DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is entered in response to Applicant's amendment and reply of 7/7/26. The claims 1-22, 24-27 are pending. The claims 1, 6, 10, 14, 20 are amended. Claim 22 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/7/26 with respect to the rejections of claims 20-23, and 27 under 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rothstein (US2016/0235525) have been fully considered and the amendment overcomes the previous rejection. However, a new grounds of rejection has been made in view of Rothstein (US2016/0235525) in view of Tegels (US2019/0321178).
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/7/26 with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-6, 9, 10, 12-17, 25, and 26 under 103 as being unpatentable over Rothstein (US2016/0235525) in view of Tang (US2014/0316513) have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. Applicants’ amendment to claim 10 has overcome the previous rejection. However, a new grounds of rejection has been made in view of Rothstein (US2016/0235525) in view of Tang (US2014/0316513) and Tegels (US2019/0321178).
Applicants’ amendment to claim 1 does not overcome the previous rejection. Applicant argues, the downstream end of the valve component 640 is disposed within the frame 612 of the anchor stent 610, and the engineered landing zone abuts the frame 612 when fully radially expanded. Examiner makes notice, the frame 612 includes the arms 622, 626 that protrude radially outwardly from the body of the frame 612 as shown in Fig. 14. Where the arms 622, 626 would define a gap between the valve component 640 and the anchor stent 610.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-22, 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “landing zone graft material” in line 3 and “graft material” as another component in line 6. Subsequent recitations of “the graft material” in line 7 of claim 1 and 24 render the claims indefinite, because “the graft material” could refer to either of the claimed graft materials. The Examiner recommends differentiating the components with additional terminology.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "The landing zone prosthesis of claim 23". Claim 23 has been cancelled and it is not known from which claim the claim 24 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothstein (US2016/0235525) in view of Tegels (US2019/0321178).
Regarding claim 20, Rothstein discloses a landing zone prosthesis comprising:
a frame (610);
an engineered landing zone (640) comprising at least one stent (stent frame 642 of the valve 640, see Fig. 14);
graft material (608) coupled at a first end to the frame and at a second end to the engineered landing zone (see Fig. 1, [0059]), wherein the graft material includes a non-stented portion between the frame and the engineered landing zone (skirt 608 is non-stented, [0056]);
wherein in a first configuration the frame (610) and the engineered landing zone (640) are radially compressed with the engineered landing zone longitudinally spaced from the frame (see Fig. 15),
wherein in a second configuration the frame (610) is radially expanded (see Fig. 19), the engineered landing zone is radially compressed (see Fig. 19), and the engineered landing zone longitudinally spaced from the frame (see Fig. 19), and
wherein in a third configuration the frame (610) is radially expanded (where the third configuration is interpreted as the configuration when the frame component 610 is radially expanded and the landing zone 640 is partially expanded so that a gap exists between the components), the engineered landing zone (640) is at least partially disposed within the frame and radially expanded (the component 640 is partially expanded within the frame 610 before being fully expanded as shown in Fig. 22), and the frame is secured to a vessel (frame 610 is already secured to vessel prior to expansion of component 640, see Fig. 21), wherein in the third configuration a radial gap is disposed between the engineered landing zone and the frame along at least a portion of the engineering landing zone disposed within the frame (radial gap is the radial distance between the frame 610 and the component 640 during partial expansion of 640).
Rothstein does not explicitly disclose the engineered landing zone comprising landing zone graft material coupled to the at least one stent and the landing zone graft material covers the entire engineered landing zone. Tegels in the same field of endeavor, teaches deployment of a prosthetic mitral valve 100 that includes an inner frame 150 and an outer frame 120 ([0030]). Where the inner frame 150 is moved from a position proximal to the outer frame 120 to a position where the inner frame 150 is nested within the outer frame 120 ([0034]). Tegels according to another embodiment further teaches the outer frame 210 can be fully covered by an inner covering 232 and outer covering 230; and an inner valve assembly 240 having an outer covering of porcine pericardium, a graft material ([0052]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the stent frame with a covering of a graft material (engineered landing zone) of Tegels for the stent frame of Rothstein, since the substitution would have yielded the same predictable result of providing a valve to be implanted in a native heart valve, while also providing the added benefit of providing a valve with a graft covering for better sealing of the valve ([0052]).
