DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Atkinson does not teach a base comprising a first cradle and a second cradle, wherein the first and second cradle are two distinct and separate elements of the base, as reflected in the rejection below, the base is interpreted as structures 11 and 19 of Atkinson, such that the base element (the combination of those two structures together as whole) comprises two distinct and separate sub-elements of 11 and 19 (since they are two separate structures with two separate reference numbers). Applicant argues that the claim requires each of the first and second cradles seat at least a portion of the cutting roller and the propulsion roller in vertical alignment, however, this is not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that Nabity is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Nabity teaches a roller cutting machine comprising a plurality of rollers (26, 32, 34, 36) coupled to a base (14), wherein it was known in the art at the time of the invention to make all of the plurality rollers of a roller cutting machine removable for replacement (C:3, L:5-10), and therefore pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, such as to teach having the cutting rollers removable from the base for replacement. In response to applicant's arguments directed to Nabity’s usage of screws, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant’s argument that the Examiner has not identified any specific teaching or suggestion in Nabity, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Nabity teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention to make a roller removable from the base “for replacement” and therefore teaches a motivation to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the roller of Atkinson also removable to be replaced. It does not have to specifically teach the device being removable for the exact same reasons, but merely that it would be desirable to remove the blades place different working blades in their place. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the examiner cites elements 16, 18, and 28, these are elements in US 5004468, which was incorporated into Atkinson by reference, as reflected in the rejection. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atkinson et al (US 5196020) in view of Nabity (US 5647260).
Regarding claim 1, Atkinson et al (hereafter Atkinson) discloses a skin mesher comprising: a base (11,19) comprising a first cradle (11) and a second cradle (19) attached to the cover; a cutting roller (60); and a propulsion roller (40); and a cover (21, 12) attached to the base, the cover comprising a crank (47 in US 5004468, incorporated by reference), the crank operates to rotate the cutting roller and the propulsion roller (C:2, L:55-65); wherein the first and second cradle each seat at least a portion of the cutting roller and the propulsion roller in vertical alignment (figure 1), wherein the cutting roller is removable from the base (figure 2). Atkinson does not specifically disclose the propulsion roller is also removable from the base. However, Nabity teaches a roller cutting machine comprising a plurality of rollers (26, 32, 34, 36) coupled to a base (14), wherein it was known in the art at the time of the invention to make all of the plurality rollers of a roller cutting machine removable for replacement (C:3, L:5-10). Therefore, it would have been in the level of one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the propulsion roller of Atkinson also removable from the base, as taught as well known in the art for roller cutting machines for replacement by Nabity, in order to allow replacement, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 2, Atkinson in view of Nabity teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the mesher further comprises a carrier tray (90 in US 5004468, incorporated by reference), with a top and bottom surface wherein both the top and the bottom surface are suitable to hold a skin material (C:2, L:14-24, carrier 90 can be flipped over. This limitation is directed to a functional limitation. Since carrier is shown to be flat, either side is capable of holding a skin material. Therefore, the prior art meets the limitations since it meets all of the structural requirements of the claim and is capable of performing the recited functions).
Regarding claim 3, Atkinson in view of Nabity teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the cutting roller further comprises a shaft (61, 63, in US 5004468, incorporated by reference) and a repeating pattern of at least one first cutting blade (62a), at least one spacer (64a), and at least one second cutting blade (62a in US 5004468, incorporated by reference) slid onto the shaft (figure 7 in US 5004468, incorporated by reference)
Regarding claim 5, Atkinson in view of Nabity teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 1 wherein the cover further comprises a guard (70) configured to be around at least a portion of the cutting roller (figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Atkinson in view of Nabity teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 5 wherein the guard contains a plurality of openings (74, figure 6) formed therethrough.
Regarding claim 8, Atkinson in view of Nabity teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, wherein the base further comprises a removable infeed tray (90).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atkinson et al (US 5196020) in view of Nabity (US 5647260), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Chong (US 6094828).
