DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . If status of the application as subject to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 were rejected in the 2/13/2026 office action. Claims 1-16 are pending in the application and are presently examined.
Response to Amendment / Arguments
The 5/11/2026 amendment, in response to the 2/13/2026 office action, has been entered. Applicant’s arguments failed to overcame all objections, 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Regarding the drawing objections, Applicant requested “that the present objection be held in abeyance until the remaining rejections are overcome”. Examiner suggests that presenting such amended drawings will help clarify the claimed invention, and facilitate examination.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, Applicant argues:
“Further, the rejection asserts that, in Fig. 5B, E=0. Applicant respectfully disagrees, since E represents the length of the portion of the positive electrode active material non-covered portion which protrudes from an end of the separator as shown in Fig. 5A (e.g., prior to bending).”
This statement that E represents the length in figure 5A is inconsistent with the claimed requirement of “a base portion extending along a radial direction orthogonal to a central axis… and a tip portion coupled to the base portion… and extending along the central axis”. This claim limitation is illustrated in figure 5B – not figure 5A. Figure 5B illustrates that when the base portion and the tip portion are formed, E=0.
Applicant also argues:
“Thus, a person of skill would understand that E is not equal to zero in the structure of Fig. 5B.”
The issue here is not what a person of skill would understand, but rather construing the meaning of the claim based on what the words actually state. According to the definition of E in claims 1 & 9, a length of E in a width direction is zero in figure 5B.
Figures 5A and 5B represent two different structures. There is no figure illustrating the following two claim limitations combined:
“a base portion extending along a radial direction orthogonal to a central axis… and a tip portion coupled to the base portion… and extending along the central axis
“a length E in a width direction… being larger than a length F in a width direction”
“at least a part of the tip portion overlaps a part of the separator in the radial direction”
Regarding Applicant’s statement that “E represents the length… as shown in Fig. 5A (e.g., prior to bending)”, note that this is not a method claim, which can include multiple different structures through the process of the method. This is an apparatus claim for a secondary battery.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection, Applicant argues that Kwon fails to teach:
“the positive electrode active material non-covered portion including a base portion... and a tip portion...; and
“an edge of the tip portion is farther from the positive electrode current collector plate than an edge of the separator in the width direction, and at least a part of the tip portion overlaps a part of the separator in the radial direction.”
Examiner disagrees. For further clarification, Examiner provides the following Figure E, which illustrates Kwon figures 37-38 combined with Ura figure 1 to teach the above claim limitations:
Figure E: Kwon figures 37-38 combined with Ura figure 1
Note that PECCP in Figure E is the positive electrode current collector plate. More details are provided in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims; therefore the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Claims 1 & 9 refer to a “tip portion”, a “edge of the tip portion”, a “base portion”, and “an edge of the separator”. The drawings fail to provide a reference number for these structures. Applicant’s remarks show an annotated figure 5A, with reference to the tip portion and to the base portion. The drawings should be similarly amended, plus references for the edges should be added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor(s) regard as the invention.
Claims 1 & 9 recite:
“a length E in a width direction… being larger than a length F in a width direction…
“at least a part of the tip portion overlaps a part of the separator in the radial direction”
The E>F limitation is illustrated in figure 5A. The tip portion overlapping the separator is illustrated in figure 5B. It is unclear how these two claim limitations are combined. In figure 5B, E=0, and E<F, which contradicts the required E>F limitation.
Claims 2-8 & 10-16 are rejected due to their dependence on claims 1 or 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20040237290A1 (Ura) in view of US20170279157A1 (Lee) and EP2846379A1 (Kwon), together “modified Ura”. Independent claims 1 and 9 are discussed first.