The modified invention does not explicitly disclose the landing zone graft material covers the entire engineered landing zone. Tegels according to another embodiment teaches the outer frame 210 can be fully covered by an inner covering 232 and outer covering 230. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have covered the entire engineered landing zone of Rothstein/Tegels in order to assist in sealing to prevent paravalvular leakage ([0047]).
Regarding claim 21, Rothstein/Tegels makes obvious the landing zone prosthesis of claim 20, Rothstein further discloses comprising endoanchors (barbs, [0059]), wherein in the third configuration, the frame (610) is secured to the vessel via the endoanchors disposed through the frame and into the vessel (barbs on the outer surface of 642, [0059]; where the barbs are delivered simultaneously with 642 of 640 into 612 of frame 610).
Regarding claim 22, Rothstein/Tegels makes obvious the landing zone prosthesis of claim 21, the modified invention discloses wherein in a fourth configuration the frame (610 of Rothstein) is radially expanded, the engineering landing zone (640 of Rothstein as substituted by a frame with a covering of Tegels) is disposed within the frame (would be disposed in this manner as shown in Fig. 21 of Rothstein), and the engineering landing zone is radially compressed (the fourth configuration is interpreted as the configuration when the landing zone 640 as substituted by a frame with a covering of Tegels is translated through the frame 610, see Fig. 21 of Rothstein).
Regarding claim 27, Rothstein/Tegels makes obvious the landing zone prosthesis of claim 20, the modified invention discloses wherein in the third configuration the frame is substantially reverse funnel-shaped (the frame 610 has a funnel shape by conforming to the shape of the vessel and would therefore have a funnel shape), the engineered landing zone is substantially cylindrical (the component 640 as substituted by a frame with a covering is substantially cylindrical by having a longer length and extending down the vessel wall, see Fig. 23 of Rothstein), and the radial gap is formed between the substantially cylindrical engineered landing zone and the reverse funnel-shaped frame (during partial expansion of 640, the gap would be formed between the cylindrical landing zone and funnel shaped frame).
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothstein (US2016/0235525) in view of Tang (US2014/0316513).
Regarding claim 1, Rothstein discloses a method for creating an engineered landing zone comprising:
delivering a landing zone prosthesis (600) in a radially compressed configuration to a site within a vessel ([0061]), the landing zone prosthesis including a frame (arm component 620 having arms 622, 624, 626, [0055]), an engineered landing zone (640), and graft material (608) coupled at a first end to the frame and at a second end to the engineered landing zone (see Fig. 14, [0059]), wherein the graft material includes a non-stented portion between the frame and the engineered landing zone (608 is non-stented, [0056]);
radially expanding the frame (620) at the site (see Fig. 19), wherein with the frame radially expanded, the engineered landing zone (640) remains in the radially compressed configuration longitudinally spaced from the frame (see Fig. 19);
securing the frame to the vessel ([0059]);
longitudinally translating the engineered landing zone (640) such that the engineered landing zone is at least partially disposed within the frame (see Figs. 21 and 22, [0059]); and
radially expanding the engineered landing zone (when the landing zone 640 is partially expanded before being fully expanded as shown in Fig. 22) at least partially within the frame,
wherein with the engineered landing zone fully radially expanded within the frame a radial gap is formed between at least a downstream end of the engineered landing zone and the frame (the radial gap is made by the body of stent 610 being between the loop of the arms 622, 624, 626 and the landing zone 640 when expanded, see Fig. 22, [0055]).
Rothstein is silent regarding delivering the prosthesis to a site of an aneurysm within a vessel.
Tang teaches that a transcatheter heart valve 200 and stent graft 300 assembly that is can be used for bypassing an aneurysm ([0085]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have Rothstein be used for bypassing an aneurysm and expand Rothstein’s device at the site of the aneurysm in order to effectively treat an aneurysm as taught by Tang ([0085]).
Regarding claim 3, Rothstein/Tang makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein securing the frame to the vessel comprises:
delivering endoanchors to within the frame (barbs on the outer surface of frame 642, [0059]; where the barbs are delivered simultaneously with the frame 642 of 640 and into frame 620); and
deploying the endoanchors through the frame and into the vessel to secure the frame to the vessel ([0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Rothstein/Tang makes obvious the method of claim 3, Rothstein further discloses wherein the graft material (608) lines at least a portion of the frame (See Fig. 23), wherein deploying the endoanchors further comprises deploying the endoanchors through the graft material ([0059]).
