DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CRF 1.114
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 02/03/2026, claims 1, 3, 10, and 16 have been amended, claims 21 and 22 are cancelled, and new claims 23 and 24 are added. Claims 4 and 5 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-3, 6-20, 23, and 24 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US 2021/0038034, cited on 01/30/2023 IDS, hereinafter Na), in view of Ma et al. (CN 109394087A, hereinafter Ma), and Yoneyama et al. (US 2012/0274282, hereinafter Yoneyama).
Regarding claim 1, Na discloses a docking station for a mobile cleaning robot (fig. 1 station 1), the docking station comprising:
a base configured to receive at least a portion of the mobile cleaning robot (fig. 3, a base receives a portion of a robot cleaner 100), the base including an electrical power interface configured to provide electrical power to the mobile cleaning robot (see annotated Na fig. 1 below), the electrical power interface includes a pair of dock charging contacts connected to the base and configured to engage the robot charging contacts when the mobile cleaning robot is docked on the base (see annotated Na fig. 1 below and fig. 3, charging terminals 39 [correspond to the recited dock charging contacts] engage charging contacts of the robot cleaner when the robot cleaner is docked on the base); and
a canister connected to the base and located at least partially above the base (see annotated Na fig. 1 below), the canister comprising: a debris bin to receive debris from the mobile cleaning robot (fig. 2 and ¶ 0039, the canister comprises a dust container 10 which receives dust from the robot cleaner 100), but does not disclose the dock charging contacts movable between a retracted position and an extended position, the dock charging contacts engageable with the robot charging contacts when in the extended position, and a switch connected to the base and engageable with a body or one or more wheels of the mobile cleaning robot when the mobile cleaning robot is located on the base.
Ma teaches, in an analogous docking station for mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, the dock charging contacts movable between a retracted position and an extended position, the dock charging contacts engageable with the robot charging contacts when in the extended position, and a switch connected to the base and engageable with a body or one or more wheels of the mobile cleaning robot when the mobile cleaning robot is located on the base (Ma English translation, p. 4:24-36 and figs. 1-4, when a robot moves to a pressing plate 4 [corresponds to the recited switch] of a charging base, a telescopic rod 16 [corresponds to the recited dock charging contact] extends out from the charging base to a charging interface of a robot to charge a battery of the robot. When the robot leaves the pressing plate 4 of the charging base, the telescopic rod is retracted to the charging base).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the switch and to have modified the dock charging contacts to be retractable as taught by Ma so that the dock charging contacts are retracted within a main body of the charging station to protect the dock charging contacts from damage and dust collection which may affect efficiency of charging.
Na as modified by Ma does not disclose a contact mechanism connected to the base, the contact mechanism comprising: a pair of supports connected to the base to secure the contact mechanism to the base; a pair of linkages connected to the dock charging contacts and rotatably connected to the supports; a pair of arms connected to the switch and connected to the linkages by a pair of pins; and a pair of biasing elements secured to the pins and engaged with the linkages, the biasing elements are configured to bias the dock charging contacts towards the retracted position.
Yoneyama teaches, in the charging device field of endeavor and capable solving primary problem, a contact mechanism connected to the base, the contact mechanism comprising: a pair of supports connected to the base to secure the contact mechanism to the base; a pair of linkages connected to the dock charging contacts and rotatably connected to the supports; a pair of arms connected to the switch and connected to the linkages by a pair of pins; and a pair of biasing elements secured to the pins and engaged with the linkages, the biasing elements are configured to bias the dock charging contacts towards the retracted position (¶ 0037, a charging device comprises an actuator button 98 used for extending/retracting the charging contacts 118, 122. A pair of walls 100 [correspond to the recited supports] is connected to an interior chamber 56 [corresponds to the recited base] as shown in fig. 6. A pair of linkages, a pair of arms, and a pair of biasing elements are defined as shown in annotated Yoneyama fig. 7 below. As the actuator button 98 is pressed the pins 102, the biasing elements, and the linkages rotate. The biasing elements help moving the charging contacts in an extended position and a retracted position as shown in figs. 15A and 15B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Ma to provide the bias overcoming switch as taught by Yoneyama so that the charging contacts can be quickly available for charging a device.
Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama teaches when the switch is engaged by the mobile cleaning robot, the arms move to overcome a biasing force of the biasing elements; and wherein, when the biasing force is overcome, the linkages rotate to move the dock charging contacts from the retracted position to the extended position (Ma English translation, p. 4:24-36 and figs. 1-2, when a roller 11 [corresponds to the recited wheel] of a robot moves to a pressing plate 4 [corresponds to the recited switch] of a charging base, a telescopic rod 16 [corresponds to the recited dock charging contact] is activated; Yoneyama ¶ 0037 and annotated Yoneyama fig. 7 below, the cradle charging contacts in a form of wedge or arrow-shaped portions 118, 122 are moveable by a spring action of the biasing elements as a frame 88 including the recited arms pivots in response to depression of a button 98. Thus, the activation of the button can overcome bias of the charging contacts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama to provide the bias overcoming switch as taught by Yoneyama so that the charging contacts can be quickly available for charging a device.
Annotated Na Fig. 1
Annotated Yoneyama Fig. 7
Regarding claim 2, Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the base defines a pair of wheel wells configured to receive respective drive wheels of the mobile cleaning robot therein to align robot charging contacts of the mobile cleaning robot with the electrical power interface of the base (see annotated Na fig. 1 above and fig. 3, the base has a pair of wheel wells; ¶ 0059-60, when the robot cleaner 100 is connected to the station 1, a battery of the robot cleaner is charged through charging terminals 32).
Regarding claim 6, Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the dock charging contacts are biased to the retracted position (annotated Yoneyama fig. 7 above, figs. 15A, 15B and ¶ 0044, in a charging device, a charging contact 118, 120 is retracted as the recited biasing element is biased).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dock charging contacts of Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama to be biased to retract the charging contacts as taught by Yoneyama so that the charging contacts are placed in correct positions based on the charging state of the device.
Regarding claim 7, Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 6, wherein the switch is engageable with a wheel of the mobile cleaning robot (Ma English translation, p. 4:24-36 and figs. 1-2, when a roller 11 [corresponds to the recited wheel] of a robot moves to a pressing plate 4 [corresponds to the recited switch] of a charging base, a telescopic rod 16 [corresponds to the recited dock charging contact] extends out from the charging base to a charging interface of a robot to charge a battery of the robot), and engagement of the switch overcomes bias of the dock charging contacts (Yoneyama ¶ 0037, the cradle charging contacts in a form of wedge or arrow-shaped portions 118, 120 are moveable as a frame 88 pivots in response to depression of a button 98. Thus, the activation of the button can overcome bias of the charging contacts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama to provide the bias overcoming switch as taught by Yoneyama so that the charging contacts can be quickly available for charging a device.
Regarding claim 14, Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising: an evacuation fan connected to the canister and connectable to the mobile cleaning robot to evacuate debris from a debris bin of the mobile cleaning robot to a debris bag of the canister (Na, ¶ 0039 and fig. 3, the station 1 includes a driver 20 [corresponds to the recited evacuation fan] which exerts suction force to collect foreign substance collected in the robot cleaner 100 to a dust bag 200 disposed in the dust container 10).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US 2021/0038034, cited on 01/30/2023 IDS, hereinafter Na), in view of Gao et al. (CN 112971633A, hereinafter Gao ‘633), Hackert et al. (EP 3725206A1), and Duan (CN 113133721A).
Regarding claim 16, Na discloses a docking station for a mobile cleaning robot (fig. 1 station 1), the docking station comprising:
a base configured to receive at least a portion of the mobile cleaning robot (fig. 3, a base receives a portion of a robot cleaner 100), the base including an electrical power interface configured to provide electrical power to the mobile cleaning robot (see annotated Na fig. 1 above);
a canister connected to the base and located at least partially above the base (see annotated Na fig. 1 above), the canister comprising: a debris bin located in a debris compartment to receive debris from the mobile cleaning robot (fig. 2 and ¶ 0039, the canister comprises a dust container 10 in a debris compartment which receives dust from the robot cleaner 100); and
a door connected to the canister and movable between an open position and a closed position (¶ 0042 and figs. 3 and 7A, a cover member 50 [corresponds to the recited door] is connected to the canister and movable between an open position and a closed position), but does not disclose the canister comprises a tank compart, a debris compartment separate from the tank compartment, and a fluid tank connected to the canister to deliver cleaning fluid to the mobile cleaning robot.
