DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s Remarks and Amendments filed 30 December 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-12 and 14-22 and 24-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 20 December 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 7, 12, and 21 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of a new interpretation of a prior art reference Aram.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-22, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aram et al. (US 2008/0091272 A1), “Aram”.
Regarding claim 1, Aram teaches an arthroplasty system for replacing a natural articular surface on a bone (Fig. 94, prosthetic knee system 4100), the arthroplasty system comprising: an arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, rotating tibial insert 4106) comprising: a joint-facing side comprising an articular surface (Fig. 94, upper bearing surface 4150); and a bone-facing side (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4152) comprising a first adjustable attachment feature (Fig. 94, aperture 4154); and a bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, tibial tray 4102) comprising: a bone engagement surface securable to a resected surface of the bone (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4114); and a second adjustable attachment feature (Fig. 94, post 4120); wherein the first adjustable attachment feature is configured to movably mate with the second adjustable attachment feature to movably couple the bone anchoring component to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 95, rotating tibial insert 4106 freely rotates about axis 4156 defined by post 4120 [0252]), but fails to teach the second adjustable attachment feature comprising only a single centrally located fastener hole formed therethrough.
Aram teaches a first embodiment comprising a second adjustable attachment feature comprising only a single centrally located fastener hole formed therethrough (Fig. 108, flange 4828 is secured to tibial tray 4802 via a fastener such as a screw into a threaded aperture (not shown) [0299]). Aram discloses that the distance between the flange and base of the neck is adjustable [0299]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the second adjustable attachment feature taught by Aram with the fastener taught by the first embodiment of Aram in order to form an adjustable implant that is best suited to a particular patient.
Regarding claim 2, Aram teaches wherein: the first adjustable attachment feature comprises a rotary plate coupled to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, aperture 4154 mates with post 4120 which couples to bottom surface 4152 of rotating tibial insert 4106); and the second adjustable attachment feature comprises a rotary recess formed in the bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, post 4120 mates with aperture 4154 which couples to tibial tray 4102) and configured to receive the rotary plate therein to rotatably couple the bone anchoring component to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 95, post 4120 is received within aperture 4154 to couple rotating tibial insert 4106 and tibial tray 4102 together [0252]).
Regarding claim 3, Aram teaches wherein: the first adjustable attachment feature comprises a rotary recess formed in the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, aperture 4154 is formed in bottom surface 4152 of rotating tibial insert 4106); and the second adjustable attachment feature comprises a rotary plate coupled to the bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, post 4120 extends from tibial tray 4102) and configured to mate with the rotary recess to rotatably couple the bone anchoring component to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 95, post 4120 is received within aperture 4154 to couple rotating tibial insert 4106 and tibial tray 4102 together [0252]).
Regarding claim 4, Aram teaches wherein: the first adjustable attachment feature (Fig. 94, aperture 4154) comprises the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4152); and the second adjustable attachment feature (Fig. 94, post 4120) comprises the bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, tibial tray 4102), but fails to teach a translation member coupled to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prothesis, and a translation coupler configured to movably couple with the translation member to: translate along the translation member in a first direction with respect to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis; and translate along the translation member in a second direction, opposite the first direction, with respect to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis.
Aram teaches a first embodiment comprising a translation member coupled to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prothesis (Fig. 108, flange 4828 is sized to be received in opening 4820 of guide track 4812 [0299]), and a translation coupler configured to movably couple with the translation member (Fig. 108, guide track 4812 extends downwardly from bottom surface 4810 [0298]) to: translate along the translation member in a first direction with respect to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis; and translate along the translation member in a second direction, opposite the first direction, with respect to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 108, stem 4804 may be slid or positioned in a desired location along guide track 4812 and then secured to tibial tray 4802 (i.e., slid in two directions) [0299]). Aram discloses that the guide track extends across the bottom of the tibial tray in a medial-lateral direction and may be designed to extend in other directions [0298]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first and second adjustable attachment features taught by Aram with the translation member and coupler taught by the first embodiment of Aram in order to provide increased adjustability of the implant to best suit patient needs.
