This Office Action is in response to applicant’s request for continued examination filed on 7/7/2025.
Claim(s) 1 - 20 are pending for examination.
This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
With regards to claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-18, and 20 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claim(s) 5, 13, and 19 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, applicant's arguments have been fully considered, but are deemed moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cunningham et al. (US 20200165987 A1, hereinafter known as Cunningham) in view of Shinohara et al. (US 20160363060 A1, hereinafter known as Shinohara).
Cunningham was cited in a previous office action.
Regarding claim 1, Cunningham teaches A method comprising: monitoring one or more of an ambient condition or an operational condition of a vehicle system while the vehicle system is stationary and a propulsion system of the vehicle system is operating at an idle speed;
{Para [0029-0030] “If the accelerator pedal has been released, then at 208, it is determined if the brake pedal has been applied by the vehicle operator. A vehicle operator may indicate an intention to bring the vehicle to a stationary position by releasing the accelerator pedal and applying the brake pedal, such as when the vehicle approaches a traffic signal. If the brake pedal has not been applied, and only the accelerator pedal has been released, then at 210, it in inferred that the operator wishes to coast the vehicle, and accordingly an engine idle speed setting is selected for the coasting condition. Engine idle speed adjustments during vehicle coasting is elaborated at FIG. 3.
Returning to 208, if the brake pedal has also been applied, in addition to the accelerator pedal being released, then at 212, the method includes estimating the worst case engine electrical load based on a torque requirement of various engine electrical components, such as the AC compressor, alternator, transmission (electric) oil pump, and other electrical devices. For example, the controller may determine an actual load of each component based on current conditions and an anticipated load based on predicted (upcoming) driving conditions, as inferred from navigational input. As non-limiting examples, the AC compressor load may increase as the cabin cooling demand increases, the alternator load may increase as electrical power consumption increases, and the transmission electric oil pump load may increase as the transmission actuation actions are commanded. The controller may determine each electrical load individually, and then sum the loads to determine the worst case load on the engine.”
Vehicle is being brought to a stationary position and the electrical load is being monitored. This is also illustrated in fig. 4
}
determining whether the one or more of the ambient condition or the operational condition satisfy one or more reduced auxiliary or parasitic load criteria, the one or more reduced auxiliary or parasitic load criteria being based, at least in part, on an operational history of the vehicle system; reducing one or more of an auxiliary load or a parasitic load responsive to determining that the one or more ambient condition or the operational condition satisfy the one or more reduced auxiliary or parasitic load criteria; and
{Para [0033] “Returning to 214, if the load is below the upper threshold, then at 224, it is determined if the estimated worst case load is below a lower non-zero threshold load (Lower_Thr). For example, the worst case load may be compared to a threshold load below which a new, exceptionally low, minimum idle speed can be maintained for the load to be supported without stalling the engine). As an example, if enough battery state of charge exists, the controller may reduce the alternator electrical power production to zero or negative. In the case that the alternator is a motor/generator, it can function as a motor, thus supplementing engine torque, allowing for an exceptionally low engine idle speed. In one example, the worst case load may be below than the lower threshold load when the air conditioner (AC) of the HVAC system is powered off (due to no cabin cooling being demanded by the operator), and while the other electrical loads of the alternator and the transmission pump are at a minimum. The new minimum idle speed, hereafter, is also referred to as a sub-idle engine speed. The lower engine idle speed allows for an improvement in fuel economy during engine idling. If the load is below the lower threshold, then at 226, the method includes setting the engine speed to the sub-idle engine speed. For example, during the current idling condition, engine fueling and air intake is reduced to maintain the sub-idle engine speed. In one example, the sub-idle engine speed is 400 rpm. By lowering the engine idle speed to a non-zero sub-idle speed, instead of to a zero idle speed, a time-to-combustion-torque is improved. In particular, if the engine is already spinning at sub-idle speed, a time-to-combustion-torque is very short, thereby reducing delays in vehicle responsiveness to a requested combustion-powered longitudinal motion. The delay may be longer as the engine idle speed is reduced to a zero idle speed. The longer delay may cause driver dissatisfaction.”
It should be noted that both battery state of charge and cooling demand/operating status of the AC system can be considered as operational conditions.
It should be noted also in fig. 1 that the alternator is listed separately from the motor/gen. it should also be noted in fig. 1 the EPAS and HVAC draw their energy from the alternator and battery. Thus requested cooling from the HVAC will also effect alternator load.
}
subsequently reducing the idle speed at which the propulsion system is operating to a slower speed following reducing the one or more of the auxiliary load or the parasitic load.
{Fig. 4 where it can be seen at t1 the electrical load is reduced and then shortly after the idle speed 412 is brought below the base idle speed.
