DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s reply dated 12/26/25. Claims 1-30 have been examined.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
As per Applicant’s amendment, the objection of Claim 3 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-11, 17-20, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Cui (US 2019/0239106) in view of Hu et al. (WO 2020/248261; hereafter Hu).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended),
A first network entity for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a second network entity, control signaling including an indication for the first network entity to switch from a first active bandwidth part associated with a first neighbor cell measurement type to a second active bandwidth part, wherein the first neighbor cell measurement type is associated with a first reference synchronization signal block within the first active bandwidth part [Cui: Fig. 0017; the serving access node 108 may provide configuration information in one or more configuration messages 112; the configuration information may configure measurements for the UE 104 to perform; 0018; the UE 104 may perform measurements on signals transmitted by the serving access node 108 or a neighbor access node 116; in some embodiments, the neighbor access node 116 may transmit synchronization signals 120 that the UE 104 may measure to identify a cell provided by the neighbor access node 116; in some embodiments, the serving access node 108 may transmit synchronization/reference signals 122 that the UE 104 may measure to provide the serving access node 108 with information on a quality of a connection with the serving cell; 0019; the UE 104 may transmit measurement reports 124 with the results of the measurements to the serving access node 108; 0020; the measurements performed by the UE 104 may be based on SSBs transmitted by the serving access node 108 or the neighbor access node 116; there may be five different activities that may be considered: RLM; measurement type A; measurement type B; measurement type C; and measurement type D; 0029; the UE 104 may perform a type-C measurement in the event it is configured to communicate with the serving access node 108 in an active bandwidth part (BWP) of a frequency range and perform a measurement, of the synchronization signals 120, for example, in the frequency range but outside of the active BWP; 0047; the network configuration may change the active BWP 204 to a second set of PRBs over a second period of time, generally referred to as T1; 0048; during the second period of time, the UE 104 may receive an SSB 208 from a target cell provided by, for example, the neighbor access node 116; the UE 104 may then perform an inter-frequency measurement on the SSB 208; 0051; thus, for the situation shown in diagram 200, an intra-frequency measurement of SSB 208 may be considered a type-C measurement (for example, an intra-frequency measurement with measurement gap) because the active BWP 204 is switched to not cover frequencies on which the SSB 208 is transmitted; 0052; measurements of type A or B may be treated in the same way as RLM, since BWP in type A or B will always cover the SSB frequency of the intra-frequency target cell during the entire measurement period; thus, if the active BWP 204 covers an SSB, the UE 104 may perform the intra-frequency SSB-based measurement without a measurement gap and without an interruption (for example, the UE 104 may perform a type-A measurement) or with interruption (for example, the UE 104 may perform a type-B measurement)];
generate first measurement information corresponding to a first quantity of synchronization signal blocks associated with a first quantity of neighbor cells in accordance with a second neighbor cell measurement type [Cui: 0047; the network configuration may change the active BWP 204 to a second set of PRBs over a second period of time, generally referred to as T1; 0048; during the second period of time, the UE 104 may receive an SSB 208 from a target cell provided by, for example, the neighbor access node 116; the UE 104 may then perform an inter-frequency measurement on the SSB 208; 0051; thus, for the situation shown in diagram 200, an intra-frequency measurement of SSB 208 may be considered a type-C measurement (for example, an intra-frequency measurement with measurement gap) because the active BWP 204 is switched to not cover frequencies on which the SSB 208 is transmitted],
wherein the second neighbor cell measurement type is based on … the second active bandwidth part, wherein the second neighbor cell measurement type is associated with a second reference synchronization signal block … [Cui: 0018; the UE 104 may perform measurements on signals transmitted by the serving access node 108 or a neighbor access node 116; in some embodiments, the neighbor access node 116 may transmit synchronization signals 120 that the UE 104 may measure to identify a cell provided by the neighbor access node 116; in some embodiments, the serving access node 108 may transmit synchronization/reference signals 122 that the UE 104 may measure to provide the serving access node 108 with information on a quality of a connection with the serving cell; 0048; during the second period of time, the UE 104 may receive an SSB 208 from a target cell provided by, for example, the neighbor access node 116; the UE 104 may then perform an inter-frequency measurement on the SSB 208; 0051; thus, for the situation shown in diagram 200, an intra-frequency measurement of SSB 208 may be considered a type-C measurement (for example, an intra-frequency measurement with measurement gap) because the active BWP 204 is switched to not cover frequencies on which the SSB 208 is transmitted]; and
transmit, to the second network entity, the first measurement information [Cui: 0019; the UE 104 may transmit measurement reports 124 with the results of the measurements to the serving access node 108].