With regard to claims 1 & 9, Ura teaches the following:
A secondary battery (paragraph 19: rechargeable battery) comprising:
an electrode winding body (paragraph 20 and figure 1: “An electrode plate group 10 is constituted by winding in spiral fashion”) having a structure in which a strip-shaped positive electrode (paragraph 20 and figure 1: positive electrode plate 1) and a strip-shaped negative electrode (paragraph 20 and figure 1: negative electrode plate 2) are stacked with a separator (paragraph 20 and figure 1: separator 3) interposed therebetween and wound around a central axis (Figure A below), a positive electrode current collector plate (paragraph 22 and figure 1: positive electrode current collecting plate 8), and a negative electrode current collector plate (paragraph 22 and figure 1: negative electrode current collecting plate 9) are housed in a battery can (paragraph 20 and figure 1: battery container 4),
the positive electrode (1) having a positive electrode active material covered portion covered with a positive electrode active material layer and a positive electrode active material non-covered portion on a strip-shaped positive electrode foil, (Figure A below)
the negative electrode (2) having a negative electrode active material covered portion covered with a negative electrode active material layer and a negative electrode active material non-covered portion on a strip-shaped negative electrode foil, (Figure A below)
the positive electrode active material non-covered portion being joined to the positive electrode current collector plate (8) at one end portion of the electrode winding body, the negative electrode active material non-covered portion being joined to the negative electrode current collector plate (9) at the other end portion of the electrode winding body (Figure A below)…
the electrode winding body having… an inner peripheral portion located inside innermost peripheries of the positive electrode and the negative electrode and including only the separator (Figure A below)
Figure A: Annotated Ura Figure 1
Ura, however, fails to teach the following claim 1 limitation, which is taught by Lee:
the electrode winding body having a flat surface formed by overlapping at least the base portion of the positive electrode active material non-covered portion, a groove formed in the flat surface
Lee is directed to a rechargeable battery with reduced vibration damage (paragraph 10). Lee teaches overlapping the first bent portion and a groove in the flat surface (Figure B below). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Ura’s non-covered parts to be overlapped, and to have a groove in the flat surface, as taught by Lee, as part of a battery with reduced vibration damage.
Figure B: Annotated Lee Partial Figure 3
Claims 1 & 9 also recite:
a length E in a width direction of a portion where the positive electrode active material non-covered portion protrudes from one end of the separator in the width direction being larger than a length F in a width direction of a portion where the separator protrudes from one end of the negative electrode in the width direction
Ura illustrates E>F (figure C below):
Figure C: Annotated Ura Partial Figure 1
Ura, however, fails to describe this relationship. Lee provides additional guidance.
Lee’s separator doesn’t extend beyond the negative electrode in the width direction (vertical in figure D below), so F=0. Lee’s positive electrode non-covered portion does extend beyond the separator 3, so E>0. Therefore, Lee illustrates E>F:
Figure D: Annotated Lee Figure 3
Ura fails to teach the following limitations of claims 1 & 9, which are taught by Kwon combined with Lee:
the positive electrode active material non-covered portion including a base portion (Figure E below) extending along a radial direction (Figure E) orthogonal to a central axis of the structure of the electrode winding body, toward the central axis, and a tip portion (Figure E) coupled to the base portion on an opposite side to the positive electrode active material covered portion (Figure E: PEAMCP) and extending along the central axis…
an edge (Figure E) of the tip portion is farther from the positive electrode current collector plate (Figure E: PECCP) than an edge (Figure E) of the separator in the width direction , and at least a part of the tip portion overlaps a part of the separator in the radial direction (Figure E)
Figure E: Kwon figures 37-38 combined with Ura figure 1
The base portion and the tip portion are from Kwon figure 37. The positive electrode current collector plate (PECCP) is from Ura figure 1 & paragraph 22, positive electrode current collecting plate 8.
Kwon’s first electrode tab 61 is connected to the first electrode plate 11, which is a positive electrode (paragraphs 52, 61-62, & 113).
Kwon is directed to an electrode assembly with improved energy density, and that flexibly adapts to battery shape (paragraph 1). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Ura’s positive electrode active material non-covered portion to have the structure described by Kwon above, as part of an electrode assembly with improved energy density, and that flexibly adapts to battery shape.