Para [0053] “Prior to t1, the vehicle is being propelled with engine speed adjusted as a function of torque demanded by the vehicle operator. At t1, the operator releases the accelerator pedal and shortly after that, the operator depresses the brake pedal. The combined action indicates that the operator intends to bring the vehicle to a stop, such as may occur due to the vehicle arriving at a traffic signal. Thus at t1, in response to the accelerator pedal release and brake pedal actuation, vehicle speed reduces towards a halt and the engine comes to an idling condition. Also at this time, the electrical load drops, for example, due to the transmission oil pump not operating, and cabin cooling not being requested. Due to the lower electrical load, at t1, the engine idle speed is opportunistically lowered below base engine idle speed 413 as a function of the reduced electrical load. This lowering of engine speed allows for a significant improvement in fuel economy over leaving the engine at the base idle speed in anticipation of electrical load.”
}
wherein the auxiliary load and the parasitic load are non-propulsive loads.
{para [0022] “Vehicle system components outside of the drivetrain may include an alternator 48 configured to convert the mechanical energy generated while running engine 10 to electrical energy for storage in battery 46. One or more auxiliary electrical loads may be coupled to engine 10. These may include, for example, electric power assist steering system (EPAS) 68 and a heating ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system 64 for heating and/or cooling a vehicle cabin, etc. HVAC system 64 may include an AC compressor 66. Still other electrical loads may be coupled to engine 10. During engine idling conditions, an engine idle speed may be adjusted as a function of the electrical load required to be maintained and/or the anticipated electrical load. For example, if cabin cooling is demanded when the engine is in the idling condition, a higher engine idle speed is required to meet the AC compressor load. As another example, if the vehicle is stationary and idling at a traffic signal while a traffic light is red, and a significant steering event is anticipated when the traffic light turns green, a higher engine idle speed is provided to meet the anticipated steering load.”
Where the alternator is generating electrical power using engine torque not providing propulsion. The other auxiliary electrical loads do not provide propulsion either.
It should be noted also in fig. 1 that the alternator is listed separately from the motor/gen. it should also be noted in fig. 1 the EPAS and HVAC draw their energy from the alternator and battery.
}
Cunningham does not teach the one or more reduced auxiliary or parasitic load criteria being based, at least in part, on an operational history of the vehicle system;
However Shinohara teaches the one or more reduced auxiliary or parasitic load criteria being based, at least in part, on an operational history of the vehicle system;
{para [0010] “A control system according to an aspect of the invention is a control system of a vehicle, the vehicle including an engine, a plurality of accessories including an air conditioner, a battery supplying electric power to each of the plurality of accessories, and a generator generating electric power and charging the battery with at least some of the electric power. The control system is configured to automatically stop the engine, control the generator to charge or discharge the battery, so as to make an SOC of the battery close to an SOC target value, and inhibit the engine from being automatically stopped when the SOC of the battery is equal to or smaller than an SOC threshold value. The control system includes: first calculating porthion configured to calculate a first stop time as a length of time for which the engine can be automatically stopped, during operation of the air conditioner, based on an outside air temperature, or a temperature difference between the outside air temperature and a set temperature of the air conditioner, and calculate a first electric quantity as an estimated quantity of electricity consumed, which quantity is determined by a product of the first stop time, and a total load of a set of operating accessories that are currently in operation, out of the plurality of accessories; second calculating portion configured to calculate a second stop time as a length of time for which the vehicle is predicted to be stopped in the future, from a traveling history of the vehicle, and calculate a second electric quantity as an estimated quantity of electricity consumed, which quantity is determined by a product of the second stop time and the total load of the set of operating accessories; and setting portion configured to set the SOC target value to a third SOC value that is equal to or larger than a first SOC value that is larger than the SOC threshold value by an SOC value corresponding to the first electric quantity, and is smaller than a second SOC value that is larger than the SOC threshold value by an SOC value corresponding to the second electric quantity, when the first electric quantity is smaller than the second electric quantity.”
Where the SOC target value is based on a number of factors including travel history. The SOC target value can be considered a reduced auxiliary or parasitic load criteria.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cunningham to incorporate the teachings of Shinohara to set a state of charge criteria based on traveling history, because if it is predicted that the vehicle will spend more time stopped more the SOC target should be higher to ensure the vehicle battery is not drained during stops (para [0030] “However, in a situation where the vehicle stops relatively frequently, as in an urban area, for example, the period (i.e., the traveling time) between the time when idling stop control was executed to the time when idling stop is executed next time is relatively short, and the SOC of the battery may not be sufficiently recovered. Namely, the maximum time for which the engine can be stopped under idling stop control depends on the current SOC of the battery.”)
Regarding claim 2, Cunningham in view of Shinohara teaches The method of claim 1. Cunningham further teaches wherein reducing the idle speed of the propulsion system reduces energy consumption relative to the vehicle system being stationary and the propulsion system of the vehicle system operating at a relatively faster idle speed.