However, Cui does not teach that … the second neighbor cell measurement type is based on a switch from the first active bandwidth part to the second active bandwidth part, wherein the second neighbor cell measurement type is associated with a second reference synchronization signal block within the second active bandwidth part.
Hu teaches:
wherein the second neighbor cell measurement type is based on a switch from the first active bandwidth part to the second active bandwidth part, wherein the second neighbor cell measurement type is associated with a second reference synchronization signal block within the second active bandwidth part [Hu: p. 9-10; Figure 4-2 takes the same-frequency measurement as an example, and the first signal is SSB (the signal to be measured), and the measurement period (Measurement Period) is divided into the first time period T1 and the second time period by the BWP switching interrupt Section T2; in T1, BWP2 is active, and SSB is outside BWP2 in the frequency domain; therefore, intra-frequency measurement in T1 requires MG; in T2, BWP1 is in an active state, and SSB is located within BWP1 in the frequency domain; therefore, intra-frequency measurement in T2 does not require MG; p. 15; in the embodiment of this application, for inter-frequency measurement, if the SSB for the target cell is still in the active BWP of the serving cell, the inter-frequency measurement may not need to configure the MG, specifically, as shown in Figure 6; as shown in (a) and (b), inter-frequency measurement requires MG; as shown in (c) and (d) in Figure 6, inter-frequency measurement does not require MG].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui and Hu so that for per-UE or per-FR gaps, the frequency layer that needs to be measured in the gap (i.e. the number of frequency points) is reduced [Hu: p. 11].
Regarding Claim 8 (Currently Amended),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from the second network entity, second control signaling including an indication for the first network entity to perform a set of measurements for a first cell in accordance with the first neighbor cell measurement type [Cui: 0018; In some embodiments, the serving access node 108 may transmit synchronization/reference signals 122 that the UE 104 may measure to provide the serving access node 108 with information on a quality of a connection with the serving cell; 0047; the UE 104 may be initially configured by the network with an active BWP 204 that is in a first set of PRBs over a first period of time, generally referred to as T0; 0071; determining whether an active BWP covers an SSB. For example, a serving access node may switch an active BWP, during a measurement period, from a first set of PRBs to a second set of PRBs; the serving access node may then determine whether an SSB that is to be received/measured by the UE is on the first or second set of PRBs, before/after the switch];
generate, prior to reception of the control signaling, second measurement information corresponding to a subset of measurements of the set of measurements in accordance with the first neighbor cell measurement type [Cui: prior to the control signaling == prior to change of the active BWP via network configuration; 0018; in some embodiments, the serving access node 108 may transmit synchronization/reference signals 122 that the UE 104 may measure to provide the serving access node 108 with information on a quality of a connection with the serving cell; 0020; 0020; the measurements performed by the UE 104 may be based on SSBs transmitted by the serving access node 108 or the neighbor access node 116; there may be five different activities that may be considered: RLM; measurement type A; measurement type B; measurement type C; and measurement type D]; and
generate, after the reception of the control signaling, third measurement information corresponding to the set of measurements in accordance with the second neighbor cell measurement type [Cui: 0047; the network configuration may change the active BWP 204 to a second set of PRBs over a second period of time, generally referred to as T1; 0048; during the second period of time, the UE 104 may receive an SSB 208 from a target cell provided by, for example, the neighbor access node 116; the UE 104 may then perform an inter-frequency measurement on the SSB 208].
