DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Applicant’s response filed on 1/25/2026 was received and considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 1/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that the cited art does not teach or suggest the claimed limitations. Claim 1 recites “implementing, by a first device, at least a portion of a single round=trip communication between the first device and a second device, the single round-trip communication comprising” and “receiving by the first device, a message from the second device via the secure session, the message being encrypted by a second session key locally generated by the second device for use in the single round-trip communication, the generated first session key being a duplicate of the second session key." Examiner respectfully disagrees as Sullivan discloses a single round-trip communication as claimed by applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 13-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan et at. (US-11785449-B2) in view of Fadaie et al. (US-20150358158-A1).
In regards to claim 1, Sullivan teaches a method, comprising: implementing, by a first device, at least a portion of a single round-trip communication between the first device and a second device, the single round-trip communication comprising (Sullivan: Col 1. lines 35 – 67, forming a communication channel between a user device (second device) and an access device (first device)).
retrieving, by the first device, a public key of the second device (Sullivan: Col 12. lines 32 – 37, the communication channel securing module 208B of the access device (fig. 2b) can generate a primary communication channel session key using a received user device public key).
and generating, by the first device, a first session key, by applying a key derivation function to the public key of the second device (Sullivan: For example, the communication channel securing module 208B, in conjunction with the processor 204, can generate a primary communication channel session key using a received user device public key and the access device ephemeral private key (which can be generated by the access device 200). [Col 12, lines 26-37].
establishing, by the first device, a secure session with the second device based at least in part on generating the generated first session key (Sullivan: Col 12, lines 37 – 43, the primary communication channel session key can be utilized to encrypt messages that are to be sent to the user device);
receiving, by the first device, a message from the second device via the secure session, the message being encrypted by a second session key locally generated by the second device for use in the single round-trip communication, the generated first session key being a duplicate of the second session key (Sullivan: Col 14. Lines 48 – 54, The primary communication channel session key can be utilized to encrypt messages that are to be sent to the access device, where the access device can decrypt the messages using the same primary communication channel session key that is derived by the access device based on the access device ephemeral private key and the user device public key); and
decrypting, by the first device, the message using the generated first session key (Sullivan: Col 14. Lines 48 – 54, The primary communication channel session key can be utilized to encrypt messages that are to be sent to the access device, where the access device can decrypt the messages using the same primary communication channel session key).
But, Sullivan does not explicitly disclose that the public key of the second device is retrieved from a third device.
However, Fadaie in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for securely sharing information between client devices that discloses retrieving, by the first device, a public key of the second device from a third device (Fadaie: In one embodiment, the client device 110a obtains the public key by searching the directory service or the database for the user-friendly contact information in order to find the public key for the client device 110b [Fig Fig1; Para 32].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the public key retrieved from the user device as taught by Sullivan with the public key retrieved from the database as taught by Fadaie. The motivation to do so would be to yield the predictable results of generating a session key. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to apply another layer of security by including a third party for providing the public key.
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Sullivan and Fadaie teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving an identifier of the second device over a non-secure channel (Sullivan: Col 16. lines 24 – 38, One device, either access device or user device, can send an inquiry to the other device containing its address. The responding device replies with a name, address, and or other information to form a primary communication channel. After forming the primary communication channel, the user device and the access device can secure the channel. Since the primary communication channel is secured by both devices after an initial connection setup, and the connection set up is based on the capability of both devices sending and receiving identifiers such as an address or a name/other data if it is the responding device, then it is reasonable to conclude that an identifier of the second device is received over a non-secure channel.); and
retrieving the public key based at least in part on the identifier (Fadaie: In one embodiment, the client device 110a obtains the public key by searching the directory service or the database for the user-friendly contact information in order to find the public key for the client device 110b. (Paragraph 32).). This claim is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Sullivan and Fadaie teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises transmitting an identifier to the second device (Sullivan: Col 16. lines 14-34, i.e., one device, either access device or user device, can send an inquiry to the other device containing its address. The responding device replies with a name, address, and or other information to form a primary communication channel. Since both devices are capable of sending and receiving identifiers such as an address, then it is reasonable to conclude that an identifier is transmitted to the second device).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Sullivan and Fadaie teach the method of claim 1, wherein the generated first session key is symmetric with the second session key (Sullivan: Col 17. lines 32 – 36, “The shared secrets held by the access device and user device can be used as symmetric keys to secure the primary communication channel”, wherein the session key was generated a private key of the access device and public key of the user device (Col 7.Lines 65-67 – Col8.Lines 1-6 ).