{Para [0027] “Turning now to FIG. 2, an example method 200 is shown for opportunistically lowering an engine idle speed below a base idle speed, to provide fuel economy benefits. The idle speed is raised when a brake force is reduced by an operator, while applying added hydraulic brake pressure via a controller to counteract creep torque resulting from the engine idle speed increase. While the method of FIG. 2 is performed while a vehicle is brought a halt by application of brake pedals, a similar method for lowering engine idle speed during a coasting operation is shown at FIG. 3. Instructions for carrying out method 200 and the rest of the methods included herein may be executed by a controller based on instructions stored on a memory of the controller and in conjunction with signals received from sensors of the engine system, such as the sensors described above with reference to FIG. 1. The controller may employ engine actuators of the engine system to adjust engine operation, according to the methods described below.”
}
Regarding claim 3, Cunningham in view of Shinohara teaches The method of claim 1. Cunningham further teaches further comprising: monitoring one or more of the operational condition of the vehicle system or an operational load placed on the propulsion system of the vehicle system while the vehicle system remains stationary; and increasing the idle speed of the propulsion system responsive to one or more of the operational condition of the vehicle system changing or the operational load placed on the propulsion system increasing.
{Para [0035] “From each of 224 and 226, the method moves to 230 where it is determined if the brake force applied by the vehicle operator has been reduced. For example, it may be determined if the operator has fully or partially released the brake pedal. If yes, then at 234, the method includes raising the engine idle speed from the sub-idle speed (or from between the base idle speed and sub-idle speed) to the base idle speed. For example, the engine idle speed may be raised from 400 rpm to 700 rpm. Else, if the brake force has not been reduced, the selected engine idle speed is maintained at 232.”
Where amount of brake force can be considered a part of the operational condition of the vehicle system and when brake pedal pressure changes the ideal speed is increases
Additionally
It is strongly implied that idle speed will increase response to increased electrical loads.
Para [0022] “These may include, for example, electric power assist steering system (EPAS) 68 and a heating ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system 64 for heating and/or cooling a vehicle cabin, etc. HVAC system 64 may include an AC compressor 66. Still other electrical loads may be coupled to engine 10. During engine idling conditions, an engine idle speed may be adjusted as a function of the electrical load required to be maintained and/or the anticipated electrical load. For example, if cabin cooling is demanded when the engine is in the idling condition, a higher engine idle speed is required to meet the AC compressor load. As another example, if the vehicle is stationary and idling at a traffic signal while a traffic light is red, and a significant steering event is anticipated when the traffic light turns green, a higher engine idle speed is provided to meet the anticipated steering load. As elaborated at FIG. 2, controller 12 may be configured to provide a minimum engine idle speed that meets the worst case load requirement (actual or anticipated) of the auxiliary electrical loads.”
Thus engine idle speed can be increased responsive to any increase in electrical load.
}
Regarding claim 4, Cunningham in view of Shinohara teaches The method of claim 3. Cunningham further teaches wherein the idle speed of the propulsion system is increased responsive to the operational load increasing, the operational load increasing due to operation of an auxiliary load of the vehicle system.
{Para [0022] “These may include, for example, electric power assist steering system (EPAS) 68 and a heating ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system 64 for heating and/or cooling a vehicle cabin, etc. HVAC system 64 may include an AC compressor 66. Still other electrical loads may be coupled to engine 10. During engine idling conditions, an engine idle speed may be adjusted as a function of the electrical load required to be maintained and/or the anticipated electrical load. For example, if cabin cooling is demanded when the engine is in the idling condition, a higher engine idle speed is required to meet the AC compressor load. As another example, if the vehicle is stationary and idling at a traffic signal while a traffic light is red, and a significant steering event is anticipated when the traffic light turns green, a higher engine idle speed is provided to meet the anticipated steering load. As elaborated at FIG. 2, controller 12 may be configured to provide a minimum engine idle speed that meets the worst case load requirement (actual or anticipated) of the auxiliary electrical loads.”
}
Regarding claim 6, Cunningham in view of Shinohara teaches The method of claim 1. Cunningham further teaches wherein the operational condition of the vehicle system is monitored and includes a state of a brake of the vehicle system.
{Para [0035] “From each of 224 and 226, the method moves to 230 where it is determined if the brake force applied by the vehicle operator has been reduced. For example, it may be determined if the operator has fully or partially released the brake pedal. If yes, then at 234, the method includes raising the engine idle speed from the sub-idle speed (or from between the base idle speed and sub-idle speed) to the base idle speed. For example, the engine idle speed may be raised from 400 rpm to 700 rpm. Else, if the brake force has not been reduced, the selected engine idle speed is maintained at 232.”
}
Regarding claim 7, Cunningham in view of Shinohara teaches The method of claim 1. Cunningham further teaches wherein the idle speed of the propulsion system is reduced by changing an operating mode of the vehicle system into a low power mode, wherein the low power mode of the vehicle system enables one or more of deactivating one or more parasitic loads of the vehicle system while the propulsion system remains activated, reducing an operational speed of the one or more parasitic loads while the propulsion system remains activated, or reducing a link voltage of an alternator of the vehicle system.
