DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 03/30/2026 has been entered
Claims 1-26 are pending.
Claims 1-26 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, 10, 12, and 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeunen et al. (US Publication 2022/0408441).
With respect to claims 1, Jeunen teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, measurement data associated with a plurality of access points (APs); (the communication device 11 receives through the network interface 1107 and for each access point 1-10, a list of the neighboring access points, also called a scanlist. Such a list comprises an identifier of the access points 1-10 from which a given access point can receive beacon messages together with their RSSI, paragraph 79.)
determining, based on the received measurement data, an interference Pattern indicative of AP utilization information (In order to compute the activity-based distance, a usage of the communication medium, i.e. the m frequency channels are monitored by the communication device 11. The different access points forward information collected by their controlling module 109 to the controlling module 1108 of the communication device 11 which processes them. For example, the usage of the communication module is monitored for a week and is then discretized into slots of fifteen minutes, paragraph 91) and AP scan information for the plurality of APs; (the communication device 11 receives through the network interface 1107 and for each access point 1-10, a list of the neighboring access points, also called a scanlist. Such a list comprises an identifier of the access points 1-10 from which a given access point can receive beacon messages together with their RSSI, paragraph 79.) and
causing, based on the interference pattern, an allocation of a plurality of frequencies for use by the plurality of APs. (where u.sub.i is the use pattern of the communication medium up to the previous week, u.sub.new is the use pattern of the communication medium of the previous week, u.sub.i+1 is an updated pattern and, 0≤α≤1 is the learning rate indicating whether there should be an emphasis on either new or historical data, Paragraph 94. Once the activity-based distance has been computed, the processor 1101 determines the frequency channel allocation scheme for the considered set of neighboring access point SET1, paragraph 95. Steps 403 to 406 are executed until there are no more access points causing interference to each other in the whole building B, paragraph 101)
With respect to claims 2, 16, and 22, Jeunen teaches wherein the measurement data is received at predetermined intervals. (the usage of the communication module is monitored for a week and is then discretized into slots of fifteen minutes, Paragraph 91)
With respect to claims 3, 17, and 23, Jeunen teaches wherein the measurement data is received over a predetermined period of time. (the usage of the communication module is monitored for a week and is then discretized into slots of fifteen minutes, Paragraph 91)
With respect to claims 4, 18, and 24, Jeunen teaches wherein the measurement data comprises one or more of a percentage of time each AP uses each frequency of the plurality of frequencies, each time period of a plurality of time periods each AP uses each frequency, an amount of time each AP uses each frequency, a signal strength associated with a radio signal of each AP, or information indicative of each AP that can detect a radio signal of another AP of the plurality of APs. (The goal behind this approach is to minimize a time overlap in the use of the communication medium by access points, for example, an access point using the communication medium during evening hours may share the communication medium, i.e. the same frequency channel, with an access point using the communication medium during office hours because the time overlap in the use of the communication medium is small, Paragraph 93)
With respect to claim 5, Jeunen teaches wherein the AP utilization information comprises a percentage of time each frequency of the plurality of frequencies is used by each AP, (The goal behind this approach is to minimize a time overlap in the use of the communication medium by access points, for example, an access point using the communication medium during evening hours may share the communication medium, i.e. the same frequency channel, with an access point using the communication medium during office hours because the time overlap in the use of the communication medium is small, Paragraph 93) and wherein the AP scan information comprises information indicative of each AP that can detect a radio signal of another AP of the plurality of APs. (The communication device 11 receives through the network interface 1107 and for each access point 1-10, a list of the neighboring access points, also called a scanlist. Such a list comprises an identifier of the access points 1-10 from which a given access point can receive beacon messages together with their RSSI, paragraph 79.)