In regards to claim 8, Sullivan teaches a first device, comprising: a processor; and a computer-readable medium including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
implementing, at least a portion of a single round-trip communication between the first device and a second device, the single round-trip communication comprising (Sullivan: Col 1. lines 35 – 67, forming a communication channel between a user device (second device) and an access device (first device)).
retrieving a public key of the second device (Sullivan: Col 12. lines 32 – 37, the communication channel securing module 208B of the access device (fig. 2b) can generate a primary communication channel session key using a received user device public key).
and generating, a first session key, by applying a key derivation function to the public key of the second device (Sullivan: For example, the communication channel securing module 208B, in conjunction with the processor 204, can generate a primary communication channel session key using a received user device public key and the access device ephemeral private key (which can be generated by the access device 200). [Col 12, lines 26-37].
establishing a secure session with the second device based at least in part on generating the generated first session key (Sullivan: Col 12, lines 37 – 43, the primary communication channel session key can be utilized to encrypt messages that are to be sent to the user device);
receiving, a message from the second device via the secure session, the message being encrypted by a second session key locally generated by the second device for use in the single round-trip communication, the generated first session key being a duplicate of the second session key (Sullivan: Col 14. Lines 48 – 54, The primary communication channel session key can be utilized to encrypt messages that are to be sent to the access device, where the access device can decrypt the messages using the same primary communication channel session key that is derived by the access device based on the access device ephemeral private key and the user device public key); and
decrypting the message using the generated first session key (Sullivan: Col 14. Lines 48 – 54, The primary communication channel session key can be utilized to encrypt messages that are to be sent to the access device, where the access device can decrypt the messages using the same primary communication channel session key).
But, Sullivan does not explicitly disclose that the public key of the second device is retrieved from a third device.
However, Fadaie in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for securely sharing information between client devices that discloses retrieving, by the first device, a public key of the second device from a third device (Fadaie: In one embodiment, the client device 110a obtains the public key by searching the directory service or the database for the user-friendly contact information in order to find the public key for the client device 110b [Fig Fig1; Para 32].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the public key retrieved from the user device as taught by Sullivan with the public key retrieved from the database as taught by Fadaie. The motivation to do so would be to yield the predictable results of generating a session key. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to apply another layer of security by including a third party for providing the public key.
In regards to claim 9, the subject matter of the claim is analogous to claim 2. Therefore this claim is rejected based on the same rationale cited for claim 2 above.
In regards to claim 13, the subject matter of the claim is analogous to claim 6. Therefore this claim is rejected based on the same rationale cited for claim 6 above.
In regards to claim 14, the subject matter of the claim is analogous to claim 7. Therefore this claim is rejected based on the same rationale cited for claim 7 above.
In regards to claim 15, Sullivan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage media comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor of a first device, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
implementing, at least a portion of a single round-trip communication between the first device and a second device, the single round-trip communication comprising (Sullivan: Col 1. lines 35 – 67, forming a communication channel between a user device (second device) and an access device (first device)).
retrieving a public key of the second device (Sullivan: Col 12. lines 32 – 37, the communication channel securing module 208B of the access device (fig. 2b) can generate a primary communication channel session key using a received user device public key).
and generating, a first session key, by applying a key derivation function to the public key of the second device (Sullivan: For example, the communication channel securing module 208B, in conjunction with the processor 204, can generate a primary communication channel session key using a received user device public key and the access device ephemeral private key (which can be generated by the access device 200). [Col 12, lines 26-37].
establishing a secure session with the second device based at least in part on generating the generated first session key (Sullivan: Col 12, lines 37 – 43, the primary communication channel session key can be utilized to encrypt messages that are to be sent to the user device);
receiving, a message from the second device via the secure session, the message being encrypted by a second session key locally generated by the second device for use in the single round-trip communication, the generated first session key being a duplicate of the second session key (Sullivan: Col 14. Lines 48 – 54, The primary communication channel session key can be utilized to encrypt messages that are to be sent to the access device, where the access device can decrypt the messages using the same primary communication channel session key that is derived by the access device based on the access device ephemeral private key and the user device public key); and
decrypting the message using the generated first session key (Sullivan: Col 14. Lines 48 – 54, The primary communication channel session key can be utilized to encrypt messages that are to be sent to the access device, where the access device can decrypt the messages using the same primary communication channel session key).
But, Sullivan does not explicitly disclose that the public key of the second device is retrieved from a third device.
However, Fadaie in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for securely sharing information between client devices that discloses retrieving, by the first device, a public key of the second device from a third device (Fadaie: In one embodiment, the client device 110a obtains the public key by searching the directory service or the database for the user-friendly contact information in order to find the public key for the client device 110b [Fig Fig1; Para 32].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the public key retrieved from the user device as taught by Sullivan with the public key retrieved from the database as taught by Fadaie. The motivation to do so would be to yield the predictable results of generating a session key. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to apply another layer of security by including a third party for providing the public key.