{Para [0033] “Returning to 214, if the load is below the upper threshold, then at 224, it is determined if the estimated worst case load is below a lower non-zero threshold load (Lower_Thr). For example, the worst case load may be compared to a threshold load below which a new, exceptionally low, minimum idle speed can be maintained for the load to be supported without stalling the engine). As an example, if enough battery state of charge exists, the controller may reduce the alternator electrical power production to zero or negative. In the case that the alternator is a motor/generator, it can function as a motor, thus supplementing engine torque, allowing for an exceptionally low engine idle speed. In one example, the worst case load may be below than the lower threshold load when the air conditioner (AC) of the HVAC system is powered off (due to no cabin cooling being demanded by the operator), and while the other electrical loads of the alternator and the transmission pump are at a minimum. The new minimum idle speed, hereafter, is also referred to as a sub-idle engine speed. The lower engine idle speed allows for an improvement in fuel economy during engine idling. If the load is below the lower threshold, then at 226, the method includes setting the engine speed to the sub-idle engine speed. For example, during the current idling condition, engine fueling and air intake is reduced to maintain the sub-idle engine speed. In one example, the sub-idle engine speed is 400 rpm. By lowering the engine idle speed to a non-zero sub-idle speed, instead of to a zero idle speed, a time-to-combustion-torque is improved. In particular, if the engine is already spinning at sub-idle speed, a time-to-combustion-torque is very short, thereby reducing delays in vehicle responsiveness to a requested combustion-powered longitudinal motion. The delay may be longer as the engine idle speed is reduced to a zero idle speed. The longer delay may cause driver dissatisfaction.”
Having the battery at a high state of charge can be considered as a type of low power mode as electric generation from the alternator is no longer required. Due to this the load on the engine is reduced as the operational load of the alternator is reduced.
}
Regarding claim 8, Cunningham in view of Shinohara teaches The method of claim 1. Cunningham further teaches wherein propulsion of the vehicle system is prevented while the idle speed is reduced, further comprising increasing the idle speed responsive to operator input.
{Para [0054] “At t2, the operator requests a reduction in the brake force by gradually releasing the brake pedal. At this time, the controller infers that the vehicle operator intends to eventually launch the vehicle. Therefore in anticipation of vehicle acceleration, the engine idle speed is rapidly raised to the base idle speed 413 while concurrently increasing a hydraulic brake pressure to counteract any creep torque and unintended vehicle movement induced by the rising engine idle speed. Specifically, even though brake force increase is not requested by the vehicle operator, the brake force is actively increased to counteract the creep torque.”
Para [0060] “In this way, an engine idle speed can be dynamically lowered based on reduced needs from multiple engine-power accessories, such as the AC compressor, alternator, and transmission oil pump. By controlling the brake hydraulic pressure, via an engine controller, when a vehicle is stationary and the brake pedal is released, the potential negative side-effects of increased powertrain creep torque from a rapidly increased idle speed are reduced. As such, this enables the engine idle speed to be lowered without being constrained by the need to limit a rate of engine idle speed increase. The technical effect is that the effect of creep torque on intended deceleration rate is neutralized or counteracted via a vehicle controller mediated control of brake hydraulic pressure. Then, upon detection of brake pedal force/travel reduction, the engine can be returned to transmission-engine synchronous speed before accelerator pedal application, thus gently taking up the lash and avoiding drivetrain clunk. This allows for a lowered engine speed even in a target engine speed region where a high, fuel consuming idle speed, which is always above the engine synchronous speed, is provided to prevent lash.”
Where when the operator takes there foot of the brake (a type of operator action) the vehicle control system causes brake pressure to be still applied to prevent movement while the idle speed changes to the base idle speed. Thus propulsion is prevented for at least a short period of time, and engine rpm increases due to the action of the driver reducing pressure on the brake.
}
Regarding claim 9, Cunningham teaches A vehicle control system comprising: a controller having one or more processors configured to monitor one or both of an ambient condition and an operational condition of a vehicle system while a propulsion system of the vehicle system is operating in a first mode at a first idle speed,
{Para [0027] “Instructions for carrying out method 200 and the rest of the methods included herein may be executed by a controller based on instructions stored on a memory of the controller and in conjunction with signals received from sensors of the engine system, such as the sensors described above with reference to FIG. 1. The controller may employ engine actuators of the engine system to adjust engine operation, according to the methods described below.”
Para [0030] “Returning to 208, if the brake pedal has also been applied, in addition to the accelerator pedal being released, then at 212, the method includes estimating the worst case engine electrical load based on a torque requirement of various engine electrical components, such as the AC compressor, alternator, transmission (electric) oil pump, and other electrical devices. For example, the controller may determine an actual load of each component based on current conditions and an anticipated load based on predicted (upcoming) driving conditions, as inferred from navigational input. As non-limiting examples, the AC compressor load may increase as the cabin cooling demand increases, the alternator load may increase as electrical power consumption increases, and the transmission electric oil pump load may increase as the transmission actuation actions are commanded. The controller may determine each electrical load individually, and then sum the loads to determine the worst case load on the engine.”