Regarding claim 5, Aram teaches wherein: the first adjustable attachment feature (Fig. 94, aperture 4154) comprises the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4152); and the second adjustable attachment feature (Fig. 94, post 4120) comprises the bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, tibial tray 4102) but fails to teach a translation coupler on the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis and a translation member configured to movably couple with the translation coupler to: translate along the translation coupler in a first direction with respect to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis; and translate along the translation coupler in a second direction, opposite the first direction, with respect to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis.
Aram teaches a first embodiment comprising a translation coupler on the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 108, guide track 4812 extends downwardly from bottom surface 4810 [0298]) and a translation member configured to movably couple with the translation coupler (Fig. 108, flange 4828 is sized to be received in opening 4820 of guide track 4812 [0299]) to: translate along the translation coupler in a first direction with respect to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis; and translate along the translation coupler in a second direction, opposite the first direction, with respect to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 108, stem 4804 may be slid or positioned in a desired location along guide track 4812 and then secured to tibial tray 4802 (i.e., slid in two directions) [0299]). Aram discloses that the guide track extends across the bottom of the tibial tray in a medial-lateral direction and may be designed to extend in other directions [0298]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first and second adjustable attachment features taught by Aram with the translation member and coupler taught by the first embodiment of Aram in order to provide increased adjustability of the implant to best suit patient needs.
Regarding claim 6, Aram teaches wherein: the first adjustable attachment feature comprises a rotary recess formed in the bone- facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, aperture 4154 within bottom surface 4152); and the second adjustable attachment feature comprises a rotary plate coupled to the bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, post 4120 protruding from tibial tray 4102) and configured to mate with the rotary recess to rotatably couple the bone anchoring component to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 95, post 4120 is received within aperture 4154 to couple rotating tibial insert 4106 and tibial tray 4102 together [0252]); but fails to teach wherein: the rotary plate further comprises a translation member coupled to the rotary plate; and the bone anchoring component further comprises a translation coupler configured to movably couple with the translation member and enable the bone anchoring component to: translate along the translation member in a first direction with respect to the rotary plate; and translate along the translation member in a second direction, opposite the first direction, with respect to the rotary plate.
Aram teaches a first embodiment wherein: the rotary plate further comprises a translation member coupled to the rotary plate (Fig. 108, flange 4828 is sized to be received in opening 4820 of guide track 4812 [0299]); and the bone anchoring component further comprises a translation coupler configured to movably couple with the translation member (Fig. 108, guide track 4812 extends downwardly from bottom surface 4810 [0298]) and enable the bone anchoring component to: translate along the translation member in a first direction with respect to the rotary plate; and translate along the translation member in a second direction, opposite the first direction, with respect to the rotary plate (Fig. 108, stem 4804 may be slid or positioned in a desired location along guide track 4812 and then secured to tibial tray 4802 (i.e., slid in two directions) [0299]). Aram discloses that the guide track extends across the bottom of the tibial tray in a medial-lateral direction and may be designed to extend in other directions [0298]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first and second adjustable attachment features taught by Aram with the translation member and coupler taught by the first embodiment of Aram in order to provide increased adjustability of the implant to best suit patient needs.
Regarding claim 7, Aram teaches a knee arthroplasty system for replacing a natural articular surface on a bone of a knee joint, the knee arthroplasty system (Fig. 94, prosthetic knee system 4100) comprising: a knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, rotating tibial insert 4106) comprising: a joint-facing side comprising an articular surface (Fig. 94, upper bearing surface 4150); and a bone-facing side (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4152) comprising a prosthesis attachment feature (Fig. 94, aperture 4154); and a bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, tibial tray 4102) comprising: a bone engagement surface securable to a resected surface of the bone (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4114); and a component attachment feature (Fig. 94, post 4120) comprising a circular shape having a component-facing surface (Fig. 94, post 4120 is circular and comprises a top surface facing the same direction as upper surface 4112); wherein: the prosthesis attachment feature (Fig. 94, aperture 4154) is configured to removably couple the bone anchoring component to the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis by mating with the component attachment feature such that the component-facing surface of the component attachment feature is flush with the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 95, post 4120 is received in aperture 4154 so that bottom surface 4152 of tibial insert 4106 is in contact with upper surface 4112 of tibial tray 4102 (i.e., flush) [0252]).
