DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are currently pending.
Independent claim(s) 1 and 13 and dependent claim 10 have been amended by applicant’s amendments received 29 June 2026. No new matter has been introduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 8-10, filed 29 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Al-Alusi (US 20150198707 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied prior art in combination with newly found prior art found upon subsequent search.
Applicant’s arguments, in addition with the amendment of claims 1 and 13 to now reference “a plurality” of reference bitstreams instead of “a set” of reference bitstreams, are persuasive. Specifically, it is noted that in the referenced singular embodiment of Al-Alusi (US 20150198707 A1), the received echo signal is compared to a single reference signal (via a then multiply-shifted pattern) in a coarse stage of analysis which forms a set of reference signals. Upon discussion during the interview, and with subsequent consideration, Al-Alusi is found to discuss additional embodiments. One embodiment (as discussed on pg. 10 of Remarks) and in P[0154] of Al-Alusi discusses a system which emits multiple transmission signals and therefore collects multiple echo signals, which may have differing transmission patterns, and where each echo may be compared in the coarse stage. A further embodiment introduces fine and/or ultrafine stages of analysis. In some such embodiments, such as was noted in P[0067] – [0068] by the applicant, the fine stage determines an adjustment to the time of flight (TOF) found in the coarse stage. However, as described below in the updated rejection, a further embodiment is introduced which allows the ultrafine stage to essentially repeat the coarse stage, where the reference pattern is different in the two stages, and where the ultrafine stage may additionally incorporate multiple channels for the signal comparison. To one of ordinary skill in the art, this would readily be interpreted as comparing at least two different reference/stage patterns to the collected echo signal to determine a best correlation of the two signals based on phase and TOF and therefore yields a best correlated distance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Alusi (US 20150198707 A1) and in view of Liu (US 8644360 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Al-Alusi teaches a method and device, respectively, for determining a distance to a target ([0002]), said method comprising:
receiving a bitstream of binary digits corresponding to a variation in time of a time-varying signal ([0005], [0075]; Fig. 3A signal (322)) based on light transmitted by a light source being reflected by the target ([0005], [0040] where signals may be light and echo signals represent reflections off targets), wherein each binary digit in the bitstream is defined based on the time-varying signal at a time instance represented by the binary digit being above or below a threshold ([0005], [0075] - [0077]; Figs. 3A and 3B, where 'high values', for example above the axis, are returned as 1's and 'low values', below the horizontal axis, are returned as 0's.);
comparing the bitstream of binary digits to a stored reference bitstreams of binary digits, wherein each reference bitstream represents a distance to the target ([0007], [0079]; Fig. 3, where in a coarse stage an echo signal (226) is compared to receive patterns (306) to determine a time-of-flight which ultimately gives a distance to a target and where the receive pattern may ‘have one or more different waveforms that represent a different sequence of bits’);
and determining the distance to the target based on said comparing ([0040] - [0042], where distances are found to a target based on a time of flight determined when echo signals are compared to reference patterns),
wherein the comparing the bitstream of binary digits to the plurality of stored reference bitstreams of binary digits comprises determining a matching value for each stored reference bitstream based on bit-wise comparison, wherein the matching value represents similarity between the bitstream of binary digits and the stored reference bitstream, and wherein the bit-wise comparison comprises comparing the binary digits of the bitstream and the stored reference bitstream at corresponding positions and increasing the matching value when the binary digits are equal ([0067], [0071], [0080] - [0087]; Fig. 3, where an echo signal is digitized and compared to pattern signals bit-by-bit, and a match/mismatch between the two are assigned a correlation value which is increased for bits that match and reduced (or not increased) for bits which do not match; matching being determined if both bits are a “high” value or both are “low”).
Additionally in reference to claim 13, Al-Alusi teaches a processor ([0107]; Fig. 2, backend (202) includes a CPU (270) and baseband processing system (232)) configured for operating the method as described above.
Al-Alusi also teaches other embodiments which include fine and/or ultrafine stages in addition to the coarse stage. One embodiment allows the ultrafine stage to essentially repeat the coarse stage either in parallel or sequentially, specifically where the reference pattern used in the two stages may be different. Further, the ultrafine stage may specifically include two or more channels for comparison, where in one embodiment the channels are the Q and I channels of the receive pattern ([0040] - [0046], [0135] - [0136]). This would indicate that the system includes two stages which follow the process outlined for the coarse stage determination of checking a receive pattern to the echo data stream, where the receive patterns of the coarse and ultrafine stages may be the same or may be different, and where the different stage receive patterns relate to different ToF, phase, and therefore distance, measurements.