}
the one or more processors configured to determine whether the one or more of the ambient condition or the operational condition satisfy one or more reduced idle speed criteria, the one or more processors configured to switch the propulsion system to operate in a second mode at a relatively slower second idle speed responsive to the one or more of the ambient condition or the operational condition satisfying the one or more reduced idle speed criteria.
{Para [0033] “Returning to 214, if the load is below the upper threshold, then at 224, it is determined if the estimated worst case load is below a lower non-zero threshold load (Lower_Thr). For example, the worst case load may be compared to a threshold load below which a new, exceptionally low, minimum idle speed can be maintained for the load to be supported without stalling the engine). As an example, if enough battery state of charge exists, the controller may reduce the alternator electrical power production to zero or negative. In the case that the alternator is a motor/generator, it can function as a motor, thus supplementing engine torque, allowing for an exceptionally low engine idle speed. In one example, the worst case load may be below than the lower threshold load when the air conditioner (AC) of the HVAC system is powered off (due to no cabin cooling being demanded by the operator), and while the other electrical loads of the alternator and the transmission pump are at a minimum. The new minimum idle speed, hereafter, is also referred to as a sub-idle engine speed. The lower engine idle speed allows for an improvement in fuel economy during engine idling. If the load is below the lower threshold, then at 226, the method includes setting the engine speed to the sub-idle engine speed. For example, during the current idling condition, engine fueling and air intake is reduced to maintain the sub-idle engine speed. In one example, the sub-idle engine speed is 400 rpm. By lowering the engine idle speed to a non-zero sub-idle speed, instead of to a zero idle speed, a time-to-combustion-torque is improved. In particular, if the engine is already spinning at sub-idle speed, a time-to-combustion-torque is very short, thereby reducing delays in vehicle responsiveness to a requested combustion-powered longitudinal motion. The delay may be longer as the engine idle speed is reduced to a zero idle speed. The longer delay may cause driver dissatisfaction.”
Fig. 4 where it can be seen at t1 the electrical load is reduced and then shortly after the idle speed 412 is brought below the base idle speed.
Para [0053] “Prior to t1, the vehicle is being propelled with engine speed adjusted as a function of torque demanded by the vehicle operator. At t1, the operator releases the accelerator pedal and shortly after that, the operator depresses the brake pedal. The combined action indicates that the operator intends to bring the vehicle to a stop, such as may occur due to the vehicle arriving at a traffic signal. Thus at t1, in response to the accelerator pedal release and brake pedal actuation, vehicle speed reduces towards a halt and the engine comes to an idling condition. Also at this time, the electrical load drops, for example, due to the transmission oil pump not operating, and cabin cooling not being requested. Due to the lower electrical load, at t1, the engine idle speed is opportunistically lowered below base engine idle speed 413 as a function of the reduced electrical load. This lowering of engine speed allows for a significant improvement in fuel economy over leaving the engine at the base idle speed in anticipation of electrical load.”
}
Cunningham does not teach wherein the one or more reduced idle speed criteria is based, at least in part, on an operational history of the vehicle system.
However Shinohara teaches wherein the one or more reduced idle speed criteria is based, at least in part, on an operational history of the vehicle system.
{para [0010] “A control system according to an aspect of the invention is a control system of a vehicle, the vehicle including an engine, a plurality of accessories including an air conditioner, a battery supplying electric power to each of the plurality of accessories, and a generator generating electric power and charging the battery with at least some of the electric power. The control system is configured to automatically stop the engine, control the generator to charge or discharge the battery, so as to make an SOC of the battery close to an SOC target value, and inhibit the engine from being automatically stopped when the SOC of the battery is equal to or smaller than an SOC threshold value. The control system includes: first calculating porthion configured to calculate a first stop time as a length of time for which the engine can be automatically stopped, during operation of the air conditioner, based on an outside air temperature, or a temperature difference between the outside air temperature and a set temperature of the air conditioner, and calculate a first electric quantity as an estimated quantity of electricity consumed, which quantity is determined by a product of the first stop time, and a total load of a set of operating accessories that are currently in operation, out of the plurality of accessories; second calculating portion configured to calculate a second stop time as a length of time for which the vehicle is predicted to be stopped in the future, from a traveling history of the vehicle, and calculate a second electric quantity as an estimated quantity of electricity consumed, which quantity is determined by a product of the second stop time and the total load of the set of operating accessories; and setting portion configured to set the SOC target value to a third SOC value that is equal to or larger than a first SOC value that is larger than the SOC threshold value by an SOC value corresponding to the first electric quantity, and is smaller than a second SOC value that is larger than the SOC threshold value by an SOC value corresponding to the second electric quantity, when the first electric quantity is smaller than the second electric quantity.”
Where the SOC target value is based on a number of factors including travel history.