Regarding Claim 9 (Currently Amended),
wherein the first neighbor cell measurement type is associated with a first delay parameter greater than a second delay parameter associated with the second neighbor cell measurement type [Cui: first delay parameter greater == overlap of SMTC with MG leading to more delay & associated with type-C measurement on intra-frequency carrier; 0047; the UE 104 may be initially configured by the network with an active BWP 204 that is in a first set of PRBs over a first period of time, generally referred to as T.sub.0; the network configuration may change the active BWP 204 to a second set of PRBs over a second period of time, generally referred to as T.sub.1; both the first and second periods of time may be within the measurement period; 0057; the scenario 300 may include a relatively bad case for partially overlapping in which a periodicity of an SMTC (shown as 20 ms) is half the length of a MG repetition period (MGRP) (shown as 40 ms); in this case, one SMTC out of two cannot be used for RLM/type A/type B; consequently, if only the SMTC that is outside the MG can be used for RLM/typeA/typeB activities, then the total delay for RLM/typeA/typeB may be doubled; 0081; the MG may be partially overlapped with the RLM configuration and the access node may transmit the SSB outside of the measurement gap in its serving cell; he UE may measure the SSB and transmit an RLM measurement report based on the SSB; 0065; devices may utilize a configuration table to facilitate gap sharing for intra- and inter-frequency measurements; for example, Table 2 below provides a configuration table for a value of Y, which may represent a percentage value of overlapped SMTC occasions within a measurement gap assigned for type-C measurements on a first carrier, which may be an intra-frequency carrier; the remaining (1−Y) may be a percentage value of overlapped SMTC occasions within a measurement gap assigned for type-D measurements on a second carrier, which may be an inter-frequency carrier; 0066; For example, if Y=20, then 20% percent of SMTC occasions that are within an MG may be assigned for type-C measurements, while the remaining 80% of the SMTC occasions that are within the MG may be assigned for type-D measurements], and
wherein to generate the first measurement information, the at least one processor is configured to: generate the first measurement information in accordance with the first delay parameter [Cui: 0059; if the SMTC for RLM/type A/type B is fully overlapped with MG, there may be no possibility to do RLM/type A/type B outside MG; only if the SMTC for RLM/type A/type B is partially overlapped with MG, RLM/typeA/B can they be done outside MG; on the other hand RLM/type A/type B may be performed on the SSB within the active BWP, so no MG may be needed for RLM/type A/type B].
Regarding Claim 10 (Currently Amended),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from the second network entity, second control signaling including an indication for the first network entity to perform a set of measurements for a first cell in accordance with the first neighbor cell measurement type [Cui: 0018; In some embodiments, the serving access node 108 may transmit synchronization/reference signals 122 that the UE 104 may measure to provide the serving access node 108 with information on a quality of a connection with the serving cell; 0047; the UE 104 may be initially configured by the network with an active BWP 204 that is in a first set of PRBs over a first period of time, generally referred to as T0; 0071; determining whether an active BWP covers an SSB. For example, a serving access node may switch an active BWP, during a measurement period, from a first set of PRBs to a second set of PRBs; the serving access node may then determine whether an SSB that is to be received/measured by the UE is on the first or second set of PRBs, before/after the switch];
generate, prior to reception of the control signaling, second measurement information corresponding to a subset of measurements of the set of measurements in accordance with the first neighbor cell measurement type [Cui: prior to the control signaling == prior to change of the active BWP via network configuration; 0018; in some embodiments, the serving access node 108 may transmit synchronization/reference signals 122 that the UE 104 may measure to provide the serving access node 108 with information on a quality of a connection with the serving cell; 0020; 0020; the measurements performed by the UE 104 may be based on SSBs transmitted by the serving access node 108 or the neighbor access node 116; there may be five different activities that may be considered: RLM; measurement type A; measurement type B; measurement type C; and measurement type D]; and
generate, after reception of the control signaling, third measurement information corresponding to a remainder of the set of measurements in accordance with the second neighbor cell measurement type [Cui: 0047; the network configuration may change the active BWP 204 to a second set of PRBs over a second period of time, generally referred to as T1; 0048; during the second period of time, the UE 104 may receive an SSB 208 from a target cell provided by, for example, the neighbor access node 116; the UE 104 may then perform an inter-frequency measurement on the SSB 208].
Regarding claims 11 and 17-19, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 1 and 8-10 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1 and 8-10 is applicable.
Regarding claims 20 and 27-29, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 1 and 8-10 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1 and 8-10 is applicable.
Regarding claim 30, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 1 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 1 is applicable.
Claim(s) 2-5, 12-14, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui-Hu in view of 3GPP TSG RAN NR, “Requirements for support of radio resource management” (Release 17), 3GPP TS 38.133, v17.6.0, June 2022 (hereafter TS38.133; included in IDS).
