or repair is needed)
However, Moore also does not teach the underlined portions:
the search results being generated by applying a machine learning algorithm to compare the captured image against a database of components identified by the respective identification code of the at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment.
However, Cruz does teach the underlined portions:
the search results being generated by applying a machine learning algorithm to compare the captured image against a database of components identified by the respective identification code of the at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment. (see [0028] discloses, “Still further, instead of, or in addition to the scanning of the full object 212 as described above, it will be appreciated that the scanning process may scan a portion of the object 212 including specific identifying characteristics and/or codes, Such as, for example, part numbers, bar codes, model numbers, etc. For example, in some instances, the shape, mark, codes, and/or other identifying characteristics of the part scanned may be unique so as to enable identification of the target object 212 without necessitating a complete object” and see [0030] discloses, “After rendering, the scanned version of the object 302a is processed through a recognition algorithm at a block 306. It will be appreciated that the recognition process 306 may be a manual process (e.g. a user must match the rendered component to a parts listing, may be an automated process (e.g., an algorithm matches the component), or may be a combination thereof. In this example, the image recognition algorithm first identifies at least one component of the object 302a to be matched and automatically matches at least one of the characteristics of the identified component with one or more of the vendor components stored in any of the vendor databases Such as, for instance, information stored in the data repository 68A.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted features of McQuown and Moore teachings as previously cited with Cruz teachings of training a machine learning model to determine damaged parts, the motivation being McQuown ([0002]-[0010], [0036]), Cruz (see ([0004]-[0005]), and Moore (Col. 3 lines 1-37) teach the need for a more automated data analysis of equipment to prevent errors and human comprehension mistakes in their disclosures today and utilize machine learning for repairs, therefore the combination of Cruz’s’s machine learning would be predictable to increase the accuracy and automation of checking equipment as well as reduce resources needed to ensure no mistakes occurred and can predictably be applied on a general within the confines of a general purpose computer.
Claims 33, 34, and 35 are rejected to under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McQuown et. al (hereinafter McQuown) (US20050144183A1) in view of Moore (US11619524B2) and in further view of Lagoni et. al (hereinafter Lagoni) (US20200349626A1)
As per claim 33, McQuown does not teach:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying different respective manufacturers of the respective pieces of dental equipment based on the different respective identification codes; wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting the respective diagnostic information and the different respective identification codes to different respective servers of the different respective manufacturers over the one or more network connections based on the identifying.
However, Moore teaches the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying different respective manufacturers of the respective pieces of dental equipment based on the different respective identification codes; wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting the respective diagnostic information and the different respective identification codes to different respective servers of the different respective manufacturers over the one or more network connections based on the identifying. (Col. 3 lines 44-48 discloses, a dental apparatus that is monitored in case of replacement or repair is needed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown with teachings of Moore for the same reasons given in claim 1.
However, Moore also does not teach the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying different respective manufacturers of the respective pieces of dental equipment based on the different respective identification codes; wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting the respective diagnostic information and the different respective identification codes to different respective servers of the different respective manufacturers over the one or more network connections based on the identifying.
However, Lagoni does teach the underlined portions:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying different respective manufacturers of the respective pieces of dental equipment based on the different respective identification codes; wherein the transmitting comprises transmitting the respective diagnostic information and the different respective identification codes to different respective servers of the different respective manufacturers over the one or more network connections based on the identifying.([0032] discloses, “The query analyzer module 150 can be configured to determine a specific model of a product associated with the search for compatible replacement parts . This can be accomplished using a designated user interface element , stored information about the user , by analyzing a search query received from the user device 102 , analyzing images , analyzing product identification tags , or the like . For example , a user interface element can be displayed on a networked site requesting or verifying a specific model number in conjunction with the search for replacement parts . In some embodiments , the query analyzer module 150 can receive this information from the user device 102 in an interaction separate from the search query . Examples of such user interface elements are described herein with reference to FIGS . 5 and 7” and see [0026] discloses, “The replacement part system can include a replacement part compatibility data store that includes information about product models and compatible parts , wherein the compatible parts can be provided by multiple sellers , vendors , manufacturers , etc. Using this data store , the replacement part system can identify compatible parts provided by any number of vendors . For example , the replacement part system can list parts that are compatible with a particular model of oven , including OEM parts and generic parts” and see [0047] discloses, “The replacement part system 104 can be a computing system configured to determine intent to purchase replacement parts , compile lists of compatible replacement parts , generate personalized listings of replacement parts , and / or link generic parts from vendors to compatible models using OEM part number For example , the replacement part system 104 can be a physical server or group of physical servers that may be accessed via the network 110,”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown and Moore with the recognition and component/part matching in as previously cited in Lagoni, for the same reasoning given for claims 1 and 3.
As per claim 34, McQuown and Moore do not explicitly teach:
The computer-implemented method of claim 33, further comprising maintaining the one or more network connections as multiple continuous network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and the different respective servers.
However, Lagoni does explicitly teach:
The computer-implemented method of claim 33, further comprising maintaining the one or more network connections as multiple continuous network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and the different respective servers.([0042] discloses, “The replacement part system 104 may include multiple distinct computers or machines , some of which may be assigned to different tasks than others . The system components may communicate with each other via one or more communication networks 110. The network 110 may be a publicly accessible network of linked networks , possi bly operated by various distinct parties , such as the Internet . In certain embodiments , the network 110 may include a private network , personal area network , local area network , wide area network , cable network , satellite network , cellular telephone network , etc. or combination thereof , each with access to and / or from the Internet” and see [0046] discloses, “The user devices 102 can include a wide variety of computing devices , including personal computing devices , terminal computing devices , laptop computing devices , tab let computing devices , electronic reader devices , mobile devices ( e.g. , mobile phones , media players , handheld gam ing devices , etc. ) , wearable devices with network access and program execution capabilities ( e.g. , " smart watches ” or " smart eyewear ” ) , wireless devices , set - top boxes , gaming consoles , entertainment systems , televisions with network access and program execution capabilities ( e.g. , “ smart TVs ” ) , and various other electronic devices and appliances . Individual user devices 102 may execute a browser appli cation 120 to communicate via the network 110 with other computing systems , such as the replacement part system 104 , in order to search for replacement parts . The user devices 102 may execute the browser application 120 that can be used by a user to access a page that provides replacement parts listings.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown and Moore with the recognition and component/part matching in as previously cited in Lagoni, for the same reasoning given for claims 1 and 3.
As per claim 35, McQuown does not teach:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising maintaining the respective wireless connections as multiple continuous network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and the respective pieces of dental equipment.
However, Moore does teach the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising maintaining the respective wireless connections as multiple continuous network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and the respective pieces of dental equipment. (Col. 3 lines 44-48 discloses, a dental apparatus that is monitored in case of replacement or repair is needed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine McQuown and Moore for the same reasons given above for claim 1.
