DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 9, and 15-20 are amended.
No claims are canceled.
No newly added claims.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the amendment filed on 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, CN 107205160 in view of Pettersson (US 20210201639), in further view of in further view of Olsen et al. (US 20150312294).
As to claim 1 Zhang discloses a computer readable medium having non-transitory memory for storing machine instructions that are to be executed by a digital video delivery alarm computer, the machine instructions when executed by the digital video delivery alarm computer implement the following functions:
determining a receipt frame rate for receiving digital video frames including first and second digital video frames by the computer from a digital video transmitting computer (pg. 9-10; Equation 6 and its definition – the video frame arrival rate RF(i), a receipt frame rate, is determined) having a transmit frame rate for transmitting digital video frames including the first and second digital video frames (pg. 11 – the video is transmitted at a video coding framerate); and
determining a display frame rate for displaying the digital video frames including the first and second digital video frames through the computer in response to the receipt frame rate, the display frame rate is less than the transmit frame rate, and the digital video frames are associated with a digital video event (pg. 10; Equation 7 – the playback (display) frame rate is adjusted (i.e. determined) based on the reception frame rate. The display rate is less than the transmission frame rate when the receipt frame rate meets the bottom criteria of Equation 7), the digital video frames are displayed with a time delay to reduce the transmission frame rate to the receipt frame rate via retrieving the first and second digital video frames directly from a video cache instead of directly from a cloud server or a camera network (Fig. 1-3, pg. 10 - during playback, the frames of video are retrieved directly from the video buffer, i.e. a video cache, when displaying with a time delay. As described above, this reduces a transmission frame rate to a receipt frame rate. Zhang pg. 10 equation 7.).
Zhang fails to disclose that the computer is a digital video delivery alarm computer, and
displaying the first and second digital video frames on the graphical user interface (GUI) at the display frame rate, the first and second digital video frames are first and second complete digital video frames, the digital video frames include a third incomplete digital video frame where less than all the data is received regarding one or more pixels, the third incomplete digital video frame is excluded from display.
Pettersson discloses, the computer is a digital video delivery alarm computer (Par. 0041, engine to receive notifications of events from cameras 110 and determine whether these notifications invoke a rule (e.g., meet criteria) to perform an operation (e.g., generate an alarm). For example, if camera 110 detects motion in area 106, camera 110 may notify VMS 150. As a result of a rule, the rule engine in VMS 150 may send an alarm to display 130 at monitoring station 125 through network 120), and
displaying the first and second digital video frames on the graphical user interface (GUI) at the display frame rate (Par. 0039, Display 130 may receive and display video stream(s) from one or more cameras 110. A single display 130 may show images from a single camera 110 or from multiple cameras 110 (e.g., in multiple frames or windows on display 130). Par. 0091, fig. 8B, receiving the video stream below the real-time speed (block 856) and displaying the video in slow motion (block 858), Par. 0093, receives the video stream at a rate that is higher than the real-time rate. Rather than displaying video at a real-time rate, monitoring station 125 displays the video in fast motion, i.e. displaying plurality of video frames from same video or from different video in multiple different windows at the display frame rate being, slow or fast or real-time).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang with the teachings of Pettersson by enabling the system to function as disclosed when receiving video from a digital video delivery alarm computer and displaying video frames on the graphical user interface (GUI) at the display frame rate. The rationale for this modification would have been to broaden the applicability of the system and enable real-time, time-critical video such as surveillance images to be efficiently and properly displayed.
Zang in view of Pettersson does not disclose, the digital video frames include a third incomplete digital video frame where less than all the data is received regarding one or more pixels, the third incomplete digital video frame is excluded from display.
Olsen discloses, the first and second digital video frames are first and second complete digital video frames, the digital video frames include a third incomplete digital video frame where less than all the data is received regarding one or more pixels, the third incomplete digital video frame is excluded from display (Par. 0056-0057, One or more packets of the encoded video frames may not be received or may be corrupted. As a result, one or more, or parts of frames of the video may not be recovered, discard the information. The incomplete frame is not used, not using a frame with missing pixel values).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zang in view of Pettersson by the teachings of Olsen by enabling the incomplete digital video frame excluded from display. The rationale for this modification would have been to enable stream to be viewed without any visible distortion, which would improve quality of information displayed, as disclosed in Olsen par. 0056-0067
As to claim 2 Zhang discloses that the determining function is executed at a first time and at a second time to determine a first display rate and a second display rate different than the first display rate (pg. 10 and Equations 6-9 – the playback frame rate is continually updated, thus different first and second display rates are determined).
