DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species A in the reply filed on 11/22/2024 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “weight the scalp cover” in line 8 wherein “weight” should be revised to read “weigh” as it seems to be a misspelling.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gleeson (US 6808175 B1).
Re. Claim 1, Gleeson discloses a device (Fig. 1-2) is capable of being a scalp protector (It is found that the cord 6 can be used to protect the part line where it can be weighed down by weights 4) comprising:
a flexible, elongate scalp cover (6; Col. 2, lines 11-15) defining a first end and a second end opposite the first end (ends can be denoted by element 10 and is found to be opposing one another in Fig. 1-2), the scalp cover configured to cover and protect at least a portion of a part line of a user (It is found that the cord 6 can be used to protect at least a portion of a part line where it can be weighed down by weights 4; It should be noted that the claimed limitation is functional language); and
a retaining device (4) coupled to the scalp cover (Fig. 1-2), the retaining device comprising a first weight (Annotated Figure A of Fig. 1) coupled to the first end of the scalp cover (Annotated Figure A of Fig. 1) and a second weight (Annotated Figure A of Fig. 1) coupled to the second end of the scalp cover (Annotated Figure A of Fig. 1), the first weight and second weight configured to weigh the scalp cover down against the part line (Annotated Figure A of Fig. 1 where it is found that the footballs have greater weight than the tether and as such is fully capable to weigh the scalp cover down against the part line; It should be noted that the claimed limitation is functional language).
Annotated Figure A
Re. Claim 2, Gleeson discloses the scalp protector of claim 1, wherein the scalp cover comprises a cord (Fig. 2 shows that the cover is a cord) configured to contour to a head of the user (It should be noted that the claimed limitation is functional language; It is fully capable of being configured to contour to a head of the user).
Re. Claim 3, Gleeson discloses the scalp protector of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first weight and the second weight comprises a decorative design (Fig. 1 where they are footballs which can be considered a decorative design).
Re. Claim 4, Gleeson discloses the scalp protector of claim 2, wherein the first weight and the second weight are substantially equivalent in size and shape (Fig. 1-2).
Re. Claim 5, Gleeson discloses the scalp protector of claim 1, wherein the scalp cover is at least one of washable and wipeable to remove residue therefrom (It should be noted that the claimed limitation is functional language; It is fully capable of being washable and wipeable).
Re. Claim 6, Gleeson discloses the scalp protector of claim 1, wherein: the scalp protector is configurable in a first configuration and a second configuration; in the first configuration, the scalp cover covers and protects a first part section of the part line; and in the second configuration, the scalp cover covers and protects a second part section of the part line (It should be noted that the claimed limitation is functional language and that the scalp protector can be configurable to a first and second configurations depending on where the user would like to part the hair).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clyburn (US 5383480 A) in view of Lujan-Puckett (US 9022043 B1).
Re. Claim 1, Clyburn discloses a device that is fully capable of being a scalp protector (Fig. 10) comprising:
A flexible, elongate scalp cover (Fig. 10; 106; Col. 5, lines 52-58 where it is disclosed that it is a hollow, flexible tube), defining a first end (58”) and a second end (60”) opposite to the first end (Fig. 10), the scalp cover configured to cover and protect at least a portion of part line of a user (Col. 5, lines 49-52 discloses that the device is intended to form waves using elements 102, 104, and 106. By forming the waves, it is also sectioning hairs, creating part lines between sections. As such, it would be fully capable to cover and protect at least a portion of part line of a user); and
A retaining device (56” and 58”) coupled to the scalp cover (Fig. 10), the retaining device comprising a first weight (56” where the Velcro would have a weight) coupled to the first end of the scalp cover (Fig. 10) and a second weight (58” where the Velcro would have a weight) coupled to the second end of the scalp cover (Fig. 10).
However, Clyburn is silent to the first weight and second weight configured to weigh the scalp cover down against the part line.
Lujan discloses a hair holder in the analogous art of hair devices and further discloses varying attachment means which include a hook and loop fastener (i.e. Velcro), a button and magnet connection (Col. 10, lines 47-62).
Lujan-Puckett discloses a retaining device which is disclosed to attach to one another and strap around the user’s chin (Col. 5, lines 38-58). Lujan discloses varying attachment means known to the art including the usage of magnets.
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art to substitute the Velcro of Clyburn to be magnets as taught by Clyburn provide a different attachment means to the device.
Because magnets are made of metal, they would weigh more than the rest of the headband itself and as such would “weigh” the headband down onto you head as the magnets would be found strapped to the chin. Thus, the combination of Clyburn and Lujan-Puckett provides teaching of the first weight and second weight configured to weigh the scalp cover down against the part line.
Re. Claim 5, Clyburn and Lujan-Puckett discloses the scalp protector of claim 1 and Clyburn further discloses the scalp cover is at least one of washable and wipeable to remove residue thereform (It should be noted that the claimed limitation is functional language; It is fully capable of being washable and wipeable).
Re. Claim 6¸ Clyburn and Lujan-Puckett discloses the scalp protector of claim 1 and Clyburn further discloses the scalp protector is configurable in a first configuration and a second configuration; in the first configuration, the scalp cover covers and protects a first part section of the part line; and in the second configuration, the scalp cover covers and protects a second part section of the part line (It should be noted that the claimed limitation is functional language and that the scalp protector can be configurable to a first and second configurations depending on where the user would like to part the hair).
Re. Claim 7, Clyburn and Lujan-Puckett discloses the of claim 1 and Clyburn further discloses comprising an annular shielding headband (98 where when the two weights are attached to one another, would make the shielding headband annular) configured to wrap around a circumference of a head of the user and to cover and protect at least a portion of a forehead of the user (Col. 5, lines 49-52 discloses that it would be strapped around the chin and as such would wrap around a circumference of a head of the user. Further the band is fully capable of covering and protecting at least a portion of a forehead of the user by positioning the device closer to the forehead where the headband cover’s a portion of the forehead; It should be noted that the limitation is functional language).
Re. Claim 8, Clyburn and Lujan-Puckett discloses the scalp protector of claim 7, wherein Clyburn further discloses the annular shielding headband comprises a stretchable material and is configured to accommodate heads of varying sizes (Col. 5, lines 49-52 discloses that it is a strap which would wrap around the patient’s head and as such would be made of a stretchable material. Further, it is fully capable of accommodating heads of varying sizes).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See Form PTO-892.
/HOLLY T. TO/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772