Regarding claim 5, Rothstein/Tang makes obvious the method of claim 1, Rothstein further discloses wherein the engineered landing zone (640) comprises at least one stent (frame of valve 642) and landing zone graft material coupled to the at least one stent (see Fig. 14), wherein radially expanding the engineered landing zone comprises radially expanding the at least one stent ([0069], Fig. 22).
Regarding claim 6, Rothstein/Tang makes obvious the method of claim 5, Rothstein further discloses wherein the at least one stent is self-expanding, and wherein the step of radially expanding the at least one stent comprises releasing the stent from a constraint to allow the at least one stent to self-expand ([0069]).
Regarding claim 9, Rothstein/Tang makes obvious the method of claim 5, Rothstein further discloses wherein the frame is self-expanding, and wherein radially expanding the frame comprises releasing the frame from a constraint to allow the frame to self-expand ([0054]-[0055]; Figs. 21-22).
Regarding claim 25, Rothstein/Tang makes obvious the method of claim 1, wherein with the frame radially expanded the frame is substantially reverse funnel-shaped (the arms 620 has a funnel shape by conforming to the shape of the vessel and would therefore have a funnel shape), wherein with the engineered landing zone fully radially expanded the engineered landing zone is substantially cylindrical (the component 640 is substantially cylindrical by having a longer length and extending down the vessel wall, see Fig. 23), and wherein the radial gap is formed between the substantially cylindrical engineered landing zone and the reverse funnel-shaped frame (the radial gap is made by the body of stent 610 being between the loop of the arms 622, 624, 626 and the landing zone 640 when expanded, see Fig. 22, [0055]).
Claims 10, 12-17, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothstein (US2016/0235525) in view of Tang (US2014/0316513) and Tegels (US2019/0321178).
Regarding claim 10, Rothstein discloses a method (Abstract) comprising:
delivering a landing zone prosthesis (600) in a radially compressed configuration ([0061]) to a site within a vessel ([0061]), the landing zone prosthesis including a frame (arm component 620 having arms 622, 624, 626, [0055]), an engineered landing zone (640), and graft material (608) coupled at a first end to the frame and at a second end to the engineered landing zone (see Fig. 14, [0059]), wherein the graft material includes a non-stented portion (608 is non-stented, [0056]) between the frame and the engineered landing zone (see Fig. 1), and wherein the engineered landing zone comprises at least one stent (frame of valve 642);
radially expanding the frame (610) at the site (see Fig. 19), wherein with the frame radially expanded, the engineered landing zone (640) remains in a radially compressed configuration and spaced from the frame (Fig. 19);
securing the frame to the vessel ([0068]);
longitudinally translating the engineered landing zone (640) such that the engineered landing zone is at least partially disposed within the frame (see Fig. 21);
radially expanding the engineered landing zone (when the landing zone 640 is partially expanded) at least partially within the frame (the component 640 is partially expanded within the frame 620 before being fully expanded as shown in Fig. 22), wherein upon full radial expansion of the engineered landing zone a radial gap is formed between the engineered landing zone and the frame along at least a portion of the engineering landing zone disposed within the frame (the radial gap is made by the body of stent 610 being between the loop of the arms 622, 624, 626 and the landing zone 640 when expanded, see Fig. 22, [0055]).
Rothstein is silent regarding the method being for bypassing an aneurysm, delivering the landing zone prosthesis to an aneurysm, delivering an endovascular prosthesis to the site such that a portion of the endovascular prosthesis is disposed within the engineered landing zone; and radially expanding the endovascular prosthesis such that the portion of the endovascular prosthesis disposed within the engineered landing zone engages the engineered landing zone.
Tang teaches that a transcatheter heart valve 200 and stent graft 300 assembly that is can be used for bypassing an aneurysm ([0085]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have Rothstein be used for bypassing an aneurysm and deliver Rothstein’s landing zone to the aneurysm in order to effectively treat an aneurysm as taught by Tang ([0085]).
Tang further teaches delivering an endovascular prosthesis (400) to the site such that a portion of the endovascular prosthesis is disposed within the stent graft assembly (see Fig. 3), and radially expanding the endovascular prosthesis (400) such that the portion of the endovascular prosthesis disposed within the stent graft assembly engages the stent graft assembly. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have delivered an endovascular prosthesis to the site such that a portion of the endovascular prosthesis is disposed within the engineered landing zone; and radially expanding the endovascular prosthesis such that the portion of the endovascular prosthesis disposed within the engineered landing zone engages the engineered landing zone as taught by Tang. Doing so would facilitate anchoring of the device from the aortic root to the hemiarch (see [0034], [0043]).
