Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticiapted by Lantieri et al (US 5,571,431).
Lantieri discloses a portable welding machine, comprising:
an orbital welding head (Fig 2 and 4 show a portable welding machine having an orbital welding head);
one or more sensors configured to monitor a welding process performed using the orbital welding head and capture data describing the welding process; (a sensor is used for monitoring a part of the welding process. See Column 8, Lines 10-15. Claim 9 also provides for sensors measuring the voltage, current and motor speed during the welding process.)
a display device (display 44, LCD 56A) configured to display a two-dimensional graphical display, and a control device configured monitor the data describing the welding process; (Fig 5 shows a 2D graphical display for displaying a 2D graphic describing the weld current and weld voltage in bar graph form.)
summarize the captured data into a data set; (a bar graph, such as the deviation between actual and set voltage is considered to be a data set. See Fig 7, Column 2, Lines 5-15, Lines 55-65, Column 7, Lines 1-20)
convert the data set into a machine-readable data set image; and display the data set image on the display device. (Any data shown could be considered data summarized into a data set in a machine-readable data set image. The image, it is an image as it is an image on the display, contains text and parameter indicators. The text is readable via OCR) The claim does not specify the specific image structure of the machine reading the data. As this is not specified, the data set an image only needs to be capable of being read by a machine in some manner. Applicant’s device, in subsequent claims is specific to a QR code, however, this is not claimed in the independent claim. Applicant claims, broad functional limitations. Limitations from the specification are not to be read into the claims. The only limitations to welding are in the functional limitations. There is no structure making the device specific to welding. Regarding claim 5, the sensor is a position sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al (US 2015/0379894) in view of Lantieri et al (US 5,571,431).
Becker discloses, regarding claim 1, A portable welding machine (any of the devices in Becker are capable of being moved to a different location), comprising: one or more sensors for monitoring a welding process (sensors monitor the welding process, See Paragraph [0158]), a display device configured to display a two- dimensional graphical display (display devices 62, 32, 34 are two dimensional display’s for displaying welding data, See Paragraph [0083]), and a control device which is configured so as to monitor the welding process, wherein data describing the welding process is captured with the one or more sensors (control circuitry 52 controls the welding process and welding data. See Paragraph [0183]), wherein the control device is configured so as to summarize the captured data into a data set, convert the data set into a machine-readable data set images and display the data set image on the display device (Fig 20 shows the data summarized into a data set in a machine-readable data set image. The image, it is an image as it is an image on the display, contains text and parameter indicators 339. The text is readable via OCR) The claim does not specify the specific image structure of the machine reading the data. As this is not specified, the data set an image only needs to be capable of being read by a machine in some manner. Applicant’s device, in subsequent claims is specific to a QR code, however, this is not claimed in the independent claim. Applicant claims, broad functional limitations. Limitations from the specification are not to be read into the claims. The only limitations to welding are in the functional limitations. There is no structure making the device specific to welding.
Becker fails to disclose an orbital welding head having one or more sensors capturing data describing the welding process.
Lantieri discloses a portable welding machine, comprising:
an orbital welding head (Fig 2 and 4 show a portable welding machine having an orbital welding head);
one or more sensors configured to monitor a welding process performed using the orbital welding head and capture data describing the welding process; (a sensor is used for monitoring a part of the welding process. See Column 8, Lines 10-15. Claim 9 also provides for sensors measuring the voltage, current and motor speed during the welding process.)
a display device (display 44, LCD 56A) configured to display a two-dimensional graphical display, and a control device configured monitor the data describing the welding process; (Fig 5 shows a 2D graphical display for displaying a 2D graphic describing the weld current and weld voltage in bar graph form.)
summarize the captured data into a data set and display it on the display; (a bar graph, such as the deviation between actual and set voltage is considered to be a data set. See Fig 7, Column 2, Lines 5-15, Lines 55-65, Column 7, Lines 1-20)
A welding device having an orbital welding head which has a display and the control device is configured so as to summarize the captured data into a data set, convert the data set into a machine-readable data set images and display the data set image on the display device is shown in Lantieri. It would have been obvious to use the sensors and control device in an orbital welding head as this would be considered an intended use. The configuration of the control device for monitoring, summarizing, converting and displaying the data is not dependent on the type of welding device. The claims could have been restricted by original presentation as adding the orbital welding limitation may be considered as changing inventions. The claims were also presented without the orbital welding head limitation, further showing an intended use.
Regarding claim 2, Becker discloses displaying a plurality of images as elements 328, 330, 332, 334, 336, 337 and 338 could all be considered separate images. Element 339 is also displayed multiple times, once for each parameter. The images are displayed simultaneously. Regarding claim 3, the images are in a predetermined order as they are not random. Regarding claim 4, the data set images are capable of being read by OCR and would meet the limitations of the claim. Regarding claim 5, the sensor is a temperature sensor, position sensor or voltage sensor. (See Paragraph [0158])
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al (US 2015/0379894) in view of, Lantieri et al (US 5,571,431) and Carbonini (US 2015/0286895).
