DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 17/875,986 filed on 06/17/2026.
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 7 – 14 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 9, 10 and 12 – 14 have been amended.
This action is made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 06/12/2026 have been received and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4 and 7 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 10017116 B2), further in view of Takashi et al. (JP2012118870A), Mimura et al. (US 11198439 B2) and Akira et al. (JP 2009009320 A).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches a vehicular display control device configured to communicate with a display device of a host vehicle to cause images to be displayed at a display region of the display device, the display region being provided in front of a driving seat of the host vehicle, the vehicular display control device comprising: (Sato: Col. 8, line 55 – Col. 9, line 5: “The display device 40 is a display provided in the vehicle to display an image in a display region. The image is a figure displayed in the display region. The display device 40 is controlled by the ECU 30 so as to display an image in the display region. A display that can display a color image is used as the display device 40. As an example of the display device 40, a head-up display is used. The head-up display is a display that displays information in an overlapping manner with a view field of the driver of the vehicle 2. The head-up display has a projector portion placed in an instrument panel of the vehicle 2. The projector portion projects an image on a display surface of a front windshield (an inner reflecting surface of the front windshield) through an opening provided in the instrument panel. The driver can recognize the image visually based on the reflection on the display surface. The display region of the head-up display is a region set in advance in the front windshield, and is a range where the image is projected.”)
a memory; and
a processor coupled to the memory, the processor being configured, by executing a display program stored in the memory, to, (Sato: Col. 8, lines 46 – 54: “The image display apparatus 1 includes at least part of the ECU 30 provided in the vehicle 2 and the display device 40. The ECU 30 is an electronic control unit including a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a Read Only Memory (ROM), a Random Access Memory (RAM), a Controller Area Network (CAN) communications circuit, and so on. The ECU 30 controls the display device 40. Further, the ECU 30 is connected to a display-parts storage portion 50 in which to store parts of an image.”)
when the host vehicle is traveling in a driving assistance mode in which acceleration and deceleration of the host vehicle is performed by a driving assistance electronic control unit without any driving operation intervention by an occupant of the host vehicle: (Sato: Col. 3, lines 34 – 41: “First described is a configuration of the autonomous driving system 100. The autonomous driving system 100 is a system for performing an autonomous driving control of the vehicle 2. The autonomous driving control is a vehicle control to cause the vehicle 2 to automatically run along a road where the vehicle 2 runs without a driver performing a driving operation.”; Col. 6, line 63 – Col. 7, line 2: “The subsequent action information is information about the subsequent action of the vehicle 2 by the autonomous driving control. The subsequent action information includes information about acceleration, deceleration, lane-changing, stop of the autonomous driving control, or end of the autonomous driving control of the vehicle 2.”; Col. 11, lines 49 – 57: “When it is determined that the adjacent vehicle and the vehicle 2 travel side by side, the display control portion 304 displays the adjacent vehicle object Nb at a position adjacent to the vehicle object M within an adjacent traffic lane in the traveling road overlook image L. Thus, the traveling road overlook image L can show, to the occupant, a state of other vehicles around the vehicle 2 during the autonomous driving control.”)
… representing the first other vehicle on the display region at a position of the first other vehicle, the first range corresponding to a display range of the display region; (Sato: Col. 11, lines 11 – 26: “The display control portion 304 displays the leading vehicle object Na and the adjacent vehicle object Nb based on information of other vehicles around the vehicle 2. The information is acquired from the autonomous driving system 100. When there is no leading vehicle 3, the display control portion 304 does not display the leading vehicle object Na. When an inter-vehicle distance between the vehicle 2 and the leading vehicle 3 is a predetermined distance (e.g., 100 m, 200 m) or less, the display control portion 304 displays the leading vehicle object Na. A distance between the vehicle object M and the leading vehicle object Na in the traveling road overlook image L is uniform. The display control portion 304 may change the distance between the vehicle object M and the leading vehicle object Na according to an actual inter-vehicle distance between the vehicle 2 and the leading vehicle 3.”; Col. 11, lines 39 – 44: “When it is determined that the adjacent vehicle is positioned ahead of the vehicle 2, the display control portion 304 displays the adjacent vehicle object Nb at a position ahead (in the depth direction) of the vehicle object M within an adjacent traffic lane in the traveling road overlook image L.”)
… outside of the display range of the display region, (Sato: Col. 11, lines 27 – 35: “Similarly, when there is no adjacent vehicle, the display control portion 304 does not display the adjacent vehicle object Nb. When there is an adjacent vehicle within a predetermined distance (e.g., 100 m) in front of or behind the vehicle 2, the display control portion 304 displays the adjacent vehicle object Nb. The display control portion 304 displays the adjacent vehicle object Nb at a corresponding position in the adjacent traffic lane R2, R3 where the adjacent vehicle exists.”).
In sum, Sato teaches a vehicular display control device configured to communicate with a display device of a host vehicle to cause images to be displayed at a display region of the display device, the display region being provided in front of a driving seat of the host vehicle, the vehicular display control device comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor being configured, by executing a display program stored in the memory, to, when the host vehicle is traveling in a driving assistance mode in which acceleration and deceleration of the host vehicle is performed by a driving assistance electronic control unit without any driving operation intervention by an occupant of the host vehicle: representing the first other vehicle on the display region at a position of the first other vehicle, the first range corresponding to a display range of the display region; outside of the display range of the display region. Sato however does not teach in a case in which the processor has determined, based on information received from a radar device and a camera of the host vehicle, that a first other vehicle is present in a first range of surroundings of the host vehicle, cause the display device of the host vehicle to display a vehicle image having a shape of a vehicle and that a speed of the second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that a distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is decreasing so that the host vehicle traveling in the driving assistance mode performs one of acceleration and deceleration due to presence of the second other vehicle, that the speed of the second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that the distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is increasing, (ii) cause the display device of the host vehicle to not display, on the display region, the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle.
Mimura teaches (1) in a case in which the processor has determined, based on information received from a radar device and a camera of the host vehicle, that a first other vehicle is present in a first range of surroundings of the host vehicle, cause the display device of the host vehicle to display a vehicle image having a shape of a vehicle and (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 34 – 41: “The vehicle system 1, for example, includes a camera 10, a radar device 12, a finder 14, an object recognizing device 16, a communication device 20, a human machine interface (HMI) 30, a vehicle sensor 40, a navigation device 50, a map positioning unit (MPU) 60, a driving operator 80, an automated driving control device 100, a running driving force output device 200, a brake device 210, and a steering device 220.”; Col. 14, line 64 – Col. 15, line 1: “For example, in a case in which a shape of another vehicle is recognized as being a shape of a bus, a large truck, or the like by the object recognizing device 16, an image of the other vehicle corresponding to the shape is displayed.”)