With respect to claim 6, Jeunen teaches wherein causing, based on the interference pattern, the allocation of the plurality of frequencies for use by the plurality of APs comprises causing, based on a comparison of a percentage of time each frequency of the plurality of frequencies is used by each AP and information indicative of each AP that can detect a radio signal of another AP of the plurality of APs. (The goal behind this approach is to minimize a time overlap in the use of the communication medium by access points, for example, an access point using the communication medium during evening hours may share the communication medium, i.e. the same frequency channel, with an access point using the communication medium during office hours because the time overlap in the use of the communication medium is small, Paragraph 93)
With respect to claim 9, Jeunen teaches wherein causing, based on the interference pattern, the allocation of the plurality of frequencies for use by of the plurality of APs comprises: determining one or more input parameters for a network; determining, based on the one or more input parameters for the network, a soft allocation of the plurality of frequencies for use by the plurality of APs; determining, based on the interference pattern and the soft allocation of the plurality of frequencies for use by the plurality of APs, an interference value associated with the plurality of APs; and determining, based on the interference value, the allocation of the plurality of frequencies for use by each AP of the plurality of APs. (The goal behind this approach is to minimize a time overlap in the use of the communication medium by access points, for example, an access point using the communication medium during evening hours may share the communication medium, i.e. the same frequency channel, with an access point using the communication medium during office hours because the time overlap in the use of the communication medium is small, Paragraph 93)
With respect to claims 10, Jeunen teaches wherein the one or more input parameters comprise one or more dummy scalar parameters. (Once the activity-based distance has been computed, the processor 1101 determines the frequency channel allocation scheme for the considered set of neighboring access point SET1 during step 404, paragraph 95)
With respect to claim 12, Jeunen teaches wherein the interference value associated with the plurality of APs comprises one or more of a total interference value associated with the plurality of APs or a maximum interference value associated with the plurality of APs. (F(D, C) sum all the APs, paragraph 96)
With respect to claim 14, Jeunen teaches wherein causing the allocation of the plurality of frequencies for use by the plurality of APs comprises causing each AP to use a frequency of the plurality of frequencies. (This constraint is introduced to ensure that every access point in the set of neighboring access point gets allocated one frequency channel, paragraph 98)
With respect to claim 15, Jeunen teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, measurement data associated with a plurality of access points (APs); (the communication device 11 receives through the network interface 1107 and for each access point 1-10, a list of the neighboring access points, also called a scanlist. Such a list comprises an identifier of the access points 1-10 from which a given access point can receive beacon messages together with their RSSI, paragraph 79.)
determining, based on the received measurement data, an interference pattern indicative of AP utilization information (In order to compute the activity-based distance, a usage of the communication medium, i.e. the m frequency channels are monitored by the communication device 11. The different access points forward information collected by their controlling module 109 to the controlling module 1108 of the communication device 11 which processes them. For example, the usage of the communication module is monitored for a week and is then discretized into slots of fifteen minutes, paragraph 91) and AP scan information for the plurality of APs; (the communication device 11 receives through the network interface 1107 and for each access point 1-10, a list of the neighboring access points, also called a scanlist. Such a list comprises an identifier of the access points 1-10 from which a given access point can receive beacon messages together with their RSSI, paragraph 79.) and
causing, based on the interference pattern, at least two APs of the plurality of APs to use a frequency of a plurality of frequencies. (where u.sub.i is the use pattern of the communication medium up to the previous week, u.sub.new is the use pattern of the communication medium of the previous week, u.sub.i+1 is an updated pattern and, 0≤α≤1 is the learning rate indicating whether there should be an emphasis on either new or historical data, Paragraph 94. Once the activity-based distance has been computed, the processor 1101 determines the frequency channel allocation scheme for the considered set of neighboring access point SET1, paragraph 95. Steps 403 to 406 are executed until there are no more access points causing interference to each other in the whole building B, paragraph 101)
With respect to claim 19, Jeunen teaches wherein the AP utilization information comprises a percentage of time each frequency of the plurality of frequencies is used by each AP, (The goal behind this approach is to minimize a time overlap in the use of the communication medium by access points, for example, an access point using the communication medium during evening hours may share the communication medium, i.e. the same frequency channel, with an access point using the communication medium during office hours because the time overlap in the use of the communication medium is small, Paragraph 93) and the AP scan information comprises information indicative of each AP of the plurality of APs that cannot detect a radio signal of another AP of the plurality of APs. (The communication device 11 receives through the network interface 1107 and for each access point 1-10, a list of the neighboring access points, also called a scanlist. Such a list comprises an identifier of the access points 1-10 from which a given access point can receive beacon messages together with their RSSI, paragraph 79.)
