DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) a method. The steps of “inputting data or variables” and “outputting a partial differential coefficient” are processes that under their broadest reasonable interpretation include their performance in the mind, which falls within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because no action is taken after the calculation of the claimed partial differential coefficient, and therefor is not integrated into any particular practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims do not recite additional elements which are significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) an apparatus. The steps of “inputting data or variables” and “outputting a partial differential coefficient” are processes that under their broadest reasonable interpretation include their performance in the mind, which falls within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because no action is taken after the calculation of the claimed partial differential coefficient, and therefor is not integrated into any particular practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because performing abstract ideas on a computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, see: MPEP 2016.05(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gritti et al. (Theoretical comparison of the performance of gradient elution chromatography at constant pressure and constant flow rate, referred to herein as “Gritti”); Gritti et al. (New Insights on Mass Transfer Kinetics in Chromatography, referred to herein as “Gritty2011”) is cited in the rejection as an evidentiary reference as the use of the experimental data is cited in “Gritti”.
Regarding claim 1, Gritti discloses a control method for a chromatographic data processor that analyzes and processes data of an analysis condition and a detection result of a chromatograph, comprising:
an input step including receiving, by the chromatographic data processor, input data or variables indicating a relationship between a number of theoretical plates and a flow rate (2. Theory, see: the differential equation that provides the variation of the flow rate with time in constant pressure gradient chromatography is derived; column height equivalent to a theoretical plate (HETP)), wherein the input data or variables is received from a detector of the chromatograph, the detector configured to detect separated analytes separated by a column of the chromatograph from an injected sample (3.1. Comparison between the peak capacities in constant flow-rate and constant pressure gradient chromatography, see: The value of the ratio Ω, of the sample diffusivity across the porous particle to the bulk molecular diffusion coefficient was adjusted semi-empirically to the data collected in [25], cited in PTO-892 and included copy of Gritti et al. (New Insights on Mass Transfer Kinetics in Chromatography)), and
an output step including generating and outputting, by the chromatographic data processor to a visual output device, a display of a partial differential coefficient in a function (zk) (2.1. General mass balance equation in gradient elution, see: plurality of partial differential equations) representing the number of theoretical plates as a function of two independent variables (xi, xj) selected from a variable (x1) indicating the flow rate (see: flow rate, Fv(t)), a variable (x2) indicating a length (see: column length, L), a variable (x3) indicating a pressure, and a variable (x4) indicating a time (see: time, t) and a display of a standardized efficiency metric based on the partial differential coefficient, wherein the standardized efficiency metric indicates how changes in the independent variables affect separation performance (2.1. General mass balance equation in gradient elution, see: first and second central special moments, µ1 and µ’2.2).
Regarding claim 2, Gritti further discloses the output step outputs a three-dimensional graph of the partial differential coefficient (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Gritti further discloses the standardized efficiency metric is dimensionless and standardized using the independent variable to be partially differentiated based on the partial differential coefficient (2.1. General mass balance equation in gradient elution, see: first and second central special moments, µ1 and µ’2.2).
Regarding claim 4, Gritti further discloses the standardized efficiency metric is dimensionless and is calculated based on a first dimensionless efficiency and a second dimensionless efficiency (2.2.3. Peak capacity for linear volume gradient and LSSM retention behavior, see: peak capacity, Pc,v based on volume variance µ’2.v(V)).
Regarding claim 5, Gritti further discloses the output step outputs the display of the standardized efficiency metric as a three-dimensional graph (Fig. 2) and/or separation condition analysis (2.2.3. Peak capacity for linear volume gradient and LSSM retention behavior, see: peak capacity, Pc,v based on volume variance µ’2.v(V)).
Regarding claim 6, Gritti discloses a chromatographic data processor that analyzes and processes data of an analysis condition and a detection result of a chromatograph (The disclosed calculations and figures inherently requires the entering (programming) of the equations and calculations into a computer in order to provide for the cited publication which is available online), wherein the chromatographic data processor is programmed to obtain input data or variables indicating a relationship between a number of theoretical plates and a flow rate (2. Theory, see: the differential equation that provides the variation of the flow rate with time in constant pressure gradient chromatography is derived; column height equivalent to a theoretical plate (HETP)) from a detector of the chromatograph, the detector configured to detect separated analytes separated by a column of the chromatograph from the injected sample (3.1. Comparison between the peak capacities in constant flow-rate and constant pressure gradient chromatography, see: The value of the ratio Ω, of the sample diffusivity across the porous particle to the bulk molecular diffusion coefficient was adjusted semi-empirically to the data collected in [25], cited in PTO-892 and included copy of Gritti et al. (New Insights on Mass Transfer Kinetics in Chromatography)), and
the chromatographic data processor is further programmed to output, to a visual output device, a display of a partial differential coefficient in a function (zk) (2.1. General mass balance equation in gradient elution, see: plurality of partial differential equations) representing the number of theoretical plates as a function of two independent variables (xi, xj) selected from a variable (x1) indicating the (see: flow rate, Fv(t)), a variable (x2) indicating a length (see: column length, L), a variable (x3) indicating a pressure, and a variable (x4) indicating a time (see: time, t), and a display of a standardized efficiency metric based on the partial differential coefficient, wherein the standardized efficiency metric indicates how changes in the independent variable affect separation performance (2.1. General mass balance equation in gradient elution, see: first and second central special moments, µ1 and µ’2.2).
Regarding claim 7, Gritti further discloses the chromatographic data processor is further programmed to output a three- dimensional graph of the partial differential coefficient (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Gritti further discloses the standardized efficiency metric is dimensionless and standardized using the independent variable to be partially differentiated based on the partial differential coefficient (2.1. General mass balance equation in gradient elution, see: first and second central special moments, µ1 and µ’2.2).
Regarding claim 9, Gritti further discloses the standardized efficiency metric is calculated based on a first dimensionless efficiency and a second dimensionless efficiency (2.2.3. Peak capacity for linear volume gradient and LSSM retention behavior, see: peak capacity, Pc,v based on volume variance µ’2.v(V)).
Regarding claim 10, Gritti further discloses the output of the standardized efficiency metric includes a three-dimensional graph (Fig. 2) and/or separation condition analysis (2.2.3. Peak capacity for linear volume gradient and LSSM retention behavior, see: peak capacity, Pc,v based on volume variance µ’2.v(V)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s remarks directed towards the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s assertion that the amended claims are integrated into a practical application. The recitation of a computer to perform the limitations amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. See: MPEP 2106.05.
Regarding the Applicant’s remarks directed towards the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s assertion that Gritti fails to teach or suggest a step of receiving input data or variable from a chromatograph detector. Gritti explicitly teaches “The value of the ratio Ω, of the sample diffusivity across the porous particle to the bulk molecular diffusion coefficient was adjusted semi-empirically to the data collected in [25]”, the cited reference, Gritti et al. (New Insights on Mass Transfer Kinetics in Chromatography), teaches the collected data is experimentally collected.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s assertion that Gritti fails to teach or suggest an output step. The disclosed calculations and figures inherently requires the entering (programming) of the equations and calculations into a computer and outputting (displaying) the equations, calculations, data, and graphs, in order to provide for the cited publication which is available online.
For the above reasons, the previously presented grounds of rejection have been updated to address the claim amendments filed 12/01/2025 and maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J EOM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797