Cunningham already teaches that the reduced idle speed criteria is based on battery state of charge.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cunningham to incorporate the teachings of Shinohara to set a state of charge criteria based on traveling history, because if it is predicted that the vehicle will spend more time stopped more the SOC target should be higher to ensure the vehicle battery is not drained during stops (para [0030] “However, in a situation where the vehicle stops relatively frequently, as in an urban area, for example, the period (i.e., the traveling time) between the time when idling stop control was executed to the time when idling stop is executed next time is relatively short, and the SOC of the battery may not be sufficiently recovered. Namely, the maximum time for which the engine can be stopped under idling stop control depends on the current SOC of the battery.”)
Regarding claim 10, Cunningham in view of Shinohara teaches The vehicle control system of claim 9. Cunningham further teaches wherein the propulsion system of the vehicle system consumes less fuel while operating at the idle speed that is reduced relative to the vehicle system being stationary and the propulsion system operates at a faster idle speed.
{Para [0027] “Turning now to FIG. 2, an example method 200 is shown for opportunistically lowering an engine idle speed below a base idle speed, to provide fuel economy benefits. The idle speed is raised when a brake force is reduced by an operator, while applying added hydraulic brake pressure via a controller to counteract creep torque resulting from the engine idle speed increase. While the method of FIG. 2 is performed while a vehicle is brought a halt by application of brake pedals, a similar method for lowering engine idle speed during a coasting operation is shown at FIG. 3. Instructions for carrying out method 200 and the rest of the methods included herein may be executed by a controller based on instructions stored on a memory of the controller and in conjunction with signals received from sensors of the engine system, such as the sensors described above with reference to FIG. 1. The controller may employ engine actuators of the engine system to adjust engine operation, according to the methods described below.”
}
Regarding claim 11, it recites A vehicle control system having limitations similar to those of claim 3 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 12, it recites A vehicle control system having limitations similar to those of claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 14, it recites A vehicle control system having limitations similar to those of claim 6 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 15, it recites A vehicle control system having limitations similar to those of claim 7 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 16, it recites A vehicle control system having limitations similar to those of claim 8 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 17, Cunningham teaches A method comprising: monitoring one or more of an ambient condition or an operational condition of a vehicle system while a propulsion system of the vehicle system is operating at an idle speed;
{Para [0029-0030] “If the accelerator pedal has been released, then at 208, it is determined if the brake pedal has been applied by the vehicle operator. A vehicle operator may indicate an intention to bring the vehicle to a stationary position by releasing the accelerator pedal and applying the brake pedal, such as when the vehicle approaches a traffic signal. If the brake pedal has not been applied, and only the accelerator pedal has been released, then at 210, it in inferred that the operator wishes to coast the vehicle, and accordingly an engine idle speed setting is selected for the coasting condition. Engine idle speed adjustments during vehicle coasting is elaborated at FIG. 3.
Returning to 208, if the brake pedal has also been applied, in addition to the accelerator pedal being released, then at 212, the method includes estimating the worst case engine electrical load based on a torque requirement of various engine electrical components, such as the AC compressor, alternator, transmission (electric) oil pump, and other electrical devices. For example, the controller may determine an actual load of each component based on current conditions and an anticipated load based on predicted (upcoming) driving conditions, as inferred from navigational input. As non-limiting examples, the AC compressor load may increase as the cabin cooling demand increases, the alternator load may increase as electrical power consumption increases, and the transmission electric oil pump load may increase as the transmission actuation actions are commanded. The controller may determine each electrical load individually, and then sum the loads to determine the worst case load on the engine.”
Vehicle is being brought to a stationary position and the electrical load is being monitored. This is also illustrated in fig. 4
}
determining whether the one or more of the ambient condition or the operational condition satisfy one or more reduced idle speed criteria,
{Para [0033] “Returning to 214, if the load is below the upper threshold, then at 224, it is determined if the estimated worst case load is below a lower non-zero threshold load (Lower_Thr). For example, the worst case load may be compared to a threshold load below which a new, exceptionally low, minimum idle speed can be maintained for the load to be supported without stalling the engine). As an example, if enough battery state of charge exists, the controller may reduce the alternator electrical power production to zero or negative. In the case that the alternator is a motor/generator, it can function as a motor, thus supplementing engine torque, allowing for an exceptionally low engine idle speed. In one example, the worst case load may be below than the lower threshold load when the air conditioner (AC) of the HVAC system is powered off (due to no cabin cooling being demanded by the operator), and while the other electrical loads of the alternator and the transmission pump are at a minimum. The new minimum idle speed, hereafter, is also referred to as a sub-idle engine speed. The lower engine idle speed allows for an improvement in fuel economy during engine idling. If the load is below the lower threshold, then at 226, the method includes setting the engine speed to the sub-idle engine speed. For example, during the current idling condition, engine fueling and air intake is reduced to maintain the sub-idle engine speed. In one example, the sub-idle engine speed is 400 rpm. By lowering the engine idle speed to a non-zero sub-idle speed, instead of to a zero idle speed, a time-to-combustion-torque is improved. In particular, if the engine is already spinning at sub-idle speed, a time-to-combustion-torque is very short, thereby reducing delays in vehicle responsiveness to a requested combustion-powered longitudinal motion. The delay may be longer as the engine idle speed is reduced to a zero idle speed. The longer delay may cause driver dissatisfaction.”
