DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect rejections under 35 USC 103 to claim(s) 1-12 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YAMASAKI (US 20180337567).
Regarding claim 1, YAMASAKI discloses a motor comprising:
a shaft 1a that is rotatable about a center axis CA extending vertically (Fig. 1);
a bearing housing 221 in a tubular shape (para [0029]) that rotatably supports the shaft 1a with a bearing 221a (Fig. 2);
a casing 25 having a tubular shape with a lid 25a, the casing 25 extending axially about the center axis CA and holding the bearing housing 221 (see Fig. 1);
a stator 20 disposed radially inside the casing 25 and fixed to at least one of the casing 25 and the bearing housing 221 (see Fig. 1);
a rotor 1 fixed to the shaft 1a and disposed radially outside the casing 25 (see Fig. 1);
a cover 23/222 configured to cover an opening formed in a lower end of the casing 25; and
a resin part 21 configured to cover the stator 20 in a space surrounded by the bearing housing 221, the casing 25, and the cover 23/222 (see Fig. 1 and 2),
the cover 23/222 including:
a base 222 in an annular shape (see para [0030]);
a bush 23 disposed radially inside the base 222 and fixed to a lower end part of an outer peripheral surface of the bearing housing 221;
a circuit board 204 inside the casing 25, wherein the resin part 21 further encapsulates the circuit board 204 (Fig. 1 and 2);
a lead wire 204a connected to the circuit board 204, wherein the lead wire 204a extends radially between the casing 25 and the cover 23/222 perpendicular to the center axis CA direction (see Fig. 2); and
a first protrusion (unlabeled; see Fig. 1) extending radially outward from a lower end of the casing 25, wherein the lead wire 204a extends through the first protrusion.
Regarding claim 2, YAMASAKI discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein at least a part of the bush 23 is integrally fixed to the base 222 (i.e. via e4; see para [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, YAMASAKI discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the resin part 21 has a lower end located above the opening of the casing 25 (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, YAMASAKI discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the circuit board 204 has a lower surface on which an electronic component is disposed (see Fig. 2), and
the electronic component has a lower end located above a lower end of the resin part 21 (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, YAMASAKI discloses the motor according to claim 4, further comprising:
a wiring part having a wiring space in which the lead wire 204a is disposed (see Fig. 2),
the wiring part including:
the first protrusion; and
a second protrusion (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 2, below) extending radially outward from an outer peripheral surface of the base 222,
wherein the second protrusion is configured to cover a lower part of the first protrusion (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, YAMASAKI discloses the motor according to claim 1, further comprising:
a wiring part having a wiring space in which the lead wire 204a is disposed (see Fig. 2),
the wiring part including:
the first protrusion; and
a second protrusion (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 2, above) extending radially outward from an outer peripheral surface of the base 222,
wherein the second protrusion is configured to cover a lower part of the first protrusion (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, YAMASAKI discloses a blower comprising:
the motor according to claim 1;
an impeller 400 attached to the rotor 1; and
a frame 500 radially covering an outside of the impeller 400 (see Fig. 1),
the base 222 being formed integrally with the frame 500 (see para [0024]).
Regarding claim 11, YAMASAKI discloses a blower comprising:
the motor according to claim 9;
an impeller 400 attached to the rotor 1; and
a frame 500 radially covering an outside of the impeller 400 (see Fig. 1);
the frame 500 including:
a first frame part;
a second frame part axially coupled to a lower part of the first frame part (i.e. the horizontal, bottom portion; see Fig. 1);
the second frame part and the base 222 being integrally formed (see para [0024]); and
a lead wire placement part (unlabeled; see Fig. 1) in which the lead wire 204a is disposed and that is formed in an axial gap between the first frame part and the second frame part (see Fig. 1),
the lead wire placement part being connected to the wiring part (see para [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, YAMASAKI discloses the blower according to claim 11, whereing the first protrusion is in contact with at least the first frame part (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, YAMASAKI discloses the motor according to claim 1, further comprising:
a wiring part having a wiring space in which the lead wire 204a is disposed,
the wiring part including:
the first protrusion; and
a second protrusion (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 2, above) extending radially outward from an outer peripheral surface of the base 222,
the lead wire 204a extends between the first protrusion and the second protrusion (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, YAMASAKI discloses a motor comprising:
a shaft 1a that is rotatable about a center axis CA extending vertically;
a bearing housing 221 in a tubular shape (para [0030]) that rotatably supports the shaft 1a with a bearing 221a (see Fig. 2);
a casing 25 having a tubular shape (para [0025]) with a lid 25a, the casing 25 extending axially about the center axis CA and holding the bearing housing 221 (see Fig. 1-2);
a stator 20 disposed radially inside the casing 25 and fixed to at least one of the casing 25 and the bearing housing 221 (see Fig. 1-2);