The teachings of Becker have been discussed above. As mentioned, the no structure of the claimed device is specific to welding. The claims are concerned with data. Data is not a functional limitation. Claiming the data is related to welding is arbitrary unless there is a specific claim made toward the structure or function of the welding device. The functional language is directed toward monitoring a process and configuring captured data. Nevertheless, the welding data being related to a welding process, monitored, captured, summarized and converted is taught by Becker. Claims 2 and 3 are directed toward how the data is processed. Data processing is performed over a wide range of areas. Data is data and control devices do not care if the data is welding data or any other data, it will still be processed. Claims 2 and 3 do not contain any limitations related to welding which are not covered by Becker in claim 1.
Becker may fail to disclose, the control device is configured so as to convert the data set into a plurality of data set images, into which the data of the data set is distributed, and which are displayed simultaneously or sequentially on the display device, an allocation code is respectively generated for the plurality of data set images and displayed simultaneously with the respective data set image on the display device, such that the plurality of data set images can be allocated to one another in a predetermined order.
Carbonini is concerned with how data is handled. Sensors and controller monitoring data, converting the data and creating an image representing the data and is displayed. Carbonini discloses, regarding claim 2, the control device is configured to convert the data set into a plurality of data set images, over which the data of the data set are distributed and which are displayed simultaneously and/or sequentially on the display device (see paragraph [0109], "prepares and codes the data string as a... plurality of QR codes" and paragraph [0108], "displays... QR codes in sequence on display"). Regarding claim 3: that an assignment code is generated for each of the plurality of data set images, which is displayed simultaneously with the respective data set image on the display device, so that the plurality of data set images can be assigned to one another in a predetermined order (see paragraph [0082], "an acquisition algorithm can reconstruct even very long data strings by queuing the data represented by the sequentially interpreted sub-codes of the QR code"; in Carbonini, this necessarily requires an assignment code of some kind, since otherwise reconstruction of the data distributed across multiple QR codes would not be possible).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to adapt Becker in view of Carbonini to provide the control device is configured so as to convert the data set into a plurality of data set images, into which the data of the data set is distributed, and which are displayed simultaneously or sequentially on the display device, an allocation code is respectively generated for the plurality of data set images and displayed simultaneously with the respective data set image on the display device, such that the plurality of data set images can be allocated to one another in a predetermined order.
Becker fails to discloses, regarding claim 6, a mobile terminal comprising a camera, wherein the mobile terminal is configured so as to capture one or more data set images displayed on the display device of the welding machine of claim 1, and wherein the mobile terminal comprises an interface to a data network, and wherein the mobile terminal is configured such that the data set images or data contained in the data set images can be transmitted via a data network to a server; regarding claim 7, wherein the mobile terminal is configured such that a plurality of data set images containing data from a common data set is stored on the mobile terminal while being allocated to one another or transmitted via the data network or data of a data set is extracted on the mobile terminal from one or more data set images and at least one of stored on the mobile terminal or transmitted via the data network; regarding claim 8, the mobile terminal is configured so to automatically capture a sequence of data set images, or the mobile terminal is configured so as to automatically allocate multiple data set images to a data set.
Carbonini discloses, regarding claim 6, a mobile terminal (see paragraph [0037], "Device 50 may be ... a smartphone") comprising a camera (see paragraph [0051], "camera of a smartphone"), wherein the mobile terminal is configured to capture one or more data set images displayed on a display device (see claim 5, "smartphone type configured for... decoding the... QR code ... displayed on the display"), and the mobile terminal has an interface to a data network, and the mobile terminal is configured such that the data set images and/or data contained in the data set images can be transmitted to a server via a data network (see claim 7, "decoding and reconstructing the set of usage parameters by means of said device...transmitting to a server...said set of parameters by means of said device") , capturing a sequence of data set images and extracting data from multiple data set images by the mobile terminal (see paragraph [0080]-[0084], "an acquisition algorithm can reconstruct even very long data strings by queuing the data represented by the sequentially interpreted sub-codes of the QR code").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adapt Becker in view of Carbonini to provide the camera, mobile terminal, interface to a data network and server as well as the plurality of images in a sequence for storing and analyzing the data at a later time.
Becker fails to disclose, regarding claim 9, the portable welding machine according to claim 1; a mobile terminal, comprising a camera, wherein the mobile terminal is configured so as to capture one or more data set images displayed on a display device, and wherein the mobile terminal comprises an interface to a data network, and wherein the mobile terminal is configured such that the data set images or data contained in the data set images can be transmitted via a data network to a server; and the server, wherein the mobile terminal can be connected to the server via a data network in order to transmit the data set images or data contained in the data set images to the server.