However, Moore also does not teach the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising maintaining the respective wireless connections as multiple continuous network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and the respective pieces of dental equipment.
However, Lagoni does teach the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising maintaining the respective wireless connections as multiple continuous network connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and the respective pieces of dental equipment. .([0042] discloses, “The replacement part system 104 may include multiple distinct computers or machines , some of which may be assigned to different tasks than others . The system components may communicate with each other via one or more communication networks 110. The network 110 may be a publicly accessible network of linked networks , possi bly operated by various distinct parties , such as the Internet . In certain embodiments , the network 110 may include a private network , personal area network , local area network , wide area network , cable network , satellite network , cellular telephone network , etc. or combination thereof , each with access to and / or from the Internet” and see [0046] discloses, “The user devices 102 can include a wide variety of computing devices , including personal computing devices , terminal computing devices , laptop computing devices , tab let computing devices , electronic reader devices , mobile devices ( e.g. , mobile phones , media players , handheld gam ing devices , etc. ) , wearable devices with network access and program execution capabilities ( e.g. , " smart watches ” or " smart eyewear ” ) , wireless devices , set - top boxes , gaming consoles , entertainment systems , televisions with network access and program execution capabilities ( e.g. , “ smart TVs ” ) , and various other electronic devices and appliances . Individual user devices 102 may execute a browser appli cation 120 to communicate via the network 110 with other computing systems , such as the replacement part system 104 , in order to search for replacement parts . The user devices 102 may execute the browser application 120 that can be used by a user to access a page that provides replacement parts listings.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown and Moore with the recognition and component/part matching in as previously cited in Lagoni, for the same reasoning given for claims 1 and 3.
Claims 13, 14, 16, 26, and 32 are rejected to under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McQuown et. al (hereinafter McQuown) (US20050144183A1), in view of Moore (US11619524B2), in further view of Lagoni et. al (hereinafter Lagoni) (US20200349626A1)and in even further view of Zhang et. al (hereinafter Zhang) (US10817956B2)
As per claim 13, McQuown teaches:
A system, comprising: …[…]…including an on-board diagnostic sensor; and a computing device comprising atleast one wireless communication circuit, an image capture device a processor, and a memory storing executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to: receive, via the atleast one wireless communication circuit, a wireless signal comprising encoded information …[…]…, wherein the encoded information comprises an equipment identification code …[…]…and associated equipment- specific connection information; ([0027] discloses, “The portable unit 14 can also interrogate an on-board monitoring and diagnostic System (not specifically shown in FIG. 1) of the locomotive 12. The on-board monitoring and diagnostic System is described in detail in the patent application entitled “On-Board Monitor for a Railroad Locomotive', application number 09/696, 368, filed on Oct. 25, 2000, (Attorney docket number 624226.133/20-LC-1978), which is assigned to the owner of the present invention. The on-board monitor monitors certain operational parameters on the locomotive 12 and reports faults and anomalous conditions directly to the MDSC 20 via an independent communications System, as described in the aforementioned patent application.” And see [0032] discloses, “Although not illustrated in FIG. 1, it is well known in the art that the locomotive 12 may have an on-board monitoring System for monitoring and recording data related to various operational aspects. The on-board monitoring System identifies faulty components and provides fault codes for use by the repair technician in diagnosing the problem. Also, the on-board monitoring System records the number of miles traveled, the amount of fuel consumed, the number of Service hours, etc. In Some locomotives, there may be more than one on-board monitoring System, each associated with different locomotive Subsystems. In any case, the technician, using his portable unit 14, can acceSS data Stored in the on-board monitoring System and transmit it to any of the recipient sites shown in FIG. 1. This operational information may be desirable in the diagnostic and repair process. In Some cases, depending upon the nature of the fault or anomalous condition, the on-board monitor automatically transmits this information back to the MDSC 20, where a repair recommendation is formulated and then made available to the portable unit 14, in a manner to be discussed further below.” And see [0053] discloses, “In those embodiments and/or situations where it is necessary for the technician to extract information from the locomotive 12, the technician connects the portable unit 14 to a locomotive interface (e.g., an Ethernet connection) to communicate with the locomotive on-board monitoring System. The portable unit user interface guides the collection of information from the locomotive 12 and also provides memory for temporary data Storage. Later, the data can be transferred to the railroad service shop 16 and/or to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20. In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 includes a bar code Scanner for reading the locomotive identification number, part numbers, and Serial numbers. Use of a Scanner for parts identification ensures accurate information feedback to both the parts ordering module 58 and the ordered parts tracking module 60. In another embodiment the portable unit 14 includes a camera for providing visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20.” And see [0054] discloses, “In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 functions as a Standalone device, performing the transactions discussed above without physical connection to a data portal. As shown in FIG. 3, the portable unit can comprise various Styles and configurations, designated by reference character 70. The portable units 70 communicate via an RF wireless link, with one or more acceSS points 72. The access points 72 is connected to an Ethernet hub 74, which then provides connectivity to a host server 76, via an Ethernet based media 78, employing, for example, the TCP/IP protocol. The access points 72 serve as both receivers and transmitters (i.e., transceivers) to both receive information from and transmit information to the portable units 70, including the information discussed above in conjunction with FIG. 2. In one embodiment, one access point 72 can Support up to 400 portable units. Various data Security measures, including encryption can be employed on the communication link.” And see [0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14. Still or video images can be provided by Such a camera. The Video information may also be accompanied by live audio information (as spoken by the technician), thereby allowing the technician to communicate with perSonnel at the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 to confer about a particular problem or repair action. In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the com ponent, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0053] discloses, “In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 includes a bar code Scanner for reading the locomotive identification number, part numbers, and Serial numbers.” / examiner notes that someone of ordinary skill in the art under BRI would understand that an onboard diagnostics system as disclosed includes sensors.)