a rotor 1 fixed to the shaft 1a and disposed radially outside the casing 25 (see Fig. 1-2);
a cover 23/222 configured to cover an opening formed in a lower end of the casing 25 (see Fig. 1-2); and
a resin part 21 configured to cover the stator 20 in a space surrounded by the bearing housing 221, the casing 25, and the cover 23/222 (see Fig. 1-2),
the cover 23/222 including:
a base 222 in an annular shape (see para [0030]);
a bush 23 disposed radially inside the base 222 and fixed to a lower end part of an outer peripheral surface of the bearing housing 221;
a circuit board 204 inside the casing 25 wherein the resin part further encapsulates the circuit board (Fig. 1-2); and
a lead wire 204a connected to the circuit board 204, wherein the lead wire 204a extends radially between the casing 25 and the cover 23/222 perpendicular to the center axis CA direction (see Fig. 1-2); and
a wiring part having a wiring space in which the lead wire 204a is disposed,
the wiring part including:
a first protrusion (unlabeled; see Fig. 1) extending radially outward from a lower end of the casing 25; and
a second protrusion (unlabeled; see annotated Fig. 2, above) extending radially outward from an outer peripheral surface of the base 222, wherein the first protrusion directly contacts the second protrusion (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, YAMASAKI discloses the motor according to claim 19, wherein the lead wire 204a extends through the first protrusion (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMASAKI in view of ICHIOKA (JP 2020115717, previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, YAMASAKI discloses the motor according to claim 4, wherein the stator 20 includes:
a coil 203; and a conducting wire drawn out from the coil 203 (para [0025]).
.
However, YAMASAKI does not disclose the circuit board has an outer peripheral surface provided with a cut-out recessed radially inward, the conducting wire is wired from an upper surface side to a lower surface side of the circuit board through the cut-out, and is electrically connected to a circuit on the lower surface side of the circuit board.
ICHIOKA discloses a spindle motor with a similar construction to YAMASAKI, further disclosing a circuit board (5) has an outer peripheral surface provided with a cut-out (54) recessed radially inward, and the conducting wire (231) is wired from an upper surface side to a lower surface side of the circuit board (5) through the cut-out (54)(See paragraph [0031] “the wiring pattern 51 is formed on the lower surface of the circuit board 5”; See also Fig. 3), and is electrically connected to a circuit (wiring pattern 51) on the lower surface side of the circuit board (5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the motor of YAMASAKI with a single-sided circuit board similar to that of ICHIOKA.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide “the structure of the circuit board can be simplified. Further, since the structure of the circuit board can be simplified, the manufacturing cost can be reduced” (see paragraph [0043] of ICHIOKA).
Regarding claim 7, YAMASAKI in view of ICHOKA teaches the motor according to claim 5.
ICHIOKA discloses the cut-out and a drawn part of the conducting wire (251M) are displaced from each other in a circumferential direction (See Fig. 3 of ICHIOKA).
Regarding claim 6, YAMASAKI discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the stator 20 includes: a coil 203; and a conducting wire drawn out from the coil 203 (para [0025]).
However, YAMASAKI does not disclose the circuit board has an outer peripheral surface provided with a cut-out recessed radially inward, and the conducting wire is wired from an upper surface side to a lower surface side of the circuit board through the cut-out, and is electrically connected to a circuit on the lower surface side of the circuit board.
ICHIOKA discloses a spindle motor with a similar construction to YAMASAKI, further disclosing a circuit board (5) has an outer peripheral surface provided with a cut-out (54) recessed radially inward, and the conducting wire (231) is wired from an upper surface side to a lower surface side of the circuit board (5) through the cut-out (54)(See paragraph [0031] “the wiring pattern 51 is formed on the lower surface of the circuit board 5”; See also Fig. 3), and is electrically connected to a circuit (wiring pattern 51) on the lower surface side of the circuit board (5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the motor of YAMASAKI with a single-sided circuit board similar to that of ICHIOKA.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide “the structure of the circuit board can be simplified. Further, since the structure of the circuit board can be simplified, the manufacturing cost can be reduced” (see paragraph [0043] of ICHIOKA).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-6394767-B1 Matsumoto discloses a blower with a resin part that encapsulates a stator and a circuit board 24, a casing 5a holding a bearing housing, a cover 6 configured to cover an opening formed in a lower end of the casing; and a lead wire 26 extending through a first protrusion; US-20060192448-A1 Hill discloses a blower with a resin part that encapsulates a circuit board 6, a casing 18 holding a bearing housing 17, a cover 19 configured to cover an opening formed in a lower end of the casing; and a lead wire extending through a first protrusion 14; US-20230039041-A1 KATSUKI discloses a blower with a resin part that encapsulates a stator and a circuit board 26, a casing 17 holding a bearing housing, a cover 12 configured to cover an opening formed in a lower end of the casing; and a lead wire extending through a first protrusion 15.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834