Regarding Claim 2 (Currently Amended),
Cui-Hu teaches that the UE 104 may receive an SSB 208 from a target cell provided by, for example, the neighbor access node 116 [Cui: 0048].
However, Cui-Hu does not teach the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks and the first quantity of neighbor cells are based on a center frequency of the second reference synchronization signal block and a frequency layer associated with the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks.
TS38.133 teaches:
wherein the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks and the first quantity of neighbor cells are based on a center frequency of the second reference synchronization signal block and a frequency layer associated with the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks [TS38.133: Sec. 9.2.3; number of cells and number of SSB; Sec. 9.2.3.1; requirements for FR1: for each intra-frequency layer, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP, SS-RSRQ, and SS-SINR measurements for at least: 8 identified cells, and 14 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI on the intra-frequency layer, where the number of SSBs in the serving cell (except for the SCell) is not smaller than the number of configured RLM-RS SSB resources; Sec. 9.2.3.2; requirements for FR2: for one single intra-frequency layer in a band, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP … for at least 6 identified cells, and 24 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI; Sec. 9.3.3; number of cells and number of SSB; Sec. 9.3.3.1; requirements for FR1: for each inter-frequency layer, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP … for at least: 4 identified cells, and 7 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI on the inter-frequency layer; Sec. 9.3.3.2; requirements for FR2: for each inter-frequency layer, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP … for at least: 4 identified cells, and 10 SSBs with different SSB index … on the inter-frequency layer, and 1 SSB per identified cell; Sec. 9.2.1; a measurement is defined as an SSB based intra-frequency measurement provided the center frequency of the SSB of the serving cell indicated for measurement and the center frequency of the neighbor cell are the same, and the subcarrier spaces of the two SSBs are also the same].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui-Hu-TS38.133 and CMCC in order to allow UE to select a suitable cell [TS38.133: Sec. 4.1].
Regarding Claim 3 (Currently Amended),
Cui-Hu teaches that the measurements performed by the UE 104 may be based on SSBs transmitted by the serving access node 108 or the neighbor access node 116. There may be five different activities that may be considered: RLM; measurement type A; measurement type B; measurement type C; and measurement type D [Cui: 0020].
However, Cui-Hu does not teach that a second quantity of neighbor cells associated with the first neighbor cell measurement type is greater than the first quantity of neighbor cells ….
TS38.133 teaches:
wherein a second quantity of neighbor cells associated with the first neighbor cell measurement type is greater than the first quantity of neighbor cells, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the first quantity of neighbor cells from the second quantity of neighbor cells based on second measurement information corresponding to of the second quantity of neighbor cells [TS38.133: Sec. 9.2.3; number of cells and number of SSB; Sec. 9.2.3.1; requirements for FR1: for each intra-frequency layer, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP, SS-RSRQ, and SS-SINR measurements for at least: 8 identified cells, and 14 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI on the intra-frequency layer, where the number of SSBs in the serving cell (except for the SCell) is not smaller than the number of configured RLM-RS SSB resources; Sec. 9.2.3.2; requirements for FR2: for one single intra-frequency layer in a band, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP … for at least 6 identified cells, and 24 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI; Sec. 9.3.3; number of cells and number of SSB; Sec. 9.3.3.1; requirements for FR1: for each inter-frequency layer, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP … for at least: 4 identified cells, and 7 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI on the inter-frequency layer; Sec. 9.3.3.2; requirements for FR2: for each inter-frequency layer, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP … for at least: 4 identified cells, and 10 SSBs with different SSB index … on the inter-frequency layer, and 1 SSB per identified cell].
Note:
Each intra-frequency layer is capable of performing SS-RSRP for 8 identified cells (i.e. first quantity of neighbor cells), where each inter frequency layer is capable of performing SS-RSRP for at 4 identified cells (i.e. second quantity of neighbor cells).
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui-Hu and TS38.133 in order to allow UE to select a suitable cell [TS38.133: Sec. 4.1].
Regarding Claim 4 (Currently Amended),
Cui-Hu teaches:
wherein the control signaling includes an indication of cells included in the first quantity of neighbor cells [Cui: 0047; the network configuration may change the active BWP 204 to a second set of PRBs over a second period of time, generally referred to as T1; 0048; during the second period of time, the UE 104 may receive an SSB 208 from a target cell provided by, for example, the neighbor access node 116; the UE 104 may then perform an inter-frequency measurement on the SSB 208].
