DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 12, 2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 10, 14, 15, 21, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0291394, “Lee”) in view Gao et al. (US 2023/0388875, “Gao”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause processing circuitry (FIG. 5) to:
identify orbital position information for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) device that is to provide radio access network (RAN) service ([0146] - The ephemeris data of the neighbouring satellites can also be provided to UE via system information or dedicated RRC signalling. [0131] Ephemeris data contains the information about the orbital trajectories of artificial satellites), the orbital position information received in an information element of a radio resource control (RRC) message ([0146] - The ephemeris data of the neighbouring satellites can also be provided to UE via system information or dedicated RRC signalling), the orbital position information restricted to an almanac portion for the NTN device, wherein the almanac portion received in the information element comprises a semi-major axis parameter, an eccentricity parameter, an argument of perigee parameter, an inclination angle parameter, a mean anomaly parameter, and a longitude parameter for the NTN device ([0131], [0132] including table 5);
{utilize positional information for the NTN device for} cell selection, conditional handover, or measurement acquisition by a user equipment (UE) ([0191] The wireless device may adjust the updated ephemeris information. That is, the wireless device may perform cell selection or handover to the NTN cell based on the updated ephemeris information.), {the positional information for the NTN device being based on the orbital position information}.
Lee does not specifically teach utilize positional information for the NTN device for cell selection, conditional handover, or measurement acquisition… the positional information for the NTN device being based on the orbital position information.
Gao teaches utilize positional information for the NTN device for cell selection, conditional handover, or measurement acquisition… the positional information for the NTN device being based on the orbital position information ([0076] based on an association between satellite (e.g., ephemeris information) and the cell information, which can be provided in SIBX, for example, the UE 202 can identify the satellite covering each candidate cell and the location of these satellites, i.e., the location of satellite 106 and satellite 110 of FIG. 1. The UE 202 can then estimate the distance between itself and the satellite 106 and satellite 110 covering each candidate cell (i.e., cell #2 108 and cell #3 112). Finally, the UE 202 performs cell reselection to another cell (i.e., cell #2 108) with the shortest distance between the UE and the satellite. [0078] UE 402 and a network node 404 (e.g., a satellite) for performing a cell reselection procedure 406… while camping on Cell #1 304, UE 402, can receive ephemeris information (i.e., orbital baseline parameters and adjustments) via SIBX 408. In accordance with various embodiments, SIBX 408 can contain one or more of the following: (i) orbital baseline parameters contain the Keplerian Orbit Elements (a, e, ω, Ω, i, M0), including Semi-major axis a [m], Eccentricity e Argument of periapsis ω [rad] , Longitude of ascending node Ω [rad], Inclination i [rad], Mean anomaly M0=M(t0) [rad] at epoch t0 [JD], along with the adjustments of these parameters when the satellite deviates from the planned orbits, which can be used by UE 402 to derive the real-time location of a satellite. [0079] After receiving SIBX 408, the UE 402 can perform the cell reselection procedure 406. At a first operation, the UE 402 performs measurements on neighbor cells. [0080] the UE 402 will perform cell reselection to the cell (i.e., Cell #3 312) with the shortest distance between the UE and the cell center)
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the feature utilize positional information for the NTN device for cell selection, conditional handover, or measurement acquisition… the positional information for the NTN device being based on the orbital position information, as taught by Gao in Lee to improve cell selection/reselection).
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view Gao teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein semi-major axis parameter comprises a square root of a semi-major axis indication, the eccentricity parameter comprises an eccentricity indication, the argument of perigee parameter comprises an argument of perigee indication, the inclination angle parameter comprises an inclination angle at a reference time indication, the mean anomaly parameter comprises a mean anomaly at the reference time indication, and the longitude parameter comprises a longitude of ascending node indication ([0132], table 5).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view Gao teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to process the RRC message received from a base station to identify the orbital position information ([0146] - The ephemeris data of the neighbouring satellites can also be provided to UE via system information or dedicated RRC signalling. [0279] - The BS may transmit, to a wireless device, an ephemeris information related to a Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTN) cell).