}
reducing the idle speed at which the propulsion system is operating to a slower speed responsive to the one or more of the ambient condition or the operational condition satisfying the one or more reduced idle speed criteria;
{Fig. 4 where it can be seen at t1 the electrical load is reduced and then shortly after the idle speed 412 is brought below the base idle speed.
Para [0053] “Prior to t1, the vehicle is being propelled with engine speed adjusted as a function of torque demanded by the vehicle operator. At t1, the operator releases the accelerator pedal and shortly after that, the operator depresses the brake pedal. The combined action indicates that the operator intends to bring the vehicle to a stop, such as may occur due to the vehicle arriving at a traffic signal. Thus at t1, in response to the accelerator pedal release and brake pedal actuation, vehicle speed reduces towards a halt and the engine comes to an idling condition. Also at this time, the electrical load drops, for example, due to the transmission oil pump not operating, and cabin cooling not being requested. Due to the lower electrical load, at t1, the engine idle speed is opportunistically lowered below base engine idle speed 413 as a function of the reduced electrical load. This lowering of engine speed allows for a significant improvement in fuel economy over leaving the engine at the base idle speed in anticipation of electrical load.”
}
monitoring one or more of the operational condition of the vehicle system or an operational load placed on the propulsion system of the vehicle system while the vehicle system remains stationary; and increasing the idle speed of the propulsion system responsive to one or more of the operational condition of the vehicle system changing or the operational load placed on the propulsion system increasing.
{Para [0035] “From each of 224 and 226, the method moves to 230 where it is determined if the brake force applied by the vehicle operator has been reduced. For example, it may be determined if the operator has fully or partially released the brake pedal. If yes, then at 234, the method includes raising the engine idle speed from the sub-idle speed (or from between the base idle speed and sub-idle speed) to the base idle speed. For example, the engine idle speed may be raised from 400 rpm to 700 rpm. Else, if the brake force has not been reduced, the selected engine idle speed is maintained at 232.”
Where amount of brake force can be considered a part of the operational condition of the vehicle system and when brake pedal pressure changes the ideal speed is increases
Additionally
It is strongly implied that idle speed will increase response to increased electrical loads.
Para [0022] “These may include, for example, electric power assist steering system (EPAS) 68 and a heating ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system 64 for heating and/or cooling a vehicle cabin, etc. HVAC system 64 may include an AC compressor 66. Still other electrical loads may be coupled to engine 10. During engine idling conditions, an engine idle speed may be adjusted as a function of the electrical load required to be maintained and/or the anticipated electrical load. For example, if cabin cooling is demanded when the engine is in the idling condition, a higher engine idle speed is required to meet the AC compressor load. As another example, if the vehicle is stationary and idling at a traffic signal while a traffic light is red, and a significant steering event is anticipated when the traffic light turns green, a higher engine idle speed is provided to meet the anticipated steering load. As elaborated at FIG. 2, controller 12 may be configured to provide a minimum engine idle speed that meets the worst case load requirement (actual or anticipated) of the auxiliary electrical loads.”
Thus engine idle speed can be increased responsive to any increase in electrical load.
}
Cunningham does not teach the one or more reduced auxiliary or parasitic load criteria being based, at least in part, on an operational history of the vehicle system;
However Shinohara teaches the one or more reduced auxiliary or parasitic load criteria being based, at least in part, on an operational history of the vehicle system;
{para [0010] “A control system according to an aspect of the invention is a control system of a vehicle, the vehicle including an engine, a plurality of accessories including an air conditioner, a battery supplying electric power to each of the plurality of accessories, and a generator generating electric power and charging the battery with at least some of the electric power. The control system is configured to automatically stop the engine, control the generator to charge or discharge the battery, so as to make an SOC of the battery close to an SOC target value, and inhibit the engine from being automatically stopped when the SOC of the battery is equal to or smaller than an SOC threshold value. The control system includes: first calculating porthion configured to calculate a first stop time as a length of time for which the engine can be automatically stopped, during operation of the air conditioner, based on an outside air temperature, or a temperature difference between the outside air temperature and a set temperature of the air conditioner, and calculate a first electric quantity as an estimated quantity of electricity consumed, which quantity is determined by a product of the first stop time, and a total load of a set of operating accessories that are currently in operation, out of the plurality of accessories; second calculating portion configured to calculate a second stop time as a length of time for which the vehicle is predicted to be stopped in the future, from a traveling history of the vehicle, and calculate a second electric quantity as an estimated quantity of electricity consumed, which quantity is determined by a product of the second stop time and the total load of the set of operating accessories; and setting portion configured to set the SOC target value to a third SOC value that is equal to or larger than a first SOC value that is larger than the SOC threshold value by an SOC value corresponding to the first electric quantity, and is smaller than a second SOC value that is larger than the SOC threshold value by an SOC value corresponding to the second electric quantity, when the first electric quantity is smaller than the second electric quantity.”