Regarding claim 8, Aram teaches wherein: the prosthesis attachment feature comprises a rotary plate coupled to the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, aperture 4154 engages with post 4120 at bottom surface 4152); and the component attachment feature comprises a rotary recess formed in the bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, post 4120 protruding from tibial tray 4102 engages with aperture 4154) and configured to removably mate with the rotary plate (Fig. 95, rotating tibial insert 4106 freely rotates about axis 4156 defined by post 4120 [0252])).
Regarding claim 9, Aram teaches wherein: the prosthesis attachment feature comprises a rotary recess formed in the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, aperture 4154 engages with post 4120 at bottom surface 4152); and the component attachment feature comprises a rotary plate coupled to the bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, post 4120 protruding from tibial tray 4102 engages with aperture 4154) and configured to removably mate with the rotary recess (Fig. 95, rotating tibial insert 4106 freely rotates about axis 4156 defined by post 4120 [0252])).
Regarding claim 10, Aram teaches wherein: the prosthesis attachment feature (Fig. 94, aperture 4154) comprises the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4152); and the component attachment feature (Fig. 94, post 4120), but fails to teach a translation member or a translation coupler configured to removably mate with the translation member.
Aram teaches a first embodiment comprising a translation member (Fig. 108, flange 4828 is sized to be received in opening 4820 of guide track 4812 [0299]) and a translation coupler configured to removably mate with the translation member (Fig. 108, guide track 4812 extends downwardly from bottom surface 4810 [0298] and stem 4804 may be slid or positioned in a desired location along guide track 4812 and then secured to tibial tray 4802 (i.e., slid in two directions) [0299]). Aram discloses that the guide track extends across the bottom of the tibial tray in a medial-lateral direction and may be designed to extend in other directions [0298]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prosthesis and component attachment features taught by Aram with the translation member and coupler taught by the first embodiment of Aram in order to provide increased adjustability of the implant to best suit patient needs.
Regarding claim 11, Aram teaches wherein: the prosthesis attachment feature (Fig. 94, aperture 4154) comprises the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4152); and the component attachment feature (Fig. 94, post 4120), but fails to teach a translation coupler and a translation member configured to removably mate with the translation coupler.
Aram teaches a first embodiment comprising a translation coupler (Fig. 108, guide track 4812) and a translation member configured to removably mate with the translation coupler (Fig. 108, flange 4828 is sized to be received in opening 4820 of guide track 4812 [0299]). Aram discloses that the guide track extends across the bottom of the tibial tray in a medial-lateral direction and may be designed to extend in other directions [0298]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prosthesis and component attachment features taught by Aram with the translation member and coupler taught by the first embodiment of Aram in order to provide increased adjustability of the implant to best suit patient needs.
Regarding claim 12, Aram teaches a knee arthroplasty system for replacing a natural articular surface on a bone of a knee joint, the knee arthroplasty system (Fig. 94, prosthetic knee system 4100) comprising: a knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, rotating tibial insert 4106) comprising: a joint-facing side comprising an articular surface (Fig. 94, upper bearing surface 4150); and a bone-facing side (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4152) comprising a prosthesis attachment feature formed thereon (Fig. 94, aperture 4154); and a bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, tibial tray 4102) comprising: a bone engagement surface securable to a resected surface of the bone (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4114); and a component attachment feature comprising a rotary plate (Fig. 94, post 4120) having a prosthesis-facing surface configured to couple with the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, top surface of post 4120 facing the same direction as upper surface 4112 which couples with bottom surface 4152 (Fig. 95) [0252]) and a component-facing surface oriented toward the bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, underside of post 4120 and flange 4122 facing tibial tray 4102); wherein: the prosthesis attachment feature (Fig. 94, aperture 4154) is configured to mate with the component attachment feature to couple the bone anchoring component to the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 95, post 4120 is received within aperture 4154 to couple rotating tibial insert 4106 and tibial tray 4102 together [0252]); and the prosthesis attachment feature is configured to rotatably and/or translatably mate with the component attachment feature (Fig. 95, rotating tibial insert 4106 freely rotates about axis 4156 defined by post 4120 [0252]), but fails to teach a translation member coupled to the component-facing surface and projecting away from the component-facing surface.