… that a speed of the second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that a distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is decreasing (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 64 – 67: “The radar device 12 is installed at an arbitrary place on the subject vehicle M. The radar device 12 may detect a position and a speed of an object using a frequency modulated continuous wave (FM-CW) system.”,
Supplemental Note: the radar device is able to continuously detect the speed and position of an object, thus able to determine if the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicles are increasing or decreasing)
so that the host vehicle traveling in the driving assistance mode performs one of acceleration and deceleration due to presence of the second other vehicle, (Mimura: Col. 21, lines 55 – 60: “the automated driving control device 100 that generates a target trajectory of the subject vehicle M on the basis of states of the objects recognized by the recognizer 130 and controls one or both of the speed and steering of the subject vehicle M on the basis of the generated target trajectory,”; Col. 21, lines 11 – 13: “FIG. 21 is a flowchart illustrating one example of the flow of a series of processes performed by the automated driving control device 100.”,
Supplemental Note: the automated driving control device is able to control the speed and steering of the vehicle per the surrounding vehicles around it. Adjusting the speed of the vehicle is interpreted to also adjust the acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle. This further shown in Figure C)
Figure C: Mimura: Fig. 21
… that the speed of the second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that the distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is increasing, (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 64 – 67: “The radar device 12 is installed at an arbitrary place on the subject vehicle M. The radar device 12 may detect a position and a speed of an object using a frequency modulated continuous wave (FM-CW) system.”,
Supplemental Note: the radar device is able to continuously detect the speed and position of an object, thus able to determine if the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicles are increasing or decreasing)
(ii) cause the display device of the host vehicle to not display, on the display region, the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle (Mimura: Col. 20, line 60 – Col. 21, line 1: “In accordance with an influence of low visibility due to heavy rain or the like, in a case in which surrounding objects of the subject vehicle M cannot be recognized or a case in which the reliability of recognition of surrounding objects is equal to or lower than a threshold, the HMI controller 174 may perform control of increasing transmittance of images of the other vehicles or not displaying the images of the other vehicles as a relative distance from the subject vehicle M increases.”,
Supplemental Note: based on the distances increasing between the host vehicle and other vehicles, the HMI controller does not display their images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Mimura with a reasonable expectation of success. Sato teaches the ability to display a box on a screen viewable by the driver to indicate the position of vehicles around the host vehicle. Similarly, Mimura teaches the same function however they teach displaying the vehicle shape representing the vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would find these representations of the surrounding vehicles by Sato and Mimura to be mere simple substitutions. For example, switching out the vehicle shape representation as taught by Mimura with the box outline as taught by Sato would still indicate to the driver the location of the surrounding vehicles. Furthermore, Mimura teaches the ability of detecting the speed and position of the adjacent vehicles to determine where to display the image of the vehicle. Sato teaches a similar function of determining the position of the adjacent vehicles, not the speed, in which it is able to determine to display the box outline or not. One of ordinary skill in the art would also find it obvious to try to combine the function of Mimura being able to detect the speed of the object as well as the position with the vehicle system of Sato. This allows for additional information about the surrounding vehicles that can be used to warn the driver about its environment. For example, if the driver wants to turn into the left lane, evaluating the speed of the approaching vehicle in the left lane can now also be analyzed and thus displaying an indication of the adjacent vehicle. This also aids in the steering and acceleration/deceleration control of the vehicle. Both vehicles are able to be operated autonomously, therefore the benefits to the driver of knowing the speed of the adjacent vehicle can also be directed to the autonomous driving control. Sato in view of Mimura however still do not teach (2) only in a case in which the processor has determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, (a) that a second other vehicle is travelling in a second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and (b) that the second other vehicle is travelling in a merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with a lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and (c) based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at a predetermined cycle, (3) in a case in which the processor has determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, (d) that the second other vehicle is travelling in the second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and outside of the display range of the display region, (e) that the second other vehicle is travelling in the merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with the lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and (f) based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at the predetermined cycle.
Takahashi teaches (2) only in a case in which the processor has determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013: “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle control system includes a front millimeter wave radar 11, a front image sensor 12, and a headlamp 13 provided toward the front of the vehicle, and a rear millimeter wave provided toward the rear of the vehicle. Radar 15 and rear image sensor 16, turn signals 14 provided at the four corners of the vehicle,”; Paragraph 0014: “The forward millimeter wave radar 11 radiates (scans) a millimeter wave toward a space in a certain angular range in front of the vehicle, and receives the reflected wave, whereby the shape of an object existing in the angular range and It is a device that outputs a signal representing a distance. The front image sensor 12 is a device that continuously captures a space in a certain angle range in front of the vehicle and outputs a signal (image data) representing the shape and size of an object existing in the space. The millimeter wave irradiation range by the front millimeter wave radar 11 and the photographing range by the front image sensor 12 overlap each other”)
(a) that a second other vehicle is travelling in a second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and (Takashi: Paragraph 0034: “ In S008, the control ECU 1 analyzes the signal input from the front millimeter-wave radar 11 and the signal (image) input from the front image sensor 12, so that the distance in the front-rear direction to other vehicles on the merge lane S is determined. D (see FIG. 7) is calculated. In this case, when a plurality of vehicles are traveling on the merging lane S, the control ECU 1 sets the calculated distance D closest to the subsequent processing target. Therefore, in the following description, a vehicle that is a processing target is referred to as an “adjacent vehicle”. Then, the control ECU 1 checks whether or not the distance D to the adjacent vehicle exceeds 10 m. And if distance D to an adjacent vehicle is 10 m or less, control ECU1 will advance a process to S101. On the other hand, if the distance D calculated for the adjacent vehicle exceeds 10 m, the control ECU 1 advances to S009.”; Paragraphs 0053 – 0054: “On the other hand, in S207, the control ECU 1 determines whether there is a vehicle on the rear side of the host vehicle on the lane to be merged on the main line M based on the detection result in S201. When there is no vehicle behind the host vehicle on the lane where the main line M is merged, the possibility of a collision is low. Therefore, the control ECU 1 advances the process to S014. On the other hand, when a vehicle is present behind the host vehicle on the lane where the main line M is merged, the host vehicle does not blink the turn signal, or the vehicle on the main line is passing or a hazard lamp. As long as it is not blinking, a collision may occur. Therefore, the control ECU 1 advances the process to S208. In S208, the control ECU 1 displays a warning for alerting on the display 17. Note that a warning for calling attention may be output by voice.”,
Supplemental Note: the vehicle can detect if an adjacent vehicle in a merge lane is a set distance away (10 meters) and decides to alert the driver accordingly)
(b) that the second other vehicle is travelling in a merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with a lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and (Takashi: Paragraph 0035: “In S009, the control ECU 1 checks whether the distance between the vehicles is currently being controlled and whether the distance D to the adjacent vehicle is shorter than the current distance to the ACC target vehicle. If the inter-vehicle distance control is currently being performed and the distance D is equal to or greater than the distance to the current ACC target vehicle, the vehicle on the merge lane S cannot be safely merged by adjusting the speed of the own vehicle.”)
