The amendment filed 7/14/2025 has been entered.
Claims 2-30 are pending.
Claim 1 is cancelled.
Claim 2-30 stand rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following: Claim 4 depends from cancelled Claim 1. The examiner will treat Claim 4 as depending from Claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 10, 16-19 and 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230171828 A1) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20150071263 A1) and He et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220022057 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Wang, Yang 1, and He.
In regard to Claim 2, Wang teaches A communications method, the method comprising: receiving, at a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 143, FIG. 4) Time Division Duplexing (TDD) (the transmission and reception paths of gNB 102 support aggregated communication with TDD cells, Para. 65, FIG. 1) information (S510, the UE receives configuration information from a base station, Para. 73, FIG. 5) from a master node (MN) (base station B. Connection 2 is a PLMN, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Wang teaches receiving, at the UE (the UE, Para. 143, FIG. 4), TDD (the transmission and reception paths of gNB 102 support aggregated communication with TDD cells, Para. 65, FIG. 1) information (S510, the UE receives configuration information from a base station, Para. 73, FIG. 5) from a secondary node (SN) (base station A. A base station of a NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Wang teaches sending UE slot preference information to the SN communicating SN slots preferred by the first UE, said UE slot preference information indicating: i) UE preferred SN downlink (DL) slots, ii) UE preferred SN uplink (UL) slots or iii) both UE preferred SN DL slots and UE preferred SN UL slots (if the UE establishes multiple connections, the UE may report desired uplink and downlink configuration information to the base station of the connection A, Para. 143, FIG. 4. Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186).
Wang teaches said UE slot preference information being communicated to the SN via one or more UE Assistance Information (assisting in the scheduling decision of the base station in this way. The assist information may be carried by UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140) Dual Connectivity (DC) (A UE may also establish connections with two base stations by way of dual-connectivity, Para. 69) Information Elements (IEs) (The assist information may be carried by UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140) including: i) a preferred DL slots (desired uplink and downlink configuration information, Para. 143, FIG. 4. Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186) information element (IE) (UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140); or ii) a preferred UL slots IE.
Wang teaches operating the UE to communicate with the SN (base station A. The base station of the NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4) using slots allocated to the UE by the SN (assist the base station of the NPN in scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions, thereby reducing loss of one of the connections, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Wang fails to explicitly teach slot preference information communicating slots preferred by the UE, and a preferred DL slots information element.
Yang 1 teaches sending UE slot preference information to the SN communicating SN slots preferred by the UE (In block 602, the UE transmits synchronization shift (SS) bits. In block 604, the UE indicates, via the synchronization shift bits, at least one preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6).
Yang 1 teaches a preferred DL slots (at least one preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) information element (In block 604, the UE indicates, via the synchronization shift bits, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang 1 with the teachings of Wang since Yang 1 provides a technique for a UE to indicate preferred time slots through a report to a base station, which can be introduced into the system of Wang to permit a UE to clearly indicate preferred time slots in a link configuration for its report to a base station for scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions.
Although providing an implicit teaching, Wang in view of Yang 1 fails to explicitly teach one or more UE Assistance Information Dual Connectivity (DC) Information Elements (IEs) including: i) a preferred downlink DL slots information element (IE).
He teaches UE slot preference information being communicated to the SN via one or more UE Assistance Information (UE 402 may transmit a UE assistance information message 410 that includes its preferred values, Para. 98, FIG. 4) Dual Connectivity (DC) (Base stations 102 may perform mobility control functions (e.g. dual connectivity), Para. 70, FIG. 1) Information Elements (IEs) (Existing information elements (IEs) in UE assistance information, Para. 108, FIG. 5) including: i) a preferred downlink DL slots (a parameter 518 for indicating a preferred half-duplex slot format. For example, the UE may use the parameter 518 to request a change of a downlink/uplink ratio, Para. 109, FIGS. 4-5) information element (IE) (Existing information elements (IEs) in UE assistance information, Para. 108, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Wang in view of Yang 1 since He provides a technique for UE assistance information messaging that includes information elements in a system that can perform dual connectivity, which can be introduced into the system of Wang in view of Yang 1 to permit UE to communicate preferences of desired uplink and downlink configuration information through UE assistance information messages containing information elements to benefit from communications involving dual connectivity.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 2, Wang in view of Yang 1 teaches the first UE.
