DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed on October 28, 2025. Claim 4 has been canceled. Claims 16-20 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorgensen (US 8,133,440 B2). in view of Jakins et al. (US 2017/0360980 A1).
With regard to claim 9, the device of Jorgensen discloses a volatile material dispenser (Fig. 4), comprising: a base including a fan (40) therein, the base defining a lower portion that comprises a plurality of vents (13); a stand assembly that is coupled with the base, the stand assembly including a manifold, the manifold containing a piezoelectric assembly (70); a shroud (112) defining a chimney (113); and an air deflector (100) positioned within the shroud, wherein, during use, air is configured to flow through the plurality of vents and out of the chimney (Fig. 4).
However, Jorgensen does not disclose that the base including a battery therein.
Jakins teaches a volatile material dispenser comprising a battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jorgensen, by replacing the power source to the battery as taught by Jakins, since the battery can last a long time due to low power consumption by efficient control of the fan operation by the controller (Par. [0093]).
With regard to claim 10, the device of Jorgensen as modified by Jakins discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9 above. Jorgensen further discloses that the base further comprises an air isolator (851) and a seal engine (25).
With regard to claim 11, the device of Jorgensen as modified by Jakins discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 10 above. Jorgensen further discloses that the sealed engine (25) is positioned above the fan (40) and underneath a platform of the stand assembly (See annotated figure above).
With regard to claim 12, the device of Jorgensen as modified by Jakins discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 10 above. Jorgensen further discloses that a printed circuit board (internal control circuit) and a plurality of light emitting diodes (702) are positioned within the sealed engine (25).
With regard to claim 13, the device of Jorgensen as modified by Jakins discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12 above. Jorgensen further discloses that the piezoelectric assembly (70) is connected with the printed circuit board.
With regard to claim 14, the device of Jorgensen as modified by Jakins discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 10 above. Jorgensen further discloses that the fan (40) comprises a motor that is positioned within the sealed engine (25).
With regard to claim 15, the device of Jorgensen as modified by Jakins discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 8 above. Jorgensen further discloses that the volatile material dispenser is configured to be used in an outdoor environment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are allowed.
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752