(c) based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at a predetermined cycle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013: “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle control system includes a front millimeter wave radar 11, a front image sensor 12, and a headlamp 13 provided toward the front of the vehicle, and a rear millimeter wave provided toward the rear of the vehicle. Radar 15 and rear image sensor 16, turn signals 14 provided at the four corners of the vehicle,”; Paragraph 0014: “The forward millimeter wave radar 11 radiates (scans) a millimeter wave toward a space in a certain angular range in front of the vehicle, and receives the reflected wave, whereby the shape of an object existing in the angular range and It is a device that outputs a signal representing a distance. The front image sensor 12 is a device that continuously captures a space in a certain angle range in front of the vehicle and outputs a signal (image data) representing the shape and size of an object existing in the space. The millimeter wave irradiation range by the front millimeter wave radar 11 and the photographing range by the front image sensor 12 overlap each other”)
… (3) in a case in which the processor has determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013: “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle control system includes a front millimeter wave radar 11, a front image sensor 12, and a headlamp 13 provided toward the front of the vehicle, and a rear millimeter wave provided toward the rear of the vehicle. Radar 15 and rear image sensor 16, turn signals 14 provided at the four corners of the vehicle,”; Paragraph 0014: “The forward millimeter wave radar 11 radiates (scans) a millimeter wave toward a space in a certain angular range in front of the vehicle, and receives the reflected wave, whereby the shape of an object existing in the angular range and It is a device that outputs a signal representing a distance. The front image sensor 12 is a device that continuously captures a space in a certain angle range in front of the vehicle and outputs a signal (image data) representing the shape and size of an object existing in the space. The millimeter wave irradiation range by the front millimeter wave radar 11 and the photographing range by the front image sensor 12 overlap each other”)
(d) that the second other vehicle is travelling in the second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and outside of the display range of the display region, (Takashi: Paragraph 0034: “ In S008, the control ECU 1 analyzes the signal input from the front millimeter-wave radar 11 and the signal (image) input from the front image sensor 12, so that the distance in the front-rear direction to other vehicles on the merge lane S is determined. D (see FIG. 7) is calculated. In this case, when a plurality of vehicles are traveling on the merging lane S, the control ECU 1 sets the calculated distance D closest to the subsequent processing target. Therefore, in the following description, a vehicle that is a processing target is referred to as an “adjacent vehicle”. Then, the control ECU 1 checks whether or not the distance D to the adjacent vehicle exceeds 10 m. And if distance D to an adjacent vehicle is 10 m or less, control ECU1 will advance a process to S101. On the other hand, if the distance D calculated for the adjacent vehicle exceeds 10 m, the control ECU 1 advances to S009.”; Paragraphs 0053 – 0054: “On the other hand, in S207, the control ECU 1 determines whether there is a vehicle on the rear side of the host vehicle on the lane to be merged on the main line M based on the detection result in S201. When there is no vehicle behind the host vehicle on the lane where the main line M is merged, the possibility of a collision is low. Therefore, the control ECU 1 advances the process to S014. On the other hand, when a vehicle is present behind the host vehicle on the lane where the main line M is merged, the host vehicle does not blink the turn signal, or the vehicle on the main line is passing or a hazard lamp. As long as it is not blinking, a collision may occur. Therefore, the control ECU 1 advances the process to S208. In S208, the control ECU 1 displays a warning for alerting on the display 17. Note that a warning for calling attention may be output by voice.”,
Supplemental Note: the vehicle can detect if an adjacent vehicle in a merge lane is a set distance away (10 meters) and decides to alert the driver accordingly)
(e) that the second other vehicle is travelling in the merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with the lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and (Takashi: Paragraph 0035: “In S009, the control ECU 1 checks whether the distance between the vehicles is currently being controlled and whether the distance D to the adjacent vehicle is shorter than the current distance to the ACC target vehicle. If the inter-vehicle distance control is currently being performed and the distance D is equal to or greater than the distance to the current ACC target vehicle, the vehicle on the merge lane S cannot be safely merged by adjusting the speed of the own vehicle.”)
(f) based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at the predetermined cycle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013: “As shown in FIG. 1, the vehicle control system includes a front millimeter wave radar 11, a front image sensor 12, and a headlamp 13 provided toward the front of the vehicle, and a rear millimeter wave provided toward the rear of the vehicle. Radar 15 and rear image sensor 16, turn signals 14 provided at the four corners of the vehicle,”; Paragraph 0014: “The forward millimeter wave radar 11 radiates (scans) a millimeter wave toward a space in a certain angular range in front of the vehicle, and receives the reflected wave, whereby the shape of an object existing in the angular range and It is a device that outputs a signal representing a distance. The front image sensor 12 is a device that continuously captures a space in a certain angle range in front of the vehicle and outputs a signal (image data) representing the shape and size of an object existing in the space. The millimeter wave irradiation range by the front millimeter wave radar 11 and the photographing range by the front image sensor 12 overlap each other”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Takashi with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Sato and Takashi teach autonomous vehicles with various sensors to perform driving functions. Takashi further teaches the ability to utilize multiple sensors such as radar and image sensors for scanning the environment. One with knowledge in the art would find this obvious to try to implement with the vehicle of Sato as it currently teaches containing only one external sensor. Additional sensors increase the coverage the sensors are able to view and gather additional environmental information which is crucial for performing proper autonomous driving functions. Furthermore, Takashi is able to determine whether or not the host vehicle is in a merging situation in which it evaluates the position of the adjacent vehicles to determine whether or not to alert the driver about a potential collision with the adjacent vehicle when merging. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this limitation as obvious to try to combine with the vehicle system of Sato. Sato already teaches the ability to determine if an adjacent vehicle is within a predetermined distance of the host vehicle, the addition of also determining the distances between the adjacent vehicle would increase the awareness and safety of the autonomous vehicle. For example, a vehicle traveling quickly in an adjacent lane that the host vehicle is planning to change to can potentially lead to a collision. This situation can be mitigated as the distance of the adjacent vehicle can now be monitored as taught by Takashi. Scanning adjacent vehicles and determining if merging is safe increases the safety of its passengers. Sato in view of Takahashi however still do not teach (i) cause the display device of the host vehicle to display, on the display region, a direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle, the direction marking being different from the vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle.
Akira teaches (i) cause the display device of the host vehicle to display, on the display region, a direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle, the direction marking being different from the vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle; and (Akira: lines 140 – 142: “The display device 13 is composed of a head-up display that projects and displays information on a windshield, for example. As shown in FIG. 4, the display 13 displays an arrow indicating a direction in which attention is directed to the driver.”; lines 172 – 182: “Then, the LED corresponding to the direction (position) of the approaching vehicle or the like among the LEDs 17 to 19 of the display 13 is blinked (step S104). Specifically, when it is determined that there is an approaching vehicle or the like approaching from behind the host vehicle, the LED 17 indicating the arrow display in the rearview mirror direction is blinked, and the approaching vehicle or the like approaching from the left rear side of the host vehicle is displayed. When it is determined that the vehicle is present, the LED 18 indicating the arrow in the left side mirror direction is blinked. When it is determined that there is an approaching vehicle or the like approaching from the right rear side of the own vehicle, the LED 18 is directed toward the right side mirror. The LED 19 indicating an arrow is blinked. At this time, when there are a plurality of approaching vehicles or the like approaching the host vehicle, all the LEDs corresponding to the direction of the approaching vehicle or the like are blinked, or only the LEDs in the direction most likely to collide are blinked.”,
Supplemental Note: based on the direction of an approaching vehicle, the vehicle display is able to show an direction arrow of its location to the driver).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Takashi with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Sato and Akira teach the ability of detecting the surrounding environment of a host vehicle and determining when to display an adjacent vehicle. Akira teaches the ability of detecting when a vehicle is approaching the host vehicle, on either sides, to light up a direction marking on a display which states the direction the vehicle is coming in. This function of Akira would be obvious to try to combine by one of ordinary skill in the art with the vehicle system of Sato by one of ordinary skill in the art as it increases the awareness of other vehicles on the road to the driver and to the autonomous driving system of Sato. For example, if the vehicle is to autonomously change lane the driver is able to view the direction marking and able to verify that there are no adjacent vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, Sato, as modified, does not teach wherein the processor is configured to display the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located, as an animation.