Liu teaches a system for transmitting and receiving variable pulse sequences, which may be utilized in systems such as ultrawideband (UWB) distance-measuring devices, where a distance to a target is based on comparing a plurality of reference signals to a received signal, determining a highest correlation between the return signal and the reference signals, and selecting the reference signals with the highest correlation in order to determine distance to a target (Col. 5, lines 30-60, Col. 6, lines 10-55; where one or more sets of reference signals are formed and are compared to a received pulse sequence, where correlation is found and used to determine a best fit reference signal and therefore determine a distance/position).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Al-Alusi to incorporate several of the embodiments presented, such that multiple stages of comparison between an echo signal and a reference signal to determine a best correlated reference, and therefore distance, value, and additionally incorporate the teachings of Liu to explicitly compare multiple reference signals to a returned signal to find a best fit comparison value with a reasonable expectation of success. As the adding of comparable (ultrafine) stages in addition to a coarse stage is already disclosed in Al-Alusi, repeating to find an ultimately best matched reference bitstream, where the reference bitstreams represent different TOFs, phase relationships and therefore distances, would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. This is further supported by the teachings of Liu, where it is noted that receivers which operate of correlation integration and a set of ADCs for bit comparison are powerful in terms of multi-path detection for high-performance systems (Col. 6, lines 10-30).
Regarding claim 2, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
detecting light transmitted by the light source being reflected by the target to form a detected signal and comparing the detected signal to a threshold for converting the detected signal to a binary digit ([0057], [0066], [0075]; Fig. 2, receiving antenna (206) detects echo from target and baseband processor (232) may convert the signals to bit values based on whether they are above/below the horizontal axis).
Regarding claim 3, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein
light being reflected by the target is mixed with light transmitted by the light source to form a mixed light signal and wherein detecting light comprises detecting the mixed light signal ([0058] - [0059]; Fig. 2, mixers (222A) and (222B) combines an echo signal with components of the transmitted signal).
Regarding claim 5, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein
an output from comparing the detected signal to the threshold is periodically sampled for forming the bitstream of binary digits ([0041], [0075]; baseband processor (232) may convert the signals to bit values based on whether they are above/below the horizontal axis at specific times).
Regarding claim 7, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein
the comparing the bitstream of binary digits to a set of stored reference bitstreams comprises parallel processing of the comparing of the bitstream of binary digits to each of the stored reference bitstreams ([0062], [0079] - [0082], [0088], [0137]; Fig. 12, where subsets of interest (308, 314) of the digitized echo (740) are compared to the reference receive patterns and may be processed simultaneously along parallel paths in the baseband processing system (1200)) .
Regarding claim 8, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein
for each stored reference bitstream, determining the matching value comprises determining a plurality of temporary matching values using said bit-wise comparison,
wherein the plurality of temporary matching values is determined for different shifts of binary digits of the bitstream to binary digits of the reference bitstream, wherein the matching value is determined based on the plurality of temporary matching values ([0071], [0081]; Fig. 3B, where correlation values are based on matching between the pulsed sequence and the subsets of the baseband echo signals for each bit in the sequence, where subsets may be shifted and may be temporary).
Regarding claim 9, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein
the different shifts of binary digits represent different phases of a period of the time-varying signal and wherein the matching values is determined based on a maximum of the plurality of temporary matching values within the period of the time-varying signal ([0069], [0081], [0088]; Fig. 3B, where correlation value of interest (312) is determined from correlation values and is generally the maximum correlation value, and the phases of the echoes may be resolved from the correlation values).
Regarding claim 10, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein
determining the distance to the target comprises selecting a reference bitstream among the plurality of reference bitstreams based on comparing the matching values of the plurality of reference bitstreams to each other ([0081], [0088]; Fig. 3B, where correlation value of interest (312) is determined from correlation values, and is generally chosen as the maximum correlation value).
Regarding claim 12, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a plurality of bitstreams of binary digits corresponding to spatially separate detections of light, wherein the plurality of bitstreams is processed in parallel ([0062]; Fig. 2 where baseband echo signals (226A) and (226B) may be processed simultaneously).
