DETAILED ACTION
This Action addresses the communication received on 25 Jun 2026. Applicant has amended Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-12, and 14-15. The Office rejects pending Claims 1-20 as detailed below.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
+_+_+ Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leppin et al. - U.S. Pub. 20190146067 - in view of previously cited PTO-892 reference Russ et al. - U.S. Pub. 20230028749 +_+_+
As for Claim 1, Leppin teaches a transmitter configured to generate and transmit light, the light being transmitted at a predetermined vertical divergence angle and a predetermined horizontal divergence angle (Fig. 3, Transmitter AB, transmitting overlapping fields [fields are presumed to be 3D including a predetermined horizontal and vertical divergence angles; further the secondary reference, Russ, also teaches the same in Fig. 2 showing a 3D representation of the two ranges.] of light A 110 and B 112. That is, the image is a top view showing the horizontal divergence angle); a first receiver configured to receive light reflected from an object within a first detection region of a short range (Fig. 3, RX A 118, receiving reflected light from FOL A, broader, shorter range); and a second receiver configured to receive light reflected from an object within a second detection region of a long range (Fig. 3, RX B 120, receiving reflected light from FOL B, narrower, longer range). Leppin, Applicant argues (Remarks, P8), does not explicitly teach the remaining limitations because the different fields are illuminated alternately.
But Russ teaches wherein the first receiver and the second receiver are arranged such that light transmitted to a part of the first detection region is transmitted to an entire region of the second detection region, thereby enabling the second receiver to detect an object within the second detection region with a higher resolution than the first receiver (Fig. 2, showing light emitted into two detection regions, the second having a higher resolution; ¶25|1: “The LIDAR system may be arranged so that all the channels are on a single element---e.g. by providing a VSCEL array and a corresponding multi-lens array, which are configured such that some of the VSCEL/lens pairs provide the long range channels, and others provide the short range channels. The VSCEL array may be on a single chip, and the multi-lens array may be on a single substrate. The different channels may be provided by adjusting the configuration of the multi-lens array (e.g. the focal lengths of the lenses), the VSCEL array (e.g. the output power), or both. Both sets of channels may be operated simultaneously or sequentially, but are typically operated independently. The operation may be dependent on feedback received from optical detectors which detect light reflected back from objects illuminated by the channels.” Further (¶31|1) “In step 403 objects are detected within a first frame using the set of short range channels, and objects are detected within a second frame using the set of long range channels, wherein the second frame is a subset of the first frame.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine Leppin and Russ because simultaneously illuminating both short and long range doubles the captured frame rate for each region compared to alternating illumination.
As for Claim 2, which depends on Claim 1, Leppin teaches wherein, in a non-scanning type, the transmitter (¶16|1: “The flash lidar sensor assembly 100 also includes at least one light transmitter unit 106.”) transmits light (Fig. 3, Transmitter AB, transmitting overlapping fields [including predetermined horizontal and vertical divergent angles] of light A 110 and B 112)in a range of the vertical divergence angle and the horizontal divergence angle with respect to a short-range region, the first receiver comprises a two-dimensional detection unit to receive the light transmitted in the range of the vertical divergence angle and the horizontal divergence angle with respect to the shortrange region and reflected from an object in a short range, and the second receiver comprises a two-dimensional detection unit to receive light transmitted in a narrower range of the vertical divergence angle and the horizontal divergence angle and reflected from an object in a long range, of the light transmitted in the range of the vertical divergence angle and the horizontal divergence angle with respect to the short-range region (¶17|1: “In the exemplary embodiments, the first field of illumination 110 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) near the sensor assembly 100. As such, the first field of illumination 110 may be referred to as a wide-angle illumination or close-range illumination. The second field of illumination 112 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) farther from the sensor assembly 100. As such, the second field of illumination 112 may be referred to as a narrow-angle illumination or long-range illumination.”)
As for Claim 3, which depends on Claim 2, Leppin teaches wherein the transmitter transmits light having the vertical divergence angle and the horizontal divergence angle wider than or equal to vertical and horizontal fields of view (FOV) of the first receiver (¶17|1: “In the exemplary embodiments, the first field of illumination 110 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) near the sensor assembly 100. As such, the first field of illumination 110 may be referred to as a wide-angle illumination or close-range illumination. The second field of illumination 112 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) farther from the sensor assembly 100. As such, the second field of illumination 112 may be referred to as a narrow-angle illumination or long-range illumination.” See also Fig. 3 showing both fields of illumination.)