Akira teaches wherein the processor is configured to display the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located, as an animation (Akira: lines 140 – 142: “The display device 13 is composed of a head-up display that projects and displays information on a windshield, for example. As shown in FIG. 4, the display 13 displays an arrow indicating a direction in which attention is directed to the driver.”; lines 172 – 182: “Then, the LED corresponding to the direction (position) of the approaching vehicle or the like among the LEDs 17 to 19 of the display 13 is blinked (step S104). Specifically, when it is determined that there is an approaching vehicle or the like approaching from behind the host vehicle, the LED 17 indicating the arrow display in the rearview mirror direction is blinked, and the approaching vehicle or the like approaching from the left rear side of the host vehicle is displayed. When it is determined that the vehicle is present, the LED 18 indicating the arrow in the left side mirror direction is blinked. When it is determined that there is an approaching vehicle or the like approaching from the right rear side of the own vehicle, the LED 18 is directed toward the right side mirror. The LED 19 indicating an arrow is blinked. At this time, when there are a plurality of approaching vehicles or the like approaching the host vehicle, all the LEDs corresponding to the direction of the approaching vehicle or the like are blinked, or only the LEDs in the direction most likely to collide are blinked.”,
Supplemental Note: based on the direction of an approaching vehicle, the vehicle display is able to show an direction arrow of its location to the driver).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Takashi with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 7, Sato, as modified, teaches a vehicle comprising:
the vehicular display control device of claim 1; and
a head-up display device, which is the display device of the host vehicle with which the vehicular display control device communicates, (Sato: Col. 8, line 55 – Col. 9, line 5: “The display device 40 is a display provided in the vehicle to display an image in a display region. The image is a figure displayed in the display region. The display device 40 is controlled by the ECU 30 so as to display an image in the display region. A display that can display a color image is used as the display device 40. As an example of the display device 40, a head-up display is used. The head-up display is a display that displays information in an overlapping manner with a view field of the driver of the vehicle 2. The head-up display has a projector portion placed in an instrument panel of the vehicle 2. The projector portion projects an image on a display surface of a front windshield (an inner reflecting surface of the front windshield) through an opening provided in the instrument panel. The driver can recognize the image visually based on the reflection on the display surface. The display region of the head-up display is a region set in advance in the front windshield, and is a range where the image is projected.”)
the head-up display device being configured to display the vehicle image representing the first other vehicle and (Sato: Col. 10, line 63 – Col. 11, line 10: “Further, the traveling road overlook image L illustrated in FIG. 2 also includes a vehicle object M indicative of the vehicle 2, a leading vehicle object Na indicative of a leading vehicle 3 with respect to the vehicle 2, and an adjacent vehicle object Nb indicative of an adjacent vehicle with respect to the vehicle 2. In the traveling road overlook image L illustrated in FIG. 2, a travelling direction (a depth direction) of the vehicle object M illustrated on the display surface G is along a longitudinal direction (an upper direction, the Y-axis direction) of the display surface G. Note that the travelling direction of vehicle object M may not necessarily accord with the longitudinal direction of the display surface G. Further, the travelling direction of the vehicle object M does not change on the traveling road overlook image L.”; Col. 11, lines 44 – 57: “When it is determined that the adjacent vehicle is positioned behind the vehicle 2, the display control portion 304 displays the adjacent vehicle object Nb at a position behind (near side relative to) the vehicle object M within an adjacent traffic lane in the traveling road overlook image L. When it is determined that the adjacent vehicle and the vehicle 2 travel side by side, the display control portion 304 displays the adjacent vehicle object Nb at a position adjacent to the vehicle object M within an adjacent traffic lane in the traveling road overlook image L. Thus, the traveling road overlook image L can show, to the occupant, a state of other vehicles around the vehicle 2 during the autonomous driving control.“).
In sum, Sato teaches a vehicle comprising: a head-up display device, which is the display device of the host vehicle with which the vehicular display control device communicates, the head-up display device being configured to display the vehicle image representing the first other vehicle. Sato however does not teach to display the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located, on the display region, which is set on a windshield glass of the host vehicle.
Akira teaches to display the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located, on the display region, which is set on a windshield glass of the host vehicle (Akira: lines 140 – 142: “The display device 13 is composed of a head-up display that projects and displays information on a windshield, for example. As shown in FIG. 4, the display 13 displays an arrow indicating a direction in which attention is directed to the driver.”; lines 172 – 182: “Then, the LED corresponding to the direction (position) of the approaching vehicle or the like among the LEDs 17 to 19 of the display 13 is blinked (step S104). Specifically, when it is determined that there is an approaching vehicle or the like approaching from behind the host vehicle, the LED 17 indicating the arrow display in the rearview mirror direction is blinked, and the approaching vehicle or the like approaching from the left rear side of the host vehicle is displayed. When it is determined that the vehicle is present, the LED 18 indicating the arrow in the left side mirror direction is blinked. When it is determined that there is an approaching vehicle or the like approaching from the right rear side of the own vehicle, the LED 18 is directed toward the right side mirror. The LED 19 indicating an arrow is blinked. At this time, when there are a plurality of approaching vehicles or the like approaching the host vehicle, all the LEDs corresponding to the direction of the approaching vehicle or the like are blinked, or only the LEDs in the direction most likely to collide are blinked.”,
Supplemental Note: based on the direction of an approaching vehicle, the vehicle display is able to show an direction arrow of its location to the driver).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Takashi with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 8, Sato, as modified, teaches a vehicle comprising:
the vehicular display control device of claim 1; and
a display, which is the display device of the host vehicle with which the vehicular display control device communicates, the display being provided inside a cabin of the host vehicle and including the display region (Sato: Col. 8, line 55 – Col. 9, line 5: “The display device 40 is a display provided in the vehicle to display an image in a display region. The image is a figure displayed in the display region. The display device 40 is controlled by the ECU 30 so as to display an image in the display region. A display that can display a color image is used as the display device 40. As an example of the display device 40, a head-up display is used. The head-up display is a display that displays information in an overlapping manner with a view field of the driver of the vehicle 2. The head-up display has a projector portion placed in an instrument panel of the vehicle 2. The projector portion projects an image on a display surface of a front windshield (an inner reflecting surface of the front windshield) through an opening provided in the instrument panel. The driver can recognize the image visually based on the reflection on the display surface. The display region of the head-up display is a region set in advance in the front windshield, and is a range where the image is projected.”).