Regarding claim 4, Atkinson in view of Nabity teaches all of the limitations set forth in cl 3 wherein the cutting roller further comprises at least two bearings (66 in US 5004468, incorporated by reference), but does not disclose the bearings have a larger diameter than the at least one first cutting blade and at least one second cutting blade. Chong discloses a cutting wheel supported by a generally cylindrical stepped bearing with an abutment ring having an outside diameter slightly larger than the outside diameter of the cutting ring in order to prevent overwear of the cutting ring and allowing wear that does occur to be uniform and gradual (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the device of Atkinson in view of Nabity comprise a bearing for engagement with the base and cover, such that the bearing has an outside diameter slightly larger than the outside diameter of the cutting ring, as taught by Chong, in order to prevent overwear of the cutting ring and allowing wear that does occur to be uniform and gradual.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atkinson et al (US 5196020) in view of Nabity (US 5647260), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Corcoran (US 20050268761).
Regarding claim 7, Atkinson in view of Nabity teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 1, but does not specifically teach the base further comprises a texture on its bottom 2 configured to resist movement. Corcoran et al (hereafter Corcoran) teaches it was known in the art at the time of the invention for a die press with removable cartridge rollers with a crank shaft comprise a base with a plurality of feet with a rubber footpad in order to provide a non-slip surface of the device when it is resting on a table top or otherwise flat surface (paragraph 0054). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a plurality of feet with a textured rubber footpad on the base of Atkinson in view of Nabity, in order to provide a non-slip surface of the device when it is resting on a table top or otherwise flat surface, as taught as known in the art for cutting devices at the time of the invention by Corcoran.
Claim 15-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atkinson et al (US 5196020) in view of Wang (US 8869690).
Regarding claim 15, Atkinson teaches a skin mesher comprising: a cover (16, 18, 28), a crank (47 in US 504468, incorporated by reference) a base (11) pivotally connected to the cover (figure 2), the cover is configured to maintain an open position and a closed position (figure 1, figure 2); a cutting roller (60) comprising a first gear (65); and a propulsion roller (40) comprising a second gear (55); wherein the cutting roller and the propulsion roller are removably seated (device can be completely disassembled to remove therefrom) within the base and when the cover is in the closed position (figure 1), operation of the crank causes rotation of first gear of the cutting roller (47, US 5004468 incorporated by reference. Atkinson does not disclose an additional drive gear directly rotating the first gear and that the cover comprises the crank. However, Wang teaches a roller-type cutting machine, wherein it was well known in the art at the time of the invention to have a cover (30, 31) with a crank (33) and a drive gear (332) connected to the crank, a base (312, 311) attached to the cover (31), a top roller (34) comprising a first gear (35,36), the first gear aligned with the drive gear (figure 6) and the first gear directly rotated by the drive gear; and a bottom propulsion roller (37) comprising a second gear(38) aligned with the first gear, wherein it was known in the art at the time the invention to utilize this arrangement as a known transmission gear on an end of the crankshaft to drive a gear positioned on one end of a roller shaft. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrange the rollers and crank, as taught by Wang, in the device of Atkinson such that the crank is connected to an additional drive gear directly rotating the top gear of the cutting roller instead of directly to the gear of the propulsion roller, as an art-recognized equivalent crank and transmission gear configuration for roller cutting machines at the time of the invention, since the use of transmission gears well known in the art to reduce the rotational force needed to feed the medium through the rollers or cause slower rotation of the rollers relative to the speed of rotation of the crank handle and it has been held that mere substitution of art-recognized equivalents at the time of the invention involves routine skill in the art. As a result, it further would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to reconfigure the device such that the crank is part of the cover and does not cause rotation of the cutting roller by operation of the crank in the open position, in order for the drive gear to directly rotate the first gear of the upper cutting roller, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-13, 16 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 9-13 and 18 have not been rejected over the body of prior art because the arguments with respect to claim 11 in applicant’s arguments dated 5/13/2026 with respect to these claims have been found persuasive, and there is no teaching ,suggestion, or motivation to produce the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771