With respect to claim 20, Jeunen teaches wherein causing, based on the interference pattern, the at least two APs of the plurality of APs to use a frequency of the plurality of frequencies comprises: determining, based on the interference pattern, an AP of the at least two APs cannot detect a radio signal of another AP of the at least two APs; and causing, based on the AP of the at least two APs not detecting the radio signal of another AP of the at least two APs, the at least two APs of the plurality of APs to use the frequency of the plurality of frequencies. (The goal behind this approach is to minimize a time overlap in the use of the communication medium by access points, for example, an access point using the communication medium during evening hours may share the communication medium, i.e. the same frequency channel, with an access point using the communication medium during office hours because the time overlap in the use of the communication medium is small, Paragraph 93)
With respect to claim 21, Jeunen teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a computing device, measurement data associated with a plurality of access points (APs); (the communication device 11 receives through the network interface 1107 and for each access point 1-10, a list of the neighboring access points, also called a scanlist. Such a list comprises an identifier of the access points 1-10 from which a given access point can receive beacon messages together with their RSSI, paragraph 79.)
determining, based on the received measurement data, an interference Pattern indicative of AP utilization information (In order to compute the activity-based distance, a usage of the communication medium, i.e. the m frequency channels are monitored by the communication device 11. The different access points forward information collected by their controlling module 109 to the controlling module 1108 of the communication device 11 which processes them. For example, the usage of the communication module is monitored for a week and is then discretized into slots of fifteen minutes, paragraph 91) and AP scan information for the plurality of APs; (the communication device 11 receives through the network interface 1107 and for each access point 1-10, a list of the neighboring access points, also called a scanlist. Such a list comprises an identifier of the access points 1-10 from which a given access point can receive beacon messages together with their RSSI, paragraph 79.) and
causing, based on the interference pattern, each AP of the plurality of APs to use a frequency of a plurality of frequencies for at least one time period of a plurality of time periods. (where u.sub.i is the use pattern of the communication medium up to the previous week, u.sub.new is the use pattern of the communication medium of the previous week, u.sub.i+1 is an updated pattern and, 0≤α≤1 is the learning rate indicating whether there should be an emphasis on either new or historical data, Paragraph 94. Once the activity-based distance has been computed, the processor 1101 determines the frequency channel allocation scheme for the considered set of neighboring access point SET1, paragraph 95. Steps 403 to 406 are executed until there are no more access points causing interference to each other in the whole building B, paragraph 101)
With respect to claim 25, Jeunen teaches wherein the AP utilization information comprises information indicative of each time period of the plurality of time periods each AP uses the Internet, (The goal behind this approach is to minimize a time overlap in the use of the communication medium by access points, for example, an access point using the communication medium during evening hours may share the communication medium, i.e. the same frequency channel, with an access point using the communication medium during office hours because the time overlap in the use of the communication medium is small, Paragraph 93) and wherein the AP scan information comprises information indicative of each AP that can detect a radio signal of another AP of the plurality of APs. (The communication device 11 receives through the network interface 1107 and for each access point 1-10, a list of the neighboring access points, also called a scanlist. Such a list comprises an identifier of the access points 1-10 from which a given access point can receive beacon messages together with their RSSI, paragraph 79.)
With respect to claim 26, Jeunen teaches wherein causing, based on the interference Pattern, each AP to use a frequency of the plurality of frequencies for the at least one time period of the plurality of time periods comprises causing, based on the interference Pattern, each AP to use a frequency of the plurality of frequencies for the at least one time period of the plurality of time periods that is not used by another AP of the plurality of APs during the at least one time period. (The goal behind this approach is to minimize a time overlap in the use of the communication medium by access points, for example, an access point using the communication medium during evening hours may share the communication medium, i.e. the same frequency channel, with an access point using the communication medium during office hours because the time overlap in the use of the communication medium is small, Paragraph 93)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jeunen et al. (US Publication 2022/0408441) in view of Kim et al. (US Publication 2023/0189071).
With respect to claim 13, Jeunen doesn’t teach wherein the network comprises a neural network.
Kim teaches wherein the network comprises a neural network. (Learning an artificial neural network may be intended to determine a model parameter for minimizing a loss function. The loss function may be used as an index for determining an optimal model parameter in a process of learning the artificial neural network, Paragraph 388)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement system of Jeunen with the network comprises a neural network as taught by Kim. The motivation for combining Jeunen and Kim is to be able to improve load balancing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-26 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475