Wang in view of Yang 1 fails to teach the UE slot preference information includes a preferred DL slots IE that includes multiple bits, different bits corresponding to different transmission slots, where value of 1 in bit-position j indicates that slot j is preferred by the UE, and the value of 0 indicates that slot j is dispreferred by the UE.
He teaches the UE slot preference information includes a preferred DL slots IE that includes multiple bits, different bits corresponding to different transmission slots, where value of 1 in bit-position j indicates that slot j is preferred by the UE, and the value of 0 indicates that slot j is dispreferred by the UE (a structure of an information element (IE) that the UE 602 may use to indicate parameters in a UE assistance information message. For example, the configuration information may indicate a number of bit fields of the IE and a parameter corresponding to each of the bit fields, Para. 115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Wang in view of Yang 1 since He provides a technique for UE assistance information messaging that includes information elements in a system that can perform dual connectivity, which can be introduced into the system of Wang in view of Yang 1 to permit UE to communicate preferences of desired uplink and downlink configuration information through UE assistance information messages containing information elements to benefit from communications involving dual connectivity.
In regard to Claim 10, Wang teaches A user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 143, FIG. 4), the UE comprising: a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM); a second SIM (for a dual-card dual-standby terminal customized by China Mobile, a priority of China Mobile's SIM card is higher than that of other operators' SIM cards, Para. 118. The UE establishes multiple connections with two base stations through two SIM cards, Para. 173); a first wireless interface; a second wireless interface (a plurality of RF transceivers 372a-372n, Para. 58, FIG. 3b); and a processor (controller/processor 378, Para. 58, FIG. 3b) configured to: operate the UE to receive Time Division Duplexing (TDD) (the transmission and reception paths of gNB 102 support aggregated communication with TDD cells, Para. 65, FIG. 1) information (S510, the UE receives configuration information from a base station, Para. 73, FIG. 5) from a master node (MN) (base station B. Connection 2 is a PLMN, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Wang teaches operate the UE to receive (the UE, Para. 143, FIG. 4) TDD (the transmission and reception paths of gNB 102 support aggregated communication with TDD cells, Para. 65, FIG. 1) information (S510, the UE receives configuration information from a base station, Para. 73, FIG. 5) from a secondary node (SN) (base station A. A base station of a NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Wang teaches operate the UE to send UE slot preference information to the SN communicating SN slots preferred by the UE, said UE slot preference information indicating: i) UE preferred SN downlink (DL) slots, ii) UE preferred SN uplink (UL) slots or iii) both UE preferred SN DL slots and UE preferred SN UL slots (if the UE establishes multiple connections, the UE may report desired uplink and downlink configuration information to the base station of the connection A, Para. 143, FIG. 4. Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186).
Wang teaches said UE slot preference information being communicated to the SN via one or more UE Assistance Information (assisting in the scheduling decision of the base station in this way. The assist information may be carried by UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140) Dual Connectivity (DC) (A UE may also establish connections with two base stations by way of dual-connectivity, Para. 69) Information Elements (IEs) (The assist information may be carried by UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140) including: i) a preferred DL slots (desired uplink and downlink configuration information, Para. 143, FIG. 4. Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186) information element (IE) (UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140); or ii) a preferred UL slots IE.
Wang teaches operate the UE to communicate with the SN (base station A. The base station of the NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4) using slots allocated to the UE by the (SN) (assist the base station of the NPN in scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions, thereby reducing loss of one of the connections, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Wang fails to explicitly teach slot preference information to SN communicating SN slots preferred by the UE, and a preferred DL slots information element.
Yang 1 teaches send UE slot preference information to the SN communicating SN slots preferred by the UE (In block 602, the UE transmits synchronization shift (SS) bits. In block 604, the UE indicates, via the synchronization shift bits, at least one preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6).
Yang 1 teaches a preferred DL slots (at least one preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) information element (In block 604, the UE indicates, via the synchronization shift bits, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Wang since Yang provides a technique for a UE to indicate preferred time slots through a report to a base station, which can be introduced into the system of Wang to permit a UE to clearly indicate preferred time slots in a link configuration for its report to a base station for scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions.