Regarding claim 9, Sato teaches a display control method executed by a processor that communicates with a display device of a host vehicle to cause images to be displayed at a display region of the display device, the display region being provided in front of a driving seat of the host vehicle, the display control method comprising, (Sato: Col. 8, line 55 – Col. 9, line 5)
when the host vehicle is traveling in a driving assistance mode in which acceleration and deceleration of the host vehicle is performed by a driving assistance electronic control unit without any driving operation intervention by an occupant of the host vehicle: (Sato: Col. 3, lines 34 – 41; Col. 6, line 63 – Col. 7, line 2; Col. 11, lines 49 – 57)
... representing the first other vehicle on the display region at a position of the first other vehicle, the first range corresponding to a display range of the display region; (Sato: Col. 11, lines 11 – 26; Col. 11, lines 39 – 44)
… outside of the display range of the display region, (Sato: Col. 11, lines 27 – 35).
In sum, Sato teaches a display control method executed by a processor that communicates with a display device of a host vehicle to cause images to be displayed at a display region of the display device, the display region being provided in front of a driving seat of the host vehicle, the display control method comprising, when the host vehicle is traveling in a driving assistance mode in which acceleration and deceleration of the host vehicle is performed by a driving assistance electronic control unit without any driving operation intervention by an occupant of the host vehicle: representing the first other vehicle on the display region at a position of the first other vehicle, the first range corresponding to a display range of the display region; outside of the display range of the display region. Sato however does not teach (1) in a case in which the processor has determined, based on information received from a radar device and a camera of the host vehicle, that a first other vehicle is present in a first range of surroundings of the host vehicle, the processor causing the display device of the host vehicle to display a vehicle image having a shape of a vehicle and that a speed of a second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is decreasing so that the host vehicle traveling in the driving assistance mode performs one of acceleration and deceleration due to presence of the second other vehicle, that the speed of the second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that the distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is increasing, (ii) the processor causing the display device of the host vehicle to not display, on the display region, the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle.
Mimura teaches (1) in a case in which the processor has determined, based on information received from a radar device and a camera of the host vehicle, that a first other vehicle is present in a first range of surroundings of the host vehicle, the processor causing the display device of the host vehicle to display a vehicle image having a shape of a vehicle and (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 34 – 41; Col. 14, line 64 – Col. 15, line 1)
… that a speed of a second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is decreasing (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 64 – 67)
so that the host vehicle traveling in the driving assistance mode performs one of acceleration and deceleration due to presence of the second other vehicle, (Mimura: Col. 21, lines 55 – 60; Col. 21, lines 11 – 13,
Supplemental Note: the automated driving control device is able to control the speed and steering of the vehicle per the surrounding vehicles around it. Adjusting the speed of the vehicle is interpreted to also adjust the acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle. This further shown in Figure C)
… that the speed of the second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that the distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is increasing, (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 64 – 67,
Supplemental Note: the radar device is able to continuously detect the speed and position of an object, thus able to determine if the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicles are increasing or decreasing)
(ii) the processor causing the display device of the host vehicle to not display, on the display region, the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle (Mimura: Col. 20, line 60 – Col. 21, line 1,
Supplemental Note: based on the distances increasing between the host vehicle and other vehicles, the HMI controller does not display their images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Mimura with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Sato in view of Mimura however still do not teach only in a case in which the processor has determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, that a second other vehicle is travelling in a second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and that the second other vehicle is travelling in a merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with a lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at a predetermined cycle, determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, that the second other vehicle is travelling in the second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and outside of the display range of the display region, that the second other vehicle is travelling in the merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with the lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at the predetermined cycle.
Takahashi teaches (2) only in a case in which the processor has determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013; Paragraph 0014)
(a) that a second other vehicle is travelling in a second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and (Takashi: Paragraph 0034; Paragraphs 0053 – 0054,
Supplemental Note: the vehicle can detect if an adjacent vehicle in a merge lane is a set distance away (10 meters) and decides to alert the driver accordingly)
… (b) that the second other vehicle is travelling in a merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with a lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and (Takashi: Paragraph 0035)
(c) based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at a predetermined cycle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013; Paragraph 0014)
… (3) in a case in which the processor has determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013; Paragraph 0014)
(d) that the second other vehicle is travelling in the second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and outside of the display range of the display region, (Takashi: Paragraph 0034; Paragraphs 0053 – 0054,
Supplemental Note: the vehicle can detect if an adjacent vehicle in a merge lane is a set distance away (10 meters) and decides to alert the driver accordingly)
(e) that the second other vehicle is travelling in the merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with the lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and (Takashi: Paragraph 0035)
(f) based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at the predetermined cycle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013; Paragraph 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Takashi with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Sato in view of Takashi however still do not teach the processor causing the display device of the host vehicle to display, on the display region, a direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle, the direction marking being different from the vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle.
Akira teaches (i) the processor causing the display device of the host vehicle to display, on the display region, a direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle, the direction marking being different from the vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle; and (Akira: lines 140 – 142; lines 172 – 182,
Supplemental Note: based on the direction of an approaching vehicle, the vehicle display is able to show an direction arrow of its location to the driver).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Akira with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 10, Sato teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium on which is stored a program for causing a computer (Sato: Col. 8, lines 46 – 54)
that controls a display device of a host vehicle to cause images to be displayed at a display region of the display device, the display region being provided in front of a driving seat of the host vehicle, (Sato: Col. 8, line 55 – Col. 9, line 5)
the program causing the computer to execute processing (Sato: Col. 8, lines 46 – 54)
when the host vehicle is traveling in a driving assistance mode in which acceleration and deceleration of the host vehicle is performed by a driving assistance electronic control unit without any driving operation intervention by an occupant of the host vehicle, the processing comprising: (Sato: Col. 3, lines 34 – 41; Col. 6, line 63 – Col. 7, line 2; Col. 11, lines 49 – 57)
… representing the first other vehicle on the display region at a position of the first other vehicle, the first range corresponding to a display range of the display region; (Sato: Col. 11, lines 11 – 26; Col. 11, lines 39 – 44)
… outside of the display range of the display region, (Sato: Col. 11, lines 27 – 35).
In sum, Sato teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium on which is stored a program for causing a computer that controls a display device of a host vehicle to cause images to be displayed at a display region of the display device, the display region being provided in front of a driving seat of the host vehicle, the program causing the computer to execute processing when the host vehicle is traveling in a driving assistance mode in which acceleration and deceleration of the host vehicle is performed by a driving assistance electronic control unit without any driving operation intervention by an occupant of the host vehicle, the processing comprising: representing the first other vehicle on the display region at a position of the first other vehicle, the first range corresponding to a display range of the display region; outside of the display range of the display region. Sato however does not teach in a case in which the processor has determined, based on information received from a radar device and a camera of the host vehicle, that a first other vehicle is present in a first range of surroundings of the host vehicle, the processor causing the display device of the host vehicle to display a vehicle image having a shape of a vehicle and that a speed of a second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is decreasing so that the host vehicle traveling in the driving assistance mode performs one of acceleration and deceleration due to presence of the second other vehicle, that the speed of the second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that the distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is increasing, the processor causing the display device of the host vehicle to not display, on the display region, the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle.