establish a wireless connection between the atleast one wireless communication circuit and …[…]…using the equipment-specific connection information; ([0028] discloses, “In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the com ponent, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0035] discloses, “An interface unit 40 is shown generally for conditioning data transferred between the various information Sources of FIG. 2 and the portable unit 14. The interface unit 40 provides data conditioning, modulation or demodulation of a carrier Signal to transmit or recover an information Signal and Signal conditioning for baseband transmission, as dependent on the nature of the communications channel. The interface unit 40 supports both wired and wireless transmissions and their related protocols. Both the portable unit 14 and the MDSC 20 communicate bi-directionally with the various databases and modules of FIG. 2 for the purpose of entering data from the databases and modules.” And see [0054])
retrieve diagnostic data from the on-board diagnostic sensor …[…]…over the established wireless connection; ([0027] discloses, “The portable unit 14 can also interrogate an on-board monitoring and diagnostic System (not specifically shown in FIG. 1) of the locomotive 12. The on-board monitoring and diagnostic System is described in detail in the patent application entitled “On-Board Monitor for a Railroad Locomotive', application number 09/696, 368, filed on Oct. 25, 2000, (Attorney docket number 624226.133/20-LC-1978), which is assigned to the owner of the present invention. The on-board monitor monitors certain operational parameters on the locomotive 12 and reports faults and anomalous conditions directly to the MDSC 20 via an independent communications System, as described in the aforementioned patent application.” And see [0032] discloses, “Although not illustrated in FIG. 1, it is well known in the art that the locomotive 12 may have an on-board monitoring System for monitoring and recording data related to various operational aspects. The on-board monitoring System identifies faulty components and provides fault codes for use by the repair technician in diagnosing the problem. Also, the on-board monitoring System records the number of miles traveled, the amount of fuel consumed, the number of Service hours, etc. In Some locomotives, there may be more than one on-board monitoring System, each associated with different locomotive Subsystems. In any case, the technician, using his portable unit 14, can acceSS data Stored in the on-board monitoring System and transmit it to any of the recipient sites shown in FIG. 1. This operational information may be desirable in the diagnostic and repair process. In Some cases, depending upon the nature of the fault or anomalous condition, the on-board monitor automatically transmits this information back to the MDSC 20, where a repair recommendation is formulated and then made available to the portable unit 14, in a manner to be discussed further below.” / examiner notes that someone of ordinary skill in the art under BRI would understand that an onboard diagnostics system as disclosed includes sensors.)
capture using the image capture device, an image of at least part of a component…[…]…; ([0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14. Still or video images can be provided by Such a camera. The Video information may also be accompanied by live audio information (as spoken by the technician), thereby allowing the technician to communicate with perSonnel at the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 to confer about a particular problem or repair action. In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the component, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0053] discloses, “In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 includes a bar code Scanner for reading the locomotive identification number, part numbers, and Serial numbers.” And see [0028] discloses, “The repair technician can also provide Visual information back to the monitoring and diagnostic center 20 (over an Internet connection, for example) using a camera attached to the portable unit 14. Still or video images can be provided by Such a camera. The Video information may also be accompanied by live audio information (as spoken by the technician), thereby allowing the technician to communicate with perSonnel at the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 to confer about a particular problem or repair action. In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the component, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.” And see [0053] discloses, “In one embodiment, the portable unit 14 includes a bar code Scanner for reading the locomotive identification number, part numbers, and Serial numbers.”)
However, McQuown does not teach the underlined portions:
A system, comprising: a piece of dental equipment including an on-board diagnostic sensor; and a computing device comprising at least one a-wireless communication from the piece of dental equipment, wherein the encoded information comprises an equipment identification code of the piece of dental equipment and associated equipment-specific connection information; establish a wireless connection between the at least one wireless communication and the piece of dental equipment based on the associated equipment-specific connection information; retrieve diagnostic data from the on-board diagnostic sensor of the piece of dental equipment over the wireless connection; capture, based on the image capture device, an image of at least part of a component of the piece of dental equipment; identify a manufacturer of the dental equipment based on the equipment identification code; identify a respective server of the manufacturer among a plurality of respective servers of different manufacturers; establish a network connection between the at least one wireless communication circuit and the respective server of the manufacturer; transmit the image, the equipment identification code and the diagnostic data to a the respective server of the manufacturer over the a network connection; and receive, from the respective server of the manufacturer,-via the network connection, search results identifying one or more matching components, the search results being generated by applying a trained neural network to compare the captured image to a database of components identified by the equipment identification code, determining based on the comparing by the trained neural network, that an appearance of the component in the image is different from an appearance of the component when new and consistent with the component being damaged, and identifying-, based on the determining, a replacement part and a preliminary diagnosis of a condition of the component.
However, Moore does teach the underlined portions:
A system, comprising: a piece of dental equipment including an on-board diagnostic sensor; and a computing device comprising at least one a-wireless communication from the piece of dental equipment, wherein the encoded information comprises an equipment identification code of the piece of dental equipment and associated equipment-specific connection information; establish a wireless connection between the at least one wireless communication and the piece of dental equipment based on the associated equipment-specific connection information; retrieve diagnostic data from the on-board diagnostic sensor of the piece of dental equipment over the wireless connection; capture, based on the image capture device, an image of at least part of a component of the piece of dental equipment; identify a manufacturer of the dental equipment based on the equipment identification code; identify a respective server of the manufacturer among a plurality of respective servers of different manufacturers; establish a network connection between the at least one wireless communication circuit and the respective server of the manufacturer; transmit the image, the equipment identification code and the diagnostic data to a the respective server of the manufacturer over the a network connection; (Col. 3 lines 44-48 discloses, a dental apparatus that is monitored in case of replacement or repair is needed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown with teachings of Moore for the same reasons given for claim 1.
However, Moore also does not teach the underlined portion:
identify a manufacturer …[…]…based on the equipment identification code; identify a respective server of the manufacturer among a plurality of respective servers of different manufacturers; establish a network connection between the at least one wireless communication circuit and the respective server of the manufacturer; transmit the image and the equipment identification code and the diagnostic data to the respective server of the manufacturer over the network connection;…[…]…
…[…]…; and receive, from the respective server of the manufacturer,-via the network connection, search results identifying one or more matching components, the search results being generated by applying a trained neural network to compare the captured image to a database of components identified by the equipment identification code, determining based on the comparing by the trained neural network, that an appearance of the component in the image is different from an appearance of the component when new and consistent with the component being damaged, and identifying-, based on the determining, a replacement part and a preliminary diagnosis of a condition of the component.
However, Lagoni does teach the underlined portions:
identify a manufacturer …[…]…based on the equipment identification code; identify a respective server of the manufacturer among a plurality of respective servers of different manufacturers; establish a network connection between the at least one wireless communication circuit and the respective server of the manufacturer; transmit the image and the equipment identification code and the diagnostic data to the respective server of the manufacturer over the network connection;…[…]… ([0032] discloses, “The query analyzer module 150 can be configured to determine a specific model of a product associated with the search for compatible replacement parts . This can be accomplished using a designated user interface element , stored information about the user , by analyzing a search query received from the user device 102 , analyzing images , analyzing product identification tags , or the like . For example , a user interface element can be displayed on a networked site requesting or verifying a specific model number in conjunction with the search for replacement parts . In some embodiments , the query analyzer module 150 can receive this information from the user device 102 in an interaction separate from the search query . Examples of such user interface elements are described herein with reference to FIGS . 5 and 7” and see [0026] discloses, “The replacement part system can include a replacement part compatibility data store that includes information about product models and compatible parts , wherein the compatible parts can be provided by multiple sellers , vendors , manufacturers , etc. Using this data store , the replacement part system can identify compatible parts provided by any number of vendors . For example , the replacement part system can list parts that are compatible with a particular model of oven , including OEM parts and generic parts” and see [0047] discloses, “The replacement part system 104 can be a computing system configured to determine intent to purchase replacement parts , compile lists of compatible replacement parts , generate personalized listings of replacement parts , and / or link generic parts from vendors to compatible models using OEM part number For example , the replacement part system 104 can be a physical server or group of physical servers that may be accessed via the network 110,” / examiner notes diagnostic data is described in the instant specification in para. [0024] stating “As suggested above, many pieces of dental equipment may have on-board diagnostic capabilities, such as providing the status of various machine parameters, fault detections, etc. In some cases, this diagnostic data may suggest to a service technician components that are in need of service or replacement.”)