Gao ‘633 teaches, in an analogous docking station for mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, the canister comprises a tank compartment, a debris compartment separate from the tank compartment, and a fluid tank connected to the canister to deliver cleaning fluid to the mobile cleaning robot (Gao ‘633 English translation, p. 27:9-23 and 27:31-37 and fig. 11, a base station 2 [corresponds to the recited docking station] comprises a separating box 213 in a space between a liquid storage cavity 212 [corresponds to the recited tank compartment] and a sewage collecting cavity 201. The space is the recited debris compartment. The liquid storage cavity 212 [corresponds to the recited tank compartment] is for using water with a cleaning machine 1 [corresponds to the recited mobile cleaning robot]. Therefore, there is a debris compartment separate from a tank compartment in the canister).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na to provide the separate debris compartment and fluid tank as taught by Gao ‘633 so that water can be used for cleaning a cleaning piece of the robot cleaner (Gao ‘633 English translation, p. 10:25-37) and a single base supports the dry and wet cleaning.
Na as modified by Gao ‘633 still does not disclose both the tank compartment and the debris compartment are user-accessible through a front portion of the canister when the door is in the open position and the fluid tank is slidably insertable into the tank compartment through the front portion of the canister.
Hackert teaches, in an analogous docking station field of endeavor, both the tank compartment and the debris compartment are user-accessible through a front portion of the canister when the door is in the open position and the fluid tank is slidably insertable into the tank compartment through the front portion of the canister (Hackert English translation, p. 16:1-5 and figs. 2, 3A-C, a container 50G [corresponds to the recited canister] can accommodate a vacuum robot 20. The container comprises a flap 10D [corresponds to the recited door] which opens through a front portion of the container 50G. The open position of the flap 10D allows inserting a filter device. The Na’s cover member can be replaced by the Hackert’s flap. By combining Hackert with Na and Gao ‘633, the fluid tank of Na can be slidably inserted into the tank compartment through the front portion of the container).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Gao ‘633 to provide the front accessible door as taught by Hackert in order to install or remove cleaning components conveniently.
Na as modified by Gao ‘633 and Hackert does not disclose a fill spout connected to the canister and fluidly connected to the fluid tank; and an actuator connected to the canister and operatively connected to the fill spout, wherein the actuator is configured to move the fill spout between a stored position within the canister and an extended position extending from the canister; wherein the fill spout is configured to engage the mobile cleaning robot to deliver cleaning fluid to the mobile cleaning robot in the extended position.
Duan teaches, in an analogous docking station for mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, a fill spout connected to the canister and fluidly connected to the fluid tank; and an actuator connected to the canister and operatively connected to the fill spout, wherein the actuator is configured to move the fill spout between a stored position within the canister and an extended position extending from the canister; wherein the fill spout is configured to engage the mobile cleaning robot to deliver cleaning fluid to the mobile cleaning robot in the extended position (figs. 3-6, 15 and Duan English translation, p. 8:11-31, 9:1-32, a canister of a base 20 [corresponds to the recited docking station] has a water storage tank 24. A driving mechanism 50 [corresponds to the recited actuator] controls water supply to a robot and moves a position of a water adding head 23[corresponds to the recited fill spout]. The water adding head 23, in an extended position, is connected to the water storage tank 24 and inserted into a water inlet 11 of a floor sweeping robot to deliver water to a water tank 10 of the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Gao ‘633 and Hackert to provide the fill spout connected to the fluid tank as taught by Duan so that the robot can return to the docking station to refill water automatically. It solves a problem of having small amount of cleaning water to use for a robot without water refilling docking station (Duan English translation, abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Na as modified by Gao ‘633, Hackert, and Duan teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 16, further comprising: an evacuation fan connected to the canister and connectable to the mobile cleaning robot to evacuate debris from a debris bin of the mobile cleaning robot to a debris bag of the canister (Na, ¶ 0039 and fig. 3, as discussed in claim 14 above, the station 1 includes a driver 20 [corresponds to the recited evacuation fan] which exerts suction force to collect foreign substance collected in the robot cleaner 100 to a dust bag 200 disposed in the dust container 10).