Rothstein does not disclose the engineered landing zone comprises a landing zone graft material coupled to the at least one stent, wherein the landing zone graft material extends from a first longitudinal edge to a second longitudinal edge of the engineered landing zone. Tegels in the same field of endeavor, teaches deployment of a prosthetic mitral valve 100 that includes an inner frame 150 and an outer frame 120 ([0030]). Where the inner frame 150 is moved from a position proximal to the outer frame 120 to a position where the inner frame 150 is nested within the outer frame 120 ([0034]). Tegels according to another embodiment further teaches the outer frame 210 can be fully covered by an inner covering 232 and outer covering 230; and an inner valve assembly 240 having an outer covering of porcine pericardium, a graft material ([0052]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the stent frame with a covering of a graft material (engineered landing zone) of Tegels for the stent frame of Rothstein, since the substitution would have yielded the same predictable result of providing a valve to be implanted in a native heart valve, while also providing the added benefit of providing a valve with a graft covering for better sealing of the valve ([0052]).
The modified invention does not explicitly disclose the landing zone graft material extends from a first longitudinal edge to a second longitudinal edge of the engineered landing zone. Tegels according to another embodiment teaches the outer frame 210 can be fully covered by an inner covering 232 and outer covering 230. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the entire engineered landing zone covered from a first longitudinal edge to a second longitudinal edge of Rothstein/Tegels in order to assist in sealing to prevent paravalvular leakage ([0047]).
Regarding claim 12, Rothstein/Tang/Tegels makes obvious the method of claim 10, Rothstein further discloses wherein securing the frame to the vessel comprises:
delivering endoanchors to within the frame (barbs on the outer surface of 642, [0059]; where the barbs are delivered simultaneously with the frame 642 of 640 into the frame 620); and
deploying the endoanchors through the frame and into the vessel to secure the frame to the vessel ([0059]).
Regarding claim 13, Rothstein/Tang/Tegels makes obvious the method of claim 12, Rothstein further discloses wherein the graft material (608) lines at least a portion of the frame (see Fig. 23), wherein deploying the endoanchors further comprises deploying the endoanchors through the graft material ([0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Rothstein/Tang/Tegels makes obvious the method of claim 10, Rothstein further discloses wherein radially expanding the engineered landing zone comprises radially expanding the at least one stent ([0069]).
Regarding claim 15, Rothstein/Tang/Tegels makes obvious the method of claim 14, Rothstein further discloses wherein the at least one stent is self-expanding, and wherein the step of radially expanding the at least one stent comprises releasing the stent from a constraint to allow the at least one stent to self-expand ([0061], [0069], Fig. 22).
Regarding claim 16, Rothstein/Tang/Tegels makes obvious the method of claim 14, Rothstein further discloses wherein the frame is self-expanding, wherein radially expanding the frame comprises releasing the frame from a constraint to allow the frame to self-expand ([0054]-[0055], Fig. 21-22).
Regarding claim 17, Rothstein/Tang/Tegels makes obvious the method of claim 10; yet, is silent regarding wherein the engineered landing zone further includes a mobile external coupling, wherein radially expanding the engineered landing zone comprises radially expanding the mobile external coupling, further comprising:
delivering a branch stent graft to the site such that a portion of the branch stent graft is disposed within the mobile external coupling and a portion of the branch stent graft is disposed within a branch vessel branching from the main vessel; and radially expanding the branch stent graft such that the portion of the branch stent graft disposed within the mobile external coupling engages the mobile external coupling. Tang teaches a stent valve 200 (engineered landing zone) having orifices 202 (mobile external coupling) in the engineered landing zone (stent valve 200). Where the orifices are radially expanded with the stent valve 200 expansion. The orifices allow stent grafts 700 (branch stent graft) to be delivered within the orifice and deployed into the coronary ostia ([0060]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have included a mobile external coupling that is radially expanded, and delivering a branch stent graft within the mobile external coupling, and radially expanding the branch stent graft within the mobile external coupling as taught by Tang in order to provide ongoing blood flow to the native coronary arteries ([0060]).