However, Cui-Hu does not teach that a second quantity of neighbor cells associated with the first neighbor cell measurement type is greater than the first quantity of neighbor cells.
TS 38.133 teaches:
wherein a second quantity of neighbor cells associated with the first neighbor cell measurement type is greater than the first quantity of neighbor cells [TS38.133: Sec. 9.2.3; number of cells and number of SSB; Sec. 9.2.3.1; requirements for FR1: for each intra-frequency layer, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP, SS-RSRQ, and SS-SINR measurements for at least: 8 identified cells, and 14 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI on the intra-frequency layer, where the number of SSBs in the serving cell (except for the SCell) is not smaller than the number of configured RLM-RS SSB resources; Sec. 9.2.3.2; requirements for FR2: for one single intra-frequency layer in a band, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP … for at least 6 identified cells, and 24 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI; Sec. 9.3.3; number of cells and number of SSB; Sec. 9.3.3.1; requirements for FR1: for each inter-frequency layer, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP … for at least: 4 identified cells, and 7 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI on the inter-frequency layer; Sec. 9.3.3.2; requirements for FR2: for each inter-frequency layer, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP … for at least: 4 identified cells, and 10 SSBs with different SSB index … on the inter-frequency layer, and 1 SSB per identified cell].
Note:
Each intra-frequency layer is capable of performing SS-RSRP for 8 identified cells (i.e. first quantity of neighbor cells), where each inter frequency layer is capable of performing SS-RSRP for at 4 identified cells (i.e. second quantity of neighbor cells).
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui-Hu and TS38.133 in order to allow UE to select a suitable cell [TS38.133: Sec. 4.1].
Regarding Claim 5 (Currently Amended),
In Cui-Hu, Cui teaches:
wherein … the second reference synchronization signal block is outside of the second active bandwidth part [Cui: 0029; The UE 104 may perform a type-C measurement in the event it is configured to communicate with the serving access node 108 in an active bandwidth part (BWP) of a frequency range and perform a measurement, of the synchronization signals 120, for example, in the frequency range but outside of the active BWP; 0028; a type-C measurement may be performed by the UE 104 in the event that it is configured to measure synchronization signals 120 transmitted by the neighbor access node 116 in the same frequency range that is used for communicating with the serving access node 108],
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks independently of a quantity of configured radio link management reference signal synchronization signal blocks [Cui: 0047; the network configuration may change the active BWP 204 to a second set of PRBs over a second period of time, generally referred to as T1; 0048; during the second period of time, the UE 104 may receive an SSB 208 from a target cell provided by, for example, the neighbor access node 116; the UE 104 may then perform an inter-frequency measurement on the SSB 208].
However, Cui-Hu does not teach that a center frequency of the second reference synchronization signal block … the synchronization signal blocks of the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks have the center frequency.
TS38.133 teaches:
wherein a center frequency of the second reference synchronization signal block … wherein the synchronization signal blocks of the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks have the center frequency [TS38.133: Sec. 9.2.1; a measurement is defined as an SSB based intra-frequency measurement provided the center frequency of the SSB of the serving cell indicated for measurement and the center frequency of the neighbor cell are the same, and the subcarrier spaces of the two SSBs are also the same].
Note:
The second reference synchronization signal block is associated with the first quantity of synchronization blocks. See Claim 1 above.
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui-Hu and TS38.133 in order to allow UE to select a suitable cell [TS38.133: Sec. 4.1].
Regarding claims 12-14, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 2-5 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 2-5 is applicable.
Regarding claims 21-24, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 2-5 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 2-5 is applicable.
Claims 6-7, 15-16, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui-Hu in view of TS38.133 and further in view of Zhou (US 2025/0071680).