Regarding claim 18, Na as modified by Gao ‘633, Hackert, and Duan teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 17, further comprising a bag drawer is slidably insertable into a bag compartment of the canister between an open position and a closed position (Gao ‘633 English translation, p. 29:1-3 and figs. 11, 14-16, a separation box 213 [corresponds to the bag drawer] is detachably mounted in a space between a liquid storage cavity 212 and a sewage collecting cavity 201. The space can be considered as a bag compartment. The detached separation box is considered to be in an open position and the mounted separation box is considered to be in a closed position), the bag drawer is configured to releasably receive the debris bag therein (Na, fig. 9B and ¶ 0067, a dust bag 200 is mountable in the dust container 10 [corresponds to the recited bag drawer]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Gao ‘633 to provide the insertable bag drawer as taught by Gao ‘633 so that a user can take off the bag drawer for dumping debris (Gao ‘633 English translation, p. 29:1-3).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Ma and Yoneyama, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Liang et al. (US 2021/0127923, hereinafter Liang).
Regarding claim 3, Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 2, but does not disclose a pair of wheel switches located in the pair of wheel wells, respectively, the pair of wheel switches independently engageable by respective drive wheels when the drive wheels are positioned in respective ones of the wheel wells to produce independent docking signals; wherein a controller is configured to control the dock charging contacts to move to the extended position only when both of the pair of wheel switches produce docking signals indicating that the drive wheels are properly positioned in their respective wheel wells.
Liang teaches, in an analogous docking station for mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, a pair of wheel switches located in the pair of wheel wells, respectively, the pair of wheel switches independently engageable by respective drive wheels when the drive wheels are positioned in respective ones of the wheel wells to produce independent docking signals; wherein a controller is configured to control the dock charging contacts to move to the extended position only when both of the pair of wheel switches produce docking signals indicating that the drive wheels are properly positioned in their respective wheel wells (¶ 0031 and fig. 12, a base of a docking station 700 has a pair of grooves 720 [correspond to the recited wheel wells], in which pressure sensors 713 are mounted. When wheels of a cleaning robot 100 are positioned in the grooves, a controller allows a suction device of the docking station start to suck trash. Thus, activation of the pressure sensors produces signals for the docking station to activate. By combining Liang with Na, Ma, and Yoneyama, when a pair of wheels are positioned in the wheel wells, the pressing plate of Ma can be pressed by replacing the sensor of Liang with the pressing plate of Ma, and it would extend the charging contacts of Yoneyama).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Ma to provide the wheel switches as taught by Liang so that the docking station can empty dust collected in the robot cleaner automatically when the robot cleaner is connected to the docking station.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Ma and Yoneyama, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Lee et al. (KR 100762095B1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 8, Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose a pair of magnets associated with respective ones of the dock charging contacts and attractable to the robot charging contacts, respectively.
Lee teaches, in an analogous docking station for mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, a pair of magnets associated with respective ones of the dock charging contacts and attractable to the robot charging contacts, respectively (Lee English translation, p. 6:18-23 and fig. 2, a docking structure 140 has a pair of permanent magnets 131 which attract a charging contact 220 of a robot cleaner 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama to provide the pair of magnets as taught by Lee in order to make sure charging contacts are coupled correctly so that charging is always executed properly.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Ma and Yoneyama, as applied to claim 1 above respectively, in view of Gao ‘633.
Regarding claim 9, Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose a fluid tank connected to the canister to deliver cleaning fluid to the mobile cleaning robot.
Gao ‘633 teaches, in an analogous docking station for mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, a fluid tank connected to the canister to deliver cleaning fluid to the mobile cleaning robot (Gao ‘633 English translation, p. 27:9-23 and fig. 11, a base station 2 [corresponds to the recited docking station] comprises a liquid storage cavity 212 to use water with a cleaning machine 1 [corresponds to the recited mobile cleaning robot]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama to provide the fluid tank as taught by Gao ‘633 so that water can be used for cleaning a cleaning piece of the robot cleaner (Gao ‘633 English translation, p. 10:25-37).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Ma, Yoneyama, and Gao ‘633, as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Duan and Shi et al. (CN 207092021U, hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claim 10, Na as modified by Ma, Yoneyama, and Gao ‘633 teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 9, but does not disclose a fill spout connected to the canister and fluidly connected to the fluid tank, the fill spout insertable into a portion of the mobile cleaning robot to deliver cleaning fluid from the fluid tank to the mobile cleaning robot, wherein in an extended position, the fill spout is configured to be inserted into a portion of the mobile cleaning robot.