Here are Ura, Lee, and Kwon combined:
Figure F: Lee figure 3 & Kwon figures 37-38 on Ura partial figure 1
With regard to claims 3 and 11, modified Ura teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as described above. Ura also teaches the following limitations of claims 3 and 11. Ura also teaches the following claim 3 limitations:
the positive electrode foil has a thickness of 5 µm or more and 20 µm or less (paragraph 26 and figure 1: positive electrode current collector 1b is 20 µm thick), and the negative electrode foil has a thickness of 5 µm or more and 20 µm or less (paragraph 27 and figure 1: negative electrode current collector 2b is 14 µm thick)
Note that Ura paragraph 27 shows “14 pm” thickness, but this is a mistranslation. Ura claims priority to PCT/JP00/02304, publication number WO00/62356. The following USPTO human translation, of the WO00/62356 paragraph that is the equivalent of Ura paragraph 27, shows that Ura’s thickness is 14 µm, not 14 pm:
“The negative electrode material 2a was made by mixing artificial graphite and styrene butadiene rubber (SBR) as a binder in a weight ratio of 97:3. In order to knead the negative electrode material 2a into a paste, a water-soluble dispersion liquid of styrene butadiene rubber was used as a binder. The above mixing ratio is the ratio of solid content. This negative electrode material paste was applied to both sides of a negative electrode current collector 2b made of copper foil with a thickness of 14 µm, leaving a 10 mm wide uncoated area on one edge, to form a negative electrode material layer. After that, it was compression molded with a press roll with a diameter of 300 mm so that the thickness of the negative electrode plate 2 was 170 µm. At this time, the density of the negative electrode material was 1.4 g/cm³.”
With regard to claims 4 and 12, modified Ura teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as described above.
Ura also teaches the following limitations of claims 4 and 12:
the electrode winding body includes a flat surface formed by bending the negative electrode active material non-covered portion toward the central axis… and a groove formed in the flat surface
Annotated Ura Figure 1
Ura, however, fails to teach the following limitation of claims 4 and 12, which is taught by Lee:
the negative electrode active material non-covered portion… overlapping each other
As discussed under claims 1 and 9, Lee teaches overlapped non-covered parts and a groove in the flat surface (see Figure B in claim 1 discussion above). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply this overlapping to the negative electrode like it is applied to the positive electrode because both electrodes have the similar connection issues.
With regard to claims 5-6 and 13-14, modified Ura teaches the limitations of claim 1 and 9 as described above. Ura also teaches the following limitations of claims 5-6 and 13-14:
5/13. An electronic device comprising the secondary battery according to claim 1/9. (paragraphs 2-3: electronic equipment)
6/14. A power tool comprising the secondary battery according to claim 1/9. (paragraph 4: “electric vehicle” is a transportation tool that requires power)
With regard to claims 7 and 15, modified Ura teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as described above. Kwon teaches the following limitation of claims 7 and 15:
in the direction along the central axis, the edge of the tip portion is at a same height as a tip of the negative electrode in the width direction or is located above a position of the tip of the negative electrode in the width direction
Kwon fulfills this claim limitation where Kwon’s tip portion joins the base portion (Figure E above).
With regard to claims 8 and 16, modified Ura teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as described above. Ura also teaches the following limitation of claims 8 and 16:
in the direction along the central axis, the edge of the tip portion is located below a tip of the separator in the width direction
Kwon fulfills this claim limitation where Kwon’s tip portion joins the base portion (Figure E above).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20040237290A1 (Ura) in view of US20170279157A1 (Lee) and EP2846379A1 (Kwon), together “modified Ura”, as applied to claims 1 and 9, and further in view of US20200350634A1 (Suehiro).
Modified Ura teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as described above. Ura, however, fails to teach the following claim 2 limitation, which is taught by Suehiro:
the separator has a thickness of 4 µm or more and 30 µm or less (paragraph 83: 5 to 30 μm separator thickness)
Suehiro is directed to a cylindrical battery with excellent cycle characteristics (paragraph 7). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Ura’s separator to have a thickness of 5 to 30 μm, as taught by Suehiro, as part of a battery with excellent cycle characteristics.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.G.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721