DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tyler et al. (US 2019/0036101A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tyler discloses a sub-assembly configured to be connected to a first battery cell (current interrupt device, see Title, Abstract, Fig. 1-4), the sub-assembly comprising:
a first busbar configured to electrically connect the first battery cell to a second battery cell when the sub-assembly is connected to the first battery cell (bus bar 220 [0037]); and
a first thermal cut-off device (TCO) directly and physically connected to the first busbar (thermal trigger 230 coupled to the bus bar 220, thermal trigger 230 has a shape memory characteristic with a first configuration below a predetermined temperature and a second configuration at or above the predetermined temperature configured to interrupt current [0041]-[0044], Fig. 1-4).
Further regarding claim 1 reciting “the sub-assembly does not extend above a top surface of the first battery cell when the sub-assembly is connected to the first battery cell”, a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. In this case, the current interrupt device of Tyler is considered capable of performing the claimed intended function.
Regarding claim 2, Tyler discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tyler further discloses the sub-assembly further comprises a second positive tab connected directly to the first TCO (terminal 221 [0039]-[0041], Fig. 1-4).
Further regarding claim 2 reciting limitations directed to a battery cell (i.e., “the first battery cell comprises a first positive tab…, wherein the first positive tab is configured to be connected to the second positive tab”, a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. In this case, the current interrupt device of Tyler is considered capable of performing the claimed intended function.
Regarding claim 5, Tyler discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tyler further discloses the first busbar is a material comprising copper (bus bar made of copper [0018]) and the first TCO is the same material (thermal trigger includes copper [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Tyler discloses a battery pack (battery pack or battery module [0017], [0038]) comprising:
a first battery cell (electrochemical cell [0017], [0038]); and
a sub-assembly configured to be connected to the first battery cell (current interrupt device, see Title, Abstract, Fig. 1-4; bus bar connect to lead of an electrochemical cell [0017], [0038]), the sub-assembly comprising:
a first busbar configured to electrically connect the first battery cell to a second battery cell when the sub-assembly is connected to the first battery cell (bus bar connect to lead of an electrochemical cell and a system level busing of a battery pack or a battery module [0017], [0038]); and
a first thermal cut-off device (TCO) directly and physically connected to the first busbar (thermal trigger 230 coupled to the bus bar 220, thermal trigger 230 has a shape memory characteristic with a first configuration below a predetermined temperature and a second configuration at or above the predetermined temperature configured to interrupt current [0041]-[0044], Fig. 1-4).
Further regarding claim 6 reciting “the sub-assembly does not extend above a top surface of the first battery cell when the sub-assembly is connected to the first battery cell”, a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. In this case, the current interrupt device of Tyler is capable of being connected to a first battery cell such that the current interrupt device would not extend above a top surface of the first battery cell.
Regarding claim 7, Tyler discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tyler further discloses the sub-assembly further comprises a second positive tab connected directly to the first TCO (terminal 221 [0039]-[0041], Fig. 1-4), wherein the first positive tab is configured to be connected to the second positive tab (bus bar connect to lead of an electrochemical cell and a system level busing of a battery pack or a battery module [0017], [0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Tyler discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tyler further discloses the first busbar is a material comprising copper (bus bar made of copper [0018]) and the first TCO is the same material (thermal trigger includes copper [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler et al. (US 2019/0036101A1), as applied to claims 1-2, 5-7, 10 above.
Regarding claim 3, Tyler discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tyler further discloses the sub-assembly is further configured to be connected to a third battery cell, the sub-assembly further comprising: a second busbar configured to electrically connect the second battery cell to the third battery cell; and a second TCO connected directly to the second busbar, wherein the sub-assembly does not extend above a top surface of the second battery cell when the sub-assembly is connected to the second battery cell (see Fig. 1-4).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time to incorporate a second busbar and a second TCO connected directly to the second busbar because a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Further regarding claim 3 reciting limitations directed to battery cell(s) (i.e., “the sub-assembly is further configured to be connected to a third battery cell, the sub-assembly further comprising: a second busbar configured to electrically connect the second battery cell to the third battery cell; and a second TCO connected directly to the second busbar, wherein the sub-assembly does not extend above a top surface of the second battery cell when the sub-assembly is connected to the second battery cell”, a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. In this case, the current interrupt device of Tyler is considered capable of performing the claimed intended function.
Regarding claim 4, Tyler discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tyler further discloses the second battery cell comprises a first positive tab, and wherein the sub-assembly further comprises a second positive tab connected directly to the second TCO, wherein the first positive tab is configured to be connected to the second positive tab (terminal 221 [0039]-[0041], Fig. 1-4).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time to incorporate a second busbar and a second TCO connected directly to the second busbar because a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 8, Tyler discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tyler further discloses a second busbar configured to electrically connect the second battery cell to the third battery cell; and a second TCO connected directly to the second busbar, wherein the sub-assembly does not extend above a top surface of the second battery cell when the sub-assembly is connected to the second battery cell (terminal 221 [0039]-[0041], Fig. 1-4), wherein the first positive tab is configured to be connected to the second positive tab (bus bar connect to lead of an electrochemical cell and a system level busing of a battery pack or a battery module [0017], [0038]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time to incorporate a second busbar and a second TCO connected directly to the second busbar because a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Further regarding claim 8 reciting limitations directed to battery cell(s) (i.e., “wherein the sub-assembly does not extend above a top surface of the second battery cell when the sub-assembly is connected to the second battery cell”, a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115. In this case, the current interrupt device of Tyler is capable of being connected to a second battery cell in the claimed manner.
Regarding claim 9, Tyler discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Tyler further discloses the second battery cell comprises a first positive tab, and wherein the sub-assembly further comprises a second positive tab connected directly to the second TCO, wherein the first positive tab is configured to be connected to the second positive tab (terminal 221 [0039]-[0041], Fig. 1-4).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time to incorporate a second busbar and a second TCO connected directly to the second busbar because a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 2/3/2026