Duan teaches, in an analogous docking station for mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, a fill spout connected to the canister and fluidly connected to the fluid tank, the fill spout insertable into a portion of the mobile cleaning robot to deliver cleaning fluid from the fluid tank to the mobile cleaning robot, wherein in an extended position, the fill spout is configured to be inserted into a portion of the mobile cleaning robot. (figs. 3-6, 15 and Duan English translation, p. 8:11-31, a canister of a base 20 [corresponds to the recited docking station] has a water storage tank 24. A water adding head 23 [corresponds to the recited fill spout] is connected to the water storage tank 24 and inserted into a water inlet 11 of a floor sweeping robot to deliver water to a water tank 10 of the robot, in an extended position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Ma, Yoneyama, and Gao ‘633 to provide the fill spout connected to the fluid tank as taught by Duan so that the robot can return to the docking station to refill water automatically. It solves a problem of having small amount of cleaning water to use for a robot without water refilling docking station (Duan English translation, abstract).
Na as modified by Ma, Yoneyama, Gao ‘633, and Duan does not disclose the fill spout is rotatably connected to the canister and actuated by a rotating cam to move between a stored position within the canister and an extended position extending from the canister.
Shi teaches, in a mechanical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the fill spout is rotatably connected to the canister and actuated by a rotating cam to move between a stored position within the canister and an extended position extending from the canister (Shi English translation, p. 4:12-17, 5:8-14 and figs.7-8, Shi discloses a lock device comprising a lock member 2 moves between a vertical position and a horizontal position due to a rotating action of a cam 6. The fill spout can be considered as a shaft. While Duan teaches the fill spout connected to the canister extends and retracts in supplying water to a cleaning robot, the fill spout shaft can be rotatably connected to the canister as taught by Shi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Ma, Yoneyama, Gao ‘633, and Duan to provide the rotating cam as taught by Shi as an alternative mechanism for moving the shaft/fill spout. The cam may provide synchronous motion of connected components for smooth operation (Shi English translation, p. 2:28-31). While Duan teaches the extended and retracted position of the fill spout for the cleaning robot, alternative mechanism can be used for the same operation. Specification of the instant application states the rotating cam is an optional mechanism for an actuator (¶ 0060).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Ma, Yoneyama, and Gao ‘633, as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Hackert.
Regarding claim 11, Na as modified by Ma, Yoneyama, and Gao ‘633 teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 9, but does not disclose the fluid tank is insertable through a front portion of the canister.
Hackert teaches, in an analogous docking station field of endeavor, the fluid tank is insertable through a front portion of the canister (Hackert English translation, p. 16:1-5 and figs. 2, 3A-C, the container 50G [corresponds to the recited canister] comprises the flap 10D [corresponds to the recited door] which opens through a front portion of the container 50G. The open position of the flap 10D allows inserting a filter device. By combining Hackert with Na and Gao ‘633, the fluid tank of Na can be inserted into the tank compartment through the front portion of the container).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Ma, Yoneyama, and Gao ‘633 to provide the front accessible door as taught by Hackert in order to install or remove cleaning components conveniently.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Ma, Yoneyama, Gao ‘633, and Hackert, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Gao et al. (CN 213665090U, hereinafter Gao ‘090).
Regarding claim 12, Na as modified by Ma, Yoneyama, Gao ‘633, and Hackert teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 11, but does not disclose a fill valve connected to the fluid tank and engageable with a port of the canister to move the fill valve to an open position when the fluid tank is secured to the canister.
Gao ‘090 teaches, in an analogous docking station for mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, a fill valve connected to the fluid tank and engageable with a port of the canister to move the fill valve to an open position when the fluid tank is secured to the canister (figs. 5, 6 and Gao ‘090 English translation, p. 5:15-21 and p. 10:23-27, a water tank 200 of a robot cleaner has a discharge port valve 234 [corresponds to the recited fill valve]. The valve 234 is engaged with a connecting nozzle 120 [corresponds to the recited port] of a water tank shell 100 [corresponds to the recited canister]. The valve 234 opens when the water tank 200 is secured to the water tank shell 100. The disclosed structures of Gao ‘090 is for a robot cleaner, instead of docking station, however, the teaching of connecting the valve and port for filling water to the water tank is readily applicable to fluid tank of the docking station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Ma, Yoneyama, Gao ‘633, and Hackert to provide the fill valve as taught by Gao ‘090 so that water tank is filled only when the water tank is in a correctly mounted position.