Although providing an implicit teaching, Wang in view of Yang 1 fails to explicitly teach one or more UE Assistance Information Dual Connectivity (DC) Information Elements (IEs) including: i) a preferred DL slots information element (IE).
He teaches UE slot preference information being communicated to the SN via one or more UE Assistance Information (UE 402 may transmit a UE assistance information message 410 that includes its preferred values, Para. 98, FIG. 4) Dual Connectivity (DC) (Base stations 102 may perform mobility control functions (e.g. dual connectivity), Para. 70, FIG. 1) Information Elements (IEs) (Existing information elements (IEs) in UE assistance information, Para. 108, FIG. 5) including: i) a preferred DL slots (a parameter 518 for indicating a preferred half-duplex slot format. For example, the UE may use the parameter 518 to request a change of a downlink/uplink ratio, Para. 109, FIGS. 4-5) information element (IE) (Existing information elements (IEs) in UE assistance information, Para. 108, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Wang in view of Yang 1 since He provides a technique for UE assistance information messaging that includes information elements in a system that can perform dual connectivity, which can be introduced into the system of Wang in view of Yang 1 to permit UE to communicate preferences of desired uplink and downlink configuration information through UE assistance information messages containing information elements to benefit from communications involving dual connectivity.
In regard to Claim 16, Wang teaches A method of operating a secondary node (SN) (base station A. A base station of a NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4), the method comprising: receiving, from a UE (the UE, Para. 143, FIG. 4), a UE assistance information message (The assist information may be carried by UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140. Each connected base station may make corresponding scheduling decisions according to assist information reported by the UE, Para. 186), said UE assistance information message including UE preferred slot information indicating: i) one or more uplink (UL) slots at the SN, which are preferred by the UE, ii) one or more downlink (DL) slots at the SN, which are preferred by the UE (The assist information includes: if the UE establishes multiple connections, the UE may report desired uplink and downlink configuration information to the base station of the connection A, Para. 140, 143, FIG. 4. Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186), or iii) one or more UL slots at the SN, which are preferred by the UE and one or more DL slots at the SN, which are preferred by the UE.
Wang teaches said UE preferred slot information being communicated to the SN via one or more UE Assistance Information (assisting in the scheduling decision of the base station in this way. The assist information may be carried by UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140) Dual Connectivity (DC) (A UE may also establish connections with two base stations by way of dual-connectivity, Para. 69) Information Elements (IEs) (The assist information may be carried by UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140) including: i) a preferred DL slots (desired uplink and downlink configuration information, Para. 143, FIG. 4. Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186) information element (IE) (UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140); or ii) a preferred UL slots IE.
Wang teaches identifying (report desired uplink and downlink configuration information, Para. 143, FIG. 4) UL and DL slots (Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186) at the SN (base station A. The base station of the NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4) which are available to be allocated for communications with the UE (assist the base station of the NPN in scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions, thereby reducing loss of one of the connections, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Wang teaches selecting, from the identified (report desired uplink and downlink configuration information, Para. 143, FIG. 4) UL and DL slots (Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186), based on the UE preferred slot information (report desired uplink and downlink configuration information, Para. 143, FIG. 4) UL and DL slots (Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186) to be used by the SN for communication with the UE (assist the base station of the NPN in scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions, thereby reducing loss of one of the connections, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Wang fails to explicitly teach a message including UE preferred slot information, and a preferred DL slots information element.
Yang 1 teaches message including UE preferred slot information (In block 602, the UE transmits synchronization shift (SS) bits. In block 604, the UE indicates, via the synchronization shift bits, at least one preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6).
Yang 1 teaches a preferred DL slots (at least one preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) information element (In block 604, the UE indicates, via the synchronization shift bits, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang 1 with the teachings of Wang since Yang 1 provides a technique for a UE to indicate preferred time slots through a report to a base station, which can be introduced into the system of Wang to permit a UE to clearly indicate preferred time slots in a link configuration for its report to a base station for scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions.
Although providing an implicit teaching, Wang in view of Yang 1 fails to explicitly teach one or more UE Assistance Information Dual Connectivity (DC) Information Elements (IEs) including: i) a preferred DL slots information element (IE).