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view Gao teaches claim 1 and further teaches wherein to utilize the positional information includes to establish, based on the positional information, a connection with a cell via the NTN device ([0198] The ephemeris information may include orbital trajectories of satellites as described above. The ephemeris information may include position, velocity, and angle of the satellites by time. [0163] … as the ephemeris information may be used for cell selection/reselection criterion and CHO triggering condition. Note: CHO is a form of handover which means that UE is connected to a new cell).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches an apparatus comprising: processing circuitry (FIG. 5) to:
identify orbital position information for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) device received in an information element in a radio resource control (RRC) message from a base station ([0146] - The ephemeris data of the neighbouring satellites can also be provided to UE via system information or dedicated RRC signalling. [0131] Ephemeris data contains the information about the orbital trajectories of artificial satellites), the orbital position information restricted to an almanac portion comprising a semi-major axis parameter, an eccentricity parameter, an argument of perigee parameter, an inclination angle parameter, a mean anomaly parameter, and a longitude parameter for NTN device ([0131], [0132] including table 5); and
{utilize positional information for a user equipment (UE) operation, the positional information based on the orbital position information and for the NTN device}; and
interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuitry, the interface circuitry to enable communication (FIG. 5, transceiver 106).
Lee does not specifically teach utilize positional information for a user equipment (UE) operation, the positional information based on the orbital position information and for the NTN device.
Gao teaches utilize positional information for a user equipment (UE) operation, the positional information based on the orbital position information and for the NTN device ([0076] based on an association between satellite (e.g., ephemeris information) and the cell information, which can be provided in SIBX, for example, the UE 202 can identify the satellite covering each candidate cell and the location of these satellites, i.e., the location of satellite 106 and satellite 110 of FIG. 1. The UE 202 can then estimate the distance between itself and the satellite 106 and satellite 110 covering each candidate cell (i.e., cell #2 108 and cell #3 112). Finally, the UE 202 performs cell reselection to another cell (i.e., cell #2 108) with the shortest distance between the UE and the satellite. [0078] UE 402 and a network node 404 (e.g., a satellite) for performing a cell reselection procedure 406… while camping on Cell #1 304, UE 402, can receive ephemeris information (i.e., orbital baseline parameters and adjustments) via SIBX 408. In accordance with various embodiments, SIBX 408 can contain one or more of the following: (i) orbital baseline parameters contain the Keplerian Orbit Elements (a, e, ω, Ω, i, M0), including Semi-major axis a [m], Eccentricity e Argument of periapsis ω [rad] , Longitude of ascending node Ω [rad], Inclination i [rad], Mean anomaly M0=M(t0) [rad] at epoch t0 [JD], along with the adjustments of these parameters when the satellite deviates from the planned orbits, which can be used by UE 402 to derive the real-time location of a satellite. [0079] After receiving SIBX 408, the UE 402 can perform the cell reselection procedure 406. At a first operation, the UE 402 performs measurements on neighbor cells. [0080] the UE 402 will perform cell reselection to the cell (i.e., Cell #3 312) with the shortest distance between the UE and the cell center)
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the feature utilize positional information for a user equipment (UE) operation, the positional information based on the orbital position information and for the NTN device, as taught by Gao in Lee to improve cell selection/reselection).
Regarding claim 14, Lee in view Gao teaches claim 10 and further teaches wherein semi-major axis parameter comprises a square root of a semi-major axis indication, the eccentricity parameter comprises an eccentricity indication, the argument of perigee parameter comprises an argument of perigee indication, the inclination angle parameter comprises an inclination angle at a reference time indication, the mean anomaly parameter comprises a mean anomaly at the reference time indication, and the longitude parameter comprises a longitude of ascending node indication ([0132], table 5).
Regarding claim 15, Lee in view Gao teaches claim 10 and further teaches wherein to utilize the positional information for the UE includes to establish, based on the positional information, a connection with a cell via the NTN device ([0198] The ephemeris information may include orbital trajectories of satellites as described above. The ephemeris information may include position, velocity, and angle of the satellites by time. [0163] … as the ephemeris information may be used for cell selection/reselection criterion and CHO triggering condition. Note: CHO is a form of handover which means that UE is connected to a new cell).
Regarding claim 21, Lee teaches a method for:
identifying orbital position information for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) device ([0146] - The ephemeris data of the neighbouring satellites can also be provided to UE via system information or dedicated RRC signalling. [0131] Ephemeris data contains the information about the orbital trajectories of artificial satellites), the orbital position information received in an information element in a radio resource control (RRC) message ([0146] - The ephemeris data of the neighbouring satellites can also be provided to UE via system information or dedicated RRC signalling), wherein the orbital position information is restricted to an almanac portion comprising a semi-major axis parameter, an eccentricity parameter, an argument of perigee parameter, an inclination angle parameter, a mean anomaly parameter, and a longitude parameter for the NTN device ([0031], [0032] including table 5);
{utilize positional information for the NTN device for} cell selection, conditional handover, or measurement acquisition ([0191] The wireless device may adjust the updated ephemeris information. That is, the wireless device may perform cell selection or handover to the NTN cell based on the updated ephemeris information.), {the positional information based on the orbital position information}.