Mimura teaches (1) in a case in which the processor has determined, based on information received from a radar device and a camera of the host vehicle, that a first other vehicle is present in a first range of surroundings of the host vehicle, the processor causing the display device of the host vehicle to display a vehicle image having a shape of a vehicle and (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 34 – 41; Col. 14, line 64 – Col. 15, line 1)
… that a speed of a second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is decreasing (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 64 – 67)
so that the host vehicle traveling in the driving assistance mode performs one of acceleration and deceleration due to presence of the second other vehicle, (Mimura: Col. 21, lines 55 – 60; Col. 21, lines 11 – 13,
Supplemental Note: the automated driving control device is able to control the speed and steering of the vehicle per the surrounding vehicles around it. Adjusting the speed of the vehicle is interpreted to also adjust the acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle. This further shown in Figure C)
… that the speed of the second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that the distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is increasing, (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 64 – 67,
Supplemental Note: the radar device is able to continuously detect the speed and position of an object, thus able to determine if the distance between the host vehicle and the other vehicles are increasing or decreasing)
(ii) the processor causing the display device of the host vehicle to not display, on the display region, the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle (Mimura: Col. 20, line 60 – Col. 21, line 1,
Supplemental Note: based on the distances increasing between the host vehicle and other vehicles, the HMI controller does not display their images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Mimura with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Sato in view of Mimura however still do not teach only in a case in which the processor has determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, that a second other vehicle is travelling in a second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and that the second other vehicle is travelling in a merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with a lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at a predetermined cycle, in a case in which the processor has determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, that the second other vehicle is travelling in the second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and outside of the display range of the display region that the second other vehicle is travelling in the merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with the lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at the predetermined cycle.
Takahashi teaches (2) only in a case in which the processor has determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013; Paragraph 0014)
(a) that a second other vehicle is travelling in a second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and (Takashi: Paragraph 0034; Paragraphs 0053 – 0054,
Supplemental Note: the vehicle can detect if an adjacent vehicle in a merge lane is a set distance away (10 meters) and decides to alert the driver accordingly)
… (b) that the second other vehicle is travelling in a merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with a lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and (Takashi: Paragraph 0035)
(c) based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at a predetermined cycle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013; Paragraph 0014)
… (3) in a case in which the processor has determined, based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013; Paragraph 0014)
(d) that the second other vehicle is travelling in the second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and outside of the display range of the display region, (Takashi: Paragraph 0034; Paragraphs 0053 – 0054,
Supplemental Note: the vehicle can detect if an adjacent vehicle in a merge lane is a set distance away (10 meters) and decides to alert the driver accordingly)
(e) that the second other vehicle is travelling in the merging lane that is within the second range and that merges with the lane in which the host vehicle is travelling, and (Takashi: Paragraph 0035)
(f) based on the information received from the radar device and the camera of the host vehicle at the predetermined cycle, (Takashi: Paragraph 0013; Paragraph 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Takahashi with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Sato in view of Takahashi however still do not teach causing the display device of the host vehicle to display, on the display region, a direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle, the direction marking being different from the vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle.
Akira teaches (i) causing the display device of the host vehicle to display, on the display region, a direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle, the direction marking being different from the vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle; and (Akira: lines 140 – 142; lines 172 – 182,
Supplemental Note: based on the direction of an approaching vehicle, the vehicle display is able to show an direction arrow of its location to the driver).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Akira with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 11, Sato, as modified, teaches wherein the display device of the host vehicle is a head-up display device that displays the vehicle image representing the first other vehicle and (Sato: Col. 11, lines 44 – 57: “When it is determined that the adjacent vehicle is positioned behind the vehicle 2, the display control portion 304 displays the adjacent vehicle object Nb at a position behind (near side relative to) the vehicle object M within an adjacent traffic lane in the traveling road overlook image L. When it is determined that the adjacent vehicle and the vehicle 2 travel side by side, the display control portion 304 displays the adjacent vehicle object Nb at a position adjacent to the vehicle object M within an adjacent traffic lane in the traveling road overlook image L. Thus, the traveling road overlook image L can show, to the occupant, a state of other vehicles around the vehicle 2 during the autonomous driving control.“,
Supplemental Note: the claimed direction marking is interpreted as the prior art teaching to display an adjacent vehicle object Nb at a position adjacent to the vehicle).
In sum, Sato teaches wherein the display device of the host vehicle is a head-up display device that displays the vehicle image representing the first other vehicle. Sato however does not teach the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located, on the display region, the display region being set on a windshield glass of the host vehicle.
Akira teaches the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located, on the display region,
the display region being set on a windshield glass of the host vehicle (Akira: lines 140 – 142: “The display device 13 is composed of a head-up display that projects and displays information on a windshield, for example. As shown in FIG. 4, the display 13 displays an arrow indicating a direction in which attention is directed to the driver.”; lines 172 – 182: “Then, the LED corresponding to the direction (position) of the approaching vehicle or the like among the LEDs 17 to 19 of the display 13 is blinked (step S104). Specifically, when it is determined that there is an approaching vehicle or the like approaching from behind the host vehicle, the LED 17 indicating the arrow display in the rearview mirror direction is blinked, and the approaching vehicle or the like approaching from the left rear side of the host vehicle is displayed. When it is determined that the vehicle is present, the LED 18 indicating the arrow in the left side mirror direction is blinked. When it is determined that there is an approaching vehicle or the like approaching from the right rear side of the own vehicle, the LED 18 is directed toward the right side mirror. The LED 19 indicating an arrow is blinked. At this time, when there are a plurality of approaching vehicles or the like approaching the host vehicle, all the LEDs corresponding to the direction of the approaching vehicle or the like are blinked, or only the LEDs in the direction most likely to collide are blinked.”,
Supplemental Note: based on the direction of an approaching vehicle, the vehicle display is able to show an direction arrow of its location to the driver).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Akira with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Claims 12 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 10017116 B2) in view of Takashi et al. (JP2012118870A), Mimura et al. (US 11198439 B2) and Akira et al. (JP 2009009320 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Perea et al. (Halo3D: a Technique for Visualizing Off-Screen Points of Interest in Mobile Augmented Reality).