As to claim 5 the system of Zhang in view of Pettersson in further view of Olsen discloses that the machine instructions when executed by the digital video alarm computer implement the following further function: displaying the first and second digital video frames within a first display window on the GUI of the user computer of the digital video alarm computer (Pettersson Par. 0039, Display 130 may receive and display video stream(s) from one or more cameras 110. A single display 130 may show images from a single camera 110 or from multiple cameras 110 (e.g., in multiple frames or windows on display 130)).
As to claim 6 the system of Zhang in view of Pettersson in further view of Olsen disclose that wherein the machine instructions when executed by the digital video alarm computer system implement the following further function: displaying the first and second complete digital video frame in separate first and second windows of the GUI at first and second display rates (Pettersson Par. 0039, Display 130 may receive and display video stream(s) from one or more cameras 110. A single display 130 may show images from a single camera 110 or from multiple cameras 110 (e.g., in multiple frames or windows on display 130). Par. 0091, fig. 8B, receiving the video stream below the real-time speed (block 856) and displaying the video in slow motion (block 858), Par. 0093, receives the video stream at a rate that is higher than the real-time rate. Rather than displaying video at a real-time rate, monitoring station 125 displays the video in fast motion, i.e. multiple video from multiple cameras are displayed in multiple windows on display).
As to claim 7 Olsen discloses that the first and second digital video frames are not sequential in time (Par. 0056-0057, One or more packets of the encoded video frames may not be received or may be corrupted. As a result, one or more, or parts of frames of the video may not be recovered, discard the information. The incomplete frame is not used, not using a frame with missing pixel values, therefore the displayed frames are not sequential in time).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, CN 107205160 in view of Pettersson (US 20210201639), in further view of Olsen et al. (US 20150312294), in further view of Kaplinsky. US 7543327.
As to claim 3 Zhang in view of Pettersson in further view of Olsen fails to disclose,
wherein the machine instructions when executed by the digital video alarm computer system implement the following further function: decreasing the display frame rate in response to a processing power of the user computer executing the GUI.
Kaplinsky discloses, decreasing the display frame rate in response to a processing power of the user computer executing the GUI (Col. 4, line 4-8, surveillance system is configured to support multiple user selectable modes of image acquisition and display, wherein said modes comprise full resolution image display, simultaneous display of multiple decimated images acquired from different cameras on the same monitor. Col. 4, line 28-33, sufficiently high camera resolution and frame rate, the update 30 rate of the display may become slower than the frame-rate of said cameras due to CPU limitations and high computational complexity of said image decompression, i.e. based on CPU limitation or processing capacity of processor being limited, reducing or slowing frame rate of displaying of images acquired from surveillance camera on computer).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang in view of Pettersson in further view of Olsen by the teachings of Kaplinsky by enabling the decreasing the display frame rate in response to a processing power of the user computer executing the GUI. The rationale for this modification would have been to accommodate for user computer device limitation or capabilities so that device can display high resolution image generated by source cameras.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, CN 107205160 in view of Pettersson (US 20210201639), in further view of Olsen et al. (US 20150312294), in further view of Racz, 20200374333.
As to claim 4 Zhang in view of Pettersson in further view of Olsen fails to disclose, the first and second digital video frames are first and second digital video reference frames.
Racz discloses, the first and second digital video frames are first and second digital video reference frames (¶330, the surveillance module 2300 is configured to preserve “i-frames”, whereas p-frames may be ignored or discarded, i.e. reference frames are displayed).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang in view of Pettersson in further view of Olsen by the teachings of Racz by the first and second digital video frames are first and second digital video reference frames. The rationale for this modification would have been to accommodate bandwidth constraints while allowing to continue operation of surveillance system.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, US 7984179 in view of Seema, US 20160173959, in further view of Pettersson (US 20210201639), in further view of Olsen et al. (US 20150312294).
