Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. Publication 20210193590) in view of Eid (20200194335) (“Wang et al”).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches a chip package structure, comprising:
a chip package comprising a chip (Fig. 3D, chip 101), an encapsulation material, (Fig. 1, encapsulant mold 130) and an exposed pad (Fig. 3D, die metallic pad 110) that is electrically conductively connected to the chip;([0024] discloses die pad 110 is electrically connected to the lead frame 108, and therefore the lead frame would have to be electrically connected to the chip) a layer of a porous (ex. Roughened surface) or dendrite-comprising adhesion promoter ([0037] and Fig. 3F, disclosing adhesion promoter at the interlocking of the top surface of 110 and bottom surface of adhesive layer matrix 140 containing resins and other inorganic fillers) on a surface of the exposed pad; ([0037], discloses roughened surface is on the exposed die pad) and a thermal interface material (organic/inorganic filler that is attached to the exposed pad by the layer. ([0054], discloses the adhesive layer 140 may represent a thermal interface material between die pad 110 and chip package 101). However Wang does not explicitly disclose the adhesion promoting layer is opposite of a surface of the exposed pad facing the chip or that the thermal interface material is attached to the exposed pad by the [adhesion] layer so that the exposed pad is disposed between the thermal interface material and the chip. Eid teaches the that the adhesion promoting layer (fig. 18 element 1830 is disclosed as a TIM layer that adheres the lid 1802 to the “pad” 1810) is on the opposite surface of the exposed “pad” 1810 from the chip, and that the exposed pad is between the thermal interface material (1802 – a lid is a thermal interface material as it thermally interfaces with the device. Fig. 18 shows that the pad 1810 is between 1802 and the chip). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Wang with Eid as the use of a pad/thermal interface layering would efficiently remove heat from the device.
Regarding Claim 2, Wang et al teaches the chip package structure of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the thermal interface material is an organic material. ([0037] and Fig. 3F, discloses the bulk resin matrix of adhesive promoter/thermal interface material 140 contains a polyurethane resin)
Regarding Claim 3, Wang et al teaches the chip package structure of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the thermal interface material is an inorganic material. ([0037], discloses the bulk adhesive promotor/TIM matrix layer 140 contains inorganic fillers)
Regarding Claim 4, Wang et al teaches the chip package structure of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the adhesion promoter is an organic adhesion promoter. ([0037] and Fig. 3F, discloses promoter at the interlocking surface of 110 and 140 comprises a matrix containing organic polyurethane resins)
Regarding Claim 5, Wang et al teaches The chip package structure of claim 1, wherein the adhesion promoter is an inorganic adhesion promoter. ([0037] and Fig. 3F, discloses promoter at the interlocking surface of 110 and 140 comprises a matrix containing inorganic fillers)
Regarding Claim 6, Wang et al teaches the chip package structure of claim 5, and further teaches wherein the inorganic adhesion promoter comprises aluminum oxide. ([0030], disclosing promoter at the interlocking surface of 110 and 140 is using a metal oxide od aluminum for the top surface of 110)
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 appears to recite product-by-process limitations making it a product-by-process claim. A "product by process" claim is directed to the final product per se, no matter how it is actually made. In re Hirao and Sato et al., 190 USPQ 15, 17 (CCPA 1976) (footnote 3); see also In re Brown and Saffer, 173 USPQ 685 (CCPA 1972); In re Luck and Gainer, 177 USPQ 523 (CCPA 1973); In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA 1974); and In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289 (CAFC 1983). It is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product, produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or not. Id. Note that Applicant has the burden of proof in such cases. Id. Furthermore, “[e]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
For the purpose of examination, claim 8 will be read as reciting "The chip package structure of claim 5, wherein the inorganic adhesion promoter includes a material and/or a nanoparticle layer."