He teaches one or more UE Assistance Information (UE 402 may transmit a UE assistance information message 410 that includes its preferred values, Para. 98, FIG. 4) Dual Connectivity (DC) (Base stations 102 may perform mobility control functions (e.g. dual connectivity), Para. 70, FIG. 1) Information Elements (IEs) (Existing information elements (IEs) in UE assistance information, Para. 108, FIG. 5) including: i) a preferred DL slots (a parameter 518 for indicating a preferred half-duplex slot format. For example, the UE may use the parameter 518 to request a change of a downlink/uplink ratio, Para. 109, FIGS. 4-5) information element (IE) (Existing information elements (IEs) in UE assistance information, Para. 108, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Wang in view of Yang 1 since He provides a technique for UE assistance information messaging that includes information elements in a system that can perform dual connectivity, which can be introduced into the system of Wang in view of Yang 1 to permit UE to communicate preferences of desired uplink and downlink configuration information through UE assistance information messages containing information elements to benefit from communications involving dual connectivity.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Wang in view of Yang 1 teaches the first UE.
Wang in view of Yang 1 fails to teach he UE slot preference information includes a preferred DL slots IE that includes multiple bits, different bits corresponding to different transmission slots, where value of 1 in bit-position j indicates that slot j is preferred by the UE, and the value of 0 indicates that slot j is dispreferred by the UE.
He teaches he UE slot preference information includes a preferred DL slots IE that includes multiple bits, different bits corresponding to different transmission slots, where value of 1 in bit-position j indicates that slot j is preferred by the UE, and the value of 0 indicates that slot j is dispreferred by the UE (a structure of an information element (IE) that the UE 602 may use to indicate parameters in a UE assistance information message. For example, the configuration information may indicate a number of bit fields of the IE and a parameter corresponding to each of the bit fields, Para. 115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Wang in view of Yang 1 since He provides a technique for UE assistance information messaging that includes information elements in a system that can perform dual connectivity, which can be introduced into the system of Wang in view of Yang 1 to permit UE to communicate preferences of desired uplink and downlink configuration information through UE assistance information messages containing information elements to benefit from communications involving dual connectivity.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Wang teaches slots.
Wang fails to teach selecting from the identified UL and DL slots includes selecting at least some of slots indicated by the UE preferred slot information to be preferred slots.
Yang 1 teaches selecting from the identified UL and DL slots includes selecting at least some of slots indicated by the UE preferred slot information to be preferred slots (In block 706, the NodeB receives an indication, via the first set of synchronization shift bits, of at least one first preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission from the first UE, Para. 51, FIGS. 1, 5, 7. In block 710, the NodeB schedules the first UE on the first preferred time slot(s) based on the first channel quality index, Para. 52, FIGS. 1, 5, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang 1 with the teachings of Wang since Yang 1 provides a technique for a UE to indicate preferred time slots through a report to a base station, which can be introduced into the system of Wang to permit a UE to clearly indicate preferred time slots in a link configuration for its report to a base station for scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Wang teaches slots.
Wang fails to teach implementing a Time Division Duplexing (TDD) timing structure for the UE, said TDD timing structure including UL and DL slots which were selected for communication with the UE.
Yang 1 teaches implementing a Time Division Duplexing (TDD) timing structure for the UE, said TDD timing structure including UL and DL slots which were selected for communication with the UE (TDD uses the same carrier frequency for both the uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) between a node B 108 and a UE 110, but divides uplink and downlink transmissions into different time slots, Para. 28. In block 706, the NodeB receives an indication, via the first set of synchronization shift bits, of at least one first preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission from the first UE, Para. 51, FIGS. 1, 5, 7. In block 710, the NodeB schedules the first UE on the first preferred time slot(s) based on the first channel quality index, Para. 52, FIGS. 1, 5, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang 1 with the teachings of Wang since Yang 1 provides a technique for a UE to indicate preferred time slots through a report to a base station, which can be introduced into the system of Wang to permit a UE to clearly indicate preferred time slots in a link configuration for its report to a base station for scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions.