Regarding claim 12, Sato, as modified, teaches wherein the processor is configured to, when a detected vehicle corresponding to the second other vehicle whose distance from the host vehicle is decreasing transitions from being located further outward from the host vehicle than the first range to being located within the first range and within the display range of the display region, (Sato: Col. 11, lines 11 – 26: “The display control portion 304 displays the leading vehicle object Na and the adjacent vehicle object Nb based on information of other vehicles around the vehicle 2. The information is acquired from the autonomous driving system 100. When there is no leading vehicle 3, the display control portion 304 does not display the leading vehicle object Na. When an inter-vehicle distance between the vehicle 2 and the leading vehicle 3 is a predetermined distance (e.g., 100 m, 200 m) or less, the display control portion 304 displays the leading vehicle object Na. A distance between the vehicle object M and the leading vehicle object Na in the traveling road overlook image L is uniform. The display control portion 304 may change the distance between the vehicle object M and the leading vehicle object Na according to an actual inter-vehicle distance between the vehicle 2 and the leading vehicle 3.”,
Supplemental Note: in this example, when a leading vehicle is out of the predetermined distance, it is not shown on the display but once it moves into range, it can be shown).
In sum, Sato teaches wherein the processor is configured to, when a detected vehicle corresponding to the second other vehicle whose distance from the host vehicle is decreasing transitions from being located further outward from the host vehicle than the first range to being located within the first range and within the display range of the display region. Sato however does not teach change from displaying the direction marking.
Persea teaches change from displaying the direction marking (Perea: Figure 8: “Halo30D and 2D distance (a) schema explaining how to calculate the 2D distance for one off-screen POI. (b) 1 POI is visible in the user's field of view. (c) The user moves from left to right: The POI is now off-screen and represented on screen as an arc. (d) The arc is enlarged because the 2D distance of the POI from the screen increases.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure B, the arcs represent a direction marking of where the POI is and once the POI is in view, the arc is switched to the POI marking instead).
Figure B: Perea: Figure 8
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Perea with a reasonable expectation of success. Perea teaches the ability of displaying points-of-interest (POI) by the use of a Halo3D technology which directs the user in the direction of the POI. When the POI is within frame, the arcs are removed and an indication of the POI is displayed. This function of Persea would be obvious to try to combine with the vehicle system of Sato. Sato teaches the ability of displaying a vehicle box representing the various vehicles around the host vehicle. Sato however is silent in visually displaying adjacent vehicles that are approaching the host vehicle, which when combined with the Halo3D technology of Persea, allows for the display to be able to show halos or arcs representing the approaching adjacent vehicles. This allows for the driver to have a visual indication of an approaching vehicle thus in situations of a lane change, the driver now has additional information to make an informed lane change maneuver. Sato in view of Persea however does not teach to displaying the vehicle image for the detected vehicle.
Mimura teaches to displaying the vehicle image for the detected vehicle (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 34 – 41: “The vehicle system 1, for example, includes a camera 10, a radar device 12, a finder 14, an object recognizing device 16, a communication device 20, a human machine interface (HMI) 30, a vehicle sensor 40, a navigation device 50, a map positioning unit (MPU) 60, a driving operator 80, an automated driving control device 100, a running driving force output device 200, a brake device 210, and a steering device 220.”; Col. 14, line 64 – Col. 15, line 1: “For example, in a case in which a shape of another vehicle is recognized as being a shape of a bus, a large truck, or the like by the object recognizing device 16, an image of the other vehicle corresponding to the shape is displayed.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Mimura with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 13, Sato, as modified, teaches the processor, when a detected vehicle corresponding to the second other vehicle whose distance from the host vehicle is decreasing transitions from being located further outward from the host vehicle than the first range to being located within the first range and within the display range of the display region, (Sato: Col. 11, lines 11 – 26: “The display control portion 304 displays the leading vehicle object Na and the adjacent vehicle object Nb based on information of other vehicles around the vehicle 2. The information is acquired from the autonomous driving system 100. When there is no leading vehicle 3, the display control portion 304 does not display the leading vehicle object Na. When an inter-vehicle distance between the vehicle 2 and the leading vehicle 3 is a predetermined distance (e.g., 100 m, 200 m) or less, the display control portion 304 displays the leading vehicle object Na. A distance between the vehicle object M and the leading vehicle object Na in the traveling road overlook image L is uniform. The display control portion 304 may change the distance between the vehicle object M and the leading vehicle object Na according to an actual inter-vehicle distance between the vehicle 2 and the leading vehicle 3.”,
Supplemental Note: in this example, when a leading vehicle is out of the predetermined distance, it is not shown on the display but once it moves into range, it can be shown).
In sum, Sato teaches the processor, when a detected vehicle corresponding to the second other vehicle whose distance from the host vehicle is decreasing transitions from being located further outward from the host vehicle than the first range to being located within the first range and within the display range of the display region. Sato however does not teach changing from displaying the direction marking.
Perea teaches changing from displaying the direction marking (Perea: Figure 8: “Halo30D and 2D distance (a) schema explaining how to calculate the 2D distance for one off-screen POI. (b) 1 POI is visible in the user's field of view. (c) The user moves from left to right: The POI is now off-screen and represented on screen as an arc. (d) The arc is enlarged because the 2D distance of the POI from the screen increases.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure B, the arcs represent a direction marking of where the POI is and once the POI is in view, the arc is switched to the POI marking instead).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Perea with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 12 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Sato in view of Persea however does not teach to displaying the vehicle image for the detected vehicle.
Mimura teaches to displaying the vehicle image for the detected vehicle (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 34 – 41: “The vehicle system 1, for example, includes a camera 10, a radar device 12, a finder 14, an object recognizing device 16, a communication device 20, a human machine interface (HMI) 30, a vehicle sensor 40, a navigation device 50, a map positioning unit (MPU) 60, a driving operator 80, an automated driving control device 100, a running driving force output device 200, a brake device 210, and a steering device 220.”; Col. 14, line 64 – Col. 15, line 1: “For example, in a case in which a shape of another vehicle is recognized as being a shape of a bus, a large truck, or the like by the object recognizing device 16, an image of the other vehicle corresponding to the shape is displayed.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Mimura with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 14, Sato, as modified, teaches wherein the processing further comprises: when a detected vehicle corresponding to the second other vehicle whose distance from the host vehicle is decreasing transitions from being located further outward from the host vehicle than the first range to being located within the first range and within the display range of the display region, (Sato: Col. 11, lines 11 – 26: Sato: “The display control portion 304 displays the leading vehicle object Na and the adjacent vehicle object Nb based on information of other vehicles around the vehicle 2. The information is acquired from the autonomous driving system 100. When there is no leading vehicle 3, the display control portion 304 does not display the leading vehicle object Na. When an inter-vehicle distance between the vehicle 2 and the leading vehicle 3 is a predetermined distance (e.g., 100 m, 200 m) or less, the display control portion 304 displays the leading vehicle object Na. A distance between the vehicle object M and the leading vehicle object Na in the traveling road overlook image L is uniform. The display control portion 304 may change the distance between the vehicle object M and the leading vehicle object Na according to an actual inter-vehicle distance between the vehicle 2 and the leading vehicle 3.”,
Supplemental Note: in this example, when a leading vehicle is out of the predetermined distance, it is not shown on the display but once it moves into range, it can be shown).
In sum, Sato teaches wherein the processing further comprises: when a detected vehicle corresponding to the second other vehicle whose distance from the host vehicle is decreasing transitions from being located further outward from the host vehicle than the first range to being located within the first range and within the display range of the display region. Sato however does not teach changing from displaying the direction marking.