Further regarding claim 8, Wang et al teaches the chip package structure of claim 5. Wang further teaches the limitation wherein the inorganic adhesion promoter includes a material. ([0037] and Fig. 3F, discloses promoter at the interlocking surface of 110 and 140 comprises a matrix containing inorganic fillers)
Regarding Claim 9, Wang et al teaches the chip package structure of claim 1, and further taches wherein the thermal interface material comprises one of a thermosetting resin, a silicone, an epoxy, a rubber, an epoxy-polyimid, and/or a thermoplastic. ([0037] and Fig. 3F, discloses the bulk resin matrix of adhesive promoter/thermal interface material 140 contains a epoxy resin)
Regarding Claim 10, Wang et al teaches the chip package structure of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the adhesion promoter extends beyond the exposed pad to at least partially cover a surface of the encapsulation material. (Fig. 3F, adhesive promoter, at the interlocking surface of 110 and 140, extends beyond the exposed die pad 110 and to cover a surface of encapsulate 130, from Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 11, Wang et al teaches the chip package structure of claim 10, and further teaches wherein the thermal interface material extends in contact with the adhesion promoter beyond the exposed pad to at least partially cover the encapsulation material.([0037] and Fig. 3F, discloses the bulk resin matrix of adhesive promoter/thermal interface material 140 is in contact to interlocking promoter in pad 110 extends beyond the exposed pad surface, 110 and 140, and cover a surface of encapsulate 130, from Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 12, Wang et al the chip package structure of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the exposed pad is a chip contact, part of a redistribution structure, or a clip. (Fig. 2 and [0035], disclose exposed pad 110 is part of lead frame structure 108 and a lead frame is a redistribution structure)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al in view of Riedl at al. (U.S. Publication 20090065912)
Regarding Claim 7, Wang et al teaches the chip package structure of claim 6, but fails to disclose wherein the inorganic adhesion promoter comprises hydrothermally treated aluminum oxide.
However, Riedl teaches the limitation wherein the inorganic adhesion promoter comprises hydrothermally treated aluminum oxide. ([0030], disclosing using a hydroxylated heating process, boiling water or steam, to further enrich the aluminum oxide for the bond pads). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to treat the aluminum oxide adhesive promoter using a hydrothermal process from Riedl to the aluminum oxide promoter from Wang to lower the electrical resistance, [0029] from Riedl.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Publication 20180030328) further in view of Riedl at al. (U.S. Publication 20090065912)
Regarding Claim 18, Wang et al in view of Zhang teaches the chip package structure of claim 16, but fails to teach wherein the inorganic adhesion promoter comprises hydrothermally treated aluminum oxide.
However, Riedl teaches the limitation wherein the inorganic adhesion promoter comprises hydrothermally treated aluminum oxide. ([0030], disclosing using a hydroxylated heating process, boiling water or steam, to further enrich the aluminum oxide for the bond pads). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to treat the aluminum oxide adhesive promoter using a hydrothermal process from Riedl to the aluminum oxide promoter from Wang to lower the electrical resistance, [0029] from Riedl.
Claim(s) 13-17,19-22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al in view of Zhang
Regarding Claim 13, Wang et al teaches the chip package structure of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the chip package structure further comprising: a layer of a porous or dendrite-comprising adhesion promoter on a surface of the thermal interface. (Fig. 3F, shows adhesion promoter, at the interlocking of the top surface of 110 and bottom surface of adhesive layer matrix 140, is on a surface of the thermal interface, bulk matrix 140). Wang does not teach the limitations of the thermal interface material comprises or consists of a metal
However, Zhang does teach the limitation of the thermal interface material comprises or consists of a metal. ([0068], discloses the TIM structure includes metals for the conductive fillers). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use the metal materials as the conductive filler of the TIM material of Zhang with the conductive filler of Wang as a simple substitution to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 14, Wang et al in view of Zhang teaches the chip package structure of claim 13, and Wang further teaches wherein the adhesion promoter on the surface of the exposed pad (Fig. 3F, shows adhesion promoter, at the interlocking of the top surface of 110 and bottom surface of adhesive layer matrix 140) and the adhesion promoter on the surface of the thermal interface (Fig. 3F, shows adhesion promoter, at the interlocking of the top surface of 110 and bottom surface of adhesive layer matrix 140) include or consist of the same material,([0037], discloses adhesive promotor and bulk matrix TIM structure 140 is consisting of the same materials to perform these functions) which is optionally formed during a common process. ([0037], Since the adhesive promotor and bulk TIM layer 140 are the same material structure, they would be formed during a common process)
Regarding Claim 15, Wang et al teaches a chip package structure, comprising:
a chip package comprising a chip (Fig. 3F, chip 101) and an encapsulation material;(Fig. 1, encapsulant mold 130)
and a layer of a porous or dendrite-comprising adhesion promoter on a surface of the thermal interface; ([0037] and Fig. 3F, disclosing adhesion promoter at the interlocking of the top surface of 110 and bottom surface of adhesive layer matrix 140 containing resins and other inorganic fillers) and the TIM material thermally connected to the chip package (Fig. 3F, shows the bulk TIM matrix 140 thermally connected to the chip 101 and it is “deposited” as it is present)
Wang fails to teach the limitation of a thermal interface that comprises or consists of a metal .