In regard to Claim 25, Wang teaches A secondary node (SN) (base station A. A base station of a NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4), comprising: a processor (controller/processor 378, Para. 58, FIG. 3b) configured to: operate the SN to receive, from a UE (the UE, Para. 143, FIG. 4), a UE assistance information message (The assist information may be carried by UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140. Each connected base station may make corresponding scheduling decisions according to assist information reported by the UE, Para. 186), said UE assistance information message including UE preferred slot information indicating: i) one or more uplink (UL) slots at SN, which are preferred by the UE, ii) one or more downlink (DL) slots at the SN, which are preferred by the UE (The assist information includes: if the UE establishes multiple connections, the UE may report desired uplink and downlink configuration information to the base station of the connection A, Para. 140, 143, FIG. 4. Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186), or iii) one or more UL slots at the SN, which are preferred by the UE, and one or more DL slots at the SN, which are preferred by the UE.
Wang teaches said UE preferred slot information being communicated to the SN via one or more UE Assistance Information (assisting in the scheduling decision of the base station in this way. The assist information may be carried by UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140) Dual Connectivity (DC) (A UE may also establish connections with two base stations by way of dual-connectivity, Para. 69) Information Elements (IEs) (The assist information may be carried by UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140) including: i) a preferred DL slots (desired uplink and downlink configuration information, Para. 143, FIG. 4. Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186) information element (IE) (UE capability reporting signaling, Para. 140); or ii) a preferred UL slots IE.
Wang teaches identify (report desired uplink and downlink configuration information, Para. 143, FIG. 4) UL and DL slots (Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186) at the SN (base station A. The base station of the NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4) which are available to be allocated for communications with the UE (assist the base station of the NPN in scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions, thereby reducing loss of one of the connections, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Wang teaches select, from the identified (report desired uplink and downlink configuration information, Para. 143, FIG. 4) UL and DL slots (Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186), based on the UE preferred slot information (report desired uplink and downlink configuration information, Para. 143, FIG. 4) UL and DL slots (Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186) to be used by the SN for communication with the UE (assist the base station of the NPN in scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions, thereby reducing loss of one of the connections, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Wang fails to explicitly teach a message including UE preferred slot information, and a preferred DL slots information element.
Yang 1 teaches message including UE preferred slot information (In block 602, the UE transmits synchronization shift (SS) bits. In block 604, the UE indicates, via the synchronization shift bits, at least one preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6).
Yang 1 teaches a preferred DL slots (at least one preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6) information element (In block 604, the UE indicates, via the synchronization shift bits, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang 1 with the teachings of Wang since Yang 1 provides a technique for a UE to indicate preferred time slots through a report to a base station, which can be introduced into the system of Wang to permit a UE to clearly indicate preferred time slots in a link configuration for its report to a base station for scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions.
Although providing an implicit teaching, Wang in view of Yang 1 fails to explicitly teach one or more UE Assistance Information Dual Connectivity (DC) Information Elements (IEs) including: i) a preferred DL slots information element (IE).
He teaches one or more UE Assistance Information (UE 402 may transmit a UE assistance information message 410 that includes its preferred values, Para. 98, FIG. 4) Dual Connectivity (DC) (Base stations 102 may perform mobility control functions (e.g. dual connectivity), Para. 70, FIG. 1) Information Elements (IEs) (Existing information elements (IEs) in UE assistance information, Para. 108, FIG. 5) including: i) a preferred DL slots (a parameter 518 for indicating a preferred half-duplex slot format. For example, the UE may use the parameter 518 to request a change of a downlink/uplink ratio, Para. 109, FIGS. 4-5) information element (IE) (Existing information elements (IEs) in UE assistance information, Para. 108, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Wang in view of Yang 1 since He provides a technique for UE assistance information messaging that includes information elements in a system that can perform dual connectivity, which can be introduced into the system of Wang in view of Yang 1 to permit UE to communicate preferences of desired uplink and downlink configuration information through UE assistance information messages containing information elements to benefit from communications involving dual connectivity.
In regard to Claim 26, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Wang in view of Yang 1 teaches the first UE.
Wang in view of Yang 1 fails to teach the UE slot preference information includes a preferred DL slots IE that includes multiple bits, different bits corresponding to different transmission slots, where value of 1 in bit-position j indicates that slot j is preferred by the UE, and the value of 0 indicates that slot j is dispreferred by the UE.