As to claim 8 Huang discloses a computer readable medium having non-transitory memory for storing machine instructions that are to be executed by a digital video alarm system including a user computer (col. 2 lines 18-34; col. 4 lines 19-22), the machine instructions when executed by the digital video alarm computer implement the following functions:
receiving a first digital video frame; storing the first digital video frame in a video cache upon determining the first digital video frame is a complete first digital video frame (col. 5 lines 41-49 – received video frames are stored in a buffer (i.e. are not discarded) when they are not corrupt, or incomplete);
accessing the first digital video frame to render the first digital video frame to create a rendered first digital video frame; and displaying the rendered first digital video frame (col. 4 lines 55-57 – buffered frames that have not been discarded are output and displayed).
receiving a second digital video frame; storing the second digital video frame in the video cache upon determining the second digital video frame is a complete second digital video frame (Col. 5. Line 25-37, client receives the video/audio data in an incoming buffer, check integrity of data and decode the data, each video frame divided in to data packets before sent through the network. col. 5 lines 41-49 – received video frames are stored in a buffer (i.e. are not discarded) when they are not corrupt, or incomplete, here each from of video is being sent out = plurality of frames is being sent out, such as first, second, third);
accessing the second digital video frame to render the second digital video frame to create a rendered second digital video frame, the rendered second digital video frame is rendered (col. 5 lines 55-57 – buffered frames that have not been discarded are output and displayed).
Huang fails to disclose receiving the first and second frame by a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) application programming interface (API); serving the first and second digital video frame to transmit the digital video frame, the first and second digital video frame is transmitted to the HTTP API; the rendered first and second digital video frame is rendered by a web browser application programming interface (API) in response to receiving the first and second digital video frame from a web browser asynchronous JavaScript and XML (AJAX) API tool; and that the HTTP API, the web browser API, and the web browser AJAX API tool are executed via web browser software,
displaying the rendered first and second digital video frames in a window of a graphical user interface (GUI) of the user computer at a display frame rate, the first and second digital video frames are first and second complete digital video frames, the digital video frames include a third incomplete digital video frame where less than all the data is received regarding one or more pixels, the third incomplete digital video frame is excluded from display.
However, Seema discloses:
receiving the first and second frame by a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) application programming interface (API); serving the first and second digital video frame to transmit the digital video frame, the first and second digital video frame is transmitted to the HTTP API (¶¶54-55 – frames (i.e. plurality of frames, first and second) of video content are received by an HTTP API, and served by the HTTP API);
the rendered first and second digital video frame is rendered by a web browser application programming interface (API) in response to receiving the first and second digital video frame from a web browser asynchronous JavaScript and XML (AJAX) API tool; and that the HTTP API, the web browser API, and the web browser AJAX API tool are executed via web browser software (¶53-56).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang with the teachings of Seema, the rationale being to simplify implementation of the system and improve video playback.
Huang in view of Seema does not disclose, displaying the rendered first and second digital video frames in a window of a graphical user interface (GUI) of the user computer at a display frame rate, the first and second digital video frames are first and second complete digital video frames, the digital video frames include a third incomplete digital video frame where less than all the data is received regarding one or more pixels, the third incomplete digital video frame is excluded from display.
Pettersson discloses, displaying the rendered first and second digital video frames in a window of a graphical user interface (GUI) of the user computer at a display frame rate (Par. 0039, Display 130 may receive and display video stream(s) from one or more cameras 110. A single display 130 may show images from a single camera 110 or from multiple cameras 110 (e.g., in multiple frames or windows on display 130). Par. 0091, fig. 8B, receiving the video stream below the real-time speed (block 856) and displaying the video in slow motion (block 858), Par. 0093, receives the video stream at a rate that is higher than the real-time rate. Rather than displaying video at a real-time rate, monitoring station 125 displays the video in fast motion, Par. 0096, i.e. displaying plurality of video frames from same video or from different video in multiple different windows at the display frame rate being, slow or fast or real-time).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Seema with the teachings of Pettersson by enabling the system to function as disclosed when receiving video from a digital video delivery alarm computer and displaying video frames on he graphical user interface (GUI) at the display frame rate. The rationale for this modification would have been to broaden the applicability of the system and enable real-time, time critical video such as surveillance images to be efficiently and properly displayed.
Huang in view of Seema in further view of Pettersson does not disclose, the digital video frames include a third incomplete digital video frame where less than all the data is received regarding one or more pixels, the third incomplete digital video frame is excluded from display.