Regarding claim 13, Na as modified by Ma, Yoneyama, Gao ‘633, Hackert, and Gao ‘090 teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein the port of the canister is secured by a brace (Gao ‘090, figs. 15a-c, an insertion part sealing piece 130 [corresponds to the recited brace] helps the connecting nozzle 120 [corresponds to the recited port] to be placed securely when the discharge port valve 234 [corresponds to the recited fill valve] of the water tank 200 is engaged).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Na as modified by Ma, Yoneyama, Gao ‘633, Hackert, and Gao ‘090 to provide the brace as taught by Gao ‘090. It helps the port to fit well so that no water leaks to the outside (Gao ‘090 English translation, p. 10:2-6).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Ma and Yoneyama, as applied to claim 14, in view of Chang et al. (KR 101496913B1, hereinafter Chang).
Regarding claim 15, Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 14, but does not disclose an evacuation discharge connected to a discharge side of the evacuation fan and extending through the canister, the evacuation discharge configured to discharge evacuation air toward the base.
Chang teaches, in an analogous docking station for mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, an evacuation discharge connected to a discharge side of the evacuation fan and extending through the canister, the evacuation discharge configured to discharge evacuation air toward the base (figs. 4-5 and Chang English translation, p. 5:15-31, a discharge duct 64a, 64b [corresponds to the recited evacuation discharge] is connected to a discharge side of a pump unit 62 and is extended through a canister of a docking station 2. Evacuation air is discharged through an exhaust port 58a, 58b, 59a, 59b disposed on a base of the docking station 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama to provide the evacuation discharge as taught by Chang. Because the suction port and the exhaust port are disposed close to each other on the base, air can be circulated in a closed loop so that no dust escape the docking station (Chang English translation, p. 6:3-7).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Gao ‘633, Hackert, and Duan, as applied to claim 18 above, and in further view of Lauer et al. (US 2019/0223669, hereinafter Lauer).
Regarding claim 19, Na as modified by Gao ‘633, Hackert, and Duan teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 18, but does not disclose the bag drawer includes a seal connected to an inner front face of the bag drawer, the seal engageable with the bag compartment to seal the bag drawer when the bag drawer is in the closed position.
Lauer teaches, in an analogous docking station field of endeavor, the bag drawer includes a seal connected to an inner front face of the bag drawer, the seal engageable with the bag compartment to seal the bag drawer when the bag drawer is in the closed position (figs. 6A, 7A, 8 and ¶ 0047-49, 0062, 0090, a dust collection box 36 in a docking station comprises a container 2020 having a lid 1022. The lid 1022 is surrounded by a rubber seal 1036. When the lid 1022 is pivoted to its closed position, it seals a large aperture of the container 1020. Thus, Lauer teaches a debris bin in a docking station can have a seal that seals the structure when the debris bin is in a closed position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified docking station of Na as modified by Gao ‘633, Hackert, and Duan to provide the seal as taught by Lauer so that air passes only through an intended path (Lauer ¶ 0062).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Gao ‘633, Hackert, Duan and Lauer, as applied to claim 19 above, and in further view of Chang.
Regarding claim 20, Na as modified by Gao ‘633, Hackert, Duan, and Lauer teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 19, but does not disclose an evacuation discharge connected to a discharge of the bag drawer and extending through the canister, the evacuation discharge configured to discharge evacuation air toward the base.
Chang teaches, in the analogous docking station for mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, an evacuation discharge connected to a discharge of the bag drawer and extending through the canister, the evacuation discharge configured to discharge evacuation air toward the base (figs. 4-5 and Chang English translation, p. 5:15-31, a discharge duct 64a, 64b [corresponds to the recited evacuation discharge] is connected to a discharge side of a dust discharge tube 65 [corresponds to the recited bag drawer] and is extended through a canister of a docking station 2. Evacuation air is discharged through an exhaust port 58a, 58b, 59a, 59b disposed on a base of the docking station 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Gao ‘633, Hackert, Duan, and Lauer to provide the evacuation discharge as taught by Chang. Because the suction port and the exhaust port are disposed close to each other on the base, air can be circulated in a closed loop so that no dust escape the docking station (Chang English translation, p. 6:3-7).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Ma and Yoneyama, as applied to claim 1 above respectively, in view of Namou et al. (US 2018/0056799, hereinafter Namou).