Lee does not specifically teach utilize positional information for the NTN device for cell selection, conditional handover, or measurement acquisition… the positional information based on the orbital position information.
Gao teaches utilize positional information for the NTN device for cell selection, conditional handover, or measurement acquisition… the positional information based on the orbital position information ([0076] based on an association between satellite (e.g., ephemeris information) and the cell information, which can be provided in SIBX, for example, the UE 202 can identify the satellite covering each candidate cell and the location of these satellites, i.e., the location of satellite 106 and satellite 110 of FIG. 1. The UE 202 can then estimate the distance between itself and the satellite 106 and satellite 110 covering each candidate cell (i.e., cell #2 108 and cell #3 112). Finally, the UE 202 performs cell reselection to another cell (i.e., cell #2 108) with the shortest distance between the UE and the satellite. [0078] UE 402 and a network node 404 (e.g., a satellite) for performing a cell reselection procedure 406… while camping on Cell #1 304, UE 402, can receive ephemeris information (i.e., orbital baseline parameters and adjustments) via SIBX 408. In accordance with various embodiments, SIBX 408 can contain one or more of the following: (i) orbital baseline parameters contain the Keplerian Orbit Elements (a, e, ω, Ω, i, M0), including Semi-major axis a [m], Eccentricity e Argument of periapsis ω [rad] , Longitude of ascending node Ω [rad], Inclination i [rad], Mean anomaly M0=M(t0) [rad] at epoch t0 [JD], along with the adjustments of these parameters when the satellite deviates from the planned orbits, which can be used by UE 402 to derive the real-time location of a satellite. [0079] After receiving SIBX 408, the UE 402 can perform the cell reselection procedure 406. At a first operation, the UE 402 performs measurements on neighbor cells. [0080] the UE 402 will perform cell reselection to the cell (i.e., Cell #3 312) with the shortest distance between the UE and the cell center)
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the feature utilize positional information for the NTN device for cell selection, conditional handover, or measurement acquisition… the positional information based on the orbital position information, as taught by Gao in Lee to improve cell selection/reselection).
Regarding claim 23, Lee in view Gao teaches claim 22 and further teaches wherein semi-major axis parameter comprises a square root of a semi-major axis indication, the eccentricity parameter comprises an eccentricity indication, the argument of perigee parameter comprises an argument of perigee indication, the inclination angle parameter comprises an inclination angle at a reference time indication, the mean anomaly parameter comprises a mean anomaly at the reference time indication, and the longitude parameter comprises a longitude of ascending node indication ([0132], table 5).
Regarding claim 24, Lee in view Gao teaches claim 21 and further teaches wherein utilizing the positional information includes establishing, based on the positional information, a connection with a cell via the NTN device ([0198] The ephemeris information may include orbital trajectories of satellites as described above. The ephemeris information may include position, velocity, and angle of the satellites by time. [0163] … as the ephemeris information may be used for cell selection/reselection criterion and CHO triggering condition. Note: CHO is a form of handover which means that UE is connected to a new cell)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view Gao and further in view Euler et al. (WO 2021/066696 A1, “Euler”).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Gao teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein the almanac portion includes information that has a validity period of greater than one day.
However, as suggested by Lee, “The validity time of stored ephemeris data might depend on the orbital parameters of the NTN satellite” ([0148]) therefore length validity period simply depends on the selection of the satellite orbit and is obvious. Further Euler teaches wherein the almanac portion includes information that has a validity period of greater than one day (page 8, ln 24-25 - the duration of validity can be a parameter (e.g., an explicit parameter) of the further ephemeris data. Page 15, ln 17-27 - In general, duration of validity (or validity duration) can range from few hours (e.g., for high accuracy) to a few years (e.g., for moderate accuracy)).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the almanac portion includes information that has a validity period of greater than one day, as taught by Euler in Lee, to provide appropriate level accuracy to reduce the initial search time for a given level of satellite signal.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view Gao and further in view of Xiong (US 2024/0205874).
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view Gao teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein the RRC message comprises an RRC reconfiguration message.
It should be noted, Lee teaches using RRC signalling for providing ephemeris data to the UE. It is well known in the art RRC reconfiguration message is a part of communication using RRC protocol. Xiong teaches wherein the RRC message comprises an RRC reconfiguration message ([0047] - the network device carrying the satellite cell reference location information in an Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, so that the UE receives the satellite cell reference location information carried in the RRC reconfiguration message)
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the RRC message comprises an RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Xiong in Lee, to employ widely adopted technology in expanded system including satellite communication.
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view Gao teaches claim 10 but does not teach wherein the RRC message comprises an RRC reconfiguration message.