; and receive, from the respective server of the manufacturer,-via the network connection, search results identifying one or more matching components, the search results being generated by applying a trained neural network to compare the captured image to a database of components identified by the equipment identification code, determining based on the comparing by the trained neural network, that an appearance of the component in the image is different from an appearance of the component when new and consistent with the component being damaged, and identifying-, based on the determining, a replacement part and a preliminary diagnosis of a condition of the component. ([0036] discloses, “On the other hand , if the likelihood value is greater than or equal to the threshold value and / or within the tailored range of values , the replacement part system 104 may be used to provide a personalized listing of replacement parts in response to the search query” and see [0038] discloses, “The replacement part module 152 can identify products available from the electronic commerce system by comparing the identified list of replacement parts to available products in the products data store 144. The products data store 144 includes information about products available within the electronic commerce system . The information can include a description of the item , pictures of the item , a product category , a product name , and the like . This information can be used to filter the list of replacement parts to include parts that are available through the electronic commerce system and / or exclude parts that are not available . This information can be used to provide an indication of which replacement parts in the list are available through the electronic commerce system . The products data store 144 may be located external to the replacement part system 104 and / or the prior searches and purchases data store 142 , such as on a separate system or server” and [0039] discloses, “. For example , the replacement part module 152 can exclude items from the ordered list if the ranking or weight ing of the item does not meet designated criteria . In this way , the recommendation module 154 can be configured to provide to the user a tailored list of replacement parts that are compatible with the specified model” / compatibility with a model/designed criteria is interpreted under BRI as part of preliminary condition of the component)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown and Moore with the recognition and component/part matching in as previously cited in Lagoni, for the same reasoning given for claims 1 and 3.
However, Lagoni also do not teach the underlined portions:
; and receive, from the respective server of the manufacturer,-via the network connection, search results identifying one or more matching components, the search results being generated by applying a trained neural network to compare the captured image to a database of components identified by the equipment identification code, determining based on the comparing by the trained neural network, that an appearance of the component in the image is different from an appearance of the component when new and consistent with the component being damaged, and identifying-, based on the determining, a replacement part and a preliminary diagnosis of a condition of the component.
However, Zhang does teach the underlined portions:
; and receive, from the respective server of the manufacturer,-via the network connection, search results identifying one or more matching components, the search results being generated by applying a trained neural network to compare the captured image to a database of components identified by the equipment identification code, determining based on the comparing by the trained neural network, that an appearance of the component in the image is different from an appearance of the component when new and consistent with the component being damaged, and identifying-, based on the determining, a replacement part and a preliminary diagnosis of a condition of the component. (Col. 5 lines 3-67 and see Col. 6 lines 1-25 and see Col. 9 lines 2-12 discloses a machine learning algorithm (neural network) trained to recognize an auto component which may be damaged and this determination is based from training the algorithm on an image that has k number of regions damaged e.g. if there are no damaged regions no output / examiner notes that no damage is interpreted as equivalent to the positively recited “new” in the claim)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted features of McQuown, Moore, Lagoni, and zhang as previously cited with Zhang’s teachings of training a machine learning model to determine damaged parts, the motivation being McQuown ([0002]-[0010], [0036]), Lagoni (see abstract), and Moore (Col. 3 lines 1-37) teach the need for a more automated data analysis of equipment to prevent errors and human comprehension mistakes in their disclosures today and utilize machine learning for repairs, therefore the combination of Zhang’s training of machine learning with damaged and undamaged images would be predictable to increase the accuracy and automation of checking equipment as well as reduce resources needed to ensure no mistakes occurred and can predictably be applied on a general within the confines of a general purpose computer.
As per claim 14, McQuown, Moore, and Lagoni do not teach:
The system of claim 13, wherein the trained neural network is hosted on the respective server of the manufacturer and is trained with a collection of images of replacement parts in various perspectives.
However, Zhang does teach:
The system of claim 13, wherein the trained neural network is hosted on the respective server of the manufacturer and is trained with a collection of images of replacement parts in various perspectives. (Col. 6 lines 10-43 and see Col. 8 lines 63-67 and Col. 9 lines 1-63 discloses, the training of neural network with various images and regions of those images to determine a new or a damaged parts / examiner notes under BRI it is interpreted since the damage and parts go through the manufacturer books to determine damage the server is from the manufacturer)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted features of McQuown, Lagoni, and Moore as previously cited with Zhang’s teachings of training a machine learning model (neural network) to determine damaged parts for the same reasons given in claim 13.
As per claim 16, McQuown further teaches:
The system of claim 13, wherein the atleast one wireless communication circuit is to register …[…]…via using the wireless communication connection using the equipment identification code. ([0054] discloses, “The portable units 70 communicate via an RF wireless link, with one or more acceSS points 72.” And see [0028] discloses, “In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the com ponent, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic Service center 20 over the communication links previously described.”)
However, McQuown does not teach the underlined portion:
The system of claim 13, wherein the at least one wireless communication circuit is to register with the piece of dental equipment via using the wireless communication connection using the equipment identification code.
However, Moore does teach the underlined portion:
The system of claim 13, wherein the at least one wireless communication circuit is to register with the piece of dental equipment via using the wireless communication connection using the equipment identification code. (Col. 3 lines 44-48 discloses, a dental apparatus that is monitored in case of replacement or repair is needed)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown with teachings of Moore for the same reasons given for claim 1.
As per claim 26, McQuown, Lagoni, and Moore do not teach the underlined portion:
The system of claim 13, wherein the trained neural network is trained to recognize that the component is obscured or obstructed in the image.
However, Zhang does teach:
The system of claim 13, wherein the trained neural network is trained to recognize that the component is obscured or obstructed in the image.(Col. 5 lines 3-67 and see Col. 6 lines 1-25 and see Col. 9 lines 2-12 discloses a machine learning algorithm (neural network) trained to recognize an auto component which may be damaged and this determination is based from training the algorithm on an image that has k number of regions damaged e.g. if there are no damaged regions no output / examiner notes that damage is considered a type of obstruction)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown, Lagoni, and Moore with teachings of Zhang for the same reasons given for claim 25.
As per claim 32, McQuown does not teach the underlined portion:
The system of claim 13, wherein the wireless signal comprises a radio signal from at least one of a Near Field Communication (NFC) tag, or a Bluetooth beacon of at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment.