He teaches the UE slot preference information includes a preferred DL slots IE that includes multiple bits, different bits corresponding to different transmission slots, where value of 1 in bit-position j indicates that slot j is preferred by the UE, and the value of 0 indicates that slot j is dispreferred by the UE (a structure of an information element (IE) that the UE 602 may use to indicate parameters in a UE assistance information message. For example, the configuration information may indicate a number of bit fields of the IE and a parameter corresponding to each of the bit fields, Para. 115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Wang in view of Yang 1 since He provides a technique for UE assistance information messaging that includes information elements in a system that can perform dual connectivity, which can be introduced into the system of Wang in view of Yang 1 to permit UE to communicate preferences of desired uplink and downlink configuration information through UE assistance information messages containing information elements to benefit from communications involving dual connectivity.
In regard to Claim 27, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Wang teaches slots.
Wang fails to teach said processor is configured to: select at least some of slots indicated by the UE preferred slot information to be preferred slots, as part of being configured to select from the identified UL and DL slots, based on the UE preferred slot information, UL and DL slots to be used for communications with the UE.
Yang 1 teaches said processor is configured to: select at least some of slots indicated by the UE preferred slot information to be preferred slots, as part of being configured to select from the identified UL and DL slots, based on the UE preferred slot information, UL and DL slots to be used for communications with the UE (In block 706, the NodeB receives an indication, via the first set of synchronization shift bits, of at least one first preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission from the first UE, Para. 51, FIGS. 1, 5, 7. In block 710, the NodeB schedules the first UE on the first preferred time slot(s) based on the first channel quality index, Para. 52, FIGS. 1, 5, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang 1 with the teachings of Wang since Yang 1 provides a technique for a UE to indicate preferred time slots through a report to a base station, which can be introduced into the system of Wang to permit a UE to clearly indicate preferred time slots in a link configuration for its report to a base station for scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions.
In regard to Claim 28, as presented in the rejection of Claim 25, Wang teaches slots.
Wang fails to teach said processor is further configured to: implement a TDD timing structure for the UE, said Time Division Duplexing (TDD) timing structure including UL and DL slots which were selected for communication with the UE.
Yang 1 teaches said processor is further configured to: implement a TDD timing structure for the UE, said Time Division Duplexing (TDD) timing structure including UL and DL slots which were selected for communication with the UE (TDD uses the same carrier frequency for both the uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) between a node B 108 and a UE 110, but divides uplink and downlink transmissions into different time slots, Para. 28. In block 706, the NodeB receives an indication, via the first set of synchronization shift bits, of at least one first preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission from the first UE, Para. 51, FIGS. 1, 5, 7. In block 710, the NodeB schedules the first UE on the first preferred time slot(s) based on the first channel quality index, Para. 52, FIGS. 1, 5, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang 1 with the teachings of Wang since Yang 1 provides a technique for a UE to indicate preferred time slots through a report to a base station, which can be introduced into the system of Wang to permit a UE to clearly indicate preferred time slots in a link configuration for its report to a base station for scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions.
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Yang 1, He, and further in view of Ghanbarinejad et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240244547 A1), hereafter referred to as Ghanbarinejad.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 2, Wang in view of Yang 1 and He teaches the SN.
Wang in view of Yang 1 and He fails to teach identifying as preferred UL slots, some SN UL slots which correspond in time to MN UL slots.
Ghanbarinejad teaches identifying as preferred UL slots, some SN UL slots which correspond in time to MN UL slots (a UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit PUSCH over multiple slots, Para. 129. Dual connectivity at an IAB node 702 wherein each parent node 704, 706 may be configured by different IAB donor 708, 710, Para. 137, FIG. 7. Unit of time resources, can be extended to other units such as slots, Para. 320. Regarding the case DC-A, the following table summarizes the different combinations for simultaneous UL-TX1 to a first parent node (e.g., MN) and UL-TX2 to a second parent node (e.g., SN), Para. 321).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghanbarinejad with the teachings of Wang in view of Yang 1 and He since Ghanbarinejad provides a technique for identifying slots involved with simultaneous transmissions associated with dual connectivity, which can be introduced into the system of Wang in view of Yang 1 and He to permit UE to perform simultaneous transmissions through identifying slots and benefiting from dual connectivity.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 10, Wang in view of Yang 1 and He teaches the SN.