Aram teaches a first embodiment comprising a translation member coupled to the component-facing surface and projecting away from the component-facing surface (Fig. 108, guide track 4812 extends downwardly from bottom surface 4810 [0298]). Aram discloses that the guide track extends across the bottom of the tibial tray in a medial-lateral direction and may be designed to extend in other directions [0298]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prosthesis and component attachment features taught by Aram with the translation member and coupler taught by the first embodiment of Aram in order to provide increased adjustability of the implant to best suit patient needs.
Regarding claim 14, Aram teaches wherein: the prosthesis attachment feature comprises a rotary recess formed in the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, aperture 4154 is formed in bottom surface 4152 of rotating tibial insert 4106) configured to rotatably mate with the rotary plate (Fig. 95, rotating tibial insert 4106 freely rotates about axis 4156 defined by post 4120 [0252]).
Regarding claim 15, Aram teaches wherein the component attachment feature (Fig. 94, post 4120), but fails to teach a translation coupler configured to translatably mate with the translation member.
Aram teaches a first embodiment comprising a translation coupler configured to translatably mate with the translation member (Fig. 108, flange 4828 is sized to be received in opening 4820 of guide track 4812 [0299])). Aram discloses that the guide track extends across the bottom of the tibial tray in a medial-lateral direction and may be designed to extend in other directions [0298]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prosthesis and component attachment features taught by Aram with the translation member and coupler taught by the first embodiment of Aram in order to provide increased adjustability of the implant to best suit patient needs.
Regarding claim 16, Aram teaches wherein: the prosthesis attachment feature (Fig. 94, aperture 4154) comprises the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4152); but fails to teach a translation coupler, and the translation member is configured to translatably mate with the translation coupler.
Aram teaches a first embodiment comprising a translation coupler (Fig. 108, flange 4828), and the translation member is configured to translatably mate with the translation coupler (Fig. 108, flange 4828 is sized to be received in opening 4820 of guide track 4812 [0299])). Aram discloses that the guide track extends across the bottom of the tibial tray in a medial-lateral direction and may be designed to extend in other directions [0298]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prosthesis and component attachment features taught by Aram with the translation member and coupler taught by the first embodiment of Aram in order to provide increased adjustability of the implant to best suit patient needs.
Regarding claim 17, Aram teaches wherein: the prosthesis attachment feature comprises a rotary recess formed in the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, aperture 4154 is formed in bottom surface 4152 of rotating tibial insert 4106); and the bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, tibial tray 4102), but fails to teach a translation coupler configured to translatably mate with the translation member and enable the bone anchoring component o: translate along the translation member in a first direction with respect to the rotary plate; and translate along the translation member in a second direction, opposite the first direction, with respect to the rotary plate.
Aram teaches a first embodiment comprising a translation coupler (Fig. 108, flange 4828) configured to translatably mate with the translation member (Fig. 108, guide track 4812) to: translate along the translation member in a first direction with respect to the rotary plate; and translate along the translation member in a second direction, opposite the first direction, with respect to the rotary plate (Fig. 108, stem 4804 may be slid or positioned in a desired location along guide track 4812 and then secured to tibial tray 4802 (i.e., slid in two directions) [0299]). Aram discloses that the guide track extends across the bottom of the tibial tray in a medial-lateral direction and may be designed to extend in other directions [0298]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prosthesis and component attachment features taught by Aram with the translation member and coupler taught by the first embodiment of Aram in order to provide increased adjustability of the implant to best suit patient needs.
Regarding claim 18, Aram teaches wherein the component-facing surface of the component attachment feature is flush with the bone-facing side of the knee arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 95, post 4120 is received in aperture 4154 so that bottom surface 4152 of tibial insert 4106 is in contact with upper surface 4112 of tibial tray 4102 (i.e., flush) [0252]).
Regarding claim 19, Aram teaches wherein at least a majority of the bone anchoring component is located outside an intramedullary canal of the bone when the bone anchoring component is anchored to the bone (Fig. 95, only stem 4110 of tibial tray 4102 is embedded in patient's tibia [0248]).
