DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Amendment filed 06AUG2025 has been entered. No new matter has been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06MAY2025.
Applicant's arguments filed 06AUG2025 have been fully considered.
Regarding claim 9, the claim was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation, but the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. This was not a 112(a) written description rejection (establishing that the inventor was not in possession of the invention as claimed in view of the disclosure of the application as filed) or a 112(a) enablement rejection (establishing that the invention is not adequately described that enables the make and use of the invention). The examiner does not dispute that a circulation subsystem that mixes liquid held in a reservoir is conventional. While 35 U.S.C. 112(f) permits a particular form of claim limitation, it cannot be read as creating an exception either to the description, enablement or best mode requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the definiteness requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(b). In re Knowlton, 481 F.2d 1357, 178 USPQ 486 (CCPA 1973). MPEP 2185.
Nonetheless, the Examiner appreciates the explanation on P7 of the REM pointing the structure in the specification on P9-10.
Any arguments in regards to LLOYD are moot as the reference is no longer relied upon.
The Applicant argues that KONDO does not discloses a release mechanism. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See discharge valve, Fig. 2 #21A and par. [0073] and controller Fig. 2 #17, which controls the discharge valve.
Regarding claim 4, The Applicant argues that KONDO does not discloses a plurality of parameter-adjusting subsystems. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See Fig. 6 and par. [0110].
Regarding the intended use of the system (which was argued in context of LLOYD, but will be answered in the context of other references), the amended claims clearly set forth an intended use: “A wastewater treatment system for use with a production system”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the circulation subsystem including a pump having a first inlet valve and a second inlet valve must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a parameter-adjusting subsystem in claim 1 is interpreted as a pH-adjusting subsystem, a temperature-adjusting subsystem, or both (Figs. 1-2, P10/L17-25).
a release mechanism in claim 1 is interpreted as a valve (P5/L17).
a production system in claim 1 is interpreted as a beverage production system (P3/L7).
a pH-adjusting subsystem is interpreted as a pH sensor (P10/L17-20) and a dosing pump (P11/L1-4).
a temperature-adjusting subsystem is interpreted as a temperature monitor (P10/L20-25) and a valve (P11/L13-16).
a circulation subsystem in claim 9 is interpreted as a pump including two inlet valves: one valve accepts incoming waste liquid to be pumped into the reservoir and the other valve initiates a recirculation pathway (C10/L10-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9,19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KONDO (US 20030091469).
Regarding claims 1-8, KONDO teaches a waste water treating method and system (title, Figs., abstract) comprising:
a reservoir (e.g. Fig. 6 #51);
a parameter-adjusting subsystem (e.g. Fig. 6 #52,57); and
a release mechanism (e.g. Fig. 2 #21A; par. [0073]);
wherein the reservoir is capable of receiving and holding waste liquid (par. [0067]);
wherein the parameter-adjusting subsystem is capable of measuring a parameter of the liquid under treatment and to treat the liquid under treatment to adjust the parameter (e.g. pH, Fig. 1-2,6 #52,53,52A; par. [0072] and/or temperature; Figs. 2,5-6 #57,58; par. [0108-0110]);
wherein the release mechanism is capable of releasing at least a portion of the liquid under treatment from the reservoir under control of the parameter-adjusting subsystem (par. [0073]).
Note that the limitations “production system”, “beverage production system”, “beverage production process”, “flow rate”, “brewery”, “mobile brewery”, “distillery”, “mobile distillery” sets forth a method and/or the material worked on as an intended use of the apparatus. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements and thus, “inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). See MPEP 2115.
See also “drink manufacturing facilities” (par. [0067]).
Regarding claim 9, KONDO teaches a circulation subsystem (Fig. 1 #14) capable of circulating the liquid under treatment held in the reservoir.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over KONDO (US 20030091469).
Regarding claim 24, KONDO is silent as to the circulation subsystem includes a pump; however, it is either inherently anticipated that KONDO has a pump or if not apparent is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide for such a pump for the purpose of pressurizing fluid and thus allowing the movement of fluid through the circulation subsystem. Such is common sense and would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of KONDO to include a circulation pump in order to allow the movement of fluid through the circulation subsystem.
Claim(s) 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONDO (US 20030091469) in view of SHAW (US 6511594).
Regarding claim 25, KONDO does not teach a pump with first and second inlet valves. However, SHAW teaches a high output ozonating apparatus (title, Figs.) including a circulation system (Fig. 1 #10) comprising a first inlet valve (Fig. 1 #78) and a second inlet valve (Fig. 1 #86), which are connected via a T-fitting (Fig. 1 #70) leading to a pump (Fig. 1 #22). While the pump itself does not appear to have two inlets, it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide such a pump with two inlets, because it provides for an essentially equivalent function and purpose of merging and pressurizing flows in a circulation system.
It is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try various engineering designs choices in the art by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (e.g. combining flow via a mixing valve or a pump) with a reasonable expectation of success by reaching a workable solution in order to provide a suitable circulation system. See MPEP 2141.III.(E).
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
LEWANDOWSKI (US 3883426) discloses process for treating waste water including a mixing valve (Fig. 4 #23) in a circulation system.
Telephonic Inquiries
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Liam Royce/Examiner, Art Unit 1777
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777