Wang in view of Yang 1 and He fails to teach identify, as preferred UL slots, some SN UL slots which correspond in time to MN UL slots.
Ghanbarinejad teaches identify, as preferred UL slots, some SN UL slots which correspond in time to MN UL slots (a UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit PUSCH over multiple slots, Para. 129. Dual connectivity at an IAB node 702 wherein each parent node 704, 706 may be configured by different IAB donor 708, 710, Para. 137, FIG. 7. Unit of time resources, can be extended to other units such as slots, Para. 320. Regarding the case DC-A, the following table summarizes the different combinations for simultaneous UL-TX1 to a first parent node (e.g., MN) and UL-TX2 to a second parent node (e.g., SN), Para. 321).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghanbarinejad with the teachings of Wang in view of Yang 1 and He since Ghanbarinejad provides a technique for identifying slots involved with simultaneous transmissions associated with dual connectivity, which can be introduced into the system of Wang in view of Yang 1 and He to permit UE to perform simultaneous transmissions through identifying slots and benefiting from dual connectivity.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230171828 A1) in view of Yang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20150071263 A1) and Ghanbarinejad et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240244547 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Wang, Yang 1, and Ghanbarinejad.
In regard to Claim 5, A communications method, the method comprising: receiving, at a user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 143, FIG. 4), Time Division Duplexing (TDD) (the transmission and reception paths of gNB 102 support aggregated communication with TDD cells, Para. 65, FIG. 1) information (S510, the UE receives configuration information from a base station, Para. 73, FIG. 5) from a master node (MN) (base station B. Connection 2 is a PLMN, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Wang teaches receiving, at the UE (the UE, Para. 143, FIG. 4), TDD (the transmission and reception paths of gNB 102 support aggregated communication with TDD cells, Para. 65, FIG. 1) information (S510, the UE receives configuration information from a base station, Para. 73, FIG. 5) from a secondary node (SN) (base station A. A base station of a NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Wang teaches sending UE slot preference information to the SN communicating SN slots preferred by the UE, said UE slot preference information indicating: i) UE preferred SN downlink (DL) slots, ii) UE preferred SN UL slots or iii) both UE preferred SN DL slots and UE preferred SN UL slots (if the UE establishes multiple connections, the UE may report desired uplink and downlink configuration information to the base station of the connection A, Para. 143, FIG. 4. Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186).
Wang teaches operating the UE to communicate with the SN (base station A. The base station of the NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4) using slots allocated to the UE by the SN (assist the base station of the NPN in scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions, thereby reducing loss of one of the connections, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Wang fails to explicitly teach slot preference information to the SN communicating SN slots preferred by the UE.
Yang 1 teaches sending UE slot preference information to the SN communicating SN slots preferred by the UE (In block 602, the UE transmits synchronization shift (SS) bits. In block 604, the UE indicates, via the synchronization shift bits, at least one preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang 1 with the teachings of Wang since Yang 1 provides a technique for a UE to indicate preferred time slots through a report to a base station, which can be introduced into the system of Wang to permit a UE to clearly indicate preferred time slots in a link configuration for its report to a base station for scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions.
Wang in view of Yang 1 fails to teach identifying, at UE, SN uplink (UL) slots which correspond in time to MN UL slots; selecting at the UE, from identified SN UL slots which correspond in time to MN UL slots, at least some SN UL slots as UE preferred SN UL slots.
Ghanbarinejad teaches identifying, at UE, SN uplink (UL) slots which correspond in time to MN UL slots (a UE is scheduled by a DCI format to transmit PUSCH over multiple slots, Para. 129. Dual connectivity at an IAB node 702 wherein each parent node 704, 706 may be configured by different IAB donor 708, 710, Para. 137, FIG. 7. Unit of time resources, can be extended to other units such as slots, Para. 320. Regarding the case DC-A, the following table summarizes the different combinations for simultaneous UL-TX1 to a first parent node (e.g., MN) and UL-TX2 to a second parent node (e.g., SN), Para. 321).
