Claims 10-11 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikesell (PGub 2016/0039494) in view of EP2527239 to Colegrove (cited by applicant on 08/01/2022).
Regarding claim 1, Mikesell teaches a bicycle 100 (see Abstract, line 1; Figure 1) including a frame 102 having a rear bracket portion 154, a rear wheel 110 having a rear wheel axle 161, a derailleur system having a chain, a sprocket set, and a rear gearshift mechanism (para [0002]; Figure 1) having a basic element (portion of derailleur connected at hole 220 of bracket element 158), and a bracket element 158 connecting an inner side of the rear bracket portion (see Figure 14; derailleur hanger/bracket element 158 is connected to an inner side of rear bracket portion 154 of the bicycle frame) to the rear gearshift mechanism, comprising: a first portion of the bracket element 158 has a cutout (hole 205, in Figure 12, which is aligned with the opening 230, in Figure 14, and the hub and receives the axle; Figure 14; para [0037]) in which a portion of the rear wheel axle 161 is fixed. A second portion of the bracket element includes a mounting opening 220 in which the basic element of the rear gearshift mechanism is secured, wherein the bracket element is secured or can be secured in a frictionally locking manner on the rear bracket portion (para [0037], lines 6, 7), wherein the bracket element 158 is configured to be rotated about an axis coaxial with the rear wheel axle 161 (which is aligned with the hub and with hole 230). The bracket element has a first stop formation (forward portion of surface 234; seen in Figure 13), and a second stop formation (vertical surface of bracket element 158 that engages a vertical surface of rear bracket portion 154 as the protrusion 232 is inserted into opening 230 of rear bracket portion see Figure 14).
Mikesell fails to teach stop formations that interact with inner sides of the rear bracket portion.
Colegrove shows a bicycle with a frame 20,72, a rear wheel 88, and a rear bracket portion 126. As seen in Figure 5, a bracket element (insert 170) is secured on an inner side at 180 of the bracket portion 126. The contour 180 in the bracket portion 126 includes a recess or depression between front and rear walls that form stops on the inner side of the rear bracket portion that interact with front and rear walls forming first and second stop formations on the bracket element 170 that prevent the bracket element from rotating forwardly and rearwardly (Figure 5; para [0033]-[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to position the bracket element of Mikesell on the inner side rather than the outer side of the rear bracket portion and to form the stop formations at front and rear walls on the inner bracket portion side, as taught by Colegrove, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to position the bracket element in a more protected location between the rear frame arms and to provide simple and reliable rotation stops.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Colegrove includes a depression in the rear bracket portion that forms mating stop formations of the forward and rearward rotational stops that engage the stop formations on the bracket element 170 (contour 180 in bracket portion 126 of Colegrove includes a recess that has front and rear walls that engage stop formations on the bracket element 170).
Regarding claims 7-9, the contour 180 in the rear bracket 126 of Cosgrove forms a central recess and side projections on either side of the recess such that walls between the recess and protections form the forward and rearward stops (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Mikesell teaches, with respect to the embodiment of Figures 14 and 15, that bracket element 158 includes a stem 232 that extends through the opening 230 in the bracket portion 154 and is retained by a ring-shaped fastener 238 that abuts rib 244 on the bracket element 158 to frictionally lock the bracket element on the bracket portion. Colegrove teaches a bracket element having a stem 172 that extends through the bracket portion 126 and is retained by a ring-shaped fastener from an outer side of the rear bracket portion (seen in Figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to position the fastener of Mikesell on the outer side rather than the outer side of the rear bracket portion, as taught by Colegrove, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to position the bracket element in a more protected location between the rear frame arms and to provide simple and reliable rotation stops.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikesell and Colegrove as applied to claims 1, 6-9, and 12 above, and further in view of Duehring (USPN 5082,303).
Regarding claim 2, the combination fails to specify the materials of the bracket element.
Duehring teaches a bracket 10 for receiving a wheel axle 28 at 26 and for connection to a derailleur at 48. The bracket element includes at least one plastic region 18 (see col. 5, lines 33-36) and at least one metal region 16 (see col. 5, lines 9-12), the plastic region and the metal region being releasably connected.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the combination bracket element with plastic and metal regions, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the bracket to fail before the dropout member or the derailleur, thereby sacrificing the bracket, which is less expensive and easier to replace, in favor of the dropout or derailleur.
Regarding claim 3, Mikesell teaches that the rear bracket portion has a forward rotational stop (forward wall of projection at 236) and a rearward rotational stop (rearward wall of projection at 236), wherein the bracket element 158 is stopped against the forward rotational stop in a first stop position, and is stopped against the rearward rotational stop in a second stop position.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Mikesell is silent regarding the material of the stop formations. However, Duehring teaches forming at least a substantial portion of the derailleur hanger from plastic. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the stop portions of the Mikesell bracket from plastic, in view of Duehring, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent damage to the bicycle frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art to Mikesell fails to teach "a first portion of the bracket element, the first portion including a cutout such that in a mounted state a portion of the rear wheel axle is fixed within the cutout...in the mounted state the bracket element is configured to be rotated about an axis coaxial with the rear wheel axle.” Applicant points to paragraph [0035], that describes an embodiment, shown in Figure 6, where the bracket element does not rotate about the wheel axle when the axle is mounted to the brake element. However, the rejection, above, relies on the embodiment of Figures 12-15 of Mikesell (PGPub 2016/0039494). In that embodiment, a bracket element 158 (derailleur hanger 158) has a first portion (upper portion, as seen in Figure 14) with a cutout (hole 205, as seen in Figure 15) that is aligned with the hub (para [0037]) through which the axle 161 is mounted and a second portion (lower portion, as seen in Figure 12, with a mounting opening 220 for the gearshift mechanism). Hole 205 aligns with protrusion 232 on the bracket element 158 that rotates within opening 230 in the frame (see Figure 14). When the bracket element 158 is in the mounted state (mounted on the bicycle frame, as seen in Figures 12, 13, and 15), it can rotate about an axis coaxial with the wheel axle (the central axis of opening 230, protrusion 232, and cutout 203; Figures 12-15) within a limited range. Therefore, Mikesell is believed to teach the features applicant is disputing. Cosgrove is only relied upon for a teaching to provide stop formations on the inner side of the rear bracket portion of the bicycle frame.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNE MARIE M BOEHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/ab/