Regarding Claim 6 (Currently Amended),
In Cui-Hu, Cui teaches:
wherein the first neighbor cell measurement type is associated with a second quantity of synchronization signal blocks and a second quantity of neighbor cells [Cui: 0018; In some embodiments, the serving access node 108 may transmit synchronization/reference signals 122 that the UE 104 may measure to provide the serving access node 108 with information on a quality of a connection with the serving cell; 0047; the UE 104 may be initially configured by the network with an active BWP 204 that is in a first set of PRBs over a first period of time, generally referred to as T0; 0071; determining whether an active BWP covers an SSB. For example, a serving access node may switch an active BWP, during a measurement period, from a first set of PRBs to a second set of PRBs; the serving access node may then determine whether an SSB that is to be received/measured by the UE is on the first or second set of PRBs, before/after the switch],
wherein the second neighbor cell measurement type is associated with the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks and the first quantity of neighbor cells [Cui: 0047; the network configuration may change the active BWP 204 to a second set of PRBs over a second period of time, generally referred to as T1; 0048; during the second period of time, the UE 104 may receive an SSB 208 from a target cell provided by, for example, the neighbor access node 116; the UE 104 may then perform an inter-frequency measurement on the SSB 208], and
However, Cui-Hu does not teach “… second measurement information corresponding to a lesser of the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks or the second quantity of synchronization signal blocks.”
TS38.133 teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: generate, during a period between reception of the control signaling and generation of first measurement information, second measurement information corresponding to … the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks or the second quantity of synchronization signal blocks [TS38.133: Sec. 9.2.3; number of cells and number of SSB; Sec. 9.2.3.1; requirements for FR1: for each intra-frequency layer, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP, SS-RSRQ, and SS-SINR measurements for at least: 8 identified cells, and 14 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI on the intra-frequency layer, where the number of SSBs in the serving cell (except for the SCell) is not smaller than the number of configured RLM-RS SSB resources; Sec. 9.2.3.2; requirements for FR2: for one single intra-frequency layer in a band, during each layer 1 measurement period, the UE shall be capable of performing SS-RSRP … for at least 6 identified cells, and 24 SSBs with different SSB index and/or PCI].
Note:
The different intra-frequency measurement scenarios are associated with different number of SSBs.
However, TS38.133 does not teach second measurement information corresponding to a lesser of the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks or the second quantity of synchronization signal blocks
Zhou teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: generate, during a period between reception of the control signaling and generation of first measurement information, second measurement information corresponding to a lesser of the first quantity of synchronization signal blocks or the second quantity of synchronization signal blocks [Zhou: Fig. 38; 0406; in an example, the new (DL/UL) BWP for the energy saving state of the cell may comprise less number and/or longer periodicity of SSBs/CSI-RSs/TRSs (or no SSBs/CSI-RSs/TRSs), less PDCCH resources (or no PDCCH resources), no PDSCH resources, less or no PUCCH resources, no PUSCH resources, less or no PRACH resources, etc., compared with an active DL/UL BWP (e.g., DL BWP 0 and UL BWP 0) in the non-energy-saving state; 0404; the wireless device may receive the 2.sup.nd DCI via the active DL BWP (e.g., DL BWP 0, or an active DL BWP on which the wireless device is monitoring the PDCCH); in response to receiving the 2.sup.nd DCI, the wireless device may switch the active (DL/UL) BWP to a new DL BWP (e.g., DL BWP 1) and a new UL BWP (e.g., UL BWP 1) as the active (DL/UL) BWP of the cell in the energy saving state of the cell].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui-Hu-TS38.133 and Zhou in order to allow UE to select a suitable cell [TS38.133: Sec. 4.1] and to reduce not only the wireless device's power consumption but also the base station's power consumption [Zhou: 0406].
Regarding Claim 7 (Currently Amended),
wherein the control signaling includes an indication of the period [Cui: 0017; The serving access node 108 may provide configuration information in one or more configuration messages 112; the configuration information may configure measurements for the UE 104 to perform; in some embodiments, the configuration information may provide information related to measurement gaps, synchronization-signal block (SSB)-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC), or a radio link monitoring (RLM) configuration].
Regarding claims 15-16, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 6-7 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 6-7 is applicable.
Regarding claims 25-26, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 6-7 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 6-7 is applicable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding claim 1 on pages 13-14 of the Remarks section that Cui’s discussion of changing to measurement type C when a single target SSB is outside of the active BWP does not disclose a “second neighbor cell measurement type based on a switch from the first active bandwidth part to the second active bandwidth part,” where “the second neighbor cell measurement type is associated with a second reference synchronization signal block within the second active bandwidth part.”
Examiner’s Response:
Please see the rejection above where Hu in Cui-Hu has been cited to teach this limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468