Where the SOC target value is based on a number of factors including travel history. The SOC target value can be considered a reduced auxiliary or parasitic load criteria.
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cunningham to incorporate the teachings of Shinohara to set a state of charge criteria based on traveling history, because if it is predicted that the vehicle will spend more time stopped more the SOC target should be higher to ensure the vehicle battery is not drained during stops (para [0030] “However, in a situation where the vehicle stops relatively frequently, as in an urban area, for example, the period (i.e., the traveling time) between the time when idling stop control was executed to the time when idling stop is executed next time is relatively short, and the SOC of the battery may not be sufficiently recovered. Namely, the maximum time for which the engine can be stopped under idling stop control depends on the current SOC of the battery.”)
Regarding claim 18, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 20, it recites A vehicle control system having limitations similar to those of claim 6 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 5, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cunningham et al. (US 20200165987 A1, hereinafter known as Cunningham) in view of Shinohara et al. (US 20160363060 A1, hereinafter known as Shinohara) and Gutowski et al. (US 20220118951 A1, hereinafter known as Gutowski).
Gutowski was cited in a previous office action
Regarding Claim 5, Cunningham in view of Shinohara teaches The method of claim 1
Cunningham does not teach, wherein the ambient condition that is monitored is an ambient temperature, the one or more reduced auxiliary or parasitic load criteria include a lower temperature threshold, and the idle speed is reduced responsive to the ambient temperature being warmer than the lower temperature threshold.
However, Gutowski teaches wherein the ambient condition that is monitored is an ambient temperature, the one or more reduced auxiliary or parasitic load criteria include a lower temperature threshold, and the idle speed is reduced responsive to the ambient temperature being warmer than the lower temperature threshold.
{Para [0121-0122] “At 606, method 600 includes determining powertrain and HVAC system settings to achieve the passenger-specified climate conditions given the vehicle climate conditions. Determining the powertrain settings may include, for example, determining an idle air control setting, such as increasing the idle air control setting to increase an amount of heat output by the engine in response to a higher temperature set-point relative to the ambient temperature and sun load of the vehicle. As another example, determining the powertrain settings may include determining a speed of the engine cooling fan, such as decreasing the speed responsive to a higher temperature set-point relative to the ambient temperature and sun load of the vehicle. Determining the HVAC system settings may include, for example, determining a ratio of hot air to cold air to be generated by HVAC system heating and cooling elements respectively (including a setting for activating the electric heater, when included), and/or a ratio of fresh air to recirculated air to be mixed into the air flow. For example, the HVAC controller may determine a position of the blend door and a position of the air inlet door accordingly. Determining the HVAC system settings may further include, for example, determining a rate and direction of the air flow. For example, the HVAC controller may determine the blower speed and a position of one or more delivery doors. When the parking heater is used, method 600 may further determine a motor fan speed and a fuel metering pump speed or (pulse-width of activation) to use for producing the temperature set-point of the auxiliary heating system.
At 608, method 600 optionally includes adjusting powertrain operation based on the determined powertrain settings. For example, if the determined powertrain settings are different than currently used powertrain settings, the powertrain operation may be adjusted, such as by increasing the engine idle speed to the higher idle air control setting and/or decreasing the engine cooling fan speed, for example. Alternatively, if the powertrain is already operating with the determined powertrain settings (e.g., the nominal idle air control setting and engine cooling fan speed are adequate to produce the passenger-specified climate conditions), the powertrain operation is maintained, and 608 is omitted.”
Where idle speed is higher when temperature is below the setpoint and thus idle speed would be lower when temperature is higher than setpoint in accordance with standard HVAC control.
Additionally, according to Gutowski an electrical heater can be used to adjust temperature to a setpoint. Cunningham teaches changing idle speed based on hvac electrical loads in para [0022]
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cunningham in view of Shinohara to incorporate the teachings of Gutowski to reduce idle speed when the temperature is warmer than a setpoint because when heat from the engine/electrical heater is no longer required lowering idle speed it saves energy. (Cunningham para [0034] “In this way, the engine idle speed may be opportunistically lowered, when electrical load is at a minimum and while an AC is powered off. Specifically, by lowering the engine idle speed to or towards a sub-idle speed, when possible, an exceptionally low idle speed can be achieved, thereby providing a fuel economy improvement at zero variable cost.”)
Regarding claim 13, it recites A vehicle control system having limitations similar to those of claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 19, it recites A vehicle control system having limitations similar to those of claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/BRIAN P SWEENEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668