However, Moore does teach the underlined portion:
The system of claim 13, wherein the wireless signal comprises a radio signal from at least one of a Near Field Communication (NFC) tag, or a Bluetooth beacon of at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine McQuown and Moore for the same reasons given above for claim 1.
However, Moore and Lagoni also do not teach the underlined portion
The system of claim 13, wherein the wireless signal comprises a radio signal from at least one of a Near Field Communication (NFC) tag, or a Bluetooth beacon of at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment.
However, Zhang does teach the underlined portion
The system of claim 13, wherein the wireless signal comprises a radio signal from at least one of a Near Field Communication (NFC) tag, or a Bluetooth beacon of at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment. (Col. 21 lines 24-36 discloses, LTE which examiner interprets as utilizing a Bluetooth beacon)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown, Lagoni, and Moore with teachings of Zhang for the same reasons given for claim 13.
Claim 25 is rejected to under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McQuown et. al (hereinafter McQuown) (US20050144183A1), in view of Moore (US11619524B2), in further view of Cruz (US20140244439A1) and in even further view of Zhang et. al (hereinafter Zhang) (US10817956B2)
As per claim 25, McQuown, Moore, and Cruz do not teach:
The computer-implemented method of claim 37 wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained to recognize the component when the component
However, Zhang does teach:
The computer-implemented method of claim 37 wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained to recognize the component when the component (Col. 5 lines 3-67 and see Col. 6 lines 1-25 and see Col. 9 lines 2-12 discloses a machine learning algorithm (neural network) trained to recognize an auto component which may be damaged and this determination is based from training the algorithm on an image that has k number of regions damaged e.g. if there are no damaged regions no output / examiner notes that damage is considered a type of obstruction and that the ability to recognize the obscurity of the image and ask for a new image of the component is necessarily recognizing the component)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown, Cruz, and Moore with teachings of Zhang for the same reasons given for claim 13.
Claim 22 is rejected to under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McQuown et. al (hereinafter McQuown) (US20050144183A1), in view of Moore (US11619524B2), in further view of Cruz (US20140244439A1), in even further view of Zhang et. al (hereinafter Zhang) (US10817956B2), and in even further view of Hayman (US20220172475A1)
As per claim 22, McQuown, Moore, and Cruz does not teach:
The computer-implemented method of claim 37 wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained to recognize the component when the component
However, Zhang does teach the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 37 wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained to recognize the component when the component due to being burned (Col. 5 lines 3-67 and see Col. 6 lines 1-25 and see Col. 9 lines 2-12 discloses a machine learning algorithm (neural network) trained to recognize an auto component which may be damaged and this determination is based from training the algorithm on an image that has k number of regions damaged e.g. if there are no damaged regions no output / examiner notes that no damage is interpreted as equivalent to the positively recited “new” in the claim)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the previously cited features of McQuown, Cruz, and Moore with teachings of Zhang for the same reasons given for claim 13.
However, Zhang also does not teach the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 37 wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained to recognize the component when the component due to being burned
However, Hayman teaches the underlined portion:
The computer-implemented method of claim 37 wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained to recognize the component when the component due to being burned. ([0080] disclose, “The recognition model and / or other recognition models may be trained to recognize other damage conditions from images and / or video , such as water damage or fire damage.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the noted features as previously cited of McQuown, Cruz, Moore, and Zhang with teachings of Hayman since the combination of the references is merely simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result (KSR rationale B). Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself—that is, in the substitution of the damage type such as scratching in Zhang (see Col. 5 lines 37-40) and the burned damage type in Hayman as previously cited as the process of analysis of damage doesn’t change in identification no matter the damage type. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Claim 19 is rejected to under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McQuown et. al (hereinafter McQuown) (US20050144183A1), in view of Moore (US11619524B2), in further view of Lagoni et. al (hereinafter Lagoni) (US20200349626A1) in even further view of Zhang et. al (hereinafter Zhang) (US10817956B2), and in even further view of Cruz (US20140244439A1)
As per claim 19, McQuown Moore, lagoni, and zhang do not teach:
The system of claim 13, wherein the computing device is to communicate, via the network connection, an identification of the replacement part to an application programming interface (API) hosted by the server, and the API is accessible by a parts provider.
However Cruz does teach:
The system of claim 13, wherein the computing device is to communicate, via the network, an identification of the replacement part to an application programming interface (API) hosted by the server, and the API is accessible by a parts provider. ([0032] discloses, “An example user interface 500 displaying relevant information regarding the components associated with a match of the object 302a with the components in the data repository 69A is displayed in FIG. 5. In the illustrated example, the list 500 includes a manufacturer 502 and model number 504 of the matched object as well as a description 506 and a listing 508 of the individual component parts associated with the matched object.” And [0019] discloses, “Similarly, the RAM 30, hard drive 38, and/or peripheral memory devices may be used to store computer executable instructions comprising an operating system 46, one or more applications programs 48 (such as a Web browser, mobile application, etc.), other program modules 50, and/or program data 52.” And see [0035] discloses, “In addition to or alternative to selecting and ordering the matched part from an ordering process, the desired part may be self-manufactured through a fabrication or additive manufacturing process Such as a three-dimension (3D) printing process. It will be appreciated by one of ordinary skill in the art that the term 3D printing process, 3D printer, etc. in this context may be broadly construed to mean any additive manufacturing process or additive manufacturing device, including, for example, fused deposition modeling (FDM), direct metallaser sintering (DMLS), etc. In at least one example, the desired part may be rendered as a computer-readable manufacturing file. Such as a CAD file, and sent to a remote and/or local 3D printer for rendering of the desired part. In this manner, the user can confirm the part is the correct part, can utilize the part as a permanent and/or temporary replacement part, and/or may utilize the printed part in any other Suitable manner as desired.” And see [0017] discloses, “With reference to the figures, and more particularly, with reference to FIG. 1, the following discloses an example system 10 as well as other example systems and methods for providing nonintrusive identification and ordering of parts on a networked and/or standalone computer, Such as a personal computer or mobile device. To this end, a processing device 20", illustrated in the exemplary form of a mobile communication device, a processing device 20', illustrated in the exemplary form of a computer system, and a processing device 20 illustrated in schematic form, are provided with executable instructions to, for example, provide a means for a customer, e.g., a user, client, corporate shopper, buyer, consumer, Service technician, etc., to access a host system server 68 and, among other things, be connected to a hosted vendor purchasing system, e.g., a website, mobile application, etc.”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine McQuown, Moore, lagoni, zhang and Cruz’s teachings for the same reasons given above for claim 1 and 3.
Response to Arguments Regarding 35 U.S.C § 101 Rejection
The applicant argues on pages 1-5 of the submitted remarks that the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C § 101 should be withdrawn in light of the below arguments.