Olsen discloses, the first and second digital video frames are first and second complete digital video frames, the digital video frames include a third incomplete digital video frame where less than all the data is received regarding one or more pixels, the third incomplete digital video frame is excluded from display (Par. 0056-0057, One or more packets of the encoded video frames may not be received or may be corrupted. As a result, one or more, or parts of frames of the video may not be recovered, discard the information. The incomplete frame is not used, not using a frame with missing pixel values).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang in view of Seema in further view of Pettersson by the teachings of Olsen by enabling the incomplete digital video frame excluded from display. The rationale for this modification would have been to enable stream to be viewed without any visible distortion, which would improve quality of information displayed, as disclosed in Olsen par. 0056-0067
As to claim 9 Huang discloses that the web browser asynchronous JavaScript and XML (AJAX) API tool is installed on a user computer (¶54-55).
As to claim 10 Seema discloses that the API is installed physically or virtually on the user computer (¶55).
As to claim 11 Seema discloses that the web browser API is installed on the user computer (¶55).
As to claim 12 Huang discloses that the digital video frame is served by the video cache ((col. 4 lines 55-57; col. 5 lines 41-49).
As to claim 13 Seema discloses that the web browser AJAX API tool is installed physically or virtually on the user computer (¶54-55).
As to claim 14 Seema discloses that the web browser API is installed physically or virtually on the user computer (¶¶54-55).
Claims 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, CN 107205160 in view of Racz, 20200374333, in further view of Sivasankaran, US 20160182834, in further view of Olsen et al. (US 20150312294), in further view of Tashiro, US 20130342719.
As to claim 15 the system of Zhang and Racz, described above, discloses a computer readable medium having non-transitory memory for storing machine instructions that are to be executed by a digital video alarm system including a user computer, the machine instructions when executed by the digital video delivery alarm computer implement the following functions:
receiving a first video stream, the first video stream including a number of first digital video frames; selectively displaying the number of first digital video frames in a first window of a graphical user interface (GUI of the user computer at a first display frame rate such that the displayed first digital video frames in the number of first digital video frames are complete first digital video frames (Zhang pg. 10; Equation 7 – the playback (display) frame rate of a received video stream is adjusted based on the reception frame rate. The display rate is less than the transmission frame rate when the receipt frame rate meets the bottom criteria of Equation 7; Racz ¶330 – in a real-time video environment, including security applications, certain frames are discarded, thereby adjusting a display frame rate. Images are received, decoded, and displayed, thus are complete digital video frames. Racz Par. 0224, fig. 10, video streams received from cameras 121 – 12A displayed by the VMS 26 to users of VMS 26, video stream to be stored or displayed, i.e. VMS displays video stream from camera received via surveillance module 70 to user of the VMS 26, VMS can store or display video streams, since VMS can store and displays video stream to users it provides function of user computing device with user interface on display).
The system of Zhang and Racz fails to disclose, receiving a second video stream, the second video stream including a number of second digital video frame; and selectively displaying the number of second digital video frames in a second window of the GUI of the user computer at a second display frame rate such that the displayed second digital video frames in the number of second digital video frames are complete second digital video frames;
decreasing the first display frame rate in response to a processing power of user computer executing the GUI.
However, Sivasankaran discloses a surveillance system that includes: receiving a second video stream, the second video stream including a number of second digital video frame; and selectively displaying the number of second digital video frames in a second window of the GUI of the user computer at a second display frame rate such that the displayed second digital video frames in the number of second digital video frames are complete second digital video frames (¶22; Fig. 1 – first and second video streams, having first and second frame rates, are displayed in separate windows).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang and Racz with the teachings of Sivasankaran, the rationale being to enable multiple surveillance streams to be viewed simultaneously, which would improve a security personnel’s ability to monitor a location. The combined teachings of Zhang, Racz, and Sivasankaran would have suggested to the skilled artisan to enable both video streams to be selectively displayed at a frame rate such that the displayed second digital video frames in the number of second digital video frames are complete second digital video frames, as the Zhang/Racz system performs with the first video stream.
System of Zhang, Racz, and Sivasankaran fails to disclose, number of video frames include one or more first incomplete digital video frames where less than all the data is received regrading one or more pixels, the one or more incomplete video frames are excluded from display;
decreasing the first display frame rate in response to a processing power of user computer executing the GUI.