It should be noted, Lee teaches using RRC signalling for providing ephemeris data to the UE. It is well known in the art RRC reconfiguration message is a part of communication using RRC protocol. Xiong teaches wherein the RRC message comprises an RRC reconfiguration message ([0047] - the network device carrying the satellite cell reference location information in an Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, so that the UE receives the satellite cell reference location information carried in the RRC reconfiguration message)
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the RRC message comprises an RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Xiong in Lee, to employ widely adopted technology in expanded system including satellite communication.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view Gao further in view of Shrestha et al. (US 2022/0109496, “Shrestha”).
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view Gao teachers claim 10 but fails to teach wherein the RRC message is routed from the base station through the NTN device to the UE.
However, Shrestha wherein the RRC message is routed from the base station through the NTN device to the UE ([0136] - when the indication, received by the UE 602 from the base station 606, via at least one satellite of the one or more satellites 604 is received in an RRC message).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the RRC message is routed from the base station through the NTN device to the UE, as taught by Shrestha in Lee, to increase system capacity.
Claim 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view Gao and further in view of Buckley et al. (US 2015/0334646, “Buckley” ).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view Gao teaches claim 10 but fails to teach wherein to utilize the positional information includes to: determine, based on the positional information, frequencies that are unavailable to the UE; and perform measurements of a portion of frequencies, wherein the portion of frequencies excludes the cells or frequencies that are unavailable to the UE.
Sedin teaches wherein to utilize the positional information includes to: determine, based on the positional information, frequencies that are unavailable to the UE; and perform measurements of a portion of frequencies, wherein the portion of frequencies excludes the cells or frequencies that are unavailable to the UE ([0061] FIG. 7 depicts an exemplary database structure 700 that may be utilized by a UE device for customizing the network lists and associated frequency data so that only a limited number of networks and/or frequencies need to be selectively scanned by the UE device. [0078] - a number of geographic areas 1402 are preferably configurably defined, each area having three or more corners that are specified in terms of longitude/latitude coordinate pairs. Associated with each geographic area is a list of allowed frequencies, bands and/or channels, i.e., allowed frequency data 1404, that a wireless UE may use for selective scanning. In a further modification, at least a portion of the geographic areas 1402 may also be associated with a list of forbidden frequencies, bands and/or channels, i.e., disallowed frequency data 1406, that a wireless device is barred from using. Those skilled in the art should recognize upon reference hereto that the database structure 1400 is capable of a number of modifications and variations such as, e.g., providing only allowed frequency data, different areas for allowed frequency data and disallowed frequency data, as well as interfacing with a number of other database structures described hereinabove).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein to utilize the positional information includes to: determine, based on the positional information, cells or frequencies that are unavailable to the UE; and perform measurements of a portion of cells or frequencies, wherein the portion of cells or frequencies excludes the cells or frequencies that are unavailable to the UE, as taught by Buckley in Lee, to avoid inefficient utilization of radio resources.
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view Gao teaches claim 10 but fails to teach to: determine, based on the positional information, frequencies that are unavailable to the UE; and perform measurements of a portion of frequencies, wherein the portion of frequencies excludes the cells or frequencies that are unavailable to the UE.
Sedin teaches to: determine, based on the positional information, frequencies that are unavailable to the UE; and perform measurements of a portion of frequencies, wherein the portion of frequencies excludes the cells or frequencies that are unavailable to the UE ([0061] FIG. 7 depicts an exemplary database structure 700 that may be utilized by a UE device for customizing the network lists and associated frequency data so that only a limited number of networks and/or frequencies need to be selectively scanned by the UE device. [0078] - a number of geographic areas 1402 are preferably configurably defined, each area having three or more corners that are specified in terms of longitude/latitude coordinate pairs. Associated with each geographic area is a list of allowed frequencies, bands and/or channels, i.e., allowed frequency data 1404, that a wireless UE may use for selective scanning. In a further modification, at least a portion of the geographic areas 1402 may also be associated with a list of forbidden frequencies, bands and/or channels, i.e., disallowed frequency data 1406, that a wireless device is barred from using. Those skilled in the art should recognize upon reference hereto that the database structure 1400 is capable of a number of modifications and variations such as, e.g., providing only allowed frequency data, different areas for allowed frequency data and disallowed frequency data, as well as interfacing with a number of other database structures described hereinabove).
It would have been obvious before the filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to: determine, based on the positional information, frequencies that are unavailable to the UE; and perform measurements of a portion of frequencies, wherein the portion of frequencies excludes the cells or frequencies that are unavailable to the UE, as taught by Sedin in Lee, to avoid unnecessary measurements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 8-11, 13-16, 21, and 23-24 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/QUOC THAI N VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642