The claim is not directed to a judicial exception such as an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. Instead, it is directed to a specific, technological process for enabling wireless diagnostic communication among multiple types of dental equipment and a mobile computing device.
The claimed method recites the following concrete technical steps:
1. Receiving wireless signals from multiple pieces of dental equipment, each carrying distinct identification codes and connection information;
2. Establishing respective wireless connections between the mobile device's
communication chip(s) and the respective pieces of dental equipment using that connection information;
3. Receiving diagnostic data from on-board circuits of the dental equipment;
4. Establishing network connections to remote servers; and
5. Transmitting the diagnostic data and device identifiers to the servers.
These limitations define a structured, technical workflow implemented in a defined
computing environment. The claimed invention does not merely collect or transmit information in the abstract; it performs specific operations that improve how wireless systems detect, pair, and communicate with multiple devices, particularly in a dental operatory setting.
In Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the Federal Circuit held that claims directed to a specific improvement in computer functionality are patent-eligible. Similarly, here the claimed method improves the functioning of a mobile computing device's wireless subsystem and its ability to coordinate multiple concurrent device connections and sensor data streams.
The statutory nature of claim 1 is also supported by DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P.,773 F.3d 1245 (Fed. Cir. 2014), where the Federal Circuit upheld claims that were "rooted in computer technology" and provided a technical solution to a technical problem. Likewise, claim 1 is rooted in the technological field of wireless communication and provides a concrete technical solution to receiving diagnostic data from multiple networked dental devices.
Therefore, the claim is not directed to an abstract idea under Alice step one.
Examiner appreciates applicants arguments but does not find them persuasive. The MPEP § 2106.04(a) The sub-grouping "managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people" include social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions. An example of a claim reciting managing personal behavior is Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1636 (Fed. Cir. 2015). The patentee in this case claimed methods comprising storing user-selected pre-set limits on spending in a database, and when one of the limits is reached, communicating a notification to the user via a device. 792 F.3d. at 1367, 115 USPQ2d at 1639-40. The Federal Circuit determined that the claims were directed to the abstract idea of "tracking financial transactions to determine whether they exceed a pre-set spending limit (i.e., budgeting)", which "is not meaningfully different from the ideas found to be abstract in other cases before the Supreme Court and our court involving methods of organizing human activity." 792 F.3d. at 1367-68, 115 USPQ2d at 1640
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) (II) states, “Finally, the sub-groupings encompass both activity of a single person (for example, a person following a set of instructions or a person signing a contract online) and activity that involves multiple people (such as a commercial interaction), and thus, certain activity between a person and a computer (for example a method of anonymous loan shopping that a person conducts using a mobile phone) may fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping. It is noted that the number of people involved in the activity is not dispositive as to whether a claim limitation falls within this grouping.”
MPEP 2106.05(a) states the abstract idea cannot provide the improvement but rather the additional elements must provide the improvement. It also recites. “It is important to note that in order for a method claim to improve computer functionality, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim must be limited to computer implementation. That is, a claim whose entire scope can be performed mentally, cannot be said to improve computer technology. Synopsys, Inc. v. Mentor Graphics Corp., 839 F.3d 1138, 120 USPQ2d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (a method of translating a logic circuit into a hardware component description of a logic circuit was found to be ineligible because the method did not employ a computer and a skilled artisan could perform all the steps mentally). Similarly, a claimed process covering embodiments that can be performed on a computer, as well as embodiments that can be practiced verbally or with a telephone, cannot improve computer technology. See RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1328, 122 USPQ2d 1377, 1381 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (process for encoding/decoding facial data using image codes assigned to particular facial features held ineligible because the process did not require a computer).” Therefore, examiner notes the amended claim limitations argued are abstract and thus cannot bring forth the improvement even with the recitation of a computer performing the steps.
The MPEP 2106.05(a) also recites, “If it is asserted that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. The specification need not explicitly set forth the improvement, but it must describe the invention such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. Conversely, if the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. An indication that the claimed invention provides an improvement can include a discussion in the specification that identifies a technical problem and explains the details of an unconventional technical solution expressed in the claim, or identifies technical improvements realized by the claim over the prior art. For example, in McRO, the court relied on the specification’s explanation of how the particular rules recited in the claim enabled the automation of specific animation tasks that previously could only be performed subjectively by humans, when determining that the claims were directed to improvements in computer animation instead of an abstract idea. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1313-14, 120 USPQ2d at 1100-01. In contrast, the court in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC relied on the specification’s failure to provide details regarding the manner in which the invention accomplished the alleged improvement when holding the claimed methods of delivering broadcast content to cellphones ineligible. 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016). After the examiner has consulted the specification and determined that the disclosed invention improves technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement in technology. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1316, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (patent owner argued that the claimed email filtering system improved technology by shrinking the protection gap and mooting the volume problem, but the court disagreed because the claims themselves did not have any limitations that addressed these issues). That is, the claim must include the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification. However, the claim itself does not need to explicitly recite the improvement described in the specification (e.g., "thereby increasing the bandwidth of the channel"). The full scope of the claim under the BRI should be considered to determine if the claim reflects an improvement in technology (e.g., the improvement described in the specification). In making this determination, it is critical that examiners look at the claim "as a whole," in other words, the claim should be evaluated "as an ordered combination, without ignoring the requirements of the individual steps." When performing this evaluation, examiners should be "careful to avoid oversimplifying the claims" by looking at them generally and failing to account for the specific requirements of the claims. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1313, 120 USPQ2d at 1100. An important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome. McRO, 837 F.3d at 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d at 1102-03; DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1259, 113 USPQ2d at 1107.
Examiner approaches the claim under broadest reasonable interpretation and must take the substance of the positive recitation of the claim without reading the specification into the claims but in light of the specification. The examiner is required to identify the elements within the claims which are abstract and identify the additional elements of the claim. The elements identified as abstract are reasonably interpreted to be “managing personal behavior” within certain methods of organizing human activity as the substance of the claim recites managing the personal behavior someone would follow to identify an issue, search for replacement part(s) and identifying the part(s).
Applicant continues to argue under Step 2B - The Claim Recites "Significantly More" Than Any Abstract Concept by stating Even assuming, arguendo, that claim 1 was found to recite an abstract idea such as "organizing human activity," the claim as a whole includes significantly more than that alleged concept. The claim requires specific hardware components and non-generic data flows, including: - A mobile computing device comprising at least one wireless communication chip; - Different wireless signals, each encoding distinct identification codes and
connection information; - Device-specific wireless connections established dynamically based on that information; - Circuits within the dental equipment providing diagnostic data; and - Network communication to one or more servers to transmit the diagnostic data and device identifiers.