Regarding claim 23, Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the dock charging contacts are connected to the linkages via a pair of armatures.
Namou teaches, in a charging system field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the dock charging contacts are connected to the linkages via a pair of armatures (fig. 1 and ¶ 0023, a charging end 39 is connected with an armature 35. The contact mechanism of Yoneyama can be combined with Namou to include the armature between the charging contact and the linkage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the contact mechanism of Na as modified by Ma and Yoneyama to provide the armature as taught by Namou. The armature is useful for charging with AC-DC conversion (Namou ¶ 0007).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na in view of Gao ‘633, Hackert, and Duan, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Shi.
Regarding claim 24, Na as modified by Gao ‘633, Hackert, and Duan teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 16, but does not disclose the fill spout is rotatably connected to the canister; and wherein the actuator is a rotating cam rotatably connected to the canister and the fill spout.
Shi teaches, in a mechanical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the fill spout is rotatably connected to the canister; and wherein the actuator is a rotating cam rotatably connected to the canister and the fill spout (Shi English translation, p. 4:12-17, 5:8-14 and figs.7-8, Shi discloses a lock device comprising a lock member 2 moves between a vertical position and a horizontal position due to a rotating action of a cam 6. The fill spout can be considered as a shaft. While Duan teaches the fill spout connected to the canister extends and retracts in supplying water to a cleaning robot, the fill spout shaft can be rotatably connected to the canister as taught by Shi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Na as modified by Gao ‘633, Hackert, and Duan to provide the rotatably connected fill spout by the rotating cam as taught by Shi as an alternative mechanism for moving the shaft/fill spout. The cam may provide synchronous motion of connected components for smooth operation (Shi English translation, p. 2:28-31). While Duan teaches the extended and retracted position of the fill spout for the cleaning robot, alternative mechanism can be used for the same operation. Specification of the instant application states the rotating cam is an optional mechanism for an actuator (¶ 0060).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Na and Ma do not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations regarding the contact mechanism. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The components such as the pair of supports, the pair of linkages, and the pair of arms were recited in dependent claims 21 and 22 previously, and Yoneyama was cited for teaching the recited components. Regarding the amended claim limitations of the contact mechanism, Yoneyama still teaches the claim limitations. Please see the rejection of claim 1 and annotated Yoneyama fig. 7 above.
Applicant also argues Yoneyama is not an analogous art. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yoneyama does not present a docking station, but it teaches a charging contact that moves between positions by activating a switch. Therefore, the Yoneyama reference is pertinent to the problem needs to be solved.
Applicant argues Na and Gao ‘633 do not teach or suggest the amened claim limitations that the canister comprises the tank compartment and the debris compartment, and the door allows accessing both the tank compartment and the debris compartment through a front portion of the canister. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner previously stated it was an obvious design choice to have the door at the top of the canister because a user still could access the compartments from the top of the canister. Although the compartments can be accessed from any direction of the canister, Examiner newly cites Hackert for clarity of the rejection. Hackert presents a charging base having a front door for accessing a filter inside the base. By combining with Na and Gao ‘633, Hackert teaches the tank compartment and the debris compartment are accessible through the front portion of the canister.
Applicant argues Na and Gao ‘633 do not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations of claim 16 that the fill spout moves between the stored position and the extended position. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The recited claim limitation was claimed in dependent claim 10 previously. Duan teaches the water adding head 23 [corresponds to the recited fill spout] moves between the stored position and the extended position.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shi.
Applicant argues Na, Ma, Gao ‘633, and Duan do not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that the fill spout moves between the stored position and the extended position actuated by a rotating cam. Examiner acknowledges Duan teaches the driving mechanism 50 moves the fill spout, but does not disclose that the driving mechanism is a rotating cam.
Shi teaches a mechanical device which moves a shaft between a horizontal position and a vertical position by actuating a rotating cam. Shi does not disclose a docking station, however, while Duan teaches the fill spout coupled with the canister and the fill spout moves between the stored position and the extended position, the rotatable fill spout can be considered as a shaft which is rotatably connected to a body and is actuated by a rotating cam. Therefore, Shi teaches the shaft which is equivalent to the water adding head of Duan can be actuated by the rotating cam.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qi et al. (CN 213216463U) teaches a water tank which can be pushed and retracted by actuation of a rotating cam.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723