Regarding claim 26, Rothstein/Tang/Tegels makes obvious the method of claim 10, wherein with the frame radially expanded the frame is substantially reverse funnel-shaped (the frame 620 has a funnel shape by conforming to the shape of the vessel and would therefore have a funnel shape), wherein with the engineered landing zone fully radially expanded the engineered landing zone is substantially cylindrical (the component 640 as substituted with the frame with a covering of Tegels is substantially cylindrical by having a longer length and extending down the vessel wall, see Fig. 23), and wherein the radial gap is formed between the substantially cylindrical engineered landing zone and the reverse funnel-shaped frame (the radial gap is made by the body of stent 610 being between the loop of the arms 622, 624, 626 and the landing zone 640 when expanded, see Fig. 22, [0055).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothstein (US2016/0235525) in view of Tang (US2014/0316513) as applied to claim 1; and further in view of Shank (US2005/0110214).
Regarding claim 2, Rothstein/Tang makes obvious the method of claim 1; yet, is silent regarding wherein securing the frame to the vessel comprises adhesively securing the frame and/or the graft material attached to the frame to the vessel. Shank teaches a composite stent structure that includes adhesives to attach to the vessel wall ([0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the frame to include adhesives to attach to the vessel wall as taught by Shank in order to provide additional anti-migration features for the frame when implanted ([0043]).
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothstein (US2016/0235525) in view of Tang (US2014/0316513) and Tegels (US2019/0321178) as applied to claim 10; and further in view of Shank (US2005/0110214).
Regarding claim 11, Rothstein/Tang/Tegels makes obvious the method of claim 10; yet, is silent regarding wherein securing the frame to the vessel comprises adhesively securing the frame and/or the graft material attached to the frame to the vessel. Shank teaches a composite stent structure that includes adhesives to attach to the vessel wall ([0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the frame to include adhesives to attach to the vessel wall as taught by Shank in order to provide additional anti-migration features for the frame when implanted ([0043]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothstein (US2016/0235525) in view of Tang (US2014/0316513) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Manash (US2020/0000579).
Regarding claim 7, Rothstein/Tang makes obvious the method of claim 5; yet, is silent regarding wherein the landing zone graft material is different than the graft material. Manash teaches two sections of graft material or skirts that may comprise different materials ([0169]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the landing zone graft material and graft material of Rothstein to be different graft materials as taught by Manash in order to impart different characteristics to the device as needed for particular requirements of the intended application ([0169]).
Regarding claim 8, Rothstein/Tang makes obvious the method of claim 5; yet, is silent regarding wherein the landing zone graft material is an extension of the graft material. Manash teaches two sections of graft material or skirts, where one section is an extension of the other ([0169]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the graft materials of Rothstein such that the landing zone graft material is an extension of the graft material as taught by Manash in order to impart different characteristics to the device as needed for particular requirements of the intended application ([0169]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothstein (US2016/0235525) in view of Tang (US2014/0316513) and Tegels (US2019/0321178) as applied to claim 17, and further in view of Reijnen (US2020/0383770).
Regarding claim 19, Rothstein/Tang/Tegels makes obvious the method of claim 17; yet, is silent regarding wherein the branch stent graft is balloon expandable, and wherein radially expanding the branch stent graft comprises expanding a balloon disposed within the branch stent graft. Reijnen teaches a stent graft that may be balloon expandable or self-expandable ([0025]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have substituted the balloon expandable method of expansion as taught by King for the self-expanding stent expansion method, since it would have yielded the same result of expanding a stent graft that is deployed within a branch vessel and also providing an added benefit of a stent graft having a higher radial force ([0025]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothstein (US2016/0235525) in view of Tegels (US2019/0321178). as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Manash (US2020/0000579).
Regarding claim 24, Rothstein discloses the landing zone prosthesis of claim 20; yet, is silent regarding wherein the landing zone graft material is different than the graft material. Manash teaches two sections of graft material or skirts that may comprise different materials ([0169]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the landing zone graft material and graft material of Rothstein/Tegels to be different graft materials as taught by Manash in order to impart different characteristics to the device as needed for particular requirements of the intended application ([0169]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
No prior art of record teaches wherein the graft material includes an opening disposed therethrough, wherein the step of longitudinally translating the engineered landing zone frame comprises aligning the mobile external coupling with the opening, and wherein delivering the branch stent graft to the site comprises delivering the branch stent graft through the mobile external coupling and the opening.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIKAIL A MANNAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774