Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 8/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse as noted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 17 and 18 recite the limitation "the at least four proximal openings" in lines one and two. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claims depend from claim 5, which does not recite “at least four proximal openings”. It appears that the applicant intended for claims 17 and 18 to depend from claim 16, which introduces the limitation, “the proximal end includes at least four proximal openings…”. In the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner will address claims 17 and 18 as if they were dependent on claim 16. However, appropriate correction is still required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaljura et al. (US 20200221762).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Kaljura et al. disclose a paper or plastic tube ([0010], figure 1a, element 2), the inner diameter of the distal opening (as shown) with a lumen that extends from the distal opening to the proximal opening with each opening having an outer diameter and an inner diameter. The tube of Kaljura et al. acts as a mouthpiece and can be between 3 to about 25 mm long (0.11811 to 0.98 [0049]). Please note that “about 0.98 inches (25 mm) is considered to be about 1 inch and anticipates the length of at least 1 inch).
Kaljura et al. do not teach that the tube is used or configured to roll a smoking tube. In this case, configured to does not add any additional structural elements and is instead the intended use of the tube. The steps and parameters for the process for using the tube do not add patentable details to this invention, as no structural characteristics are association with the step in the specification. As such, this is a “product by process” claim.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), (MPEP 2113).
"The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983) …
"[T]he lack of physical description in a product-by-process claim makes determination of the patentability of the claim more difficult, since in spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not of the recited process steps which must be established. We are therefore of the opinion that when the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith." In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Regarding claim 4, Kaljura et al. do not teach that the tube is used or configured as a mandrel and roll a smoking tube during automated manufacturing of pre-rolled smoking tubes. In this case, configured as does not add any additional structural elements and is instead the intended use of the tube. The steps and parameters for the process for using the tube do not add patentable details to this invention, as no structural characteristics are association with the step in the specification. As such, this is a “product by process” claim.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), (MPEP 2113).
"The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983) …
"[T]he lack of physical description in a product-by-process claim makes determination of the patentability of the claim more difficult, since in spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not of the recited process steps which must be established. We are therefore of the opinion that when the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith." In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Regarding claim 10, the tube of Kaljura et al. includes and orifice and is capable of acting as a receptacle for a filter. In particular, the tube is shown receiving a filter (see figure 2).
Regarding claims 11-15, the outer diameter of the respective ends is disclosed as being equal (see figure 1a), smaller at one end (figure 1b), and larger at one end (figure 2). The inner diameter is also shown as being greater (1a) or the same (1b) at either end.
Claim(s) 1-6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by David (US 3,389,705).
Regarding claim 1, 2, 16, 17, and 18, David discloses a tube (see figure 4, element 21) with a proximal and distal end spaced apart along a central axis and the proximal end has an end wall with a plurality of holes (5 identical holes all labeled (33) as shown in figure 6). A lumen extends from the distal opening to the proximal opening along the central axis such that the distal opening and the at least one proximal opening have an outer diameter and an inner diameter.
David et al. do not teach that the tube is used or configured to roll a smoking tube. In this case, configured to does not add any additional structural elements and is instead the intended use of the tube. The steps and parameters for the process for using the tube do not add patentable details to this invention, as no structural characteristics are association with the step in the specification. As such, this is a “product by process” claim.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), (MPEP 2113).
"The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983) …
"[T]he lack of physical description in a product-by-process claim makes determination of the patentability of the claim more difficult, since in spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not of the recited process steps which must be established. We are therefore of the opinion that when the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith." In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Regarding claim 3, David discloses that the tube and components are made of cigarette paper, metals, or plastics (col. 1, 29-40, col. 4, lines 6-10).
Regarding claim 4, David does not teach that the tube is used or configured as a mandrel and roll a smoking tube during automated manufacturing of pre-rolled smoking tubes.. In this case, configured as does not add any additional structural elements and is instead the intended use of the tube. The steps and parameters for the process for using the tube do not add patentable details to this invention, as no structural characteristics are association with the step in the specification. As such, this is a “product by process” claim.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), (MPEP 2113).
"The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983) …
"[T]he lack of physical description in a product-by-process claim makes determination of the patentability of the claim more difficult, since in spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not of the recited process steps which must be established. We are therefore of the opinion that when the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith." In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the filter of Daivd shows holes on the outer surface that connect to the inner lumen to adjust airflow patterns (see figure 4, element 34 and arrows representing airflow).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David (US 3,389,705) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, David discloses holes to provide external air flow, or ventilation for the filter but does not disclose slits. However, it is notoriously well known to perforate, or for slits, in the paper wrapper of cigarette filters to provide ventilation. This is typically done by mechanical or laser perforation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form the ventilation of David by using conventional laser or mechanical perforation to form slits instead of holes to allow outside air into the filter. Doing so would have produced predictable results.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747