Carbonini discloses, regarding claim 9, a mobile terminal (see paragraph [0037], "Device 50 may be ... a smartphone") comprising a camera (see paragraph [0051], "camera of a smartphone"), wherein the mobile terminal is configured to capture one or more data set images displayed on a display device (see claim 5, "smartphone type configured for... decoding the... QR code ... displayed on the display"), and the mobile terminal has an interface to a data network, and the mobile terminal is configured such that the data set images and/or data contained in the data set images can be transmitted to a server via a data network (see claim 7, "decoding and reconstructing the set of usage parameters by means of said device...transmitting to a server...said set of parameters by means of said device").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adapt Becker in view of Carbonini to provide the camera, mobile terminal, interface to a data network and server as well as the plurality of images in a sequence for storing and analyzing the data at a later time.
Regarding claims 10, Becker discloses a portable welding machine (any of the devices in Becker are capable of being moved to a different location), comprising: one or more sensors for monitoring a welding process (sensors monitor the welding process, See Paragraph [0158]), a display device configured to display a two- dimensional graphical display (display devices 62, 32, 34 are two dimensional display’s for displaying welding data, See Paragraph [0083]), and a control device which is configured so as to monitor the welding process, wherein data describing the welding process is captured with the one or more sensors (control circuitry 52 controls the welding process and welding data. See Paragraph [0183]), wherein the control device is configured so as to summarize the captured data into a data set, convert the data set into a machine-readable data set images and display the data set image on the display device (Fig 20 shows the data summarized into a data set in a machine-readable data set image. The image, it is an image as it is an image on the display, contains text and parameter indicators 339. The text is readable via OCR. The sensors monitor the welding process. The display device displays a two dimensional image and the data describing the welding process is captured, summarized and an image is displayed. See Paragraphs [0083], [0153], [)
The claim does not specify the specific image structure of the machine reading the data. As this is not specified, the data set an image only needs to be capable of being read by a machine in some manner. Applicant’s device, in subsequent claims is specific to a QR code, however, this is not claimed in the independent claim. Applicant claims, broad functional limitations. Limitations from the specification are not to be read into the claims. The only limitations to welding are in the functional limitations. There is no structure making the device specific to welding.
Lantieri discloses a portable welding machine, comprising:
an orbital welding head (Fig 2 and 4 show a portable welding machine having an orbital welding head);
one or more sensors configured to monitor a welding process performed using the orbital welding head and capture data describing the welding process; (a sensor is used for monitoring a part of the welding process. See Column 8, Lines 10-15. Claim 9 also provides for sensors measuring the voltage, current and motor speed during the welding process.)
a display device (display 44, LCD 56A) configured to display a two-dimensional graphical display, and a control device configured monitor the data describing the welding process; (Fig 5 shows a 2D graphical display for displaying a 2D graphic describing the weld current and weld voltage in bar graph form.)
summarize the captured data into a data set and display it on the display; (a bar graph, such as the deviation between actual and set voltage is considered to be a data set. See Fig 7, Column 2, Lines 5-15, Lines 55-65, Column 7, Lines 1-20)
A welding device having an orbital welding head which has a display and the control device is configured so as to summarize the captured data into a data set, convert the data set into a machine-readable data set images and display the data set image on the display device is shown in Lantieri. It would have been obvious to use the sensors and control device in an orbital welding head as this would be considered an intended use. The configuration of the control device for monitoring, summarizing, converting and displaying the data is not dependent on the type of welding device. The claims could have been restricted by original presentation as adding the orbital welding limitation may be considered as changing inventions. The claims were also presented without the orbital welding head limitation, further showing an intended use.
Regarding claim 10-12, Carbonini discloses, a mobile terminal (see paragraph [0037], "Device 50 may be ... a smartphone") comprising a camera (see paragraph [0051], "camera of a smartphone"), wherein the mobile terminal is configured to capture one or more data set images displayed on a display device (see claim 5, "smartphone type configured for... decoding the... QR code ... displayed on the display"), and the mobile terminal has an interface to a data network, and the mobile terminal is configured such that the data set images and/or data contained in the data set images can be transmitted to a server via a data network (see claim 7, "decoding and reconstructing the set of usage parameters by means of said device...transmitting to a server...said set of parameters by means of said device").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adapt Becker in view of Carbonini to provide the camera, mobile terminal, interface to a data network and server as well as the plurality of QR code images in a sequence for storing and analyzing the data at a later time.
Regarding claim 13, the data may be a welding speed. (See Paragraph [0081])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Lantieri is used to show the new limitations
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 7/20/2026