In regards to claim 16, the subject matter of the claim is analogous to claim 2. Therefore this claim is rejected based on the same rationale cited for claim 2 above.
In regards to claim 20, the subject matter of the claim is analogous to claim 6. Therefore this claim is rejected based on the same rationale cited for claim 6 above.
Claim(s) 3,10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan et at. (US-11785449-B2) in view of Fadaie et al. (US-20150358158-A1) as applied to claims 1-2,6-9,13-16, and 20 above, and further in view of Ho et al (KR-102032210-B1).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Sullivan and Fadaie teach the method of claim 1, wherein the generated first session key is generated based on (Sullivan: Col 5. lines 56 – 66, a session key can be derived by a first device using the private key of the 1st device and the public key of the 2nd device and the session key can be generated by any suitable manner that allows two devices to communicate over a secure channel).
However, the combination of Sullivan and Fadaie does not explicitly teach that the first session key is generated is based on a hash of the of the public key of the second device and the private key of the first device.
Ho, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a first session key is generated based on a hash of the of the public key of the second device and the private (Ho: Paragraph 10 of the Detailed Description: the client terminal may generate the first session key by applying the first seed value generated by the client terminal and the second seed value received from the user authentication processing apparatus to the hash function for generating the session key).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify generating a session key taught by Sullivan to include a hash function as taught by Ho, in order to increase user convenience and strengthen the security of device authentication to facilitate transmitting secured data between them (Ho: Abstract, thereby increasing user convenience and providing a high level of security at the same time in a user authentication process. ).
In regards to claim 10, the subject matter of the claim is analogous to claim 3. Therefore this claim is rejected based on the same rationale cited for claim 3 above.
In regards to claim 17, the subject matter of the claim is analogous to claim 3. Therefore this claim is rejected based on the same rationale cited for claim 3 above.
Claim(s) 4,11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan et at. (US-11785449-B2) in view of Fadaie et al. (US-20150358158-A1) as applied to claims 1-2,6-9,13-16, and 20 above, and further in view of Coskun et al. (“NFC Essentials”; hereinafter Coskun).
In regards to claim 4, The combination of Sullivan and Fadaie teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first device comprises a near field communication (NFC) reader and (Col 10. lines 49-53, “the user may tap the user device 102 against an NFC reader in the access device 104.”).
However, the combination of Sullivan and Fadaie does not explicitly disclose the second device comprises an NFC tag.
Coskun, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the second device comprises an NFC tag (Coskun: Page 75, 1st paragraph of section ii, i.e., that an NFC tag needs to touch an NFC reader to receive power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add to the system of Sullivan an NFC tag of a second device as disclosed by Coskun. Doing so would allow one to conclude that an NFC tag is embodied in the user device that taps the NFC reader in the access device disclosed by Sullivan, so that the NFC tag can power on and facilitate NFC communication between the access device and user device (Page 75, 1st paragraph of section ii, i.e., that an NFC tag needs to touch an NFC reader to receive power).
In regards to claim 11, the subject matter of the claim is analogous to claim 4. Therefore this claim is rejected based on the same rationale cited for claim 4 above.
In regards to claim 18, the subject matter of the claim is analogous to claim 4. Therefore this claim is rejected based on the same rationale cited for claim 4 above.
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan et at. (US-11785449-B2) in view of Fadaie et al. (US-20150358158-A1) as applied to claims 1-2,6-9,13-16, and 20 above, and further in view of Muthineni et al (US-11838403-B2).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Sullivan and Fadaie teach the method of claim 1,
However, the combination of Sullivan and Fadaie does not specify the message comprising a maximum of sixteen bytes.
Muthineni, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a message comprising a maximum of sixteen bytes (Muthineni: Col 5. lines 41 -50, Electronic Code Book mode for encrypting large messages using AES encryption, wherein the large message is broken up into 128-bit blocks, equivalent to 16-byte blocks, for encryption and decryption processes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the messages sent over the secure channel in Sullivan to adhere to size limitations of 128 bits taught by Muthineni, in order to use the known technique of AES encryption for securing the data exchanged between both devices (Muthineni: Col 4. lines 43 – 45, Advanced Encryption Standard (AES), also known as Rijndael, is the most widely used encryption standard for security of data transmissions), and optimize the power consumption of both devices (Muthineni: Col 1. Lines 38 – 39, Ultra-low implementations of the AES algorithm have become important for a range of devices.).
In regards to claim 12, the subject matter of the claim is analogous to claim 5. Therefore this claim is rejected based on the same rationale cited for claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 19, the subject matter of the claim is analogous to claim 5. Therefore this claim is rejected based on the same rationale cited for claim 5 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARL G COLIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2493