DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (Provisional 62/817,542 dated 3/12/19. Note: Non-provisional application US 2022/0182616 is used in the rejection instead of the provisional application for clarity purposes but all mapping used are reflected in the provisional application).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method for video decoding (see 200 in Fig. 3), comprising: receiving a bitstream (see “Bitstream” in Fig. 3), wherein the bitstream includes information indicating an Intra Sub-Partitions (ISP) split type (see S1631 in fig. 33; e.g. see ¶ [0378]), wherein the information includes a flag “IntraSubPartitionsSplitType” (see ¶ [0378]); selecting fC interpolation filter coefficients (see ¶ [0022], [0178]) in response to IntraSubPartitionsSplitType not being equal to ISPNO_SPLIT (see ¶ [0378]) without considering a size of a current block (e.g. ¶ [0374]-[0379], wherein the ”one or more of the following conditions are true” in ¶ [0374] indicates that in instance where “IntraSubPartitionsSplitType is not equal to ISPNO_SPLIT” is true, the process proceeds to using an interpolating filter regardless of the other conditions. This implies that regardless of any other conditions not shown, such as the block size, is not considered when at least one condition is met); wherein the size is a product of a width and a height (e.g. ¶ [0374]-[0379], wherein it is obvious that a block, which is not considered in any conditions, will have a size of dimension width and height); and applying the selected coefficients to reference samples to obtain predicted samples of a current block (see 235-265 in Figs. 3).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Li further discloses wherein a value of a filter flag is set to 0 in response to IntraSubPartitionsSplitType not being equal to ISPNO_SPLIT (see S1632 in fig. 33; e.g. see ¶ [0374]), and fC coefficients for the interpolation filter are selected in response to the value of the filter flag being set to 0 (see S1633 in fig. 33; e.g. see ¶ [0374]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Li further discloses wherein a filtering state for the current block is no-smoothing state in response to the value of the filter flag being set to 0 (see S1632).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Li further discloses determining interpolation filter coefficients from the selected coefficients of the interpolation filter based on an intra prediction mode of the current block (e.g. see ¶ [0378]); and applying the determined interpolation filter coefficients to the reference samples (see S1633 in fig. 33).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Li further discloses wherein the fC interpolation filter coefficients are defined (see S1633 in fig. 33).
Regarding claim 9, the claim(s) recite analogous limitations to claim 1, and is/are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 14, Li further discloses obtaining a value of a flag that indicates whether an intra-prediction mechanism is applied (e.g. see ¶ [0130]); and comparing the value of the obtained flag with a predetermined binary value (e.g. see ¶ [0375]).
Regarding claim 15, Li further discloses selecting fG interpolation coefficients at least in response to IntraSubPartitionsSplitType being equal to ISP_NO_SPLIT (see S1633 in fig. 33).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-5, and 9-15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Kim US 2021/0377519 A1 discloses [0130] the encoder/decoder may configure 1 as a filter flag of a block, a transform block of which is a luma component, and to which ISP has been applied. As another example, the encoder/decoder may determine whether to apply an interpolation filter, based on a filter flag.
Conclusion
/RICHARD T TORRENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485