However, Zhang does teach the limitation of the thermal interface material comprises or consists of a metal. (Fig. 1 and [0068], discloses the TIM structure includes metals for the conductive fillers, and Fig 1 shows the thermal connection to chip package 12). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use the metal materials as the conductive filler of the TIM material of Zhang with the conductive filler of Wang as a simple substitution to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 16, Wang et al in view of Zhang teaches the chip package structure of claim 15, and Wang further teaches wherein the adhesion promoter is an inorganic adhesion promoter. ([0037] and Fig. 3F, discloses promoter at the interlocking surface of 110 and 140 comprises a matrix containing inorganic fillers)
Regarding Claim 17, Wang et al in view of Zhang teaches the chip package structure of claim 16, and Wang further teaches wherein the inorganic adhesion promoter comprises aluminum oxide. ([0030], disclosing promoter at the interlocking surface of 110 and 140 is using a metal oxide od aluminum for the top surface of 110)
Regarding Claim 19, Wang et al in view of Zhang teaches the chip package structure of claim 15, and Wang further teaches wherein the adhesion promoter is an organic adhesion promoter. ([0037] and Fig. 3F, discloses promoter at the interlocking surface of 110 and 140 comprises a matrix containing organic polyurethane resins)
Regarding Claim 20, Wang et al in view of Zhang teaches the chip package structure of claim 15, and Wang further teaches wherein the adhesion promoter is arranged between the thermal interface and the chip and/or between the thermal interface and the encapsulation material. (Fig. 3F, shows the interlocking adhesion promoter is between the bulk TIM matrix 140 and the encapsulation 130, from Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 21, Wang et al in view of Zhang teaches the chip package structure of claim 15, and Zhang further teaches wherein the metal of the thermal interface material is at least one of a group of metals, the group comprising: aluminum; and copper. ([0068], discloses the TIM structure includes metals for the conductive fillers using aluminum or copper).
Regarding Claim 22, Wang et al in view of Zhang teaches the chip package structure of claim 15, and Wang further teaches wherein the thermal interface is partially integrated in the encapsulation material. ([0040], discloses the resin bleed 141 from the bulk TIM matrix 140 is at least partially integrated with encapsulation 130)
Regarding Claim 23, Wang et al in view of Zhang teaches the chip package structure of claim 15, and Wang further teaches the limitation wherein the thermal interface has a shape with a hexagonal cross-section through its main surfaces. (Fig. 6 “annotated” below, Fig. 3F and [0069], disclosing that overflow channels 113 to comprise the TIM bulk matrix material 141/140 contains a cross-sectional shape containing six sides, as shown in Fig. 6 “annotated” with sides 1-6)
(Fig. 6 “Annotated”)
Regarding Claim 24, Wang et al teaches a chip package system, comprising:
a chip package structure of claim 1;(Wang; see also rejection of claim 1 above). Wang appears to be silent but does not preclude a chip package system further comprising a heat sink attached to the thermal interface material.
However, Zhang does teach a chip package system that comprises a heat sink attached to the thermal interface material.(Fig. 1 and [0004], discloses using a bulk matrix TIM structure with adhesive promoter 20 to heat sink 16 connected to chip 12). It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to improve usefulness in transferring heat from the electronic device to heat sink, [0008] from Zhang.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899