DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the amendment filed on 10/1/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razack (US 2022/0158273) in view of AI-Hallaj et al. (US PAT. 12,422,195).
Razack teaches an information handling system (as per claim 1) and a process of making an information handling system (as per claim 11), comprising: an outer housing (Fig. 5, 40); and a thermal management structure (42) disposed adjacent to an inner lateral surface of the outer housing, the thermal management structure comprising a porous layer configured to increase thermal resistance (a porous fire-retardant foam, paragraph [0194]) in a first direction orthogonal to the inner lateral surface of the outer housing (42).
However, Razack fails to teach a metal honeycomb structure of the porous layer. AI-Hallaj et al. teach a thermal management apparatus including a honeycomb lattice support structure (22, Figs. 1, 2 and 6) of a plurality of cavities or cells (24) such that the support structure includes one or more open cells or cavities for containing the thermal (or electrical) regulation material. The regulation material is offset a predetermined distance (e.g., up to a few millimeters) from one end of the support structure, and expands to reach the end upon a sufficient thermal change in the heat source (e.g., an overheating event). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify an information handling system of Razack by a metal honeycomb structure of the porous layer as taught by AI-Hallaj et al. in order to control a sufficient thermal changes in a heat source.
Reg. claim 8: Razack also teaches that the porous layer is approximately 0.2 to 0.4 millimeters thick (paragraph [0055]).
Reg. claim 9: Khateeb Razack teaches that the porous layer has a porosity greater than 20% and less than 85% (paragraph [0058]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, 9, 11 and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL D KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729