Regarding claim 14, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the device according to claim 13, further comprising:
a light source for transmitting light towards the target ([0049], [0058]; Fig. 2, front end transmitter (208) may include light source as transmitting antenna (204));
a mixer for mixing light reflected by the target and light transmitted by the light source for forming a mixed light signal ([0058] - [0059]; Fig. 2, mixers (222A) and (222B) combines an echo signal with components of the transmitted signal);
a detector for detecting the mixed light signal ([0062]; Fig. 2, receiving antenna (206));
and a comparator for comparing output from the detector to a threshold for converting output from the detector to a binary digit ([0066], [0075]; Fig. 2 baseband processor (232) may convert the signals to bit values based on whether they are above/below the horizontal axis).
Regarding claim 15, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the device according to claim 14, further comprising
a controller for controlling timing of the processor in relation to timing of a pulse transmitted by the light source ([0051] - [0053], [0070]; Fig. 1 control unit (112) controls timing of transmission, sensing apparatus, and calculation).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Alusi (US 20150198707 A1) in view of Liu (US 8644360 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thorpe et al. (hereinafter Thorpe, US 20200278432 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the method according to claim 3, where a variety of frequencies may be used, and that the system may have an output signal formed as a sine wave, but does not explicitly teach utilizing frequency modulated continuous waves (FMCW).
Thorpe teaches the light transmitted by the light source is a frequency modulated continuous wave, FMCW, signal comprising chirps during which frequency of the FMCW signal is increased ([0025] - [0027], [0039]); Fig. 2A where emitted signals (both local oscillator and reflected beam) are chirped).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Al-Alusi to incorporate the teachings of Thorpe to explicitly utilize FMCW emission of signals with a reasonable expectation of success. FMCW emission is well known in the art of LiDAR, where an interference signal (beat frequency) is based on the emitted and received signals indicates distance, and the system may additionally utilize comparing the measured beat frequency to candidate beat frequencies (Thorpe, [0005] – [0007]). Integration of FMCW into the system of Al-Alusi would have predictable results of determining distance based on a mixed signal, as the system of Al-Alusi already combines a reference and returned signals to compare or determine distance to a target.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Alusi (US 20150198707 A1) in view of Liu (US 8644360 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ueno et al. (US 20220082675 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Al-Alusi as modified above teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein determining the distance to the target further comprises selecting a plurality of reference bitstreams having largest matching values based on the largest matching values to determine the distance to the target with an improved resolution ([0088], [0092] - [0093], where multiple transmitted signals are used to find multiple sets of correlation values, which are grouped by common delay time, and therefore by common distance, and may be grouped via average, median, or other statistical measure of the correlation values, which may be used to determine separation distance more accurately than a single value). Al-Alusi does not explicitly teach using interpolation between peaks associated with difference reference bitstreams (which reflect different distances).
Ueno teaches using interpolation between peaks, which improves resolution ([0097] - [0101], where ranging systems such like LiDAR may use interpolation processes to determine peak times between two reference peaks to calculate a single distance value).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Al-Alusi to incorporate the teachings of Ueno to utilize interpolation between peaks, which are associated with plural correlation values representing the most likely distances to a target, to more reliably determine the distance with a reasonable expectation of success. As interpolation is a well-known mathematical process for data analysis, and as Ueno notes can be used to improve accuracy of determined distances in LIDAR systems, use of interpolation within the system of Al-Alusi would have a predictable result of further increasing the measured distance resolution of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The currently discussed prior art is made of record in addition to any references included in prior office actions.
Mertz et al. (US 20120262697 A1) teaches a measurement system which includes an RF modulation frequency, and where a returned signal is compared to a plurality of digital reference signals to determine an object distance.
Nagoya et al. (US 7865474B2) teaches a data processing system where a table of reference binary codes is compared to an input binary code of a received or returned value, and where a best fit reference code is selected based on comparison values.
Shirai et al. (US 20020186362 A1) teaches a distance measurement apparatus which uses a succession of pseudo random noise code signals, and the binary signal is sampled into received data such to find a correlation between the received data and the pseudo random noise code signal.
Masunaga et al. (US 4135815 A) teaches a range finding device where a returned signal/image is compared to a reference image bitwise by shifting the reference image to obtain a best fit and ultimately determine if an object is further than, at, or closer than a reference distance.
Baranova et al. (RU 2277714 C1) teaches a pulse-Doppler radiolocation station, which utilizes discontinuous pulsed emission and compares collected echo signals to a set of produced possible (modal) values, which are used as reference and matched in a coded way to the returned signal to select a distance value which is a best fit.
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645