Olsen discloses, number of video frames include one or more first incomplete digital video frames where less than all the data is received regrading one or more pixels, the one or more incomplete video frames are excluded from display (Par. 0020, one or more of the end-point devices 14, 20, 22 are telepresence systems with an array of cameras for real-time capture of people at particular positions, multiple displays for individually displaying video from the other end-points 14, 20, 22, one or more microphones, one or more speakers, and a conference table, i.e. multiple source videos captured by one or more cameras, are displayed individually (i.e. in its own window) such as plurality of speakers in conference. Par. 0056-0057, One or more packets of the encoded video frames may not be received or may be corrupted. As a result, one or more, or parts of frames of the video may not be recovered, discard the information. The incomplete frame is not used, not using a frame with missing pixel values).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang, Racz, and Sivasankaran with the teachings of Olsen, the rationale being to enable multiple streams to be viewed simultaneously without any visible distortion, which would improve quality of information displayed, as disclosed in Olsen par. 0056-0067. The combined teachings of Zhang, Racz, Sivasankaran and Olsen would have suggested to the skilled artisan to apply this feature of dropping incomplete frames for plurality of video streams that is displayed individually in different windows.
System of Zhang, Racz, Sivasankaran and Olsen fails to disclose, decreasing the first display frame rate in response to a processing power of user computer executing the GUI.
However, Tashiro discloses, decreasing the first display frame rate in response to a processing power of user computer executing the GUI (Par. 0038, the load measurement unit 43 judges the presence/absence of an event indicating that there is no user operation to be processed. The number of times of generation of the event indicating that there is no user operation to be processed indicates a processing load on a user operation. Par. 0041, In step S306, the frame rate control unit 44 determines that the load is heavy, and decreases a display frame rate. Par. 0051, processes of steps S404 to S412 are the same as those of steps S302 to S310, i.e. based on processing power or load of the user computer at a given time, if load is higher hence processing power is lower, then reduce the display frame rate).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang, Racz, Sivasankaran and Olsen, with the teachings of Tashiro, the rationale being to display an image at an appropriate display frame rate without impairing the operability of a UI in an image display apparatus which displays moving image data, as disclosed in Tashiro par. 0011.
As to claim 16 the system of Zhang, Racz, Sivasankaran, Olsen, and Tashiro discloses that the displayed first digital video frames are displayed from a video cache, and the displayed second digital video frames are displayed from the video cache (Sivasankaran Fig. 2).
As to claim 17 the system of Zhang, Racz, Sivasankaran, Olsen, and Tashiro discloses that the complete first digital video frames are reference first digital video frames, and the complete second digital video frames are reference second digital video frames (Racz ¶330).
As to claim 20 the system of Zhang, Racz, Sivasankaran, Olsen, and Tashiro discloses that the first display frame rate is decreased in response to an available bandwidth and processing power of the digital video delivery alarm computer (Zhang pg. 9-10; Tashiro Par. 0041).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, CN 107205160 in view of Racz, 20200374333, in further view of Sivasankaran, US 20160182834, in further view of Olsen et al. (US 20150312294), in further view of Tashiro, US 20130342719, in further view of Huang, US 7984179.
As to claim 18, Zhang, Racz, Sivasankaran, Olsen, Tashiro fails to disclose, that the one or more first and second incomplete first digital video frames are not stored in the video cache.
Huang discloses that the one or more first and second incomplete first digital video frames are not stored in the video cache (col. 5 lines 41-49 – incomplete frames are discarded, thus are not stored in the cache).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang, Racz, Sivasankaran, Olsen, and Tashiro with the teachings of Huang, the rationale being to ensure that only properly-displayable frames are stored and output.
As to claim 19 Zhang, Racz, Sivasankaran, Olsen, Tashiro, and Huang discloses that Wherein the machine instructions when executed by the digital video alarm system implement the following further function: decreasing the display frame rate in response to a processing power of the user computer executing the GUI (Tashiro Par. 0038, the load measurement unit 43 judges the presence/absence of an event indicating that there is no user operation to be processed. The number of times of generation of the event indicating that there is no user operation to be processed indicates a processing load on a user operation. Par. 0041, In step S306, the frame rate control unit 44 determines that the load is heavy, and decreases a display frame rate. Par. 0051, processes of steps S404 to S412 are the same as those of steps S302 to S310, i.e. based on processing power or load of the user computer at a given time, if load is higher hence processing power is lower, then reduce the display frame rate).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422