Regarding claim 20, Aram teaches wherein the bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, tibial tray 4102) comprises a stem (Fig. 94, stem 4110), wherein a distal portion of the stem is securable within an intramedullary canal of the bone when the bone anchoring component is anchored to the bone (Fig. 95, stem 4110 of tibial tray 4102 is embedded in patient's tibia [0248]).
Regarding claim 21, Aram teaches an arthroplasty system for replacing a natural articular surface on a bone, the arthroplasty system (Fig. 94, prosthetic knee system 4100) comprising: an arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 94, rotating tibial insert 4106) comprising: a joint-facing side comprising an articular surface (Fig. 94, upper bearing surface 4150); and a bone-facing side (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4152) comprising a prosthesis attachment feature (Fig. 94, aperture 4154); and a bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, tibial tray 4102) comprising: a bone engagement surface securable to a resected surface of the bone (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4114); and a component attachment feature (Fig. 94, post 4120); wherein: the component attachment feature comprises a rotary plate that is configured to removably mate with the prosthesis attachment feature to removably couple the bone anchoring component to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 95, post 4120 is received within aperture 4154 to couple rotating tibial insert 4106 and tibial tray 4102 together [0252]); but fails to teach the rotary plate comprises a fastener hole formed therethrough configured to receive a locking fastener therein that is configured to selectively lock the bone anchoring component in a selected one of a plurality of different relative translational positions with respect to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis.
Aram teaches a first embodiment comprising a fastener hole formed therethrough configured to receive a locking fastener therein (Fig. 108, flange 4828 is secured to tibial tray 4802 via a fastener such as a screw into a threaded aperture (not shown) [0299]) that is configured to selectively lock in a selected one of a plurality of different relative translational positions with respect to the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis (Fig. 108, stem 4804 is slid or otherwise positioned in a desired location along guide track 4812 and secured to tibial tray 4802 via a fastener [0299]). Aram discloses that the distance between the flange and base of the neck is adjustable [0299]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the second adjustable attachment feature taught by Aram with the fastener taught by the first embodiment of Aram in order to form an adjustable implant that is best suited to a particular patient.
Regarding claim 22, Aram teaches wherein the prosthesis attachment feature and the component attachment feature comprise complementary circular shapes with each other (Fig. 94, post 4120 and aperture 4154 are both circular and mate with one another).
Regarding claim 24, Aram teaches wherein: the prosthesis attachment feature comprises a rotary recess formed in the bone-facing side of the arthroplasty prosthesis configured to rotatably mate with the rotary plate (Fig. 94, aperture 4154 is formed in bottom surface bottom surface 4152 of rotating tibial insert 4106 and mates with post 4120).
Regarding claim 25, Aram teaches wherein: the arthroplasty prosthesis comprises a tibial base plate (Fig. 94, rotating tibial insert 4106) comprising a tibial articular surface on the joint-facing side of the tibial base plate (Fig. 94, upper bearing surface 4150); the tibial base plate comprises the bone-facing side of the tibial base plate (Fig. 94, bottom surface 4152); and the bone anchoring component (Fig. 94, tibial tray 410), but fails to teach a first anti-rotation feature and a second anti-rotation feature configured to removably mate with the first anti-rotation feature and resist rotation of the bone anchoring component with respect to the tibial base plate.
Aram teaches a second embodiment comprising a first anti-rotation feature (Fig. 68, protrusions 2282) and a second anti-rotation feature configured to removably mate with the first anti-rotation feature (Fig. 67, recesses 2280 mate with protrusions 2282 [0234]) and resist rotation of the bone anchoring component with respect to the tibial base plate (Figs. 67-68, protrusions 2282 and recesses 2280 engage in order to prevent rotation of tibial insert 2214 relative to tray 2212 [0234]). Aram discloses that the protrusions and recesses prevent rotation and micromotions between the tibial insert and tray components [0234]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the tibial base plate and bone anchoring component taught by Aram with the first and second anti-rotation features taught by Aram’s second embodiment in order to avoid unnecessary wear between the implant components and prolong implant life.
Conclusion
/G.G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774