These features together represent an unconventional configuration of wireless communication and diagnostic processing components. The interaction between the mobile device, the multiple pieces of dental equipment, and the remote server system forms a wireless architecture not present in conventional computing environments. This architecture improves the functionality and efficiency of the computing system by enabling the mobile device to automatically pair with heterogeneous equipment types, automatically retrieve diagnostic data, and communicate that data to one or more servers. Such non-generic integration of computing components satisfies the "inventive concept" requirement under Bascom Global Internet Services v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2016), where the Federal Circuit held that an unconventional arrangement of known components could provide "significantly more" than an abstract idea.
Regarding the mention of MPEP 2106.05(a) at p.69-70 of the Office Action, Applicant submits that the specification indicates how the claimed invention improves upon conventional technology such that the improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. For example: Dental offices use a variety of specialized equipment (par. 2); ...it is critical that equipment be repaired and brought back into service in as expedient a fashion as possible (par. 3); ...data can be captured and entered by an application ... running on a mobile device... Such data may include an image of a component in need of service, and/or diagnostic information... (par. 23); e ...being able to easily remotely access the diagnostic information of a given piece
of equipment (par. 25); e The application 300 may then decode the marker to obtain registration and/or connection information with the dental equipment associated with the optical marker, ...As also described above, in other embodiments, a radio beacon may be used rather than an optical marker to obtain the necessary registration and/or connection information. (par. 47); and e Once connected, button 304 may also allow for access and drilling into diagnostic information of a registered/connected piece of equipment (par. 48). These passages, among others, clearly inform the person of ordinary skill in the art of the need to diagnose and repair different types of specialized equipment in a dental office, the process of capturing data such as diagnostic information on a mobile device, the use of a wireless signal such as a radio beacon to obtain registration and/or connection information of a piece of dental equipment, and the ability to access the diagnostic information of a registered/connected piece of dental equipment. The act of obtaining registration and/or connection information from a piece of dental equipment is therefore clearly important in order to establish a connection with the piece of dental equipment to obtain diagnostic information. Accordingly, even if an abstract idea were identified, claim 1 recites significantly more through its specific and practical application in a wireless communication system.
The claim integrates any alleged abstract idea into a practical application by limiting it to a specific technological environment, namely wireless communication between diagnostic dental devices and a mobile computing device. The claimed method results in tangible improvements including automated device pairing, sensor data acquisition, and transmission of diagnostic information.
Claim 1 recites a statutory process that provides a technological solution to a
technological problem. The claimed method improves the functioning of computing devices and
wireless systems by enabling dynamic, device-specific communication and diagnostic data transfer among multiple dental devices and remote servers. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is patent-eligible under 35 U.S.C. §101. Claims 6 and 13 are similarly patent-eligible under 35 U.S.C. §101. Withdrawal of the rejection is therefore respectfully requested.
In response to applicant’s argument that the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application that improves the functioning of a computer. Examiner notes that the claim is confined to a general purpose computer (see the instant applications specification para. [0065]). Moreover the field of equipment servicing is a real world problem and is not reasonably understood to be a technological problem with the functioning of a computer. The claimed invention is using the computer as a tool and any improvement present is an improvement to the abstract idea of managing the personal behavior of identifying an issue, searching for replacement part(s) and identifying the part(s). The use of a computer to more efficiently execute something does not preclude the claim from reciting an abstract idea in this case as you do not need a computer to diagnose and identify a replacement part(s) for a piece of equipment. Additionally, other additional elements as aforementioned are either generally linking the abstract idea and or used to gather, transmit, and output data thus “apply-it”
The 35 U.S.C § 101 rejection is maintained.
Response to Arguments Regarding 35 U.S.C § 103 Rejections
Applicant argues on pages 5-12 of the remarks that claims rejected under 35 U.S.C § 103 should be withdrawn for the following arguments.
Claims 1, 3,5,6, 9, 10, 11, 21, 27, 28, 29, 30, and 31 are rejected to under 35 U.S.C. §
103 as being unpatentable over McQuown et. al (hereinafter McQuown) (US20050144183A1) in view of Cruz (US20140244439A1) and in further view of Moore (US 11619524B2). Applicant respectfully traverse the rejection.
In regards to claim 1, With Applicant's approach, at least one wireless communication chip of a mobile computing device first receives different respective connection information of respective pieces of dental equipment from respective wireless signals. This connection information can then be used to establish respective wireless connections between the at least one wireless communication chip and the respective pieces of dental equipment, in order to receive respective diagnostic data from respective on-board diagnostic sensors of the respective pieces of dental equipment. Thus, the at least one wireless communication chip is compatible with different pieces of dental equipment which may have different wireless capabilities and protocols.
For example, the at least one wireless communication chip can receive the respective
wireless signals when it initially moves into range of the wireless signals of the different pieces of dental equipment. This approach facilitates the automatic retrieval of the diagnostic data from different pieces of dental equipment. For instance, the different pieces of dental equipment may transmit the respective wireless signals as beacons or other radio signals which can be detected by the at least one wireless communication chip. Once this initial wireless signal is received, a wireless connection, e.g., using a connection-oriented wireless protocol, can be established. It is implicit that the initial wireless signal is received before establishing a connection between the at least one wireless communication chip and a piece of dental equipment because the initial wireless signal contains connection information for establishing such a connection. Moreover, since the wireless signal of each piece of dental equipment comprises different connection information, the at least one wireless communication chip can establish different wireless connections with pieces of dental equipment and associate the respective diagnostic data with the respective pieces of dental equipment.
Also, each wireless connection can be specific to a particular piece of dental equipment, e.g., according to its capabilities and protocols such as Wi-Fi, cellular or Bluetooth (par. 59). This is particularly relevant in the context of a variety of types of networked dental equipment which may be found in a dental operatory such as adjustable chairs, dental lights, sterilizers, a variety of dental implements such as rotary handpieces, ultrasonic scalers, lasers, intraoral cameras, digital scanners, suction instruments, and cuspidors, and supporting mechanical equipment such as dental units, vacuum pumps, compressors and air purifiers (par. 2).
The cited references do not provide these advantages. For example, McQuown provides a system and method for guiding equipment service personnel while at a equipment work site through a plurality of tasks for troubleshooting. Fig. 3 depicts various types of computing components in a wireless environment including portable units 70 that communicate via an RF wireless link, with one or more access points 72 (par. 54). However, this brief mention of an RF wireless link does not disclose or suggest Applicant's approach.
Examiner appreciates applicants arguments but does not find them persuasive. Examiner cites art to the recited claim language not the specification and approaches in the specification. Rather claims are viewed in light of the specification but the specification cannot be read in to the claim limitations. McQuown teaches analogous art of identifying replacement parts based on diagnostic information over wireless connections between mobile devices and servers containing communication chips (see citation in this office action for claim 1)
Further applicant argues Cruz provides a system for scanning an object and ordering components via a network 12. Par. 24 mentions generally that a "networked environment, e.g., the Internet, World Wide Web, LAN, cloud, or other like type of wired or wireless network" can be used, but there is no disclosure or suggestion of the specific wireless communications as set forth in claim 1.