Ghanbarinejad teaches selecting at the UE, from identified SN UL slots which correspond in time to MN UL slots, at least some SN UL slots as UE preferred SN UL slots (the IAB node is capable of simultaneous transmissions in DL and UL. The information of the capability may be sent to another IAB node such as a parent node, Para. 323).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghanbarinejad with the teachings of Wang in view of Yang 1 and He since Ghanbarinejad provides a technique for identifying slots involved with simultaneous transmissions associated with dual connectivity, which can be introduced into the system of Wang in view of Yang 1 and He to permit UE to perform simultaneous transmissions through identifying slots and benefiting from dual connectivity.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 5, Wang in view of Yang 1 and Ghanbarinejad teaches the secondary node.
Wang in view of Yang 1 fails to teach sending UE slot preference information to the secondary node includes: indicating to the secondary node slots selected by the first UE as first UE preferred secondary node UL slots.
Ghanbarinejad teaches sending UE slot preference information to the secondary node includes: indicating to the secondary node slots selected by the first UE as first UE preferred secondary node UL slots (the IAB node is capable of simultaneous transmissions in DL and UL. The information of the capability may be sent to another IAB node such as a parent node, Para. 323).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ghanbarinejad with the teachings of Wang in view of Yang 1 since Ghanbarinejad provides a technique for identifying slots involved with simultaneous transmissions associated with dual connectivity, which can be introduced into the system of Wang in view of Yang 1 to permit UE to perform simultaneous transmissions through identifying slots and benefiting from dual connectivity.
In regard to Claim 12, Wang teaches A user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 143, FIG. 4), the UE comprising: a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM); a second SIM (for a dual-card dual-standby terminal customized by China Mobile, a priority of China Mobile's SIM card is higher than that of other operators' SIM cards, Para. 118. The UE establishes multiple connections with two base stations through two SIM cards, Para. 173); a first wireless interface; a second wireless interface (a plurality of RF transceivers 372a-372n, Para. 58, FIG. 3b); and a processor (controller/processor 378, Para. 58, FIG. 3b) configured to: operate the UE to receive (the UE, Para. 143, FIG. 4) TDD (the transmission and reception paths of gNB 102 support aggregated communication with TDD cells, Para. 65, FIG. 1) information (S510, the UE receives configuration information from a base station, Para. 73, FIG. 5) from a secondary node (SN) (base station A. A base station of a NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Wang teaches operate the UE to send UE slot preference information to the SN communicating SN slots preferred by the UE, said UE slot preference information indicating: i) UE preferred SN downlink (DL) slots, ii) UE preferred SN uplink (UL) slots or iii) both UE preferred SN DL slots and UE preferred SN UL slots (if the UE establishes multiple connections, the UE may report desired uplink and downlink configuration information to the base station of the connection A, Para. 143, FIG. 4. Symbols/time slots on which the UE may transmit and receive, Para. 186).
Wang teaches operate the UE to communicate with the SN (base station A. The base station of the NPN, Para. 143, FIG. 4) using slots allocated to the UE by the SN (assist the base station of the NPN in scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions, thereby reducing loss of one of the connections, Para. 143, FIG. 4).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Wang fails to explicitly teach slot preference information to the SN communicating SN slots preferred by the UE.
Yang 1 teaches send UE slot preference information to the SN communicating SN slots preferred by the UE (In block 602, the UE transmits synchronization shift (SS) bits. In block 604, the UE indicates, via the synchronization shift bits, at least one preferred time slot for receiving a high speed data transmission, Para. 49, FIGS. 1, 5, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Wang since Yang provides a technique for a UE to indicate preferred time slots through a report to a base station, which can be introduced into the system of Wang to permit a UE to clearly indicate preferred time slots in a link configuration for its report to a base station for scheduling the UE's uplink and downlink transmissions.
Wang fails to teach operate the UE to select from identified SN UL slots which correspond in time to MN UL slots, at least some SN UL slots as UE preferred UL slots.
Ghanbarinejad teaches operate the UE to select from identified SN UL slots which correspond in time to MN UL slots, at least some SN UL slots as UE preferred UL slots (the IAB node is capable of simultaneous transmissions in DL and UL. The information of the capability may be sent to another IAB node such as a parent node, Para. 323).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before th