As for Claim 4, which depends on Claim 2, Leppin teaches wherein the first receiver has wider vertical and horizontal FOV and a lower resolution than the second receiver (¶17|1: “In the exemplary embodiments, the first field of illumination 110 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) near the sensor assembly 100. As such, the first field of illumination 110 may be referred to as a wide-angle illumination or close-range illumination. The second field of illumination 112 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) farther from the sensor assembly 100. As such, the second field of illumination 112 may be referred to as a narrow-angle illumination or long-range illumination.” That is, the broader the FOV the less the resolution.)
As for Claim 5, which depends on Claim 1, Leppin teaches wherein, [..1..], the transmitter transmits light in a range of the vertical divergence angle with regard to a region of a short range while performing scanning in a horizontal direction, the first receiver comprises a one-dimensional detection unit to receive the light transmitted in the range of the vertical divergence angle with regard to the region of the short range and reflected from an object in a short range, and the second receiver comprises a one-dimensional detection unit to receive light transmitted in a narrower range of the vertical divergence angle and reflected from an object in a long range, of the light transmitted in the range of the vertical divergence angle with regard to the region of the short range (¶17|1: “In the exemplary embodiments, the first field of illumination 110 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) near the sensor assembly 100. As such, the first field of illumination 110 may be referred to as a wide-angle illumination or close-range illumination. The second field of illumination 112 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) farther from the sensor assembly 100. As such, the second field of illumination 112 may be referred to as a narrow-angle illumination or long-range illumination.”) Leppin does not explicitly teach the remaining limitations.
But Russ teaches [1] in case of a scanning type (¶50|1: “For example, it is envisaged that the present disclosure may be used with both flash LIDAR and scanning LIDAR systems.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine Leppin and Russ because scanning and flash methods have different advantages depending on the application.
As for Claim 6, which depends on Claim 5, Leppin teaches wherein the transmitter transmits light having the vertical divergence angle wider than or equal to a vertical field of view (FOV) of the first receiver (¶17|1: “In the exemplary embodiments, the first field of illumination 110 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) near the sensor assembly 100. As such, the first field of illumination 110 may be referred to as a wide-angle illumination or close-range illumination. The second field of illumination 112 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) farther from the sensor assembly 100. As such, the second field of illumination 112 may be referred to as a narrow-angle illumination or long-range illumination.” See also Fig. 3 showing both fields of illumination.)
As for Claim 7, which depends on Claim 5, Leppin teaches wherein the first receiver has a wider vertical field of view and a lower resolution than the second receiver (¶17|1: “In the exemplary embodiments, the first field of illumination 110 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) near the sensor assembly 100. As such, the first field of illumination 110 may be referred to as a wide-angle illumination or close-range illumination. The second field of illumination 112 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) farther from the sensor assembly 100. As such, the second field of illumination 112 may be referred to as a narrow-angle illumination or long-range illumination.” That is, the broader the FOV the less the resolution.)
As for Claim 8, which depends on Claim 5, Russ teaches wherein the second receiver performs detection in a shorter time cycle than the first receiver to increase a horizontal resolution (¶17|1: “In the exemplary embodiments, the first field of illumination 110 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) near the sensor assembly 100. As such, the first field of illumination 110 may be referred to as a wide-angle illumination or close-range illumination. The second field of illumination 112 is more particularly configured to illuminate objects (not shown) farther from the sensor assembly 100. As such, the second field of illumination 112 may be referred to as a narrow-angle illumination or long-range illumination.” See also Fig. 3 showing both fields of illumination.)
As for Claim 9, which depends on Claim 1, Russ teaches wherein the second receiver is adjustable in position or angle of a lens thereof to change the second detection region (¶25|7: “The different channels may be provided by adjusting the configuration of the multi-lens array ( e.g. the focal lengths of the lenses), the VSCEL array (e.g. the output power), or both.”)
Claims 10-18 recite substantially the same subject matter as Claims 1-9, respectively, and stand rejected on the same basis accordingly.
As for Claim 19, which depends on Claim 10, Russ teaches wherein the lidar is configured to detect an object located in front, back or lateral sides of the vehicle (¶24|5: “The lidar may be disposed at an appropriate position outside the vehicle in order to detect objects positioned in front of, behind or on the side of the vehicle.”)
As for Claim 20, which depends on Claim 10, Leppin teaches wherein the vehicle comprises an autonomous vehicle or a vehicle with an advanced driver assistance system (ADAS) (¶26|5: “The controller 126 may be in communication with other systems, e.g., systems for control [full or assisting] of a vehicle.”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 Jun 2026 relate to newly amended claims and are not addressed in this section; the rejections above, however, address the latest version of the claims in detail.
Conclusion
Applicants should direct any inquiry concerning this or earlier communications to CLINT THATCHER at phone 571.270.3588. Examiner is normally available Mon-Fri, 9am to 5:30pm ET and generally keeps a daily 2:30pm timeslot open for interviews.
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645