Perea teaches changing from displaying the direction marking (Perea: Figure 8: “Halo30D and 2D distance (a) schema explaining how to calculate the 2D distance for one off-screen POI. (b) 1 POI is visible in the user's field of view. (c) The user moves from left to right: The POI is now off-screen and represented on screen as an arc. (d) The arc is enlarged because the 2D distance of the POI from the screen increases.”,
Supplemental Note: as seen in Figure B, the arcs represent a direction marking of where the POI is and once the POI is in view, the arc is switched to the POI marking instead).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Perea with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 12 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Sato in view of Persea however does not teach to displaying the vehicle image for the detected vehicle.
Mimura teaches to displaying the vehicle image for the detected vehicle (Mimura: Col. 4, lines 34 – 41: “The vehicle system 1, for example, includes a camera 10, a radar device 12, a finder 14, an object recognizing device 16, a communication device 20, a human machine interface (HMI) 30, a vehicle sensor 40, a navigation device 50, a map positioning unit (MPU) 60, a driving operator 80, an automated driving control device 100, a running driving force output device 200, a brake device 210, and a steering device 220.”; Col. 14, line 64 – Col. 15, line 1: “For example, in a case in which a shape of another vehicle is recognized as being a shape of a bus, a large truck, or the like by the object recognizing device 16, an image of the other vehicle corresponding to the shape is displayed.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Mimura with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 10017116 B2) in view of Takashi et al. (JP2012118870A), Mimura et al. (US 11198439 B2) and Akira et al. (JP 2009009320 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Emura et al. (EP 2957448 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Sato, as modified, does not teach wherein the processor is configured to display the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located, using text.
Emura teaches wherein the processor is configured to display the direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located, using text (Emura: Abstract: “A display control apparatus includes: an input unit that receives state information indicating at least one of a state of a moving object, a state of inside of the moving object, and a state of outside of the moving object; and a controller that controls a displayer, which generates a predetermined image and outputs the predetermined image onto a display medium, based on the state information. The predetermined image shows a presentation image including text, when displayed on the display medium. The controller causes the displayer to generate a first predetermined image showing a first presentation image including first text corresponding to a predetermined event, determines whether the at least one state has made a predetermined change, based on the state information, and causes the displayer to generate a second predetermined image showing a second presentation image including second text corresponding to the predetermined event.”; Paragraph 0010: “FIGS. 3A and 3B are schematic views of examples of image display according to the embodiment of the present disclosure; Paragraph 0054: “A second specific example will be described next. The acquiring unit 10 acquires, as the state information, reception-state information indicating a mail-reception state (as to whether or not mail is received) in the display system 1, in addition to the above-described subject-type information, distance information, and position information (step S001). Next, the control unit 201 executes first control (step S002), and the display unit 30 generates and displays a first predetermined image, based on the first control (step S003). Steps S002 and S003 in this case are analogous to, for example, those in the above-described embodiment. That is, the processes in steps S002 and S003 are performed based on the state information other than the reception-state information. As a result, the first text 41 is displayed on the display medium 31, as illustrated in FIG. 3A .”,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Figure C, the display is able to show text regarding information of a moving object. In this example, the moving object is a pedestrian).
Figure C - Emura; Fig. 3A
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Sato with the teachings of Emura with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Sato and Emura teach a vehicle with a heads-up display that is able to show adjacent vehicles. Both are able to display some sort of animation relating to an object within their vicinity, Emura furthers this by also displaying a text which states the direction of the object. Emura teaches this ability to show text when the vehicle is stopped, however one with knowledge in the art would find it obvious to try to combine with the vehicle system of Sato. The text alert system of Emura relating to the direction of an object utilized by Sato would allow this feature to be used while the vehicle is traveling, thus displaying additional information to the driver about their surroundings. Emura teaches the text is displayed while parked so as to not distract the driver, however since Sato teaches an autonomous vehicle performing autonomous vehicle maneuvers, the driver is able to read these messages without distraction as they are not driving the vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section II. All Pending Claims Are Patentable of the REMARKS, filed 06/17/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art claim rejections of claims 1, 4 and 7 – 14 have been fully considered but are not fully persuasive.
Applicant states the amendments to independent claim 1, similarly recited in independent claims 9 and 10, stating: “a vehicle image having shape of a vehicle and representing the first other vehicle” and the amendment to independent claim 1, similarly recited in independent claims 9, 10 and 14 stating: “the direction marking being different from the vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle” are not taught by the previously used prior art of Sato independently or in view of prior art Takahashi, thus overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejection. Examiner agrees with the Applicant, however through further search and consideration, a new rejection is made in view of Akira (JP 2009009320 A).
Applicant further states the claim limitation of independent claim 1, similarly recited in independent claims 9 and 10 stating: “that a second other vehicle is travelling in a second range that is further outward from the host vehicle than the first range and outside of the display range of the display region,” is not taught by Sato in view of Takahashi as the images of Na or Nb represent objects that are within the display range. Applicant states images M2 and M3 use different images for these scenarios in which Sata uses the same objects of Na and Nb. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sato is merely teaching the ability of detecting a vehicle outside of predetermined distance in front or behind the vehicle and to not display those vehicles. This is equivalent to determining a vehicle is outside the display range of the display region as vehicles are not shown within the display region if they are not within the predetermined distance or directly adjacent to the vehicle (Sato: Col. 11, lines 32 – 35). The claim amendment made to the latter half of the paragraph stating “i) cause the display device of the host vehicle to display, on the display region, a direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle, the direction marking being different from the vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle;” is not taught by this limitation of Sato. Therefore Sato is not used to teach the direction marking being different from the vehicle WHEN (emphasis added) it is determined the second other vehicle is travelling in a second range outside the display range of the display region. Sato is now only being used to teach the second other vehicle is outside the display range of the display region, as stated above, and not in determining to display a direction marking representing the location of the second other vehicle as now claimed. As stated above, regarding the limitation of “i) cause the display device of the host vehicle to display, on the display region, a direction marking indicating where the second other vehicle is located relative to the host vehicle, the direction marking being different from the vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle image and not having the shape of a vehicle;” is not taught by Sato, however through further search and consideration, a new rejection is made in view of Akira (JP 2009009320 A).
Applicant further states regarding the amended claim limitation of independent claim 1, similarly recited in independent claims 9 and 10 stating: “that a speed of the second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle indicates that a distance between the host vehicle and the second other vehicle is decreasing so that the host vehicle traveling in the driving assistance mode performs one of acceleration and deceleration due to presence of the second other vehicle,” is not taught by the prior art of Takahashi. Applicant states that Takashi does not teach whether or not to display something based on the determination that a distance between a host vehicle and another vehicle are decreasing or increasing. Examiner agrees, as stated above the ability to display a direction marking is taught in view of Akira (JP 2009009320 A). The ability of gathering the speed of the second other vehicle relative to the host vehicle to indicate that a distance between the host vehicle and other vehicle is decreasing so that the host vehicle either decelerates or accelerates, Examiner agrees is not taught in view of Takahashi. However through further search and consideration, a new rejection is made in view of Mimura (US 11198439 B2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665