DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the voltage" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Applicants are advised, amending the limitation to recite “a voltage” is one way to resolve the indefiniteness issues.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (Hypersensitive Electrochemical Biosensors based on Nanowell Array Structures for Point of Care Technology, cited in IDS filed 07/28/2022, Full Copy added to the record).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses a method of manufacturing a biosensor (pg. 13-16/3.3. Wafer-scale Fabrication of New NWA Electrode), the method comprising:
forming a buffer layer on a substrate layer (Figure 1.5., see: (i) SiO2 deposition onto 6-inch wafer);
forming a metal layer on the buffer layer (Figure 1.5., see: (ii) Au deposition);
forming a desired patterned electrode by patterning the metal layer using a first photolithography process (Figure 1.5., see: (iii) Micro-electrode Patterning, (iv) Au Etching and PR removal; Figure 1.4., see: “photolithography masks”);
forming an inorganic insulation layer on the desired patterned electrode (Figure 1.5., see: (v) SiO2 deposition);
forming a plurality of a nanowell on the inorganic insulation layer by exposing an area of the desired patterned electrode using a second photolithography process (Figure 1.5., see: (vi) Nanowell array patterning, (vii) SiO2 etching and PR removal; Figure 1.4., see: “photolithography masks”); and
washing the plurality of the nanowell with a sulfuric acid (H2SO4) solution to remove an impurity from the desired patterned electrode exposed by the plurality of the nanowell (pg. 23-24/Novelty 5: Regeneration of electrode, see: “regeneration was performed by using 10 mM H2SO4/CV and 5 mM K3Fe(CN)6/CV with sweep method for remove organic layer on the electrode and succeed to regenerate by 20 times”); and
washing the plurality of the nanowell by a ferricyanide etching, thereby removing impurities on the plurality of a nanowell of the desired patterned electrode (pg. 23-24/Novelty 5: Regeneration of electrode, see: “regeneration was performed by using 10 mM H2SO4/CV and 5 mM K3Fe(CN)6/CV with sweep method for remove organic layer on the electrode and succeed to regenerate by 20 times”).
Regarding claim 11, Lee further discloses the ferricyanide etching is performed at a temperature in a range of 15-25 °C (pg. 79/2.2. Electrochemical Analysis of DropSens Electrode, see: “room temperature”; room temperature is 20 °C) for 1 to 10 seconds (pg. 42-44/2. Electrochemical Analysis of NWA, see: “Pulse width is 0.05 s”; pg. 79/2.2. Electrochemical Analysis of DropSens Electrode, see: “total of 71 measurement points that were used in the software analysis”; 71 measurement points * 0.05 s = 3.55 s).
Regarding claim 12, Lee further discloses the desired patterned electrode comprises gold (Au) (Figure 1.5., see: (iii) Micro-electrode Patterning, (iv) Au Etching and PR removal).
Regarding claim 13, Lee further discloses the inorganic insulation layer comprises SiO2 or Si3N4 (Figure 1.5., see: (v) SiO2 deposition).
Regarding claim 14, Lee further discloses washing the plurality of the nanowell with the sulfuric acid (H2SO4) solution by immersing the plurality of the nanowell in the sulfuric acid (H2SO4) solution (pg. 114-117/1.2. Research Objective, see: “dust or organic layer on the Au electrode is cleaned completely by dipping in Piranha solution (mixture of sulfuric acid and hydrogen peroxide)”) and applying the voltage of 1.0-1.5 V (pg. 120/2.4. Experimental procedure of cleaning, see: “CV was performed with a scan rate of 200 mV/sec in -1.2V to 1.2V”) for 1-5 minutes (pg. 114-117/1.2. Research Objective, see: “for 1 minute”).
Regarding claim 15, Lee further discloses a pitch ratio of the plurality of the nanowell is defined as a size of each nanowell to the shortest distance between adjacent nanowell, wherein the pitch ratio is 1 : 3 or less (pg. 40-42/1. Optical analysis of NWA electrode, see: “Each NWA structure had a diameter of 400 nm width an interwell spacing of 200 nm”).
Regarding claim 16, Lee further discloses the washing the plurality of the nanowell with a sulfuric acid (H2SO4) solution is performed for a duration of 1 to 10 seconds (Figure 6.15., see: regeneration period which extends between 22.0 and 23.0 seconds).
Regarding claim 17, Lee further discloses the washing the plurality of the nanowell by a ferricyanide etching comprises applying a voltage (pg. 42-44/2. Electrochemical Analysis of NWA, see: “Potential is scanned between -300 mV to 700 mV at 100 mV/s scan rate”).
Regarding claim 20, Lee further discloses the ferricyanide etching is performed by immersing the plurality of the nanowell in a mixed solution of K3Fe(CN)6 and KCI (pg. 42-44/2. Electrochemical Analysis of NWA, see: “5 mM K3Fe(CN)6 + 0.1 M KCl as electrolyte”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (Hypersensitive Electrochemical Biosensors based on Nanowell Array Structures for Point of Care Technology, cited in IDS filed 07/28/2022, Full Copy added to the record), in view of by Suri (Fabrication of Nanoelectrode Arrays for Dopamine Detection, cited in IDS filed 07/28/2022).
Regarding claims 18-19, Lee does not explicitly disclose the voltage being 1.25-1.5 V for one or two cycles.
Suri (Figure 3.15; Table 1) teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention that increasing the applied voltage increases the forward peak voltage, peak separation, and peak current ratio. Therefore the forward peak voltage, peak separation, and peak current ratio are variables that can be modified, among others, by varying the applied voltage. For that reason, the applied voltage, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the applied voltage cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the applied voltage in the method disclosed by Lee to obtain the desired forward peak voltage, peak separation, and peak current ratio (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,435,311. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader scope of the instant claim would fully encompass the narrower subject matter defined by the prior art claims.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,435,311. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader scope of the instant claim would fully encompass the subject matter defined by the prior art claim.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,435,311. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader scope of the instant claim would fully encompass the subject matter defined by the prior art claim.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,435,311. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader scope of the instant claim would fully encompass the subject matter defined by the prior art claim.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,435,311. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader scope of the instant claim would fully encompass the subject matter defined by the prior art claim.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,435,311. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader scope of the instant claim would fully encompass the subject matter defined by the prior art claim.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,435,311. While the prior art patent does not recite a washing duration, one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the washing duration in order to maximize electrode regeneration while minimizing wear and tear (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,435,311. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader scope of the instant claim would fully encompass the subject matter defined by the prior art claims.
Claims 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,435,311 in view of Suri (Fabrication of Nanoelectrode Arrays for Dopamine Detection, cited in IDS filed 07/28/2022). While the prior art patent recites a broader voltage range, one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the applied voltage in the recited method to obtain the desired forward peak voltage, peak separation, and peak current ratio (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,435,311. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader scope of the instant claim would fully encompass the subject matter defined by the prior art claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2 and 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J EOM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797