Examiner appreciates applicants arguments but does not find them persuasive. Examiner cites art to the recited claim language not the specification and approaches in the specification. Rather claims are viewed in light of the specification but the specification cannot be read in to the claim limitations. Cruz is not cited as teaching anything in regards to claim 1.
Applicant continues to argue, Moore provides a dental equipment monitoring system in which sensors monitor environmental conditions. The abstract states: "The collected data is sent to the main sensor unit and can be accessed, or wirelessly transmitted by signal to a device or devices at another location," but there is no disclosure or suggestion of the specific wireless communications as set forth in claim 1. Accordingly, McQuown, Cruz and Moore, taken alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest the features of claim 1. Claim 1 and its dependent claims are therefore clearly patentable. Claims 3, 5, 21, 28 and 29 These claims are patentable at least by virtue of their dependence on claim 1, which is patentable for the above-mentioned reasons.
Examiner appreciates applicants arguments but does not find them persuasive. Examiner cites art to the recited claim language not the specification and approaches in the specification. Rather claims are viewed in light of the specification but the specification cannot be read in to the claim limitations. Moore is not cited as teaching anything in regards to claim 1 wireless communications rather just the dental equipment.
Applicant now argues claim 6 stating Claim 6 is analogous to claim 1 except the wireless connection information of the pieces of dental equipment is obtained by decoding respective optically encoded markers instead of receiving wireless signals from the pieces of dental equipment.
McQuown at the cited par. 28 states: "In those cases where the locomotive components include a bar code for encoding certain features or characteristics of the component, a bar code reader attached to the portable unit 14 can be used to decode the bar code information and transmit the decoded information (or the bar code itself) to the monitoring and diagnostic service center 20 over the communication links previously described."
Accordingly, McQuown is merely transmitting decoded bar code information over a previously-established communication link. McQuown therefore does not disclose or suggest establishing wireless connections between at least one wireless communication chip and respective pieces of dental equipment based on different respective connection information extracted from respective decoded optically encoded markers.
The cited par. 35 refers to an interface unit 40 for transferring various information sources to a portable unit 14, where the interface unit supports both wired and wireless transmissions and their related protocols. However, again this provides no disclosure or suggestion of the claimed features. Claim 6 and its dependent claims are therefore clearly patentable. Claims 9, 10 and 11 These claims are patentable at least by virtue of their dependence on claim 6, which is patentable for the above-mentioned reasons.
Examiner appreciates applicants arguments but does not find them persuasive. Examiner cites art to the recited claim language not the specification and approaches in the specification. Rather claims are viewed in light of the specification but the specification cannot be read in to the claim limitations. McQuown is cited as teaching wireless communicated links which send decoded barcode information. If the links were not established the information could not be transferred, therefore the links are necessarily established as understood by someone of ordinary skill in the art under BRI bi-directionally between devices and server for wireless communication.
Now applicant argues in regards to claim 13 stating Claim 13 is analogous to claim 1 in that a computing device is to establish a wireless connection between at least one wireless communication circuit and a piece of dental equipment based on associated equipment-specific connection information which is obtained from encoded information of a wireless signal received from the piece of dental equipment. Claim 13 further includes capturing an image of at least part of a component of the piece of dental equipment, and identifying a manufacturer of the dental equipment based on the equipment identification code. The image can therefore be linked to a particular manufacturer. and to a respective server of the manufacturer among a plurality of respective servers of different manufacturers. The computing device can then establish a network connection between the at least one wireless communication circuit and the respective server of the manufacturer, transmit the image, the equipment identification code and the diagnostic data to the respective server of the manufacturer over the network connection, and receive, from the respective server of the manufacturer, via the network connection, search results identifying one or more matching components. The image and diagnostic data can therefore be communicated to the associated manufacturer's servers. This is particularly relevant in the context of a variety of types of networked dental equipment which can be associated with different manufacturers, as mentioned. Claim 13 and its dependent claims are therefore clearly patentable at least for the above- mentioned reasons. Claims 14 and 19 These claims are patentable at least by virtue of their dependence on claim 13, which is patentable for the above-mentioned reasons.
Examiner appreciates applicant’s arguments but does not find them persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13 new limitations amended have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues in regards to Claim 16 stating This claim recites: "wherein the at least one wireless communication circuit is to register with the piece of dental equipment via the wireless connection using the equipment identification code." Regarding the cited references, they do not disclose or suggest a computing device that registers with a piece of dental equipment using an equipment identification code which is received in a wireless signal from the piece of dental equipment prior to establishing a wireless connection with the piece of dental equipment. For example, Moore at the cited col. 3, lines 44- 48 merely refers to monitoring generally but provided none of the claims features: Claim 16 is therefore also clearly patentable. Claims 25 and 26 These claims are patentable at least by virtue of their dependence on claim 1, which is patentable for the above-mentioned reasons.
Examiner appreciates applicant’s argument but does not find it persuasive. McQuowan is cited as teaching the wireless connections as aforementioned and argued and Moore is merely cited for the simple substitution of the dental equipment. Therefore, examiner does not find applicant’s argument persuasive.
Applicant further argue for Claim 32 stating This claim recites: "the wireless signal comprises a radio signal from at least one of a Near Field Communication (NFC) tag or a Bluetooth beacon of at least one of the respective pieces of dental equipment." The cited references neither disclose nor suggest that a wireless signal of the type mentioned can be received by at least one wireless communication circuit to obtain different respective identification codes and different respective connection information of respective pieces of dental equipment, and that such connection information can then be used to establish respective wireless connections between the at least one wireless communication circuit and the respective pieces of dental equipment. Instead, as mentioned, the references do not even disclose or suggest generally the use of a wireless signal to obtain such information to establish such wireless connections. Claim 32 is therefore also clearly patentable.
Examiner appreciates applicant’s argument but does not find it persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 32 limiations have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues in regards to Claim 22 stating This claim is patentable at least by virtue of its dependence on claim 1, which is patentable for the above-mentioned reasons. In view of the above, withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is therefore respectfully requested.
And argues in regards to Claim 33-37 that they recite additional features which are patentable at least by virtue of their dependence on claim 1, which is patentable for the above-mentioned reasons.
Examiner does not find applicant’s arguments persuasive for the aforementioned arguments above.
Examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C § 103 rejection.
Prior Art Cited But Not Relied Upon
Azzaro et. al - US6487478B1
An on-board monitor for a railroad locomotive is disclosed. The on-board monitor interfaces with the controller Sub Systems of the locomotive to collect parametric performance data. The Specific data to be collected and the collection intervals are defined at a remote Service center and trans mitted to the on-board monitor. The on-board monitor also includes the capability to collect additional data or collect data more frequently in response to the results of certain triggering events.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY ELIZABETH EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 3687
/MAMON OBEID/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3687